DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 16-25, 27-31 and 35, in the reply filed on 21 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) requires “A concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in § 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each patent, publication, or other information listed that is not in the English language.” References for which no explanation was provided and which are not in the English language have been crossed-off on an IDS list of references.
37 CFR 1.98(b)(5) requires “Each publication listed in an information disclosure statement must be identified by publisher, author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date, and place of publication.” References for which the date required by this rule was not provided have been crossed-off on the IDS listings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the secondary inlet portion of the nozzle body”. While parent claim 2 requires that the pipe body comprises a secondary inlet potion and comprises a nozzle body, this is not a requirement that the secondary inlet portion is part of the nozzle body. Likewise, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the secondary outlet portion of the nozzle body”.
Similarly, in claim 5, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the main inlet portion of the nozzle”.
Similarly, in claim 7, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the main inlet portion of the nozzle”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 16-25 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehner (US 3,902,850):
Regarding claim 1, Lehner discloses a pipe segment comprising a pipe body comprising an exterior surface (exterior of 26), a main inlet portion (fluid entering though 22), a main outlet portion (fluid exiting through 16), a secondary inlet portion (a portion corresponding one instance of “34”) and a secondary outlet portion (a portion corresponding to the other instance of “34”), the pipe body defining a main chamber (interior of 12) extending from the main inlet portion to the main outlet portion, the pipe body further defining a secondary chamber (32) between the exterior surface and the main chamber and extending from the secondary inlet portion to the secondary outlet portion.
Regarding claim 2, the pipe segment comprises a nozzle and the pipe body comprises a nozzle body (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, the secondary inlet portion of the nozzle body is disposed proximate to the main inlet portion or along the exterior surface between the main inlet portion and the main outlet portion and the secondary outlet portion of the nozzle body is disposed proximate to the main inlet portion or along the exterior surface between the main inlet portion and the main outlet portion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the main inlet portion of the nozzle comprises a main inlet orifice (for example “68” or the top opening of 12 as shown in Fig. 2) providing access to the main chamber.
Regarding claim 7, the main inlet portion of the nozzle comprises at least two main inlet orifices (two of “68”) providing access to the main chamber.
Regarding claim 8, the nozzle body defines a retaining flange extending outward from the exterior surface at the main inlet portion, the nozzle further comprising a retaining mechanism configured to engage with the retaining flange, wherein the retaining mechanism is configured to couple the nozzle and the at least two main inlet orifices to a connector mechanism (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, the pipe body is elongated from the main inlet portion to the main outlet portion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, the main inlet portion comprises a main inlet orifice (for example “68” or the top opening of 12 as shown in Fig. 2) providing access to the main chamber and the main outlet portion comprises a main outlet orifice (for example “78” or the bottom opening of 12 as shown in Fig. 2) extending from the main chamber to the exterior surface such that the main inlet orifice, the main chamber and the main outlet orifice are along a longitudinal axis of the pipe body.
Regarding claim 17, the pipe body defines a bore along the longitudinal axis through the main inlet orifice, the main chamber and the main outlet orifice (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, the secondary inlet portion of the pipe body is disposed along the exterior surface between the main inlet portion and the main outlet portion and the secondary outlet portion of the pipe body is disposed along the exterior surface between the main inlet portion and the main outlet portion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19 the secondary inlet portion comprises a secondary inlet orifice (one of “34”), the secondary outlet portion comprises a secondary outlet orifice (another of “34”) and the secondary chamber comprises at least one path (a path within 32 for one instance of 34 to the other instance of 34) extending from the secondary inlet orifice to the secondary outlet orifice.
