DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10, and 12-14 are pending
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended
Claim 16 is new
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the steps of acquiring data, generating displacement data, calculating coefficients and generating deflection amounts are integrated into the practical application of real-world structure monitoring with communication bandwidth constraints (Remarks, pg. 13-14). However, according to MPEP 2106.05(a), these are still viewed as mere instruction to perform the method. The additional elements are merely added as generic components to perform the method. Applicant further argues that 103 analysis was used in the 101 rejection. This was not the intention of the examiner, according to MPEP 2106.05(g) the installation of acceleration sensor to monitor a structure is a well-known activity that amounts to data gathering, which makes it an insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, applicant’s argument’s regarding the invention being directed to an improved and practical application in the field of structural health monitoring are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-7, 10, 11, 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11881102 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305666 (Claim 1)
US Patent: US 11881102 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement method for causing a processor to execute a process, the method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
A measurement method for causing a processor to execute a program stored in a memory, the measurement method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at a plurality of observation points of a superstructure of a bridge, respectively, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of each of a plurality of observation points;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
causing a second observation device to acquire second observation point information, the second observation device being disposed at a second observation point of a structure, the second observation device being spaced apart from the first observation device along the first direction, the second observation point information including a plurality of second physical quantities in association with a second plurality of times, each of the plurality of second physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the second observation point at each of the second plurality of times;
generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the superstructure of the bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being disposed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the superstructure;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
calculating a deflection amount of the superstructure by a plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the superstructure, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the superstructure generated in advance;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
calculating an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information;
calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time;
calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals;
calculating weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals;
calculating an amplitude coefficient at which a difference is minimized between the measurement waveform and a waveform obtained by multiplying the first path deflection waveform by the amplitude coefficient;
calculating a first deflection amount of the superstructure by the railroad vehicle using a sum of products of the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars and the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars;
calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the superstructure based on the first displacement data and the first deflection amount;
transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network; and
transmitting information relating to the estimation waveform to a server, the server monitoring the superstructure based on the estimation waveform.
monitoring the railroad vehicle and determining a failure of the superstructure based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11881102 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305666 (Claim 13)
US Patent: US 11881102 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement device comprising
A measurement method
a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on a superstructure of a bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being installed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times; causing a second observation device to acquire second observation point information, the second observation device being disposed at a second observation point of a structure, the second observation device being spaced apart from the first observation device along the first direction, the second observation point information including a plurality of second physical quantities in association with a second plurality of times, each of the plurality of second physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the second observation point at each of the second plurality of times;
a communication interface:
a memory configured to store a program; a processor configured to execute the program so as to:
causing a processor to execute a program stored in a memory, the measurement method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
generate observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the superstructure;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
causing a second observation device to acquire second observation point information, the second observation device being disposed at a second observation point of a structure, the second observation device being spaced apart from the first observation device along the first direction, the second observation point information including a plurality of second physical quantities in association with a second plurality of times, each of the plurality of second physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the second observation point at each of the second plurality of times;
calculate a deflection amount of the superstructure by a plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the superstructure, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the superstructure generated in advance;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
calculate an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information;
calculate time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
calculate an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals;
calculate an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals;
calculate weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals;
calculating a first deflection amount of the superstructure by the railroad vehicle using a sum of products of the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars and the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the superstructure based on the first displacement data and the first deflection amount;
calculating a second path deflection waveform at the central position based on the second object deflection waveform;
providing measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response; and
transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
transmitting information relating to the estimation waveform to a server, the server monitoring the superstructure based on the estimation waveform.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11881102 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305666 (Claim 16)
US Patent: US 11881102 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement method comprising:
A measurement method
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times; causing a second observation device to acquire second observation point information, the second observation device being disposed at a second observation point of a structure, the second observation device being spaced apart from the first observation device along the first direction, the second observation point information including a plurality of second physical quantities in association with a second plurality of times, each of the plurality of second physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the second observation point at each of the second plurality of times;
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the moving object with respect to the structural object;
