DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the submission filed 22 July 2026 for application 18/305,871. Currently claim 7 is canceled. Claims 1, 2-6, 8, 9, 10-16, 17, and 18-20 are amended. Claims 1-6 and 8-22 are pending and have been examined.
The §112(b) rejection of claims 2, 10, and 18 has been withdrawn in view of the amendments made.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, filed 22 July 2026, see pages 7-9, that the Kim and Udayakumaran, taken alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest each limitation of claims 1, 9, and 17.
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the features as recited in independent claim 1 (and similarly in independent claims 9 and 17) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (citing new reference Gschwind (US 8458677 B2) for teaching the new limitation) does not rely on any reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20190164037 A1) in view of Udayakumaran et al (US 9329867 B2) and further in view of Gschwind (US 8458677 B2).
Regarding claim 1:
Kim teaches: A system comprising: a processing unit, wherein the processing unit comprises registers ([0063] A plurality of processor units may store the operation result in an internal register);
memory coupled to the processing unit; and wherein the processing unit is configured to at least ([0051] As shown in FIG. 2, according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the CNN processor 200 may include a memory controller 210 connected to an external memory 201, an address generator 220, a CNN accelerator 230, a plurality of processing cores 240, other interface devices 250, and a bus 260 for connecting them):
identify a padding schema for a feature map ([0006] However, by loading the input feature map of the systolic array into the on-chip memory of each systolic array row with a padding area added and if the output feature map is stored in the on-chip memory without the padding area, the output of the previous layer cannot be used as an input in the next layer that requires padding. In order to use the output feature map of the previous layer as an input feature map, the padding area must be arranged in the address to be stored in the external memory through direct memory access (DMA). Note: This entire plan corresponds to padding schema);
identify a vector from the feature map in the memory ([0006] However, by loading the input feature map of the systolic array into the on-chip memory of each systolic array row. Note: Array row corresponds to the feature vectors);
determine a padding for the feature vector based on the padding schema ([0005] A systolic array (SA) is made up of many PEs (processing elements) that perform the same operation, and many operations may be performed simultaneously by inputting data to each PE. [0006] However, by loading the input feature map of the systolic array into the on-chip memory of each systolic array row with a padding area added and if the output feature map is stored in the on-chip memory without the padding area, the output of the previous layer cannot be used as an input in the next layer that requires padding. In order to use the output feature map of the previous layer as an input feature map, the padding area must be arranged in the address to be stored in the external memory through direct memory access (DMA). In addition, when the output feature map is stored in the feature map memory in consideration of the memory space for the padding area, the calculation result of one PE row must be stored in the feature map memory of the next PE row, and there is also a drawback that memory space is wasted);
and apply the padding to the vector ([0006] However, by loading the input feature map of the systolic array into the on-chip memory of each systolic array row with a padding area added).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose: while the vector is transferred from the memory to the registers of the processing unit, wherein applying the padding comprises inserting padding values to the vector and allocating corresponding registers of the processing unit for the padding values and the vector.
Udayakumaran teaches, in an analogous system: while the vector is transferred from the memory to the registers of the processing unit ([Column 1, Line 58] transferring the register values to and from memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Udayakumaran to use while the vector is transferred from the memory to the registers of the processing unit. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of designing register allocators to reduce spilling and produce efficient as taught by Udayakumaran [Column 1, Lines 59-60].
Gschwing teaches, in an analogous system: wherein applying the padding comprises inserting padding values to the vector and allocating corresponding registers of the processing unit for the padding values and the vector ([Column 13, Lines 33-39] In another illustrative embodiment, the scalar value may be written to bits 0 to 63 of the register while the remaining bits 64 to 127 may be filled with a default value or padding value, e.g., a zero. Such an approach may be used when a vector operation may need to be decomposed into a sequence of scalar operations, where the multiple scalar results are shifting and ORed together to form a vector result).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kim and Udayakumaran to incorporate the teachings of Gschwind wherein applying the padding comprises inserting padding values to the vector and allocating corresponding registers of the processing unit for the padding values and the vector. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of decomposing a vector operation into a sequence of scalar operations as taught by Gschwind [Column 13, Lines 33-39].
