DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 2, “a sensed pressure” should be “the sensed pressure”.
Claim 16, line 2, “number air tanks” should be “number of air tanks”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sanders (US 20150007813 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sanders discloses a suit assembly with an integrated air distribution network ([0094] integrated dive suit 10; figure 1-34), the suit assembly comprising:
a body ([0094] dive suit 14; figure 1, 4, and 6) comprising a first body portion (left body portion; figure 1 and 6) and a second body portion (right body portion; figure 1, 4, and 6);
an air supply coupleable to the body ([0094] at least one pressure vessel 26; figure 1-3, 5-9); and
a coupling mechanism coupled to the body and arranged for releasably receiving the air supply ([0095] hydrodynamic pressure vessel container 82; figure 4 and 8-9);
wherein the coupling mechanism is disposed on the first body portion and the second body portion of the suit (see figure 8-9, container 82 is disposed on the left and right body portion of dive suit 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders (US 20150007813 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Villareal, Jr. (US 6354294 B1), hereinafter Villareal.
Regarding claim 2, Sanders discloses the suit assembly of claim 1, comprising a manifold hub ([0094] manifold 46; figure 5-7) in fluid communication with the air supply ([0094] and figure 5-7) and a diver regulator ([0094] low pressure regulator 74; figure 4. [0094] The manifold 46 is connected to the section of flexible conduit 38 connected to the at least one pressure vessel 26, and provides connections 58 for a high pressure regulator 62 and an air fill source 66; see figure 4-5), but is silent as to the manifold hub comprising a controller.
Sanders teaches [0100] a pressure transducer 118 is provided. The pressure transducer 118 detects pressure levels (not shown) within the at least one pressure vessel 26 and includes a wireless signal transmission mechanism 126.
However, Villareal teaches an oxygen delivery system (title) including a manifold hub (The oxygen delivery system includes a high-flow switchover manifold apparatus 8. The high-flow switchover manifold apparatus includes, among other parts, a first intake tube 9, and a first regulator 10, a second intake tube 17, a second regulator 14, one or more one-way valves 12, central tubing 11, a pressure gauge 20, and an export tube 24; figure 1-2; col. 3 line 15-20) comprising a controller (One type of the first regulator 10 and second regulator 14 is herein described. There are many types of regulators which will allow valves to open and/or close at predetermined pressure thresholds. These particular regulators will be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art. One such regulator is manufactured by AirGas Corporation (Los Angeles, Calif.) and includes a central control unit high-flow switchover assembly (Part No. NEOCCU98081126), a left pigtail assembly for three cylinders (Part No. NEOLPT36061138), and a right pigtail assembly for three cylinders (Part No. NEORTP98081138); figure 2; col. 4 line 43-53. Also see col. 4 line 54-col. 5 line 17 and col. 5 line 31-39, control of components is controlled electronically)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the manifold of Sanders to implement a central control unit in electrical communication with the pressure transducer and the valves/regulators in order to control the device in accordance to the measured pressure, as taught by Villareal col. 4 line 54-col. 5 line 17 and col. 5 line 31-39.
Regarding claim 3, modified Sanders teaches the suit assembly of claim 2, wherein the air supply comprises a plurality of air tanks ([0094] at least one pressure vessels 26; figure 1, 5-9) and the coupling mechanism comprises a plurality of fasteners integrated with the suit ([0115] the manifold 46 includes a member of flexible material 238. The member 238 mounts at least one connection 242 for the section of flexible conduit 38 connected to the at least one pressure vessel 26, a connection 246 for the high pressure regulator 62 and the connection for the air fill source 66. The flexible member 238 permits the manifold 46 to conform to a back 250 of a diver 16; figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sanders teaches the suit assembly of claim 3, comprising a plurality of conduits ([0094] flexible conduit 38; figure 5-8), each conduit in fluid communication with an air tank of the plurality of air tanks and the manifold hub ([0094] The vessel 26 has a first end 30 and a second end 34. Each of the first 30 and second 34 ends has an attached section of flexible conduit 38. Each of the sections of flexible conduit 38 is attached to either of a sealing fitting 42, an inlet fitting 44, a coupling fitting 48, another section of flexible conduit 38 attached to another vessel 26 or a manifold 4; figure 5-7).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sanders teaches the suit assembly of claim 2, comprising a pressure sensor coupled to the air supply ([0100] a pressure transducer 118 is provided. The pressure transducer 118 detects pressure levels (not shown) within the at least one pressure vessel 26; figure 9) and communicatively coupled to the controller (as per modification above, the pressure transducer is electrically coupled to the central control unit), the pressure sensor being configured to read an internal pressure of the air supply ([0100] pressure transducer 118 detects pressure levels (not shown) within the at least one pressure vessel 26; figure 9).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sanders teaches the suit assembly of claim 5, but is silent as to comprising a valve operatively coupled to the air supply, wherein the valve is movable between an open position and a closed position in response to a sensed pressure of the pressure sensor.
