DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US-2021/0198568) in view of Du et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2021, 31, 2103275).
Claim 1: Li teaches a light-emitting (luminescent) core-shell quantum dot composite comprising an inorganic oxide core and a quantum dot layer over the core (Li, para. 0009-0010); wherein the quantum dot is a perovskite quantum dot (Li, para. 0014). Li does not teach a protective layer over the quantum dot layer; and
a protection layer covering the quantum dot layer, wherein the protection
layer comprises PbX(OH), and X is Cl, Br or I. Li does not teach stabilizing the quantum dot layer. Du teaches providing thermal stability, photostability and superior stability in water for perovskite quantum dots with a protective layer of PbBr(OH) (Du, abstract and page 2, paragraph bridging left and right columns). In light of Du’s teaching, the POSITA would have been motivated to stabilize the quantum dot layer of perovskite quantum dots taught by Li with a protective layer of PbBr(OH) to arrive at “ultrastable perovskites” for the quantum dot layer.
Claim 2: Li teaches the inorganic oxide being silica, titania, silica-titania, zinc oxide, zirconia, alumina or a combination thereof (Li, para. 0012).
Claim 3. Li teaches the inorganic oxide being silica (Li, para. 0035); in particular, Example 2 (Li, page 5).
Claim 4: Li does not state whether the silica is fumed silica; however, the broad teaching of silica (para. 0035) would have included fumed silica or fumed silica would have been obvious as matter of choice because Applicant has not shown criticality of the fumed silica in the core-shell quantum dot composite.
Claims 5-9: Li teaches perovskite quantum dots including inorganic metal halides represented by the following formula CsaPbbXc, wherein each X = Cl, Br or I, a = 1, b = 1, and c = 3; (Li, para. 0050-0064), and in particular, the inorganic metal halide is CsPbBr₃ (Li, para. 0050-0052).
Claim 10. Du teaches the protection layer comprising PbBr(OH) (abstract and page 2, paragraph bridging left and right columns).
Claims 11-13: Li teaches a core-shell quantum dot comprising an inorganic oxide core, a quantum dot layer covering the core wherein the quantum dot is a perovskite quantum dot as discussed in claim 1 above. Li also teaches a particular quantum dot being CsPbBr3 (Li, para. 0050-0052). Du teaches stabilizing CsPbBr3 quantum dot with a protective layer of PbBr(OH) by mixing the quantum dot with an organic solution to form a protection layer on the quantum dot layer, wherein the protection layer comprises PbX(OH), X is Br, and the organic solution comprises an organic acid (hexanoic acid) and an organic amine )octylamine). See Du, page 2, paragraph bridging left and right columns and scheme 1. In light of Du teaching, the POSITA would be motivated to stabilize the perovskite quantum dot layer of Li by forming a protective layer of PbBr(OH) as taught by Du. The organic solution further includes lead (Pb) because the Pb is present in precursor solution (PbBrs) (Du, page 4, right column).
Claim 14: . The method of claim 11, wherein the inorganic oxide is silica, titania,
silica-titania, zinc oxide, zirconia, alumina or a combination thereof.
Claims 15-17: Li teaches perovskite quantum dots including inorganic metal halides represented by the following formula CsaPbbXc, wherein each X = Cl, Br or I, a = 1, b = 1, and c = 3; (Li, para. 0050-0064), and in particular, the inorganic metal halide is CsPbBr₃ (Li, para. 0050-0052 and Examples 1-12).
Claim 18: Du teaches the organic acid being hexanoic acid which meets the formula R₁-COOH, wherein R1 is C5-alkyl and the organic amine being R₂-NH₂; wherein R₂ is C8-alkyl.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Du as applied to claims 1-18 above, and further in view of Stevenson (US- US 2015/0338567).
Li and Du teach the claimed light-emitting quantum dot as discussed in claims 1-18 above. Du teaches the use of ultrastable quantum dots due to the protective layer of PbBr(OH) (abstract) in display. However, Du does not specify the structure of the display. Stevenson teaches a quantum dot backlight module or a display device comprising a diffusion plate comprising an optical film comprising a transparent substrate and a layer comprising quantum dots (Stevenson, para. 0004-0007 and claims). In light of Stevenson’s teaching, the POSITA would be motivated to utilize the luminescent core-shell quantum dot composite having a protective layer of PbBr(OH) as taught by Li and Du in the quantum dot layer of the diffusion sheet taught by Stevenson because the quantum dot composite formed by the teaching of Li and Du would provide an ultrastable quantum dot layer for the diffusion sheet of Stevenson.
HOA (Holly) LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788