DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 17 February 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment filed 06 February 2026: claims 1-5 and 7-20 were previously pending; claim 21 was added by the amendment; and thus, claims 1-5 and 7-21 are now pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 06 February 2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The Applicant’s first argument (pages 8-9 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 of claims 9 and 19, that the previously indicated new matter has been removed from the claims, which are now properly supported by the specification as originally filed. Since the unsupported limitations have been removed, this argument is persuasive and the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn.
The Applicant’s second argument (pages 9-11 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1 and 11, that the previously applied references do not disclose spaced apart diodes mounted on the printed circuit board as now recited in the amended claims. While this argument is persuasive, the Yokoyama reference, while not disclosing diodes, does disclose a converter circuit mounted to the exposed surface of the printed circuit board; and, the newly cited Rozman reference discloses that such converter circuits contain diodes. Thus, new grounds of rejection have been made in view of the newly cited reference.
The Applicant’s third argument (pages 11-12 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding new claim 21, that the claim “requires a specific physical pathway and mounting relationship”. However, the limitations recited appear no more narrow than those appearing in the independent claims. Thus, claim 21 is likewise rejected over the same combination of Yokoyama and Rozman applied to claim 1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (JP 2010-130777 A), hereinafter referred to as “Yokoyama”, in view of Qi et al. (US 2019/0334391 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Qi”, and Rozman et al. (US 2014/0266079 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Rozman”.
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama discloses an electric drive motor system (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0010-0013) comprising:
a stationary-side [16] (fig. 1; ¶ 0013-0014);
a rotating-side [19] (fig. 1; ¶ 0013-0014);
a first mounting structure [17,22] comprising a printed circuit board [17] (PCB) on the rotating-side [19] (fig. 1; ¶ 0014-0016);
a secondary winding [23] physically coupled to the PCB [17] (fig. 1; ¶ 0014, 0018);
a rectifier system [24] physically placed on the PCB [17,22] (fig. 1, 3; ¶ 0016, 0019-0020); and
a converter circuit [24] soldered or bonded to an exposed surface of the PCB [17,22] (fig. 3; ¶ 0016, 0019; the AC/DC converter circuit, “composed of a well-known full-wave rectifier circuit, a smoothing circuit, etc.”, is bonded to the circuit board, inherently the exposed surface as the other side is entirely covered by the core part [22]).
Yokoyama does not disclose the secondary winding [23] being printed as a layer on the PCB [17].
Qi discloses a contactless power transmission system (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0044-0054) comprising a first mounting structure [214] comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) [214] (fig. 2A-2B; ¶ 0055-0057); and a secondary winding [208,210] printed as a layer on the PCB [214] (fig. 2A-2B; ¶ 0055-0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to print the secondary winding of Yokoyama as a layer on the printed circuit board as taught by Qi, in order to provide variable conductor/trace widths thereby improving the mutual inductance and achieving better power transmission performance (¶ 0069, 0081 of Qi).
Yokoyama, in view of Qi, still does not disclose diodes that are spaced apart from one another and are soldered or bonded to an exposed surface of the PCB.
Rozman discloses a contactless power transmission system [100] comprising a converter circuit [106] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0012, 0020-0021), wherein diodes [D1e,D2e] that are spaced apart from one another are soldered or bonded to an exposed surface of a printed circuit board [144] (fig. 2; ¶ 0021-0022; the diodes are spaced within the converter circuit, and inherently attached, i.e. bonded, to an accessible surface of a substrate or circuit board and connected to the other components by known means, such as soldering).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the AC/DC converter circuit of Yokoyama, bonded to the exposed surface of the printed circuit board, having diodes as taught by Rozman, in order to convert the alternating current into direct current by allowing current to flow during only the positive half-cycles of the AC input signal and blocking current from flowing during the negative half-cycles (as is the well-known purpose of diodes) and in order to provide a constant DC power supply that is independent of generator speed (¶ 0022 of Rozman).