However, Villlareal teaches an oxygen delivery system (title) comprising a valve operatively coupled to an air supply (The oxygen flowing through the yoke device 6a, 6b attached to the first set of oxygen tanks 1a flows into the first intake tube 9 of the manifold apparatus 8. Oxygen then flows into the first regulator 10. The one-way valve (shown as 32 in FIG. 2) of the first regulator 10 is opened while oxygen flows at high pressure or flow rates from the first set of oxygen tanks 1. As used herein, the term "regulator" is any device with an input port and an output port for flowing fluid (in either the gas or liquid state) into and out of the device, respectively, and that serves to control the output pressure of fluid; figure 1-2; col. 3 line 42-52), wherein the valve is movable between an open position (col. 3 line 42-52) and a closed position (Oxygen flowing through the first regulator is generally at a pressure of 70 to 2,200 psi. When the oxygen pressure drops below a particular threshold, typically between 90 and 100 psi, the valve 32 within the first regulator 10 closes and, at approximately the same time or at approximately the same threshold pressure, the valve 32 within the second regulator 14 opens, thereby allowing oxygen to flow from the second set of oxygen tanks 1b through a set of tubes 4 and through a second yoke device 6b. This phenomenon is referred to herein as a "switchover" of oxygen flow. The predetermined pressure level, which triggers valve closing or valve opening, can be a discrete pressure level, or it can be within a range of pressures; col. 4 line 7-19) in response to a sensed pressure of the pressure sensor (the oxygen flow pressure in the first regulator 10 or the second regulator 14 may be read on one or more external gauges 16; col. 3 line 52-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Sanders to implement a switchover method comprising a first regulator connected to a first set of air supplies including a valve configured to be open when the sensed pressure is above a set pressure level and closed when below the set level resulting in opening of a second regulator connected to a second set of air supplies, as taught by Villareal in order to ensure a continuous flow of air to the user when the first set of air supplies are low.
Regarding claim 7, modified Sanders teaches the suit assembly of claim 6, wherein the valve is an electronic pressure regulator (EPR) valve (Villareal: the first regulator 10 is a pressure regulator valve that is controlled electronically. The one-way valve (shown as 32 in FIG. 2) of the first regulator 10 is opened while oxygen flows at high pressure or flow rates from the first set of oxygen tanks 1. As used herein, the term "regulator" is any device with an input port and an output port for flowing fluid (in either the gas or liquid state) into and out of the device, respectively, and that serves to control the output pressure of fluid; col. 3 line 45-52. the valve mechanisms within the regulators (10 and 14) can be controlled electronically; col. 5 line 5-6), and is configured to open when a sensed pressure is greater than approximately 500 psi (Villareal: of the examples give, the first regulator 10 closes when the sensed pressure is below 90 and 100 psi, see col. 4 line 7-14, thus the first regulator is open when the sensed pressure is greater than approximately 500 psi).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders (US 20150007813 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiegand et al. (US 6227198 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Sanders discloses the suit assembly of claim 1, wherein but is silent as to the coupling mechanism comprises a collapsible pocket, the pocket comprising an opening sized to receive the air supply.