causing a first observation device to acquire first observation point information, the first observation device being disposed at a first observation point of a structure, the structure being a superstructure of a road bridge or a railway bridge, of a moving object moving on the superstructure along a first direction, the first observation point information including a plurality of first physical quantities in association with a first plurality of times, each of the plurality of first physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the first observation point at each of the first plurality of times;
causing a second observation device to acquire second observation point information, the second observation device being disposed at a second observation point of a structure, the second observation device being spaced apart from the first observation device along the first direction, the second observation point information including a plurality of second physical quantities in association with a second plurality of times, each of the plurality of second physical quantities corresponding to a response to an action of each of a plurality of parts of the moving object that passes by the second observation point at each of the second plurality of times;
a vehicle deflection amount calculation step of calculating a deflection amount of the structural object by vehicles of the moving object based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the structural object, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
a vehicle approach/exit time calculation step of calculating an approach time and an exit time of each of the vehicles of the moving object with respect to the structural object based on the observation information and the environmental information;
a time interval calculation step of calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the vehicles with respect to the structural object by time;
calculating a first plurality of deflection waveforms at a third observation point, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, a predetermined coefficient, and a first approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point according to a structural model of the structure, the third observation point being located between the first and second observation points along the first direction and shifted from a central position between the first and second observation points along the first direction;
a time interval displacement calculation step of calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals;
a time interval deflection amount calculation step of calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the structural object by each of the vehicles in each of the time intervals;
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the structural object by the vehicles in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the vehicles is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals;
a step of transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network; and
transmitting information relating to the estimation waveform to a server, the server monitoring the superstructure based on the estimation waveform.
a step of monitoring the moving object and determining a failure of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 11982595 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 1, Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305666 (Claim 1)
US Patent: 11982595 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement method for causing a processor to execute a process, the method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
A measurement method comprising executing on a processor steps of:
installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at a plurality of observation points of a superstructure of a bridge, respectively, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of each of a plurality of observation points;
a target data generation step of acquiring target data, the target data corresponding to observation data sensed by an acceleration sensor, the acceleration sensor being disposed at a superstructure of a bridge, the observation data corresponding to displacement of the superstructure due to moving of a vehicle on the superstructure, the target data including a drift noise and a vibration component of the superstructure
generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the superstructure of the bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being disposed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively;
a target data generation step of acquiring target data, the target data corresponding to observation data sensed by an acceleration sensor, the acceleration sensor being disposed at a superstructure of a bridge, the observation data corresponding to displacement of the superstructure due to moving of a vehicle on the superstructure, the target data including a drift noise and a vibration component of the superstructure
generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the superstructure;
an interval specifying step of calculating a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specifying a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
calculating a deflection amount of the superstructure by a plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the superstructure, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the superstructure generated in advance;
calculating an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information;
an interval specifying step of calculating a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specifying a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time;
an interval specifying step of calculating a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specifying a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals;
calculating weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals;
generating third line data linearly approximating the third interval correction data smaller than a product of the first coefficient and a value obtained by inverting a sign of an amplitude of the second peak;
calculating a first deflection amount of the superstructure by the railroad vehicle using a sum of products of the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars and the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars;
a correction data generation step of generating the correction data by adding the first interval correction data, the second interval correction data, and the third interval correction data,
calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the superstructure based on the first displacement data and the first deflection amount;
transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network; and
a measurement data transmission step of transmitting the measurement data to a monitoring device, the monitoring device being configured to monitor a state of the superstructure based on the measurement data,
monitoring the railroad vehicle and determining a failure of the superstructure based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
an abnormality of the superstructure of the bridge is determined based on the measurement data.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11982595 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305666 (Claim 14)
US Patent: 11982595 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement device comprising
A measurement method comprising executing on a processor steps of:
a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on a superstructure of a bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being installed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively;
a target data generation step of acquiring target data, the target data corresponding to observation data sensed by an acceleration sensor, the acceleration sensor being disposed at a superstructure of a bridge, the observation data corresponding to displacement of the superstructure due to moving of a vehicle on the superstructure, the target data including a drift noise and a vibration component of the superstructure
a communication interface:
a memory configured to store a program; a processor configured to execute the program so as to:
generate observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the superstructure;
calculate a deflection amount of the superstructure by a plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the superstructure, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the superstructure generated in advance;
calculate an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information;
an interval specifying step of calculating a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specifying a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
calculate time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time;
an interval specifying step of calculating a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specifying a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