Regarding claim 2:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 1 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: wherein the feature map comprises multiple vectors at different positions within the feature map, and wherein the padding schema defines the padding for the vectors based on a position of each of the multiple vectors within the feature map ([0089] If the input feature map is loaded into the feature map memory and there is a padding area, if the next layer is the convolution layer and padding is required, and if the convolution result may be disposed of considering the padding position, it is not necessary to transfer and reload it from the external memory, and it is possible to get very high performance because convolution is performed right away. [0090] However, in order for the input feature map of the feature map memory to include the padding area and the output feature map to be created in the feature map memory to include the padding area, the result must be stored so that the position of the center of K*K weights as shown in FIG. 7 does not change, and in the top and bottom rows, three output rows must be generated. However, since the second and third lines in the middle must produce four output lines, that is, the addresses generated by the address generator may not be used as they are propagated to the lower bank, they fall outside the systolic array condition).
Regarding claim 3:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 1 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: wherein the memory comprises level 2 memory (L2 memory) of the processing unit, and wherein the processing unit is further configured to iteratively transfer the feature map from external memory to the L2 memory on a per vector basis ([Page 3, 0058] For one layer, the input feature map is stored in SA_H memory banks. [Page 5, 0082] Therefore, the row of each processor unit processes a small input feature map with N number of input channels and a height of BH and a width of BW. When actually reading data for processing, actual data of BH*BW data is read by each bank in this case, so that it is possible to read by the same pattern on entire banks with the difference of one clock (or instruction processing cycle difference), and processing by the systolic array method is available. Note: Figure 2 shows the transfer from external memory. Figure 5 shows FM (feature map) being transferred iteratively to bank 0..bank SA_H-1 (bank 2) corresponding to iteratively transfer the feature map from external memory to the L2 memory on a per-feature vector basis where each of the N inputs rectangles correspond to the per feature vector).
Regarding claim 4:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 3 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: further comprising logic configured to transfer the vector from the L2 memory to the registers of the processing unit ([Page 3, 0063] A plurality of processor units may store the operation result in an internal register, and transmit the stored output feature map to a processor unit. [Page 5, 0084] When loading an input feature map from an external memory via memory loading. [Page 5, 0082] Therefore, the row of each processor unit processes a small input feature map with N number of input channels and a height of BH and a width of BW. When actually reading data for processing, actual data of BH*BW data is read by each bank in this case, so that it is possible to read by the same pattern on entire banks with the difference of one clock (or instruction processing cycle difference), and processing by the systolic array method is available. Note: Also see Figure 2 showing from memory to processing core).
Regarding claim 5:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 4 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: wherein, to apply the padding to the vector, the processing unit is configured to instruct the logic to apply the padding to the vector while transferring the vector from the L2 memory to the registers of the processing unit ([Page 5, 0082] Therefore, the row of each processor unit processes a small input feature map with N number of input channels and a height of BH and a width of BW. When actually reading data for processing, actual data of BH*BW data is read by each bank in this case, so that it is possible to read by the same pattern on entire banks with the difference of one clock (or instruction processing cycle difference), and processing by the systolic array method is available. [Page 5, 0084] the input feature map is filled with zeros when transmitting to each processor unit. Note: Filled with zeroes corresponds to apply the padding).
Regarding claim 6:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 5 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: wherein to apply the padding to the vector the logic is configured to insert zeros as the padding values as instructed by the processing unit ([Page 5, 0084] If the original size of the input tile is H, W, and weights of 3×3 are used, the feature map data of (H+2)*(W+2) is placed by adding padding one by one to the top, bottom, left, and right. When loading an input feature map from an external memory via memory loading, the padding is not filled, leaving just a space, and the input feature map is filled with zeros when transmitting to each processor unit).
