DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11634188 (hereinafter “reference”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 in the current application is anticipated by (was previously disclosed in) claim 1 of U.S. Patent 11634188;
Claims 2-9 in the current application was previously disclosed in claims 2-9 of U.S. Patent 11634188;
Claim 10 in the current application was previously disclosed in claim 10 of U.S. Patent 11634188;
Claims 11-14 in the current application was previously disclosed in claims 11-14 of U.S. Patent 11634188;
Claims 15-17 in the current application have been disclosed by claim 10 in U.S. Patent 11634188, as the claims are just different variations of what claim 10 states a swivel bar, which is similar to claim 16, claims 15 and 17 mention a connecting rod and a link, wherein the swivel bar of claim 10 of U.S. Patent discloses a similar type of member (swivel bar), which can be referred as a connecting rod or link.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the one or more external charging ports" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12 and 13, the limitation “the other electric scooters” in line 4 of claim 12 and in lines 5 to 6 in claim 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally examiner is unsure if there is more than 3 scooters being mentioned in the claims, is applicant referring to a 4th and 5th scooter or is applicant referring to the third and second scooters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (US 2006/0249925) in view of Dadoosh (US 9440698). Yan discloses a scooter (5000,9002,9004,9006,9008) comprising one or more attachment components (5016a,5016b,5016c,9010) that facilitate attachment of the scooter to another scooter (FIGS. 1 and 7, Par. 0020). The apparatus disclosed by Yan ends with the method as claimed being performed, wherein Yan discloses
a method of operating a group of scooters (see figure 7) coupled to one another, the method comprising: operating a first scooter in a leader collection mode of operation(scooter 9002) when attached to the other scooters of the group of scooters; and, operating a second scooter and a third scooter (9004) in a follower collection mode of operation when attached to the other scooters of the group of scooters (see figure 7).
Yan does not mention electric scooter however, Dadoosh (US 9440698) discloses an electric scooter. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to utilize the same type of scooter towing or train on electric scooters, wherein, it would have been obvious to modify Yan by having electric scooters instead of regular scooters being towed one behind the other.
Regarding claim 20, wherein the combination of Yan and Dadoosh ends with, operating the second electric scooter and the third electric scooter in the follower collection mode includes operating the second electric scooter and the third electric scooter to perform certain scooter functions (such as rolling down the road while being towed) in response to the first electric scooter performing the certain scooter functions (towing the other scooters).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The art of record does not include the third scooter is not laterally attached to the second scooter.
Claims 1-17 would be allowed, once the double patenting rejection has been addressed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record did not include “a vertical link bar that attaches to the steering tube and can be moved to a collection position as it extends in a horizontal direction away from the steering tube and, a ride position”
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record did not include “a third electric scooter being able to attach to a second electric scooter by laterally attaching a chassis of the third electric scooter to a chassis of the second electric scooter”.
Since the prior art Yan teaches mechanical scooters that are able to connect to each other (back to front) that lack the features of having a vertical link attached to the steering tube or a third scooter connecting its chassis to the chassis of a second scooter, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
/MARLON A ARCE/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611