However, Wiegand teaches an underwater breathing apparatus (title) wherein a coupling mechanism comprises a collapsible pocket, the pocket comprising an opening sized to receive the air supply (The underwater breathing apparatus, which is carried on the back, comprises a two-shell support vest 2 having an inner enclosure 3 made of nylon-reinforced polyurethane and a textile outer enclosure 4 which is provided with a holder 5 for a carbon dioxide absorber 6 and a pocket 7 having a tensioning belt 8 for a mixed-gas vessel 9; figure 1; col. 3 line 17-23. Pocket is collapsible as the tensioning belt in combination with the vessel inside it determines the volume of the pocket).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the body suit or vessel container of Sanders to implement a pocket having a tensioning belt for one or more of the pressure vessels, in order to properly secure the vessels as taught by Wiegand.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders (US 20150007813 A1) and Lewis (US 6543444 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Sanders discloses a method of distributing an air supply in a suit ([0094-0095] integrated dive suit 10; figure 1-34), the method comprising:
coupling an air supply to a body suit using a coupling mechanism ([0095] A hydrodynamic pressure vessel container 82 is provided. The container 82 is formed of resilient material 86, and is sized and shaped to accommodate the at least one pressure vessel 26, the sections of flexible conduit 38 and the manifold 46; figure 4 and 8-9), the air supply comprising one or more air tanks ([0094] at least one pressure vessel 26; figure 1-3 and 5-9), wherein the coupling mechanism is integrated with the body suit and arranged to receive the one or more air tanks ([0095] The container 82 is formed of resilient material 86, and is sized and shaped to accommodate the at least one pressure vessel 26, the sections of flexible conduit 38 and the manifold 46. The hydrodynamic container 82 is integrally attached to the dive suit 14 and is sized and shaped to present a minimized cross-sectional area 28 for a diver 16 using said dive suit 10; figure 4 and 8-9);
and capturing, by one or more sensors, a pressure measurement associated with the air supply, wherein the one or more sensors is coupled to the air supply ([0100] a pressure transducer 118 is provided. The pressure transducer 118 detects pressure levels (not shown) within the at least one pressure vessel 26 and includes a wireless signal transmission mechanism 126; figure 9);
but is silent as to analyzing, by one or more processors of a controller, the pressure measurement associated with the air supply, wherein the controller is coupled to the body suit; and determining, by one or more processors of the controller, a total air capacity by evaluating an analysis of the pressure measurement.
However, Lewis teaches a self-contained breathing apparatus (title) comprising analyzing, by one or more processors of a controller (controller 16 and processor 12; figure 1-2; col. 8 line 51-col. 9 line 21), the pressure measurement associated with the air supply (The metric calculator 10 further includes sensor I/O ports 24 which interface the processor 12 with a variety of off-chip sensors, such as a tank pressure sensor, depth sensor, mass flow controller, oxygen sensor, and the like. Coupling the sensors to the processor 12 allows the processor to receive necessary information from the sensors in order to perform the requisite air time remaining calculations in accordance with the invention; figure 1; col. 9 line 14-21); the controller is coupled to the self-contained breathing apparatus (figure 1-2) ; and determining, by one or more processors of the controller, a total air capacity by evaluating an analysis of the pressure measurement (A signal processing circuit 124 is connected into the system so as to receive tank pressure information from tank pressure indicators 129 coupled to each supply tank and from an oxygen sensor 128 provided within the counterlung 102. The oxygen sensor 128 and pressure indicator 129 are electronically coupled to the signal processing circuit 124 and provide the signal processing circuit with information relating to the partial pressure of oxygen comprising the gas within the counterlung and a figure of merit corresponding to the remaining capacity of the supply tanks; figure 3-4; col. 11 line 25-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dive suit of Sanders to implement a controller including a processor coupled to the system to receive sensor information and determine the remaining capacity of the supply tanks, in order to accurately calculate remaining air time as taught by Lewis.
Regarding claim 10, modified Sanders teaches the method of claim 9, but is silent as to comprising: capturing, by a depth gauge, a depth measurement associated with the body suit, wherein the depth gauge is coupled to the controller; analyzing, by one or more processors of the controller, the depth measurement; and determining, by the one or more processors of the controller, based on an analysis of the depth measurement and the analysis of the pressure measurement of the air supply, a time until the air supply is depleted.
