DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7, 10, 11, 13-15 and 17 are pending
Claims 1, 6 and 14 have been amended
Claim 16 has been cancelled
Claim 17 has been added
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the steps of acquiring data, generating displacement data, calculating coefficients and generating deflection amounts are integrated into the practical application of real-world structure monitoring with communication bandwidth constraints (Remarks, pg. 13-14). However, according to MPEP 2106.05(a), these are still viewed as mere instruction to perform the method. The additional elements are merely added as generic components to perform the method. Applicant further argues that 103 analysis was used in the 101 rejection. This was not the intention of the examiner, according to MPEP 2106.05(g) the installation of acceleration sensor to monitor a structure is a well-known activity that amounts to data gathering, which makes it an insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, applicant’s argument’s regarding the invention being directed to an improved and practical application in the field of structural health monitoring are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-7, 10, 11, 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11881102 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305649 (Claim 1)
US Patent: US 11881102 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement method comprising:
A measurement method for causing a processor to execute a program stored in a memory, the measurement method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
a sensor installation step of installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at an upper structure of a bridge, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of a plurality of observation points;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
causing a second observation device to acquire second observation point information, the second observation device being disposed at a second observation point of a structure, the second observation device being spaced apart from the first observation device along the first direction, the second observation point information including a plurality of second physical quantities in association with a second plurality of times, each of the plurality of second physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the second observation point at each of the second plurality of times;
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the upper structure of the bridge based on data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance;
a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the upper structure by the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the upper structure, the observation information, and the environmental information;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure;
a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure;
calculating a first object deflection waveform at the third observation point penetrated by the moving object by adding the first plurality of deflection waveforms, calculating a first path deflection waveform at the third observation point based on the first object deflection waveform;
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, the weighting coefficients corresponding to ratios between the displacement responses and the deflection responses;
calculating an amplitude coefficient at which a difference is minimized between the measurement waveform and a waveform obtained by multiplying the first path deflection waveform by the amplitude coefficient;
a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective car of the plurality of cars;
calculating a second plurality of deflection waveforms at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient
a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network;
transmitting information relating to the estimation waveform to a server, the server monitoring the superstructure based on the estimation waveform.
a failure determination step of determining a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11881102 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305649 (Claim 14)
US Patent: US 11881102 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement device comprising
A measurement method
a communication interface:
a memory configured to store a program; and a processor configured to execute the program so as to:
causing a processor to execute a program stored in a memory, the measurement method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on an upper structure of a bridge based on data output from a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars, wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are installed at the upper structure of the bridge;
generate observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
causing a second observation device to acquire second observation point information, the second observation device being disposed at a second observation point of a structure, the second observation device being spaced apart from the first observation device along the first direction, the second observation point information including a plurality of second physical quantities in association with a second plurality of times, each of the plurality of second physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the second observation point at each of the second plurality of times;
calculate a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance;
calculate a first deflection amount of the upper structure by the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the upper structure, the observation information, and the environmental information;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
calculate a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure;
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
calculate a deflection response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
calculate weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, the weighting coefficients corresponding to ratios between the displacement responses and the deflection responses;
calculating an amplitude coefficient at which a difference is minimized between the measurement waveform and a waveform obtained by multiplying the first path deflection waveform by the amplitude coefficient;
calculate a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective car of the plurality of cars; and
calculating a second plurality of deflection waveforms at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient
transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
transmitting information relating to the estimation waveform to a server, the server monitoring the superstructure based on the estimation waveform.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11881102 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 17, Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305649 (Claim 1)
US Patent: US 11881102 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement method comprising:
A measurement method for causing a processor to execute a program stored in a memory, the measurement method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times; causing a second observation device to acquire second observation point information, the second observation device being disposed at a second observation point of a structure, the second observation device being spaced apart from the first observation device along the first direction, the second observation point information including a plurality of second physical quantities in association with a second plurality of times, each of the plurality of second physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the second observation point at each of the second plurality of times;
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the moving object with respect to the structural object;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each of vehicles of the moving object moves alone on the structural object based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance;
a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the structural object by the moving object based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the structural object, the observation information, and the environmental information;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object;
a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object;
calculating a first object deflection waveform at the third observation point penetrated by the moving object by adding the first plurality of deflection waveforms, calculating a first path deflection waveform at the third observation point based on the first object deflection waveform;
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object; and
calculating an amplitude coefficient at which a difference is minimized between the measurement waveform and a waveform obtained by multiplying the first path deflection waveform by the amplitude coefficient;
a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles;
calculating a second plurality of deflection waveforms at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient
a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network; and
transmitting information relating to the estimation waveform to a server, the server monitoring the superstructure based on the estimation waveform.