calculate an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals;
calculate an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals;
generating third line data linearly approximating the third interval correction data smaller than a product of the first coefficient and a value obtained by inverting a sign of an amplitude of the second peak;
calculate weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals;
calculating a first deflection amount of the superstructure by the railroad vehicle using a sum of products of the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars and the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars;
a correction data generation step of generating the correction data by adding the first interval correction data, the second interval correction data, and the third interval correction data,
calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the superstructure based on the first displacement data and the first deflection amount;
providing measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response; and
transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network to determine a failure of the upper structure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
a measurement data transmission step of transmitting the measurement data to a monitoring device, the monitoring device being configured to monitor a state of the superstructure based on the measurement data,
an abnormality of the superstructure of the bridge is determined based on the measurement data.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11982595 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because both sets of claims cover the same subject matter.
Both independent claims’ features of the instant application and the co-pending application can be compared as:
Instant Application: 18305666 (Claim 16)
US Patent: 11982595 B2 (Claim 1)
A measurement method comprising:
A measurement method comprising executing on a processor steps of:
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object;
a target data generation step of acquiring target data, the target data corresponding to observation data sensed by an acceleration sensor, the acceleration sensor being disposed at a superstructure of a bridge, the observation data corresponding to displacement of the superstructure due to moving of a vehicle on the superstructure, the target data including a drift noise and a vibration component of the superstructure
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the moving object with respect to the structural object;
a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each of vehicles of the moving object moves alone on the structural object based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance;
an interval specifying step of calculating a first peak and a second peak of the drift noise reduction data, and specifying a first interval before the first peak, a second interval between the first peak and the second peak, and a third interval after the second peak;
a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the structural object by the moving object based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the structural object, the observation information, and the environmental information;
displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object;
a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object;
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object; and
generating third line data linearly approximating the third interval correction data smaller than a product of the first coefficient and a value obtained by inverting a sign of an amplitude of the second peak;
a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles;
a correction data generation step of generating the correction data by adding the first interval correction data, the second interval correction data, and the third interval correction data,
a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via a communication network; and
a measurement data transmission step of transmitting the measurement data to a monitoring device, the monitoring device being configured to monitor a state of the superstructure based on the measurement data,
a failure determination step of determining a failure determination of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
an abnormality of the superstructure of the bridge is determined based on the measurement data.
This is a double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10 , 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a measurement method for causing a processor to execute a process, the method comprising executing on the processor the steps of: installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at a plurality of observation points of a superstructure of a bridge, respectively, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of each of a plurality of observation points: generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the superstructure of the bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being disposed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively; generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the superstructure; calculating a deflection amount of the superstructure by a plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the superstructure, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the superstructure generated in advance; calculating an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information; calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time; calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals; calculating weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals; calculating a first deflection amount of the superstructure by the railroad vehicle using a sum of products of the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars and the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars; calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the superstructure based on the first displacement data and the first deflection amount; transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network; and monitoring the railroad vehicle and determining a failure of the superstructure based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method; therefore it is a process.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of generating first displacement data. The generation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the generating step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally generating first displacement data as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of generating observation information. The generation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the generating step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally generating observation information as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a deflection amount as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals. The limitation of calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals and calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals. The limitations calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars. The limitation of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a first deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a first deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the first deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a first deflection amount as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a static response. The limitation of calculating a static response, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes calculating a static response from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a static response as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of determining a failure. The limitation of monitoring the railroad train and determining an abnormality, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes determining a failure of a superstructure from practically being performed in the human mind, because the claim encompasses mentally monitoring the railroad train and determining an abnormality. For example, determining a failure of a superstructure can be done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
NO. The claim recites the additional element: a processor and installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at a plurality of observation points of a superstructure of a bridge; transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network; and monitoring the railroad vehicle
The additional element of an acceleration sensor does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it is well known in the art to use an acceleration sensor to observe and generate data for a structure.