Regarding claim 8:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 1 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: wherein, to identify the padding schema, the processing unit is configured to identify a source of the feature map and select one of a group of padding schemas that corresponds to the source of the feature map ([0006] However, by loading the input feature map of the systolic array into the on-chip memory of each systolic array row with a padding area added and if the output feature map is stored in the on-chip memory without the padding area, the output of the previous layer cannot be used as an input in the next layer that requires padding. In order to use the output feature map of the previous layer as an input feature map, the padding area must be arranged in the address to be stored in the external memory through direct memory access (DMA). In addition, when the output feature map is stored in the feature map memory in consideration of the memory space for the padding area, the calculation result of one PE row must be stored in the feature map memory of the next PE row, and there is also a drawback that memory space is wasted. Also, since the output feature map, which is the result calculated with the input feature map, is stored separately in the feature map memory, the memory is used inefficiently. [0010] The processor applies the second weight group of the second layer, which is the next layer after the first layer, to the first output feature map to generate a final output feature map, and the address generator loads the input feature map from an external memory and transmits the final output feature map to the external memory. [0011] The address generator obtains the address information of the input feature map and a plurality of input pixels contained in the input feature map, determines the second position based on the address information of the first position and the size of the first weight group among the address information of the plurality of input pixels, and transmits the second position to the processor. [0012] The address generator obtains address information of the plurality of adjacent pixels, and configures part of the plurality of adjacent pixels to padding based on a result of comparing the address information of the plurality of adjacent pixels and the address information of the plurality of input pixels. Note: The address information of the feature map corresponds to the source of the feature map).
Regarding claim 9:
Kim teaches: A computing apparatus comprising: one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media; a processing unit comprising a memory and registers and wherein the processing unit is coupled with the one or more computer-readable storage media; and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media that, when executed by the processing unit, direct the processing unit to at least ([Page 3, 0062] Each processor unit may receive an input feature map value and an instruction to process from a processor unit [Page 3, 0063] A plurality of processor units may store the operation result in an internal register [Page 4, 0071] As shown in FIG. 4, the operation that each processor unit 434 should perform is determined by the instruction, which includes receiving the first instruction and passing it to the next processor unit. Note: Also see Figure 2 that shows memory and processing cores etc):
The remaining limitations of Claim 9 are substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 2 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 2.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is substantially similar to claim 3 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 3.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 4 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 4.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 5 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 5.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 6 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 6.
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 8 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 8.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 2 and therefore is rejected on similar grounds as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The method of claim 17 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: further comprising iteratively transferring the feature map from external memory to the memory of the processing unit on a per vector basis ([Page 4, 0074] As shown in FIG. 5, according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, processor units located at the far left and top receive weights, input feature maps, and instructions directly from the address generator (AG) and command generator, and the other processor units may receive input feature maps and weight values from their left and top processor units, respectively. Note: Figure 2 shows the transfer from external memory to the processing core).
Regarding claim 20:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The method of claim 17 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: wherein applying the padding to the vector, comprises inserting zeros as the padding values based on the padding schema ([Page 5, 0084] If the original size of the input tile is H, W, and weights of 3×3 are used, the feature map data of (H+2)*(W+2) is placed by adding padding one by one to the top, bottom, left, and right. When loading an input feature map from an external memory via memory loading, the padding is not filled, leaving just a space, and the input feature map is filled with zeros when transmitting to each processor unit).