a failure determination step of determining a failure determination of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 11982595 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 1, Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305649 (Claim 1)
US Patent: 11982595 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement method comprising:
A measurement method comprising executing on a processor steps of:
a sensor installation step of installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at an upper structure of a bridge, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of a plurality of observation points;
a target data generation step of acquiring target data, the target data corresponding to observation data sensed by an acceleration sensor, the acceleration sensor being disposed at a superstructure of a bridge, the observation data corresponding to displacement of the superstructure due to moving of a vehicle on the superstructure, the target data including a drift noise and a vibration component of the superstructure
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the upper structure of the bridge based on data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars;
a target data generation step of acquiring target data, the target data corresponding to observation data sensed by an acceleration sensor, the acceleration sensor being disposed at a superstructure of a bridge, the observation data corresponding to displacement of the superstructure due to moving of a vehicle on the superstructure, the target data including a drift noise and a vibration component of the superstructure
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure;
a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance;
an interval specifying step of calculating a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specifying a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the upper structure by the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the upper structure, the observation information, and the environmental information;
a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure;
a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure;
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, the weighting coefficients corresponding to ratios between the displacement responses and the deflection responses;
generating third line data linearly approximating the third interval correction data smaller than a product of the first coefficient and a value obtained by inverting a sign of an amplitude of the second peak;
a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective car of the plurality of cars;
a correction data generation step of generating the correction data by adding the first interval correction data, the second interval correction data, and the third interval correction data,
a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network;
a measurement data transmission step of transmitting the measurement data to a monitoring device, the monitoring device being configured to monitor a state of the superstructure based on the measurement data,
a failure determination step of determining a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
an abnormality of the superstructure of the bridge is determined based on the measurement data.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11982595 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 14, both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305649 (Claim 14)
US 11982595 B2 (Claim 14)
A measurement device comprising
A measurement device, comprising:
a communication interface:
a memory configured to store a program; and
a memory configured to store a program; and
a processor configured to execute the program so as to:
a processor configured to execute the program so as to:
generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on an upper structure of a bridge based on data output from a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars, wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are installed at the upper structure of the bridge;
generate observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure;
acquire target data, the target data corresponding to observation data sensed by an acceleration sensor, the acceleration sensor being disposed at a superstructure of a bridge, the observation data corresponding to displacement of the superstructure due to moving of a vehicle on the superstructure, the target data including a drift noise and a vibration component of the superstructure;
calculate a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance;
calculate a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specify a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
calculate a first deflection amount of the upper structure by the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the upper structure, the observation information, and the environmental information;
calculate a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure;
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure;
calculate a deflection response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure;
calculate weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, the weighting coefficients corresponding to ratios between the displacement responses and the deflection responses;
generate first line data linearly approximating the first interval correction data smaller than a product of a first coefficient and a value obtained by inverting a sign of an amplitude of the first peak; generate second line data obtained by multiplying a line passing through the first peak and the second peak by a second coefficient;
calculate a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective car of the plurality of cars; and
generate third line data linearly approximating the third interval correction data smaller than a product of the first coefficient and a value obtained by inverting a sign of an amplitude of the second peak;
transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
transmit the measurement data to a monitoring device, the monitoring device being configured to monitor a state of the superstructure based on the measurement data;
an abnormality of the superstructure of the bridge is determined based on the measurement data.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11982595 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 17, both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305649 (Claim 17)
US Patent: 11982595 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement method comprising:
A measurement method comprising executing on a processor steps of:
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object;
a target data generation step of acquiring target data, the target data corresponding to observation data sensed by an acceleration sensor, the acceleration sensor being disposed at a superstructure of a bridge, the observation data corresponding to displacement of the superstructure due to moving of a vehicle on the superstructure, the target data including a drift noise and a vibration component of the superstructure
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the moving object with respect to the structural object;
a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each of vehicles of the moving object moves alone on the structural object based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance;