However, Lewis teaches capturing, by a depth gauge, a depth measurement associated with the user (The metric calculator 10 further includes sensor I/O ports 24 which interface the processor 12 with a variety of off-chip sensors, such as a tank pressure sensor, depth sensor, mass flow controller, oxygen sensor, and the like; col 9 line 14-18), wherein the depth gauge is coupled to the controller, analyzing, by one or more processors of the controller, the depth measurement (Coupling the sensors to the processor 12 allows the processor to receive necessary information from the sensors in order to perform the requisite air time remaining calculations in accordance with the invention; col. 9 line 18-21); and determining, by the one or more processors of the controller, based on an analysis of the depth measurement and the analysis of the pressure measurement of the air supply, a time until the air supply is depleted (The metric calculator 10 further includes sensor I/O ports 24 which interface the processor 12 with a variety of off-chip sensors, such as a tank pressure sensor, depth sensor, mass flow controller, oxygen sensor, and the like. Coupling the sensors to the processor 12 allows the processor to receive necessary information from the sensors in order to perform the requisite air time remaining calculations in accordance with the invention col. 9 line 14-21. also see col. 9 line 60-col. 10 line 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the dive suit of Sanders to implement a depth sensor coupled to the controller in order to facilitate calculating the air time remaining in the system via analysis of the depth measurement and the pressure measurement of the system as taught by Lewis.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders (US 20150007813 A1) and Lewis (US 6543444 B1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Villareal (US 6354294 B1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sanders teaches the method of claim 9, but is silent as to comprising closing a valve coupled to a first air tank of the one or more tanks when a pressure measurement of the first air tank is less than approximately 500 psi.
However, Villareal teaches an oxygen delivery system (title) comprising closing a valve coupled to a first air tank of the one or more tanks (The oxygen flowing through the yoke device 6a, 6b attached to the first set of oxygen tanks 1a flows into the first intake tube 9 of the manifold apparatus 8. Oxygen then flows into the first regulator 10. The one-way valve (shown as 32 in FIG. 2) of the first regulator 10 is opened while oxygen flows at high pressure or flow rates from the first set of oxygen tanks 1. As used herein, the term "regulator" is any device with an input port and an output port for flowing fluid (in either the gas or liquid state) into and out of the device, respectively, and that serves to control the output pressure of fluid; figure 1-2; col. 3 line 42-52) when a pressure measurement of the first air tank is less than a particular threshold (Oxygen flowing through the first regulator is generally at a pressure of 70 to 2,200 psi. When the oxygen pressure drops below a particular threshold, typically between 90 and 100 psi, the valve 32 within the first regulator 10 closes and, at approximately the same time or at approximately the same threshold pressure, the valve 32 within the second regulator 14 opens, thereby allowing oxygen to flow from the second set of oxygen tanks 1b through a set of tubes 4 and through a second yoke device 6b. This phenomenon is referred to herein as a "switchover" of oxygen flow. The predetermined pressure level, which triggers valve closing or valve opening, can be a discrete pressure level, or it can be within a range of pressures; col. 4 line 7-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Sanders to implement a switchover method comprising a first regulator connected to a first set of air supplies including a valve configured to be open when the sensed pressure is above a set pressure level and closed when below the set level resulting in opening of a second regulator connected to a second set of air supplies, as taught by Villareal in order to ensure a continuous flow of air to the user when the first set of air supplies are low.
Additionally, since Villareal cites “a particular threshold” where the expected pressure measurement is between 70-2,200 psi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the particular threshold to be approximately 500 psi, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a sufficient amount of air left in the first air supply for emergencies.
Regarding claim 12, modified Sanders teaches the method of claim 11, comprising opening a valve coupled to a second air tank of the one or more air tanks when the pressure measurement of the first air tank is less than approximately 500 psi (see modification above, Villareal: the valve 32 within the first regulator 10 closes and, at approximately the same time or at approximately the same threshold pressure, the valve 32 within the second regulator 14 opens, thereby allowing oxygen to flow from the second set of oxygen tanks 1b through a set of tubes 4 and through a second yoke device 6b; col. 4 line 7-19).
Regarding claim 13, modified Sanders teaches the method of claim 12, but is silent as to comprising opening a valve coupled to a third air tank of the one or more air tanks when a pressure measurement of the second air tank is less than approximately 500 psi.
However, Sanders teaches a plurality of air supply tanks ([0094] at least one pressure vessel 26; figure 1-3 and 5-9), including a third air tank/third set of air tanks.
Additionally, Villareal teaches the switchover method above between sets of air tanks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the switchover of modified Sanders to implement the opening of a third regulator connected to a third set of air supplies when the second regulator is closed due to a pressure measurement of the second set of air supplies being below a particular threshold, as taught by Villareal in order to ensure a continuous flow of air to the user when the previous set of air supplies is low.