Regarding claim 20, there exists a spiral path from the secondary inlet orifice to the secondary outlet orifice (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, a plurality of paths exists substantially circling the main chamber, the plurality of paths interconnected on an inlet end with an inlet routing path from the secondary inlet orifice and interconnected on an outlet end with an outlet routing path to the secondary outlet orifice (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, a plurality of paths exists substantially longitudinal to the main chamber, the plurality of paths interconnected on an inlet end with an inlet routing path from the secondary inlet orifice and interconnected on an outlet end with an outlet routing path to the secondary outlet orifice (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 23 a plurality of paths exists angled longitudinally in relation to the main chamber, the plurality of paths interconnected on an inlet end with an inlet routing path from the secondary inlet orifice and interconnected on an outlet end with an outlet routing path to the secondary outlet orifice (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 24, a longitudinal axis of the pipe body extends from the main inlet portion to the main outlet portion through the main chamber (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 25, the pipe body comprises an interior surface facing the main chamber, the pipe segment further comprising a mixing element (14) disposed within the main chamber such that a central area of the mixing element is along the longitudinal axis of the pipe body and a peripheral area of the mixing element extends from the central area toward the interior surface.
Regarding claim 27, the mixing element is a rotary mixing element (14).
Regarding claim 28, the main chamber has a circular cross section (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 29, the main inlet portion comprises a main inlet orifice (for example “68” or the top opening of 12 as shown in Fig. 2) providing access to the main chamber.
Regarding claim 30, the pipe body defines a retaining flange extending outward from the exterior surface at the main inlet portion, the pipe segment further comprising a retaining mechanism configured to engage with the retaining flange, wherein the retaining mechanism is configured to couple the pipe segment and the main inlet orifice to a connector mechanism (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31 Lehner discloses a nozzle comprising a nozzle body comprising an exterior surface (exterior of 26) , at least two main inlet orifices (two of “68”), a main outlet orifice (for example “78” or the bottom opening of 12 as shown in Fig. 2), a secondary inlet orifice (on of “34” and a secondary outlet orifice (the other of “34”), the nozzle body defining a main chamber (interior of 12) extending from the at least two main inlet orifices to the main outlet orifice, the nozzle body further defining a secondary chamber (32) between the exterior surface and the main chamber and extending from the secondary inlet orifice to the secondary outlet orifice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehner (US 3,902,850) in view of Fleury (US 2015/0273731). The pipe segment of Lehner was discussed above. A nonstick coating is not disclosed. Fleury teaches providing an interior surface with a nonstick coating (see [0052]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a nonstick coating to avoid clogging as taught by Fleury at [0052].
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehner (US 3,902,850) in view of Kelley (US 2004/0125688). Lehner discloses a system comprising a pipe segment comprising a pipe body having an exterior surface (exterior of 26), a main inlet portion (fluid entering though 22), a main outlet portion (fluid exiting through 16), a secondary inlet portion (a portion corresponding to one instance of “34”) and a secondary outlet portion (a portion corresponding to the other instance of “34”), the pipe body defining a main chamber (interior of 12) extending from the main inlet portion to the main outlet portion, the pipe body further defining a secondary chamber (32) between the exterior surface and the main chamber and extending from the secondary inlet portion to the secondary outlet portion, wherein the main inlet portion comprises a main inlet orifice (for example “68” or the top opening of 12 as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the main outlet portion comprises a main outlet orifice (for example “78” or the bottom opening of 12 as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the secondary inlet portion comprises a secondary inlet orifice (one of “34” or the orifice in 26 into which it is thread), wherein the secondary outlet portion comprises a secondary outlet orifice (the other “34” of the orifice in 26 into which it is threaded); a first fluid subsystem (a first of 64) in communication with the main chamber via a valve (67); a second fluid subsystem (a second of 64) in communication with the main chamber via a valve (67); and a third fluid system (the system providing coolant through 34) in fluid communication with the secondary chamber of the pipe body, wherein the third fluid subsystem is configured to selectively circulate a fluid through the secondary chamber via the secondary inlet orifice and the secondary outlet orifice. However, in Lehner, rather than one three-way valve, there are two valves (67). Kelley specifically teaches that a three-way valve is an alternative to such a pair of valves (see [0026]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substituted a single three-way valve for the pair of valves of Lehner because Kelley expressly explains that these valve arrangements are alternatives for providing a mixed flow (see [0026]).
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774