Regarding claim 2, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the exposed surface of the PCB [17,22] includes a first set of electric connections [c1,c2] (fig. 3; wires are shown extending between the rectifier and either end of the secondary winding; ¶ 0016; “secondary winding 23… is connected to the input side of the AC/DC converter circuit 24… mounted in the circuit board); and wherein Qi further discloses a first set of electric connections [202,204] printed onto the PCB [214] (fig. 2A-2B; ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 3, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 2, as stated above, wherein the first set of electric connections [c1,c2] electrically couple the secondary winding [23] to the rectifier system [24] (fig. 3; wires are shown extending between the rectifier and either end of the secondary winding; ¶ 0016; “secondary winding 23… is connected to the input side of the AC/DC converter circuit 24… mounted in the circuit board 17”).
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 3, as stated above, wherein the rectifier system [24] further comprises a rectifier circuit [24] in a rectifier assembly housing [17] (¶ 0016; “AC/DC converter circuit 24… mounted in the circuit board 17”; it is noted that the present application discloses no separate “rectifier assembly housing”, instead referring to the rectifier circuit being housed within the circuit board, see ¶ 0019-0020 of the specification).
Regarding claim 5, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 4, as stated above, wherein the rectifier system [24] physically coupled to the PCB [17] comprises the rectifier assembly housing [17] being physically coupled to the PCB [17] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0016; the system is mounted in the circuit board which is mounted coaxially with the structure along the shaft).
Regarding claim 11, Yokoyama discloses a method of fabricating an electric drive motor system (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0010-0013), the method comprising:
forming a stationary-side [16] (fig. 1; ¶ 0013-0014);
forming a rotating-side [19] (fig. 1; ¶ 0013-0014);
forming a first mounting structure [17,22] comprising a printed circuit board [17] (PCB) on the rotating-side [19] (fig. 1; ¶ 0014-0016);
forming a secondary winding [23] physically coupled to the PCB [17] (fig. 1; ¶ 0014, 0018);
forming a rectifier system [24] physically placed on the PCB [17,22] (fig. 1, 3; ¶ 0016, 0019-0020); and
forming a converter circuit [24] soldered or bonded to an exposed surface of the PCB [17,22] (fig. 3; ¶ 0016, 0019; the AC/DC converter circuit, “composed of a well-known full-wave rectifier circuit, a smoothing circuit, etc.”, is bonded to the circuit board, inherently the exposed surface as the other side is entirely covered by the core part [22]).
Yokoyama does not disclose the secondary winding [23] being printed as a layer on the PCB [17].
Qi discloses a contactless power transmission system (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0044-0054) comprising a first mounting structure [214] comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) [214] (fig. 2A-2B; ¶ 0055-0057); and a secondary winding [208,210] printed as a layer on the PCB [214] (fig. 2A-2B; ¶ 0055-0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to print the secondary winding of Yokoyama as a layer on the printed circuit board as taught by Qi, in order to provide variable conductor/trace widths thereby improving the mutual inductance and achieving better power transmission performance (¶ 0069, 0081 of Qi).
Yokoyama, in view of Qi, still does not disclose diodes that are spaced apart from one another and are soldered or bonded to an exposed surface of the PCB.
Rozman discloses a contactless power transmission system [100] comprising a converter circuit [106] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0012, 0020-0021), wherein diodes [D1e,D2e] that are spaced apart from one another are soldered or bonded to an exposed surface of a printed circuit board [144] (fig. 2; ¶ 0021-0022; the diodes are spaced within the converter circuit, and inherently attached, i.e. bonded, to an accessible surface of a substrate or circuit board and connected to the other components by known means, such as soldering).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the AC/DC converter circuit of Yokoyama, bonded to the exposed surface of the printed circuit board, having diodes as taught by Rozman, in order to convert the alternating current into direct current by allowing current to flow during only the positive half-cycles of the AC input signal and blocking current from flowing during the negative half-cycles (as is the well-known purpose of diodes) and in order to provide a constant DC power supply that is independent of generator speed (¶ 0022 of Rozman).