Similarly, installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at a plurality of observation points of a superstructure of a bridge to detect acceleration are not considered/viewed as particular machines to be integrated in the judicial exception.
The processor is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data (calculating amounts, values, intervals, coefficients, etc and providing data). This generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The additional elements of the monitoring device and communication network are merely linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
NO.
The steps of installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at a plurality of observation points of a superstructure of a bridge, respectively, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of each of a plurality of observation points; and generating first displacement data based on the acceleration as a response to an action on the plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on the superstructure of the bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being disposed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively; are considered as insignificant extra-solution activities because they amount to mere data gathering.
The step of transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network; is viewed as an insignificant extra-solution activity because they amount to mere data outputting.
Similarly for the processor, mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than installing a generic acceleration sensor on a structure to observe and generate data for a structure and transmit the data to a generic monitoring via a communication network. Thus, it is not enough to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 2 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 2 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the amplitude amount is an average value or an integrated value.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 2 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 5 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 5 is further recites the element(s) “wherein calculating of the static response further includes performing filter processing on the first displacement data to calculate second displacement data reduced in vibration component; performing filter processing on the second deflection amount to calculate a third deflection amount reduced in vibration component; approximating the second displacement data with a linear function of the third deflection amount to calculate a coefficient of a linear term and a constant term of the linear function; calculating a fourth deflection amount based on the coefficient of the linear term, the constant term, and the third deflection amount; calculating an offset based on the constant term, the third deflection amount, and the fourth deflection amount; and adding a product of the coefficient of the linear term and the second deflection amount to the offset to calculate the static response.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 5 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 6 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 6 is further recites the element(s) “calculating a matrix representing whether the plurality of cars are moving on the superstructure in the time intervals based on deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 6 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 7 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 7 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the superstructure is an upper structure of the bridge.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 7 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 9 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 9 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the approximation formula of the deflection of the superstructure is a formula based on a structural model of the superstructure.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 9 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 10 depends on claim 9 that depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 10 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the structural model is a simple beam supported at both ends of the superstructure.”, which is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 10 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 12 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 12 is further recites the element(s) “wherein the superstructure has a structure in which BWIM (Bridge Weigh in Motion) works.”, which is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 12 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites A measurement device comprising: a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on a superstructure of a bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being installed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively; a communication interface; a memory configured to store a program; a processor configured to execute the program so as to: generate observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the superstructure; calculate a deflection amount of the superstructure by a plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the superstructure, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the superstructure generated in advance; to calculate an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information; calculate time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time; calculate an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculate an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals; calculate weighting coefficients to the respective plurality of cars assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals; calculating a first deflection amount of the superstructure by the railroad vehicle using a sum of products of the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars and the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars; calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the superstructure based on the first displacement data and the first deflection amount; providing measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response; and transmit measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network to monitor the railroad vehicle and determine a failure of the superstructure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method; therefore it is a process.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of generating first displacement data. The generation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the generating step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally generating first displacement data as part of the method.
