CTFR 18/305,663 CTFR 89570 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0359922) in view of Ahrens (US 20230268758) . Re Claim 1; Park discloses an apparatus for discharging battery units, (300, Fig. 1): comprising: a plurality of carrier units (330), wherein a respective battery unit is arranged on top of each of the plurality of carrier units and is configured to be electrically contacted;(Par 0080) a conveyor system (314) configured to transport individual carrier units of the plurality of carrier units; (Par 0092) a buffer station configured to receive and temporarily store a number of the plurality of carrier units from the conveyor system; (the top of the device) a discharging station (320) configured to receive the individual carrier units transported from the buffer station; (Par 0075-79) a removal station configured to remove the individual carrier units transported from the discharging station; (the table of the floor would be considered as the removal station ) a contacting assembly configured to generate a respective electrical contact to each of the individual carrier units received in the discharging station and independently from one another so that the individual battery units arranged on the carrier units are removed from the circuit individually and independently from one another (Fig. 17, 18 and also see (Par 0075-79)) Park does not disclose such that a series circuit of battery units is generated, which are arranged on the electrically contacted individual carrier units to discharge the series circuit of battery units and to disconnect the respective electrical contacts to each of the individual carrier units individually and. However, Ahrens disclose a series circuit (30.1-32b.4) of battery units is generated, which are arranged on the electrically contacted individual carrier units to discharge the series circuit of battery units and to disconnect the respective electrical contacts to each of the individual carrier units individually. (Par 0016, 17, Fig. 1) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have couple the series circuit of Ahrens to the device of Park in order to continuously discharge the battery when needed. Re Claim 2; the combination of Park and Ahrens discloses this claimed limitation. For instance, Park discloses wherein the contacting assembly comprises: a plurality of contact elements, each of the plurality of contact elements configured to be brought into contact with respective ones of the individual carrier units received in the discharging station and thus to be electrically contacted; (Fig. 17-18) Ahrens discloses a switch assembly comprising a plurality of switch units configured so as to generate the series circuit of battery units arranged on the electrically contacted individual carrier units; and a discharge circuit configured so as to discharge the individual battery units of the series circuit. (See the rejection above) Re Claim 3; Park discloses wherein: each individual carrier unit comprises respective fixed contact elements and flexible conduit connections; and the fixed contact elements are electrically connectable to the respective battery unit arranged on the carrier unit via the flexible conduction connections. (Fig. 17-18) Re Claim 4 ; Park discloses further comprising: a safety station (320) configured to receive the individual carrier units from the discharging station and to impinge them using one or more safety mechanisms. (Fig. 5) Re Claim 5; Park discloses wherein at least one of: the apparatus further comprises a loading station in which the respective battery unit is arranged on top of the individual carrier units, the conveyor system is configured to transport the individual carrier units from the loading station to the buffer station, and the buffer station is configured to receive and temporarily store the individual carrier units from the loading station; and the apparatus further comprises a withdrawal station configured to receive the individual carrier units from the removal station, and respective battery units arranged in the received individual carrier units in the withdrawal station are configured to be electrically disconnected and withdrawn from the respective carrier unit. (Fig. 5) Re Claim 6; Park discloses wherein: the buffer station comprises at least one buffer unit, wherein each of the at least one buffer units is respectively configured to temporarily store an individual carrier unit; the discharging station comprises at least one discharging unit, wherein each of the at least one discharging units is configured to receive a respective individual carrier unit from one of the at least one buffer units of the buffer station; each of the at least one buffer units is respectively assigned to one of the at least one discharging units; and (see fig. 5) Park does not disclose buffer units and discharging units assigned to one another are respectively coupled via a respective one of at least one conveying unit of the conveyor system. A POSITA would have been motivated to incorporate buffer units, discharging units, and conveyor‑based coupling because Industrial automation norms Battery recycling and automated material‑handling systems routinely include: buffer units discharging/processing units conveyor‑based coupling between stations. These are standard components in automated lines. Re Claims 7 and 8; Park discloses wherein the removal station comprises: an emptying station configured to receive the individual carrier units from the discharging station individually and independently from one another; and a second buffer station configured to receive all of the individual carrier units received in the emptying station and to temporarily store them and wherein; the emptying station comprises at least one emptying unit; each of the at least one emptying unit is configured to receive a respective individual carrier unit from a respective one of the at least one discharging unit of the discharging station; each of the at least one discharging units is respectively assigned to one of the at least one discharging units; and buffer units, discharging units, and emptying units assigned to one another are coupled via the respective one of the at least one conveying unit of the conveyor system. (see fig. 5) Re Claim 9; Park discloses wherein the buffer station, the discharging station, and the removal station are arranged within a protected region. (Fig. 5) 10. A method for operating an apparatus for discharging battery units, comprising: arranging a respective battery unit on individual carrier units of a plurality of carrier units and electrically contacting the individual carrier units with the respective battery unit arranged thereon; transporting the individual carrier units, on which the respective battery unit is arranged, using a conveyor system, into a buffer station and temporarily storing the individual carrier units in the buffer station; transporting the individual carrier units individually and independently from one another, using the conveyor system, from the buffer station into a discharging station; generating an electrical contact between a contacting assembly and the individual carrier units received in the discharging station and generating a series circuit of the respective battery units arranged on said electrically contacted individual carrier units; discharging the respective battery units of said series circuit using the contacting assembly; disconnecting the electrical contact between the contacting assembly and the individual carrier units received in the discharging station individually and independently from one another and removing the respective battery units arranged on said individual carrier units from the series circuit individually and independently from one another, in response to occurrence of a specified event which characterizes a sufficient discharge of the respective battery unit arranged on said individual carrier units; and transporting, using the conveying system, the individual carrier units, whose electrical contacting to the contacting assembly has been disconnected from one another individually and