an interval specifying step of calculating a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specifying a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the structural object by the moving object based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the structural object, the observation information, and the environmental information;
displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object;
a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object;
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object; and
generating third line data linearly approximating the third interval correction data smaller than a product of the first coefficient and a value obtained by inverting a sign of an amplitude of the second peak;
a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles;
a correction data generation step of generating the correction data by adding the first interval correction data, the second interval correction data, and the third interval correction data,
a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network; and
a measurement data transmission step of transmitting the measurement data to a monitoring device, the monitoring device being configured to monitor a state of the superstructure based on the measurement data,
a failure determination step of determining a failure determination of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
an abnormality of the superstructure of the bridge is determined based on the measurement data.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 10, 11, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites A measurement method comprising: a sensor installation step of installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at an upper structure of a bridge, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of a plurality of observation points; a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the upper structure of the bridge based on data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars; an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure; a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance; a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the upper structure by the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the upper structure, the observation information, and the environmental information; a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure; a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure; a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, the weighting coefficients corresponding to ratios between the displacement responses and the deflection responses; a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective car of the plurality of cars; a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network; and a failure determination step of determining a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method; therefore, it is a process.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of an observation information generation step of generating observation information. The generation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the determining step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally generating observation information as part of the method; for example, generating observation information can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval. The time interval calculation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the time interval calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a time interval as part of the method; for example, calculating a time interval can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a first deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a first deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the first deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a first deflection amount as part of the method; for example, calculating a first deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response. The limitation of calculating displacement response, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the displacement response calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating displacement response calculation as part of the method; for example, calculating a displacement response can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response. The limitation of calculating a deflection response, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the deflection response calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a deflection response as part of the method; for example, calculating a deflection response can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients. The limitation of calculating weighting coefficients, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the weighting coefficient calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind, because the claim encompasses mentally calculating weighting coefficients; for example, calculating weighting coefficients can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a second deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a second deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the second deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a second deflection amount as part of the method; for example, calculating a second deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a failure determination step of determining a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data. The limitation of determining an abnormality, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes determining a failure from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally determining an abnormality as part of the method; for example, determining a failure based on measurement data can be done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
NO. The claim recites the additional elements: a sensor installation step of installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at an upper structure of a bridge, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of a plurality of observation points; a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the upper structure of the bridge based on data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars; a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network.
The additional element of an acceleration sensor and plurality of acceleration sensors does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are not enough to be considered an improvement in field of structural health monitoring. The acceleration sensor used for generating first displacement data and plurality of acceleration sensors are not considered/viewed as particular machines to be integrated in the judicial exception.
The additional elements of the monitoring device and communication network are merely linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
NO. The steps of a sensor installation step of installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at an upper structure of a bridge, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of a plurality of observation points and a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the upper structure of the bridge based on data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars; are considered as insignificant extra-solution activities because they amount to mere data gathering.