The claim recites the limitations of an observation information generation step of generating observation information. The generation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the generating step from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, generating observation information can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, calculating a deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals. The limitation of calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, an approach time and exit time and time intervals can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals and calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals. The limitations calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals and calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars. The limitation of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a first deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a first deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the first deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, calculating a first deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a static response. The limitation of calculating a static response, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes calculating a static response from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, calculating a static response can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of determining a failure of the superstructure of the bridge. The limitation of monitoring the railroad train and determining an abnormality, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes determining a failure of the superstructure of the bridge from practically being performed in the human mind, because the claim encompasses mentally a failure of the superstructure of the bridge. For example, determining a failure of a superstructure can be done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
NO. The claim recites the additional elements: a monitoring device, a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on a superstructure of a bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being installed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively; a communication interface; a memory configured to store a program; a processor, a communication interface; a communication network and a processor.
The additional element of a plurality of acceleration sensors does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are not enough to be considered an improvement in field of structural health monitoring. The acceleration sensor used for generating first displacement data and plurality of acceleration sensors are not considered/viewed as particular machines to be integrated in the judicial exception.
The additional elements of the monitoring device, communication interface and communication network are merely linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
The processor and memory are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor and memory performing a generic computer function of processing data (calculating amounts, values, intervals, coefficients, etc and providing data and storing data). This generic processor and memory limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
NO.
The steps of a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to generate first displacement data based on an acceleration as a response to an action on a plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle moving on a superstructure of a bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being installed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively; are considered as insignificant extra-solution activities because they amount to mere data gathering.
The step of transmit measurement data including at least the second deflection amount to a monitoring device via the communication interface through a communication network is viewed as an insignificant extra-solution activity because they amount to mere data outputting.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than installing a generic acceleration sensor on a structure to observe and generate data for a structure and transmit the data to a generic monitoring via a communication network. Thus, it is not enough to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 14 depends on claim 13, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 14 is further recites the element(s) “the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points.”, which is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 14 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites a measurement method comprising: a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object; an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the moving object with respect to the structural object; a vehicle deflection amount calculation step of calculating a deflection amount of the structural object by vehicles of the moving object based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the structural object, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance; a vehicle approach/exit time calculation step of calculating an approach time and an exit time of each of the vehicles of the moving object with respect to the structural object based on the observation information and the environmental information; a time interval calculation step of calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the vehicles with respect to the structural object by time; a time interval displacement calculation step of calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; a time interval deflection amount calculation step of calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the structural object by each of the vehicles in each of the time intervals; a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the structural object by the vehicles in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the vehicles is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals; a step of transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network; and a step of monitoring the moving object and determining a failure of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method; therefore it is a process.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of an observation information generation step of generating observation information. The generation limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the generating step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally generating observation information as part of the method. For example, generating observation information can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating a deflection amount. The limitation of calculating a deflection amount, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the deflection amount calculation step from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating a deflection amount as part of the method. For example, calculating a deflection amount can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals. The limitation of calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals as part of the method. For example, calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the vehicles with respect to the structural object by time. The limitation of calculating an approach time and exit time and time intervals, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times as part of the method. For example, calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals and calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals. The limitations calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; For example, an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars. The limitation of calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars from practically being performed in the human mind. The claim encompasses mentally calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars as part of the method. For example, calculating weighting coefficients to a respective car of the plurality of cars can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitations of determining a failure. The limitation of determining a failure, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes monitoring the railroad train and determining an abnormality from practically being performed in the human mind, for example determining a failure can done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
NO. The claim recites the additional element: a step of monitoring the moving object at the monitoring device and a communication network.
The additional elements of a step of monitoring the moving object at the monitoring device and communication network are merely linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
NO.
The steps of a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object; is considered as insignificant extra-solution activities because they amount to mere data gathering.