Additionally, since Villareal cites “a particular threshold” where the expected pressure measurement is between 70-2,200 psi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the particular threshold to be approximately 500 psi, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a sufficient amount of air left in the second air supply for emergencies.
Regarding claim 14, modified Sanders teaches the method of claim 12, wherein coupling comprises fastening the first air tank to a first fastener of the coupling mechanism and fastening the second air tank to a second fastener of the coupling mechanism ([0115] the manifold 46 includes a member of flexible material 238. The member 238 mounts at least one connection 242 for the section of flexible conduit 38 connected to the at least one pressure vessel 26, a connection 246 for the high pressure regulator 62 and the connection for the air fill source 66. The flexible member 238 permits the manifold 46 to conform to a back 250 of a diver 16; figure 6).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders (US 20150007813 A1) and Lewis (US 6543444 B1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Boucher (US 4889306 A).
Regarding claim 15, modified Sanders teaches the method of claim 9, but is silent as to comprising determining an amount of air supply needed for a deployment.
However, Boucher teaches backpacks for SCUBA divers hold either one tank or two tanks. The most common backpack is the single tank backpack. This type is less expensive than a dual tank backpack, and a single tank meets the needs of most divers. A two tank backpack is necessary for deep or prolonged dives, where the diver will exceed the time alotted for a single tank. If the owner of a single tank backpack wants to go on a prolonged dive, he will either have to rent a dual tank backpack, or use an adapter for mounting another tank to his backpack. Unfortunately, presently available adapters for modifying single tank backpacks to hold dual tanks are unsafe, inconvenient and time consuming. Compressed air tanks suitable for SCUBA diving have many different sizes and diameters. To adapt a single tank backpack to a dual tank backpack currently requires two tanks of equal size and shape. However, because many divers will own just a single tank, if they go on a prolonged dive they will need two tanks. Since it is difficult for the diver to find another tank of equal size to his own, the diver is often required to rent two, rather than one tank. This results in added expense and time; col. 1 line 11-35.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Sanders to implement the teachings of Boucher to determine an amount of air supply necessary based on a short dive or a deep/prolonged dive in order to ensure sufficient air supply.
Regarding claim 16, modified Sanders teaches the method of claim 15, but is silent as to comprising selecting the air supply for attaching to the body suit by identifying a number air tanks required to supply the amount of air supply needed.
However, Boucher teaches backpacks for SCUBA divers hold either one tank or two tanks. The most common backpack is the single tank backpack. This type is less expensive than a dual tank backpack, and a single tank meets the needs of most divers. A two tank backpack is necessary for deep or prolonged dives, where the diver will exceed the time alotted for a single tank. If the owner of a single tank backpack wants to go on a prolonged dive, he will either have to rent a dual tank backpack, or use an adapter for mounting another tank to his backpack. Unfortunately, presently available adapters for modifying single tank backpacks to hold dual tanks are unsafe, inconvenient and time consuming. Compressed air tanks suitable for SCUBA diving have many different sizes and diameters. To adapt a single tank backpack to a dual tank backpack currently requires two tanks of equal size and shape. However, because many divers will own just a single tank, if they go on a prolonged dive they will need two tanks. Since it is difficult for the diver to find another tank of equal size to his own, the diver is often required to rent two, rather than one tank. This results in added expense and time; col. 1 line 11-35.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Sanders to implement the teachings of Boucher to select the proper amount of air supply required for attaching to the body suit based on an amount of air supply necessary for a short dive or a deep/prolonged dive in order to ensure sufficient air supply.
Claim(s) 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders (US 20150007813 A1) and Villareal (US 6354294 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Sanders discloses a garment having an air distribution assembly ([0094] integrated dive suit 10; figure 1-34), the garment comprising:
a body (([0094] dive suit 14; figure 1, 4, and 6);
a first air container ([0094] at least one pressure vessel 26; figure 1-3 and 5-9) having an inlet ([0095] The vessel 26 has a first end 30 and a second end 34. Each of the first 30 and second 34 ends has an attached section of flexible conduit 38. Each of the sections of flexible conduit 38 is attached to either of a sealing fitting 42, an inlet fitting 44, a coupling fitting 48, another section of flexible conduit 38 attached to another vessel 26 or a manifold 46; figure 1-3 and 5-9);
a second air container ([0094] at least one pressure vessel 26; figure 1-3 and 5-9) having an inlet ([0095] The vessel 26 has a first end 30 and a second end 34. Each of the first 30 and second 34 ends has an attached section of flexible conduit 38. Each of the sections of flexible conduit 38 is attached to either of a sealing fitting 42, an inlet fitting 44, a coupling fitting 48, another section of flexible conduit 38 attached to another vessel 26 or a manifold 46; figure 1-3 and 5-9);
a coupling mechanism attached to the body and arranged for removably coupling the first air container and the second air container to the body ([0095] hydrodynamic pressure vessel container 82; figure 4 and 8-9);
a regulator ([0095] low pressure regulator 74; figure 4).