The step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network is viewed as an insignificant extra-solution activity because they amount to mere data outputting.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than installing a generic acceleration sensor on a structure to observe and generate data for a structure and transmit the data to a generic monitoring via a communication network. Thus, it is not enough to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 2 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 2 is further recites the element(s) “wherein defining a number of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle as CT, a length of the upper structure in a direction in which the railroad vehicle moves is shorter than a distance between a rearmost axle of a (car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle and a head axle of a car of the plurality of cars with respect to each of integers Cm no smaller than 2 and no larger than CT-1.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 2 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 3 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 3 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the weighting coefficient calculation step includes calculating an amplitude amount of the displacement response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection response in the time interval in which each, car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, and calculating a ratio between the amplitude amount of the displacement response and the amplitude amount of the deflection response as the weighting coefficient to each car of the plurality of cars.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 3 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 4 depends on claim 3, which depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 4 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the amplitude amount is an average value or an integrated value.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 4 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 5 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 5 is further recites the element(s) “wherein in the second deflection amount calculation step, the second deflection amount is calculated by adding products of deflection amounts of the upper structure by the car of the plurality of cars and the weighting coefficients to the car of the plurality of cars.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 5 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 6 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 6 is further recites the element(s) “a static response calculation step of calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the second deflection amount, wherein the measurement data transmitted to the monitoring device further includes the static response.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 6 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 7 depends on claim 6, which depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 7 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the static response calculation step includes performing filter processing on the first displacement data to calculate second displacement data reduced in vibration component, performing filter processing on the second deflection amount to calculate a third deflection amount reduced in vibration component, approximating the second displacement data with a linear function of the third deflection amount to calculate a coefficient of a linear term and a constant term of the linear function, calculating a fourth deflection amount based on the coefficient of the linear term, the constant term, and the third deflection amount, calculating an offset based on the constant term, the third deflection amount, and the fourth deflection amount, and adding a product of the coefficient of the linear term and the second deflection amount to the offset to calculate the static response.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 7 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 10 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 10 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the approximation formula of the deflection of the upper structure is a formula based on a structural model of the upper structure.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 10 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 11 depends on claim 10 that depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 11 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the structural model is a simple beam supported at both ends of the upper structure of the bridge.”, which is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 11 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 13 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 13 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the upper structure of the bridge has a structure in which BWIM (Bridge Weigh in Motion) works.”, which is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 13 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites a measurement device comprising:
a communication interface; a memory configured to store a program; and a processor configured to execute the program so as to: generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on an upper structure of a bridge based on data output from a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars, wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are installed at the upper structure of the bridge; generate observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure; calculate a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance; calculate a first deflection amount of the upper structure by the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the upper structure, the observation information, and the environmental information; calculate a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each car of the upper structure; calculate a deflection response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each. car of the vehicles plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure; calculate weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each. car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, the weighting coefficients corresponding to ratios between the displacement responses and the deflection responses; calculate a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the car of the plurality of cars; and transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method; therefore, it is a process.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of generating observation information. The generation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the determining step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally generating observation information as part of the method; for example, generating observation information can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a time interval. The time interval calculation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the time interval calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a time interval as part of the method; for example, calculating a time interval can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a first deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a first deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the first deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a first deflection amount as part of the method; for example, calculating a first deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a displacement response. The limitation of calculating displacement response, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the displacement response calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating displacement response calculation as part of the method; for example, calculating a displacement response can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a deflection response. The limitation of calculating a deflection response, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the deflection response calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a deflection response as part of the method; for example, calculating a deflection response can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating weighting coefficients. The limitation of calculating weighting coefficients, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the weighting coefficient calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind, because the claim encompasses mentally calculating weighting coefficients; for example, calculating weighting coefficients can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a second deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a second deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the second deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a second deflection amount as part of the method; for example, calculating a second deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of determining a failure. The limitation of determining an abnormality, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes determining an abnormality from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally determining an abnormality as part of the method; for example, determining a failure can be done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
NO. The claim recites the additional elements: a communication interface, a memory, a processor and generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on an upper structure of a bridge based on data output from a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars, wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are installed at the upper structure of the bridge and transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
The memory and processor are both generic computer components onto which the abstract ideas are applied through storing and processing/calculating.