Regarding claim 12, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the method of claim 11, as stated above, further comprising a first set of electric connections [c1,c2] physically coupled to the first mounting and communications structure [17,22] (fig. 3; wires are shown extending between the rectifier and either end of the secondary winding; ¶ 0016; “secondary winding 23… is connected to the input side of the AC/DC converter circuit 24… mounted in the circuit board 17”); and wherein Qi further discloses a first set of electric connections [202,204] printed onto the exposed surface of the PCB [214] (fig. 2A-2B; ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 13, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the method of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the first set of electric connections [c1,c2] electrically couple the secondary winding [23] to the rectifier system [24] (fig. 3; wires are shown extending between the rectifier and either end of the secondary winding; ¶ 0016; “secondary winding 23… is connected to the input side of the AC/DC converter circuit 24… mounted in the circuit board 17”).
Regarding claim 14, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the method of claim 13, as stated above, wherein the rectifier system [24] further comprises a rectifier circuit [24] in a rectifier assembly housing [17] that is integrated together with the secondary windings [23] on the PCB [17] (¶ 0016; “AC/DC converter circuit 24… mounted in the circuit board 17”; it is noted that the present application discloses no separate “rectifier assembly housing”, instead referring to the rectifier circuit being housed within the circuit board, see ¶ 0019-0020 of the specification).
Regarding claim 15, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the method of claim 14, as stated above, wherein the rectifier system [24] physically coupled to the PCB [17] comprises the rectifier assembly housing [17] being physically integrated with the PCB [17] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0016; the system is mounted in the circuit board which is mounted coaxially with the structure along the shaft).
Regarding claim 16, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the method of claim 15, as stated above, wherein a portion of the first set of electric connections [c1,c2] extends through the rectifier assembly housing [17] to the rectifier circuit [24] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0016; the connectors extend from the secondary winding mounted outside the circuit board, to the rectifier circuit mounted inside the circuit board).
Regarding claim 21, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the converter circuit [24] is mounted within the rectifier system [24] and soldered or bonded to the exposed surface of the PCB [17,22] through the rectifier system [24] (fig. 3; ¶ 0016, 0019); and wherein Rozman further discloses the diodes [D1e,D2e] mounted within the rectifier system [106] (fig. 2; ¶ 0021-0022).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama, Qi, and Rozman as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further in view of Frampton et al. (US 2018/0131302 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Frampton”.
Regarding claim 7, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 1, as stated above.
Yokoyama does not disclose the PCB [17] having multiple layers.
Frampton discloses an electric drive motor system comprising a rotating side with a first mounting and communications structure [521] mounted thereon (fig. 17; ¶ 0128-0129), wherein the first mounting and communications structure [521] comprises a printed circuit board [521a-d] having multiple layers [a-d] (fig. 17; 0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the printed circuit board of Yokoyama having multiple layers as taught by Frampton, in order to better dissipate heat from the windings thereby preventing damage to the printed circuit board and preventing disruption of the output (¶ 0130 of Frampton).
Regarding claim 8, Yokoyama, in view of Qi, Rozman, and Frampton, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 7, as stated above, wherein Frampton further discloses that the secondary winding [exciter windings] is formed in one or more of the multiple layers [a-d] of the PCB [521a-d] (fig. 17; ¶ fig. 17; ¶ 0115, 0128-0129).
Regarding claim 17, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the method of claim 11, as stated above.
Yokoyama does not disclose the PCB [17] having multiple layers.
Frampton discloses an electric drive motor system comprising a rotating side with a first mounting and communications structure [521] mounted thereon (fig. 17; ¶ 0128-0129), wherein the first mounting and communications structure [521] comprises a printed circuit board [521a-d] having multiple layers [a-d] (fig. 17; 0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the printed circuit board of Yokoyama having multiple layers as taught by Frampton, in order to better dissipate heat from the windings thereby preventing damage to the printed circuit board and preventing disruption of the output (¶ 0130 of Frampton).