Sanders is silent as to the first and second air container having a valve movable relative to the inlet between an open position and a closed position; a controller operatively coupled to the valve of the first air container and the valve of the second air container; the regulator operably coupled to the controller; wherein the controller is arranged to open the valve of the first air container to fluidly couple the first air container to the regulator.
However, Villareal teaches an oxygen delivery system (title) comprising a first (1a; figure 1) and second air container (1b; figure 1) both having an inlet (see figure 1) and a valve movable relative to the inlet between an open position and a closed position (first air container: The oxygen flowing through the yoke device 6a, 6b attached to the first set of oxygen tanks 1a flows into the first intake tube 9 of the manifold apparatus 8. Oxygen then flows into the first regulator 10. The one-way valve (shown as 32 in FIG. 2) of the first regulator 10 is opened while oxygen flows at high pressure or flow rates from the first set of oxygen tanks 1. As used herein, the term "regulator" is any device with an input port and an output port for flowing fluid (in either the gas or liquid state) into and out of the device, respectively, and that serves to control the output pressure of fluid; figure 1-2; col. 3 line 42-52. Oxygen flowing through the first regulator is generally at a pressure of 70 to 2,200 psi. When the oxygen pressure drops below a particular threshold, typically between 90 and 100 psi, the valve 32 within the first regulator 10 closes and, at approximately the same time or at approximately the same threshold pressure, the valve 32 within the second regulator 14 opens, thereby allowing oxygen to flow from the second set of oxygen tanks 1b through a set of tubes 4 and through a second yoke device 6b. This phenomenon is referred to herein as a "switchover" of oxygen flow. The predetermined pressure level, which triggers valve closing or valve opening, can be a discrete pressure level, or it can be within a range of pressures; col. 4 line 7-19) (second air container: As oxygen flows from the first set of oxygen tanks 1a through the first regulator 10, the second regulator 14 is closed to oxygen flow. More specifically, the second regulator 14 has a valve within it (shown in FIG. 2) which remains closed approximately as long as oxygen is flowing through the valve within the first regulator 10. Oxygen flowing through the first regulator is generally at a pressure of 70 to 2,200 psi. When the oxygen pressure drops below a particular threshold, typically between 90 and 100 psi, the valve 32 within the first regulator 10 closes and, at approximately the same time or at approximately the same threshold pressure, the valve 32 within the second regulator 14 opens, thereby allowing oxygen to flow from the second set of oxygen tanks 1b through a set of tubes 4 and through a second yoke device 6b. This phenomenon is referred to herein as a "switchover" of oxygen flow. The predetermined pressure level, which triggers valve closing or valve opening, can be a discrete pressure level, or it can be within a range of pressures; col. 4 line 1-19); a controller operatively coupled to the valve of the first air container and the valve of the second air container (One type of the first regulator 10 and second regulator 14 is herein described. There are many types of regulators which will allow valves to open and/or close at predetermined pressure thresholds. These particular regulators will be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art. One such regulator is manufactured by AirGas Corporation (Los Angeles, Calif.) and includes a central control unit high-flow switchover assembly (Part No. NEOCCU98081126), a left pigtail assembly for three cylinders (Part No. NEOLPT36061138), and a right pigtail assembly for three cylinders (Part No. NEORTP98081138); figure 2; col. 4 line 43-53. Also see col. 4 line 54-col. 5 line 17 and col. 5 line 31-39, control of components is controlled electronically); a patient outlet operably coupled to the controller (Oxygen next flows from the outtake tube 13 and the central tube 11 to the export tube 24. From the export tube 24, oxygen flows into the patient's ventilator (not pictured). One or more additional pressure gauges 20 can be attached to the export tube 24, to measure the pressure or flow rate of oxygen flowing through the export tube 24 to the patient's ventilator; col. 3 line 61-67); wherein the controller is arranged to open the valve of the first air container (Entrained oxygen flows into the high-flow switchover manifold apparatus 8. The oxygen flowing through the yoke device 6a, 6b attached to the first set of oxygen tanks 1a flows into the first intake tube 9 of the manifold apparatus 8. Oxygen then flows into the first regulator 10. The one-way valve (shown as 32 in FIG. 2) of the first regulator 10 is opened while oxygen flows at high pressure or flow rates from the first set of oxygen tanks 1; col. 3 line 41-48) to fluidly couple the first air container to the patient outlet (col. 3 line 61-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Sanders to implement a switchover method comprising a first regulator connected to a first set of air supplies including a valve configured to be open when the sensed pressure is above a set pressure level and closed when below the set level resulting in opening of a second regulator connected to a second set of air supplies, controlled by a central control unit in electrical communication with the necessary components, in order to ensure a continuous flow of air to the user when the first set of air supplies are low and control the device in accordance to the measured pressure, as taught by Villareal col. 4 line 42-col. 5 line 17 and col. 5 line 31-39.