The additional element of an acceleration sensor and plurality of acceleration sensors does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are not enough to be considered an improvement in field of structural health monitoring. The acceleration sensor used for generating first displacement data and plurality of acceleration sensors are not considered/viewed as particular machines to be integrated in the judicial exception.
The additional elements of the monitoring device, communication interface and communication network are merely linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
NO. The steps of generating first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on an upper structure of a bridge based on data output from a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars, wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are installed at the upper structure of the bridge; are considered as insignificant extra-solution activities because they amount to mere data gathering.
The step of transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device is viewed as an insignificant extra-solution activity because they amount to mere data outputting.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than installing a generic acceleration sensor on a structure to observe and generate data for a structure and transmit the data to a generic monitoring via a communication network. Thus, it is not enough to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 15 depends on claim 14, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 15 is further recites the element(s) “… the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points.”, which is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 15 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites measurement method comprising: a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object; an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the moving object with respect to the structural object; a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each of vehicles of the moving object moves alone on the structural object based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance; a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the structural object by the moving object based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the structural object, the observation information, and the environmental information; a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object; a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object; a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object; and a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles; a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network; and a failure determination step of determining a failure determination of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method; therefore, it is a process.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of an observation information generation step of generating observation information. The generation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the determining step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally generating observation information as part of the method; for example, generating observation information can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval. The time interval calculation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the time interval calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a time interval as part of the method; for example, calculating a time interval can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a first deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a first deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the first deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a first deflection amount as part of the method; for example, calculating a first deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response. The limitation of calculating displacement response, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the displacement response calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating displacement response calculation as part of the method; for example, calculating a displacement response can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response. The limitation of calculating a deflection response, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the deflection response calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a deflection response as part of the method; for example, calculating a deflection response can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients. The limitation of calculating weighting coefficients, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the weighting coefficient calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind, because the claim encompasses mentally calculating weighting coefficients; for example, calculating weighting coefficients can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a second deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a second deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the second deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a second deflection amount as part of the method; for example, calculating a second deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of a failure determination step of determining a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data. The limitation of determining an abnormality, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes determining a failure from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally determining an abnormality as part of the method; for example, determining a failure based on measurement data can be done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
NO. The claim recites the additional elements: a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object; a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network.
The additional elements of the monitoring device and communication network are merely linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
NO. The steps of a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object; is considered as insignificant extra-solution activities because they amount to mere data gathering.
The step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network is viewed as an insignificant extra-solution activity because they amount to mere data outputting.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than generating data for a structure, manipulating the data and transmitting the data to a generic monitoring via a communication network. Thus, it is not enough to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10, 13-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi; Yoshihiro (US patent #US 11881102 B2; hereinafter Kobayashi I) in view of Kobayashi; Yoshihiro (US patent #US US 11982595 B2; hereinafter Kobayashi II).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi I teaches