The step of transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network; and a step of monitoring the moving object is viewed as an insignificant extra-solution activity because they amount to mere data outputting.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than generating data for a structure and transmit the data to a generic monitoring via a communication network. Thus, it is not enough to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi; Yoshihiro (US patent #US 11881102 B2; hereinafter Kobayashi I) in view of Kobayashi; Yoshihiro (US patent #US US 11982595 B2; hereinafter Kobayashi II).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi I teaches
A measurement method for causing a processor to execute a process, the method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
installing a plurality of acceleration sensors at a plurality of observation points of a superstructure of a bridge (description par.51-52; fig.1 shows acceleration sensors at upper structure of bridge), respectively, the plurality of acceleration sensors being configured to detect an acceleration of each of a plurality of observation points (description par.51-53);
generating first displacement data (description par.56) based on the acceleration as a response to an action (description par.58 “to detect the acceleration of the bending at the observation point R caused by the traveling of the railway vehicle 6”) on the plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle (description par.56 railway vehicle 6) moving on the superstructure of the bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being disposed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively (description par.56-58 and fig.1);
generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the superstructure (description par.106 “the first peak p.sub.1 is a head peak near a time point when the railway vehicle 6 enters the superstructure 7, and the second peak p.sub.2 is a tail peak near a time point when the railway vehicle 6 exits the superstructure 7.”);
calculating a deflection amount of the superstructure by a plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the superstructure (Summary par.6 “a first path deflection waveform calculation step”), the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the superstructure generated in advance;
calculating weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals (description par.241 “relationship between the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t) is expressed as in Equation (72) using an amplitude coefficient D.sub.Aj, which corresponds to a ratio of the maximum amplitudes of the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t).”);
calculating a first deflection amount of the superstructure by the railroad vehicle (Summary par.6 “a first path deflection waveform calculation step”) using a sum of products of the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars and the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars (Summary par.6);
calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the superstructure based on the first displacement data and the first deflection amount (Summary par.6 “a second path deflection waveform calculation step of calculating a deflection waveform at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient, and an approximate expression of deflection at the central position based on the structural model of the structure”);
transmitting measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to a monitoring device via a communication network (Description par.57 “The measurement device 1 transmits, to the server 2, information such as a time point when the vehicle 6 travels on the superstructure 7 and the displacement of the superstructure 7 due to the traveling of the vehicle 6; server #2; a server can be a monitoring device”); and
monitoring the railroad vehicle and determining a failure of the superstructure based on the measurement data at the monitoring device (Description par.57).
Kobayashi I fails to teach calculating an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information; calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time; calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals; calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals;
Kobaysha II does teach calculating an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information (Description par.106);
calculating time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time (Description par.96);
calculating an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals (description par.98);
calculating an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals (description par.98);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi I to include the teachings of Kobayashi II; which would reduce an error without preparing information for reducing an error such as static component data in advance is desired as disclosed in by Kobayashi II (background par.5).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi I further teaches wherein the amplitude amount is an average value or an integrated value (description par.240).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi II further teaches wherein the calculating of the static response further includes:
performing filter processing on the first displacement data to calculate second displacement data reduced in vibration component (description par.65-67);
performing filter processing on the first deflection amount to calculate a second deflection amount reduced in vibration component (description par.65-67);
approximating the second displacement data with a linear function of the second deflection amount to calculate a coefficient of a linear term and a constant term of the linear function (description par.110-111);
calculating a third deflection amount based on the coefficient of the linear term, the constant term, and the second deflection amount (description par.114-115);
calculating an offset based on the constant term, the second deflection amount, and the third deflection amount (description par.69); and
adding a product of the coefficient of the linear term and the first deflection amount to the offset to calculate the static response (description par.107).
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi I further teaches further comprising:
calculating a matrix representing whether the plurality of cars are moving on the superstructure in the time intervals based on deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals (fig.9 shows matrix representing whether the plurality of cars are moving on the superstructure in the time intervals based on deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals).
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi I further teaches wherein the superstructure is an upper structure of the bridge (fig.1).