Regarding claim 18, modified Sanders discloses the garment of claim 17, wherein when the valve of the first air container is open, the valve of the second air container is closed (Villareal: As oxygen flows from the first set of oxygen tanks 1a through the first regulator 10, the second regulator 14 is closed to oxygen flow. More specifically, the second regulator 14 has a valve within it (shown in FIG. 2) which remains closed approximately as long as oxygen is flowing through the valve within the first regulator 10; col. 4 line 1-6).
Regarding claim 20, modified Sanders discloses the garment of claim 17, but is silent as to wherein the controller comprises one or more processors and a memory communicatively coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to ((Villareal: central control unit high-flow switchover assembly; col. 4 line 42-52. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a central control unit would include a processor and a memory as claimed to perform the tasks disclosed):
receive data captured by a pressure sensor coupled to the first air container (Villareal: the oxygen flow pressure through each regulator 10, 32 can be read on one or more external gauges 16; figure 1; col. 3 line 23-25);
analyze the data to identify an internal pressure associated with the first air container, send a signal to the valve of the first air container to close in response to the internal pressure; and send a signal to a valve of the second air container to open (Villareal: Oxygen flowing through the first regulator is generally at a pressure of 70 to 2,200 psi. When the oxygen pressure drops below a particular threshold, typically between 90 and 100 psi, the valve 32 within the first regulator 10 closes and, at approximately the same time or at approximately the same threshold pressure, the valve 32 within the second regulator 14 opens, thereby allowing oxygen to flow from the second set of oxygen tanks 1b through a set of tubes 4 and through a second yoke device 6b. This phenomenon is referred to herein as a "switchover" of oxygen flow; col. 4 line 7-16. See col. 4 line 42-53).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders (US 20150007813 A1) and Villareal (US 6354294 B1), as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Lewis (US 6543444 B1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Sanders discloses the garment of claim 17, comprising a display screen configured to display an amount of oxygen available in the first air container and the second air container ([0100] (6) In a further variant, as illustrated in FIG. 9, a pressure transducer 118 is provided. The pressure transducer 118 detects pressure levels (not shown) within the at least one pressure vessel 26 and includes a wireless signal transmission mechanism 126. [0101] (7) In still a further variant, a remotely mounted pressure display device 130 is provided. The display device 130 receives wireless signals (not shown) from the pressure transducer 118 and displays a pressure reading 138; figure 9-9A),but is silent as to the display screen is coupled to the controller.
However, Lewis teaches a self-contained breathing apparatus (title) comprising a display screen coupled to the controller (The I/O controller 16 further functions to drive a display screen 20 which displays information calculated by the processor 12 in response to either user inputs to the keypad or touchpad device 18, or alternatively in response to program steps operating on input parameters incorporated in the microprocessor; figure 1; col. 8 line 65-col. 9 line 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display screen of Sanders to implement the teaching of Lewis by being coupled to the central control unit in to accurately display information received, via the wireless signal transmission, or calculated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saieva (US 5944054 A) teaches a reserve supply of approximately 500 psi.
/M.I.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785