independently, from the discharging station into a removal station configured to remove the individual carrier units transported from the discharging station from the conveyor system. (See the rejection above) 11. The method according to claim 10, wherein the buffer station comprises at least one buffer unit and the discharging station comprises at least one discharging unit, further comprising: transporting a second of the individual carrier units from a first of the at least one buffer units into a first of the at least one discharging units as soon as a first of the individual carrier units previously transported into the first of the at least one discharging units is transported by the conveyor system into the removal station. (See the rejection above) Re Claim 12; Park discloses further comprising at least one of: determining and monitoring a voltage and a temperature of the respective battery units arranged on the contacted individual carrier units in the discharging unit; and regulating a discharging current which discharges the respective battery unit arranged on the contacted individual carrier unit in the discharging unit; and controlling a discharge rate which discharges the respective battery unit arranged on the contacted individual carrier unit. (Fig. 6, 79, 81, par 0077) Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. 1. Applicant argues… Park does not disclose a “discharging station.” Applicant contends that Park’s tray 320 is not a “discharging station” because Park uses the term “discharge” to mean physically ejecting a battery module during thermal runaway, not electrically discharging energy. Applicant cites Park ¶76 and contrasts this with the Applicant’s specification, which uses “discharging station” to mean a location where electrical energy is removed from a battery (e.g., Spec. ¶51: “a plurality of battery units… can be integrated into a series circuit and discharged simultaneously” ). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), a “discharging station” is not limited to electrical discharge unless the claim explicitly imposes that limitation. Claim 1 recites: “a discharging station configured to receive the individual carrier units… and a contacting assembly configured to generate a respective electrical contact… such that a series circuit… is generated.” The function of the contacting assembly not the “discharging station” itself performs the electrical contacting. Nothing in claim 1 requires the station to inherently perform electrical discharge or to be limited to a particular type of discharge. Park’s tray 320 is a defined location that receives a battery module for the purpose of removing energy (thermal or electrical) from the system. Park ¶76 describes the tray as the location where the module is “discharged to the outside,” i.e., removed from the system for safety. Under BRI, a “station” that receives a battery for discharge whether electrical or safety-related meets the structural requirement of a “discharging station.” Applicant’s argument relies on importing limitations from the specification into the claim, which is improper during examination. 2. Applicant argues… Park’s battery management system (BMS 330) is not a “carrier.” Applicant asserts that a “carrier” must be a physical platform on which a battery is placed and transported, citing their own specification (e.g., Spec. ¶47–48: carriers physically hold and move battery units) . Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not require a “carrier” to be a mechanical platform, tray, pallet, or transport surface. The claim only requires: “a plurality of carrier units, wherein a respective battery unit is arranged on top of each… and is configured to be electrically contacted.” Park’s BMS 330 is a structural component on which the battery module 200 is mounted and electrically interfaced. Park ¶15 describes the BMS as part of the physical rack structure that supports and manages the battery module. The module is arranged on the BMS assembly in the sense that it is structurally supported and electrically interfaced. Under BRI, a “carrier” is any structure that supports and positions a battery unit for further processing. Applicant’s narrower definition is again imported from the specification and not required by the claim language. 3. Applicant argues… Park’s batteries are not “arranged on top of” the carrier units. Applicant states that Park does not show battery modules arranged “on top of” the BMS. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Park’s figures and description show the battery module 200 mounted on the rack structure, including the BMS portion. The module is physically supported by the rack assembly, which includes the BMS. The phrase “on top of” is a relative spatial term and is interpreted broadly unless the claim provides a specific geometric constraint which it does not. Thus, Park teaches a battery unit arranged on a supporting structure that the Examiner reasonably identified as a carrier. 4. Applicant argues… Park does not disclose a buffer station. Applicant asserts that the “top of the device” cannot be a buffer station because Park does not teach storing multiple carriers there. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not require: a particular geometry, a particular storage capacity, or that the buffer station must store multiple carriers simultaneously. It only requires: “a buffer station configured to receive, and temporarily store, a number of the plurality of carrier units.” Park’s rack structure includes multiple receiving spaces (e.g., receiving space 313a) that temporarily hold battery modules before further processing. These spaces meet the structural requirement of a buffer station under BRI. Applicant again attempts to narrow the claim by importing limitations from the specification. 5. Applicant argues… Park does not disclose a removal station. Applicant notes that the Examiner referred to a “table of the floor,” which is not explicitly described in Park. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Park teaches that the tray 320 moves to a location where the battery module “will fall down” (Park ¶76). The ground or receiving surface beneath the tray is inherently a removal location where the battery is deposited after ejection. A “removal station” under BRI is any location where a carrier or battery is removed from the system. Park’s ejection and drop-off mechanism inherently includes such a station. While the Examiner’s shorthand (“table of the floor”) may not match Park’s terminology, the underlying structure is clearly disclosed. Conclusion Applicant’s arguments rely heavily on importing limitations from the specification into the claims. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation: Park discloses structures that correspond to the claimed discharging station, buffer station, removal station, and carrier units. Ahrens (your attached reference) is properly used for the contacting assembly and series-circuit discharge functionality (e.g., Ahrens ¶16–17 describing automatic series connection and removal via short-circuit switches) . The combination of Park and Ahrens still renders claim 1 obvious. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL KESSIE whose telephone number is (571)272-4449. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8am-5pmEst. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rexford Barnie can be reached at (571) 272-7492. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANIEL KESSIE/ 06/02/2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 2 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 3 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 4 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 5 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 6 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 7 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 8 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 9 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 10 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 11 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/305,663 Page 12 Art Unit: 2836