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi I further teaches wherein the approximation formula of the deflection of the superstructure is a formula based on a structural model of the superstructure (Summary par.6 “an approximate expression of deflection at the third observation point based on a structural model of the structure”).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 9, Kobayashi I further teaches wherein the structural model is a simple beam supported at both ends of the superstructure (description 101 and FIG. 14 discloses a simple beam that supports both ends with both ends as fulcrums.).
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement method according to Claim 1, Kobayashi I further teaches wherein the superstructure has a structure in which BWIM (Bridge Weigh in Motion) works (description par.22).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi I teaches
A measurement device comprising (summary par.23):
a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to generate first displacement data (description par.56) based on an acceleration as a response to an action (description par.58 “to detect the acceleration of the bending at the observation point R caused by the traveling of the railway vehicle 6”) on a plurality of observation points by a plurality of regions of a railroad vehicle (description par.56 railway vehicle 6) moving on a superstructure of a bridge, the acceleration corresponding to data output from the plurality of acceleration sensors, the plurality of acceleration sensors being installed at the plurality of observation points on the superstructure, respectively (description par.56-57);
a communication interface (description par.294 communication unit 120);
a memory configured to store a program (description par.295 storage unit 130);
a processor configured to execute the program so as to (description par.309):
generate observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the railroad vehicle with respect to the superstructure (Summary par.6);
calculate a deflection amount of the superstructure by a plurality of cars of the railroad vehicle based on an approximation formula (Summary par.6 “a first path deflection waveform calculation step”) of a deflection of the superstructure, the observation information, and environmental information including a dimension of the railroad vehicle and a dimension of the superstructure generated in advance (Summary par.6);
calculate weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars assuming that a sum of products of the amplitude amounts of the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars in the time intervals and the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars is equal to the amplitude amount of the first displacement data in the respective time intervals (description par.241 “relationship between the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t) is expressed as in Equation (72) using an amplitude coefficient D.sub.Aj, which corresponds to a ratio of the maximum amplitudes of the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t).”);
calculating a first deflection amount of the superstructure by the railroad vehicle using a sum of products (Summary par.6 “a first path deflection waveform calculation step”) of the weighting coefficients to the plurality of cars and the deflection amounts of the superstructure by the plurality of cars (Summary par.6);
calculating a static response when the railroad vehicle moves on the superstructure based on the first displacement data and the first deflection amount; providing measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response (Summary par.6 “a second path deflection waveform calculation step of calculating a deflection waveform at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient, and an approximate expression of deflection at the central position based on the structural model of the structure”); and
transmit measurement data including the weighting coefficients with respect to the plurality of cars and the static response to (Description par.57 “The measurement device 1 transmits, to the server 2, information such as a time point when the vehicle 6 travels on the superstructure 7 and the displacement of the superstructure 7 due to the traveling of the vehicle 6.”) a monitoring device (Description par.57 server #2; a server can be a monitoring device) via the communication interface through a communication network to monitor the railroad vehicle (Description par.57 “a communication network 4”)
and determine a failure of the superstructure of the bridge based on the measurement data at the monitoring device (description par.57).
Kobayashi I fails to explicitly teach calculate an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information (description par.84 “the time point when each of the plurality of axles of the vehicle 6 passes the observation point P.sub.j can be regarded as an entry time point of each axle to the superstructure 7 and, more specifically, an entry time point to the lane L.sub.j. The time point when each of the plurality of axles of the vehicle 6 passes the observation point Q.sub.j can be regarded as an exit time point of each axle from the superstructure 7, and more specifically, an exit time point from the lane L.sub.j.”); calculate time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time (description par.84-87); calculate an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals (description par.93 “FIG. 11 shows diagrams in which the acceleration amplitude at each time point in FIG. 10 is converted into the acceleration intensity.); calculate an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals (description par.93-96);
Kobaysha II does teach calculate an approach time and an exit time of each of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure based on the observation information and the environmental information (Description par.106);
calculate time intervals divided by a plurality of times obtained by sorting the approach times and the exit times of the plurality of cars with respect to the superstructure by time (Description par.96);
calculate an amplitude amount of the first displacement data in each of the time intervals (description par.98);
calculate an amplitude amount of the deflection amount of the superstructure by each of the plurality of cars in each of the time intervals (description par.98);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi I to include the teachings of Kobayashi II; which would reduce an error without preparing information for reducing an error such as static component data in advance is desired as disclosed in by Kobayashi II (background par.5).