A measurement method comprising:
a sensor installation step of installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at an upper structure of a bridge (description par.51-52; fig.1 shows acceleration sensors at upper structure of bridge), the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of a plurality of observation points (description par.51-53);
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data (description par.56) based on the acceleration as a response to an action (description par.58 “to detect the acceleration of the bending at the observation point R caused by the traveling of the railway vehicle 6”) on the plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle (description par.56 railway vehicle 6) moving on the upper structure of the bridge based on data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, (description par.56-58 and fig.1);
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure (description par.106 “the first peak p.sub.1 is a head peak near a time point when the railway vehicle 6 enters the superstructure 7, and the second peak p.sub.2 is a tail peak near a time point when the railway vehicle 6 exits the superstructure 7.”);
a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the upper structure by the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the upper structure, the observation information, and the environmental information (Summary par.6 “a first path deflection waveform calculation step”);
a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure information (Summary par.6);
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, the weighting coefficients corresponding to ratios between the displacement responses and the deflection responses (description par.241 “relationship between the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t) is expressed as in Equation (72) using an amplitude coefficient D.sub.Aj, which corresponds to a ratio of the maximum amplitudes of the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t).”);
a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective car of the plurality of cars (Summary par.6 “a second path deflection waveform calculation step of calculating a deflection waveform at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient, and an approximate expression of deflection at the central position based on the structural model of the structure”);
a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount (Description par.57 “The measurement device 1 transmits, to the server 2, information such as a time point when the vehicle 6 travels on the superstructure 7 and the displacement of the superstructure 7 due to the traveling of the vehicle 6.”) to a monitoring device (Description par.57 server #2; a server can be a monitoring device) via a communication network (Description par.57 “a communication network 4”); and
Kobayashi I fails to explicitly teach the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars; a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance; a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure; a failure determination step of determining a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Kobayashi II does teach
the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars (fig.2 #6 is a railroad vehicle with a plurality of cars)
a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information (description par.106) and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance (description par.267 “deformation of the bridge is measured, and thereby the weight and the number of axles of the railway vehicle and vehicle passing through the bridge is measured.” Dimensional weight is part of dimensions);
a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data (description par.265) and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure (description par.255);
a failure determination step of determining a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device (description par.52 “abnormality determination of the superstructure 7 based on the information.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi I to include the teachings of Kobayashi II; which would reduce an error without preparing information for reducing an error such as static component data in advance is desired as disclosed in by Kobayashi II (background par.5).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi I further teaches wherein the weighting coefficient calculation step includes
calculating an amplitude amount of the displacement response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure (description par.240),
calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure (description par.161), and
calculating a ratio between the amplitude amount of the displacement response and the amplitude amount of the deflection response as the weighting coefficient to each car of the plurality of cars (description par.241 “corresponds to a ratio of the maximum amplitudes of the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t).”).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 3, Kobayashi I further teaches wherein the amplitude amount is an average value (description par.372) or an integrated value (description par.256 “calculates the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) by double-integrating the acceleration”).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 3, Kobayashi I further teaches wherein
in the second deflection amount calculation step, the second deflection amount is calculated by adding products of deflection amounts of the upper structure by the respective car of the plurality of cars and the weighting coefficients to the respective car of the plurality of cars (description par.254- 255).
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi II further teaches further comprising:
a static response calculation step of calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the second deflection amount (Related art par.3-5)
wherein the measurement data transmitted to the monitoring device further includes the static response (description par.151).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi I further teaches
wherein the approximation formula of the deflection of the upper structure is a formula (description par.102) based on a structural model of the upper structure (Summary par.6).
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 10, Kobayashi I further teaches
wherein the structural model is a simple beam supported at both ends of the upper structure of the bridge (description par.101-102).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi I further teaches
wherein the upper structure of the bridge has a structure in which BWIM (Bridge Weigh in Motion) works (description par.22).