Regarding claim 18, Yokoyama, in view of Qi, Rozman, and Frampton, discloses the method of claim 17, as stated above, wherein Frampton further discloses that the secondary winding [exciter windings] is printed in one or more of the multiple layers [a-d] of the PCB [521a-d] (fig. 17; ¶ fig. 17; ¶ 0115, 0128-0129).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama, Qi, and Rozman as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further in view of Kataoka (JP 2018/121416 A), hereinafter referred to as “Kataoka”.
Regarding claim 9, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 1, as stated above, further comprising:
a second mounting structure [20] on the stationary-side [16] (fig. 1; ¶ 0013); and
a primary winding [21] physically coupled to the second mounting structure [20] (fig. 1, 3; ¶ 0013, 0016-0018).
Yokoyama does not disclose a rotary transformer compensation system coupled to the second mounting structure; and an inverter system physically coupled to the second mounting structure.
Kataoka discloses an electric drive motor system comprising a rotating-side and a stationary-side (fig. 1), a secondary winding [31] on the rotating-side (fig. 1; ¶ 0017-0020);
a second mounting structure [70] on the stationary-side (fig. 1; ¶ 0018);
a primary winding [32] physically coupled to the second mounting structure [70] (fig. 1; ¶ 0018-0020);
a rotary transformer compensation system [10] coupled to the second mounting structure [70] (fig. 1; ¶ 0032-0034); and
an inverter system [2] physically coupled to the second mounting structure [70] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0013-0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electric drive motor system of Yokoyama having the stationary-side components as taught by Kataoka, in order to improve transmission efficiency (¶ 0010 of Kataoka).
Regarding claim 10, Yokoyama, in view of Qi, Rozman, and Kataoka, discloses the electric drive motor system of claim 9, as stated above, wherein Kataoka further discloses a second set of electric connectors physically coupled to the second mounting and communications structure [70] (fig. 1; ¶ 0018; wires extend between the rectifier and either end of the primary winding), wherein the second set of electric connectors electrically couple the primary winding [32], the rotary transformer compensation system [10], and the inverter system [2] (fig. 1; ¶ 0013-0014, 0017-0018).
Regarding claim 19, Yokoyama, in view of Qi and Rozman, discloses the method of claim 11, as stated above, further comprising:
forming a second mounting structure [20] on the stationary-side [16] (fig. 1; ¶ 0013); and
forming a primary winding [21] physically coupled to the second mounting structure [20] (fig. 1, 3; ¶ 0013, 0016-0018).
Yokoyama does not disclose a rotary transformer compensation system coupled to the second mounting structure; and an inverter system physically coupled to the second mounting structure.
Kataoka discloses an electric drive motor system comprising a rotating-side and a stationary-side (fig. 1), a secondary winding [31] on the rotating-side (fig. 1; ¶ 0017-0020);
a second mounting structure [70] on the stationary-side (fig. 1; ¶ 0018);
a primary winding [32] physically coupled to the second mounting structure [70] (fig. 1; ¶ 0018-0020);
a rotary transformer compensation system [10] coupled to the second mounting structure [70] (fig. 1; ¶ 0032-0034); and
an inverter system [2] physically coupled to the second mounting structure [70] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0013-0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electric drive motor system of Yokoyama having the stationary-side components as taught by Kataoka, in order to improve transmission efficiency (¶ 0010 of Kataoka).
Regarding claim 20, Yokoyama, in view of Qi, Rozman, and Kataoka, discloses the method of claim 19, as stated above, wherein Kataoka further discloses a second set of electric connectors physically coupled to the second mounting and communications structure [70] (fig. 1; ¶ 0018; wires extend between the rectifier and either end of the primary winding), wherein the second set of electric connectors electrically couple the primary winding [32], the rotary transformer compensation system [10], and the inverter system [2] (fig. 1; ¶ 0013-0014, 0017-0018).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Ashizawa et al. (US 2021/0035729 A1) discloses windings mounted on a multilayer circuit board.
Albsmeier (US 2012/0153904 A1) discloses an electric drive motor system comprising stationary-side primary windings, rotating-side secondary windings, and a rectifier system physically coupled to the rotating-side.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834