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi I in view of Kobayashi II teaches the measurement device according to Claim 13; Kobayashi I further teaches a measurement system comprising (Kobayashi I summary par.23): and the plurality of acceleration sensors configured to observe the plurality of observation points (Kobayashi I description par.83).
Regarding claim 16, Kobayashi I teaches
A measurement method comprising (summary par.23):
a displacement data generation step of generating first displacement data based on a physical quantity as a response to an action (description par.58 “to detect the acceleration of the bending at the observation point R caused by the traveling of the railway vehicle 6”) on observation points in a plurality of regions of a moving object moving on a structural object based on data output from an observation device configured to observe the observation points of the structural object (description par.56-57);
an observation information generation step of generating observation information including an approach time and an exit time of the moving object with respect to the structural object (Summary par.6);
a first deflection amount calculation step of calculating a first deflection amount of the structural object by the moving object based on an approximation formula of a deflection of the structural object, the observation information, and the environmental information (Summary par.6 “a first path deflection waveform calculation step”);
a deflection response calculation step of calculating a deflection response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first deflection amount, and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object (Summary par.6);
a weighting coefficient calculation step of calculating weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles based on the displacement response and the deflection response in the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object (description par.241 “relationship between the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t) is expressed as in Equation (72) using an amplitude coefficient D.sub.Aj, which corresponds to a ratio of the maximum amplitudes of the displacement waveform U.sub.Aj(t) and the path deflection waveform CP.sub.Aj(t).”); and
a second deflection amount calculation step of calculating a second deflection amount obtained by correcting the first deflection amount based on the weighting coefficients to the respective vehicles (Summary par.6 “a second path deflection waveform calculation step of calculating a deflection waveform at the central position, generated by the plurality of parts, based on the first observation point information, the second observation point information, the predetermined coefficient, and an approximate expression of deflection at the central position based on the structural model of the structure”);
a measurement data transmitting step of transmitting measurement data including at least the second deflection amount (Description par.57 “The measurement device 1 transmits, to the server 2, information such as a time point when the vehicle 6 travels on the superstructure 7 and the displacement of the superstructure 7 due to the traveling of the vehicle 6.”) to a monitoring device (Description par.57 server #2; a server can be a monitoring device) via a communication network (Description par.57 “a communication network 4”); and
Kobayashi I fails to explicitly teach a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each of vehicles of the moving object moves alone on the structural object based on the observation information and environmental information including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance; a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first displacement data and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object; a failure determination step of determining a failure determination of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device.
Kobayashi II does teach
a time interval calculation step of calculating a time interval in which each of vehicles of the moving object moves alone on the structural object based on the observation information and environmental information (description par.106) including a dimension of the moving object and a dimension of the structural object generated in advance (description par.267 “deformation of the bridge is measured, and thereby the weight and the number of axles of the railway vehicle and vehicle passing through the bridge is measured.” Dimensional weight is part of dimensions);
a displacement response calculation step of calculating a displacement response when each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object based on the first displacement data (description par.265) and the time interval in which each of the vehicles moves alone on the structural object (description par.255);
a failure determination step of determining a failure determination of the structural object based on the measurement data at the monitoring device (description par.52 “abnormality determination of the superstructure 7 based on the information.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi I to include the teachings of Kobayashi II; which would reduce an error without preparing information for reducing an error such as static component data in advance is desired as disclosed in by Kobayashi II (background par.5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20220120632 A1; YANG; Yang et al. is an integrated automatic detection equipment for highway network structure group.
/CARL F.R. TCHATCHOUANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858