Regarding claim 21:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 1 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: wherein identifying the padding schema is performed based on a computation requirement of a convolutional neural network (CNN) layer ([0006] However, by loading the input feature map of the systolic array into the on-chip memory of each systolic array row with a padding area added and if the output feature map is stored in the on-chip memory without the padding area, the output of the previous layer cannot be used as an input in the next layer that requires padding. In order to use the output feature map of the previous layer as an input feature map, the padding area must be arranged in the address to be stored in the external memory through direct memory access (DMA). [0008] Embodiments of the present invention provide an apparatus for processing a convolutional neural network using a systolic array and a method thereof using the operational result for one layer as an input to the operation for a next layer, while using the systolic array easily, and efficiently storing an input feature map and an output feature map).
However, the system of Kim and Udayakumaran does not explicitly disclose: wherein the processing unit is further configured to: store the vector and the padding values as a padded vector in the registers.
Gschwing teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the processing unit is further configured to: store the vector and the padding values as a padded vector in the registers ([Column 18, Lines 30-31] The other slots of the vector register may be populated with padding values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kim and Udayakumaran to incorporate the teachings of Gschwind wherein the processing unit is further configured to: store the vector and the padding values as a padded vector in the registers. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of a processor architecture that utilizes a vector register file as taught by Gschwind [Column 18, Lines 16 and 17].
Regarding claim 22:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 1 (as shown above).
Kim further teaches: wherein the vector does not include an allocated memory space for the padding values ([0097] the CNN processor according to the present invention may not allocate the memory space for the padding area).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20190164037 A1) in view of Udayakumaran et al (US 9329867 B2) and Gschwind (US 8458677 B2) and further in view of Wang et al (US 20150117760 A1).
Regarding claim 15:
The system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind teaches: The system of claim 14 (as shown above).
However, the system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind does not explicitly disclose: wherein the program instructions further direct the computing apparatus to execute a deep neural network (DNN) having a convolutional neural network (CNN) layer that receives the padded vector and outputs a convolved vector.
Wang teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the program instructions further direct the computing apparatus to execute a deep neural network (DNN) having a convolutional neural network (CNN) layer that receives the padded vector and outputs a convolved vector ([Page 3, 0046] Now that a feature vector can be computed and localized, dense neural patterns can be obtained by "network-convolution". Therefore, the activation of a neuron on the fifth convolutional layer may have been calculated on zero padded values. [Page 4, 0046] In order to produce the dense neural patterns map for the whole image using the fifth convolutional layer, we convolve the deep CNN model every 80 pixels in both x and y direction. Given a 640.times.480 image, it outputs 40.times.30 feature points which involves 8.times.6 model convolutions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim, Udayakumaran, and Gschwind to incorporate the teachings of Wang wherein the program instructions further direct the computing apparatus to execute a deep neural network (DNN) having a convolutional neural network (CNN) layer that receives the padded vector and outputs a convolved vector. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of convolving the deep CNN model every 80 pixels in both x and y direction as taught by Wang [Page 4, 0046].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhardwai et al (US 11113062 B2) discloses a computer system to configure a steaming engine with stream parameters to define a multidimensional array. The stream parameters define a size for each dimension of the multidimensional array and a pad value indicator. Data is fetched from a memory coupled to the streaming engine responsive to the stream parameters. A stream of vectors is formed for the multidimensional array responsive to the stream parameters from the data fetched from memory. A padded stream vector is formed that includes a specified pad value without accessing the pad value from system memory.
Majnemer et al (US 20220414441 A1) discloses a method includes the actions of receiving a request to perform convolutional computations for a neural network on a hardware circuit having a matrix computation unit, the request specifying the convolutional computation to be performed on a feature tensor and a filter and padding applied to the feature tensor prior to performing the convolutional computation; and generating instructions that when executed by the hardware circuit cause the hardware circuit to perform operations comprising: transferring feature tensor data from a main memory of the hardware circuit to a scratchpad memory of the hardware circuit; and repeatedly performing the following operations: identifying a current subset of the feature tensor; and determining whether a memory view into the scratchpad memory for the current subset is consistent with a memory view of the current subset in the main memory.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.R.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/OMAR F FERNANDEZ RIVAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2128