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi I teaches
A measurement device comprising (summary par.23):
a communication interface (description par.294 communication unit 120);
a memory configured to store a program (description par.295 storage unit 130); and
a processor configured to execute the program so as to (description par.309):
generate first displacement data (description par.56) based on an acceleration as a response to an action (description par.58 “to detect the acceleration of the bending at the observation point R caused by the traveling of the railway vehicle 6”) on a plurality of observation points in a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle (description par.56 railway vehicle 6) moving on an upper structure of a bridge based on data output from a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points of the upper structure, wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are installed at the upper structure of the bridge (description par.56-57);
generate observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the upper structure (Summary par.6);
calculate a first deflection amount of the upper structure by the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the upper structure, the observation information, and the environmental information (Summary par.6 “a first path deflection waveform calculation step”);
calculate a deflection response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure (Summary par.6);
calculate weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure, the weighting coefficients corresponding to ratios between the displacement responses and the deflection responses (description par.241 “relationship between the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t) is expressed as in Equation (72) using an amplitude coefficient D.sub.Aj, which corresponds to a ratio of the maximum amplitudes of the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t).”);
calculate a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective car of the plurality of cars (Summary par.6 “a second path deflection waveform calculation step of calculating a deflection waveform at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient, and an approximate expression of deflection at the central position based on the structural model of the structure”); and
transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount (Description par.57 “The measurement device 1 transmits, to the server 2, information such as a time point when the vehicle 6 travels on the superstructure 7 and the displacement of the superstructure 7 due to the traveling of the vehicle 6.”) to a monitoring device (Description par.57 server #2; a server can be a monitoring device) via the communication interface through a communication network (Description par.57 “a communication network 4”)
Kobayashi I fails to explicitly teach the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars, calculate a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance; calculate a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure; to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Kobayashi II does teach
the railroad vehicle including a plurality of cars (fig.2 #6 is a railroad vehicle with a plurality of cars),
calculate a time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle moves alone on the upper structure based on the observation information (description par.106) and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the upper structure generated in advance (description par.267 “deformation of the bridge is measured, and thereby the weight and the number of axles of the railway vehicle and vehicle passing through the bridge is measured.” Dimensional weight is part of dimensions);
calculate a displacement response when each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure based on the first displacement data (description par.265) and the time interval in which each car of the plurality of cars moves alone on the upper structure (description par.255);
to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device (description par.52 “abnormality determination of the superstructure 7 based on the information.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi I to include the teachings of Kobayashi II; which would reduce an error without preparing information for reducing an error such as static component data in advance is desired as disclosed in by Kobayashi II (background par.5).
Regarding claim 15, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement device according to Claim 14; Kobayashi I further teaches a measurement system comprising (Kobayashi I summary par.23): and the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points (Kobayashi I description par.83).
Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi I teaches
A measurement method comprising (summary par.23):
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action (description par.58 “to detect the acceleration of the bending at the observation point R caused by the traveling of the railway vehicle 6”) on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object (description par.56-57);
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the moving object with respect to the structural object (Summary par.6);
a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the structural object by the moving object based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the structural object, the observation information, and the environmental information (Summary par.6 “a first path deflection waveform calculation step”);
a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object (Summary par.6);
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object (description par.241 “relationship between the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t) is expressed as in Equation (72) using an amplitude coefficient D.sub.Aj, which corresponds to a ratio of the maximum amplitudes of the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t).”); and
a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles (Summary par.6 “a second path deflection waveform calculation step of calculating a deflection waveform at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient, and an approximate expression of deflection at the central position based on the structural model of the structure”);
a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount (Description par.57 “The measurement device 1 transmits, to the server 2, information such as a time point when the vehicle 6 travels on the superstructure 7 and the displacement of the superstructure 7 due to the traveling of the vehicle 6.”) to a monitoring device (Description par.57 server #2; a server can be a monitoring device) via a communication network (Description par.57 “a communication network 4”); and
Kobayashi I fails to teach a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each of vehicles of the moving object moves alone on the structural object based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance; a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object; a failure determination step of determining a failure determination of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Kobayashi II does teach
a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each of vehicles of the moving object moves alone on the structural object based on the observation information and environmental information (description par.106) including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance (description par.267 “deformation of the bridge is measured, and thereby the weight and the number of axles of the railway vehicle and vehicle passing through the bridge is measured.” Dimensional weight is part of dimensions);
a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first displacement data (description par.265) and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object (description par.255);
a failure determination step of determining a failure determination of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device (description par.52 “abnormality determination of the superstructure 7 based on the information.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi I to include the teachings of Kobayashi II; which would reduce an error without preparing information for reducing an error such as static component data in advance is desired as disclosed in by Kobayashi II (background par.5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20220120632 A1; YANG; Yang et al. is an integrated automatic detection equipment for highway network structure group.
/CARL F.R. TCHATCHOUANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858