DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
The electric arc furnace steelmaking plant connected with the electric energy production system. The electric energy production system, e.g. in Figure 2, is connected to the wastewater treatment system.
Returning cooled treated water to the electric arc furnace steelmaking plant via a valve-controlled flow line
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In Claim 1, there is no support in the specification as originally filed for an electric arc furnace (EAF) steelmaking plant to be connected with the electric energy production system. The EAF system is in the steelmaking plant and not identified as “an electric arc furnace steelmaking plant.” There is support in the specification for converting solar energy into electricity and using generated electricity to operate a conventional EAF system in the steelmaking plant [0032], though not in the drawings as described above. Additionally, there is no support in the specification for returning cooled treated water to the electric arc furnace steelmaking plant via a valve-controlled flow line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US 11,668,266 B2) in view of Cintron et al (US 2023/0175088 A1)
Song teaches a total recycling system of capturing, conversion, and utilization of flue gas from factory, power plant and refinery as represented below in the annotated drawing:
The system treats flue gas emitted from plants including steel plants (column 3, lines 21-23). The dust removal unit includes a wastewater heat recovery device. Pure flue gas is conveyed into the capture subsystem and desulfurized wastewater is treated (column 5, lines 22-43). The water recovery unit recovers water and residual heat from the flue gas. The residual heat is used for heat pump power generation or steam turbine power generation, and the water is stored in the water tank for process water. The water and heat recovery device can be respectively applied to the flue gas source, the combined decontamination and dust removal unit, the capture subsystem, the conversion subsystem, the utilization subsystem, and the energy source subsystem. Condensed water reads on a water-cooling system (column 7, lines 14-39). The energy subsystem satisfies the electricity and heat consumptions of each subsystem and includes a solar power generation device. The system uses residual heat of each subsystem and waste heat recovery (column 12, line 49 to column 13, line 3).
However, Song does not teach the steel plant is an electric arc furnace steelmaking plant or returning cooled treated water to the electric arc furnace steelmaking plant via a valve-controlled flow line as claimed.
Regarding the electric arc furnace steelmaking plant, Cintron et al teaches systems for producing iron as represented below in the drawing:
Figure 3 teaches an electric arc furnace and one or more other downstream steel processing operations. [0038]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the steel plant in Song to include an electric arc furnace, since Cintron et al teaches during steel making, electric arc furnaces produce an improved steel product [0131].
Regarding returning cooled treated water to the electric arc furnace steelmaking plant via a valve-controlled flow line, Cintron et al teaches water is used for a water scrubber and a clarifier [0129] and electrolyzer [0129]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the flow of water to the system of Cintron et al from the system in Song with a valve, since controlling a flow line with a valve allows for managing or regulating the amount of water from Song to operate the scrubber, clarifier, or electrolyzer in Cintron et al.
Regarding Claim 3, water is stored for use (column 19, line 35).
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, the energy source subsystem satisfies the electricity consumption of each subsystem with self-sufficiency (column 12, lines 49-55). Regarding the limitations of “proportionately” in Claim 7 and “disproportionately” in Claim 8, this reads on intended use. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Cintron et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 106440145 A, based on the machine translation.
Song in view of Cintron et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Song in view of Cintron et al teaches the water recovery unit is a double-pipe water and heat recovery device condenses water for storage, which reads on an indirect (double-pipe) system. However, Song in view of Cintron et al does not teach an indirect evaporative based water cooling system as claimed.
CN 106440145 A (CN ‘145) teaches a three-channel closed indirect evaporation cooling water chilling unit (abstract) with double pipe channels (FIG 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling water chilling unit of CN ‘145 as the condensing unit in Song in view of Cintron et al, since CN ‘145 teaches ensuring water quality (abstract).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Cintron as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Torrens Rasal (US 2011/0315137 A1).
Song in view of Cintron et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Song in view of Cintron et al does not teach a plurality of solar thermal collectors as claimed.
Torrens Rasal teaches a solar thermal collector (abstract). Although Torrens Rasal does not teach a plurality of solar thermal collectors, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the solar thermal collector of Torrens Rasal for solar power generation in Song in view of Cintron et al, since Torrens Rasal teaches a solar thermal collector that allows the maximum temperature to be self-limited by means of a completely autonomous system, which prevents overheating in a reliable manner without electrical components [0002].
Claims 6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Cintron as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Donnell et al (US 2022/0170388 A1).
Song in view of Cintron et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Regarding Claim 6, Song in view of Cintron et al teaches using market-oriented electric energy and heat energy as the initial system starting energy (column 25, lines 38-42) but Song in view of Cintron et al does not teach a power grid. Regarding Claim 10, Song in view of Cintron et al does not teach valves between the solar thermal system and electric energy production system. Regarding Claim 11, Song in view of Cintron et al teaches storage for condensed water as a water tank but does not teach valves between the water-cooling system and cooling water storage tank. Regarding Claim 12, Song in view of Cintron et al does not teach valves for controlling transmission of electricity in the system. Regarding Claim 13, excess energy is stored in the form of electrolytic hydrogen and burning hydrogen gas (column 12, lines 59-65), which reads on the description of a power grid, but does not teach valves between the electric energy production system and the power grid. Regarding Claim 14, Song in view of Cintron et al does not teach valves between the electric energy production system and the water-cooling system as claimed.
O’Donnell et al teaches a thermal energy storage system (abstract). The storage system can be used in steelmaking processes [0904]. The thermal energy storage system is coupled to an input energy source that may include one or more sources of electrical energy. The source includes renewables such as solar and another such as natural gas or coal. The sources are provided to the thermal energy storage system via infrastructure including one or more electrical conductors [0152]. The sources provide electricity that is variable in availability or price because the conditions for generating the electricity are varied. Input electricity may be received from the existing power grid [0162]. The thermal storage control system includes valves associated with thermal storage assemblages including switches for connecting input energy from energy sources such as a solar field or wind farm [0220]. The control system controls valves to move between an open position and a closed position to optimize the use of electric power and maintain voltage and current flows [0158]. A blowdown valve allows release of water or steam whose temperature or quality is below the temperature or quality required [0382]. Other components may include other steam generator components such as a water pump, valves, an emergency pressure relief valve, etc. [0502]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thermal energy storage system of O’Donnell et al, including the power grid (Claim 6) and valves amongst the solar thermal system, energy production system, water cooling and water storage, transmission of electricity, and power grid (Claims 10-14) in the system of Song in view of Cintron et al, since O’Donnell teaches designing variable renewable electricity that can be rapidly charged at low cost, supply dispatchable, continuous energy as required by various industrial applications despite variations in variable renewable electricity supply, and that facilitate efficient control of charging and discharging of the energy storage system [0035].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2023 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to the claims did not necessitate applying new references. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) was withdrawn based on the amendment to Claim 1, but the combination of Song and Cintron et al was applied under 35 U.S.C. 103. Regarding applicant’s arguments for the combination of Song and Cintron et al, the rejection above addresses the water-cooling system and the electric arc furnace steelmaking plant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/TIMA M. MCGUTHRY-BANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733