Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings should be clear on their own, and these features lack clear symbols, legend, or text so that they can be clearly understood:
Elements [106, 108, 110, 112, 158, 101] of Fig. 1 are unclear
Elements [106, 108, 210A-210C, 212A-212C, 158, 201, 122, 230A-230C, 231A-231C] of Fig. 1 are unclear
All elements of Fig. 3 are unclear
The batteries of Figs. 11-13 are unclear (add symbol or text/legend to clarify)
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains exemplary language (embodiments) and is not a summary of the invention. Include more detail (within the 150 word limit) on what the invention is, for instance the features of Figs. 5A-13. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, the applicant claims “in a first charging configuration the electrical power conversion system connects two power conversion stages independently to two strings of batteries of the four string grouping and controls the two power conversion stages to operate in lock-step at identical or unique DC currents to charge the two strings of batteries of the four string grouping; and
in a second charging configuration the electrical power conversion system connects the two power conversion stages independently to the other two strings of batteries of the four string grouping and controls the two power conversion stages to operate in lock-step at identical or unique DC currents to charge the other two strings of batteries of the four string grouping;”
While the plain meaning of the term “lock-step” makes sense with respect to “identical DC currents”, it does not make sense with “unique DC currents”.
Emend to “operate with unique DC currents or in lock-step at identical DC currents”
Claims 8 and 13, applicant claims two sets of “and/or” in each claim. Remove the 1st instance to improve clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Syouda (USPGPN 20250007311)
Independent Claim 1, Syouda discloses a battery system (Fig. 1), comprising:
two or more strings of batteries (STR1-STRm); and
an electrical power conversion system connected (PC1-PCM, S1, S2, BL, 100, 10) to the strings of batteries and controllable to change configuration of connections of a set of switches to the two or more strings based on an operating state of the battery system (¶’s [20-31], Figs. [2,3])
Independent Claim 9, Syouda discloses a battery system (Fig. 1), comprising:
subsets of serially connected substrings of modules (M1-Mn, ¶[24] where if packs are used instead of modules, then packs often contain multiple cells/modules in series with each other, as is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art), wherein the subsets are configured to be connected into a full string (if all S2 are closed, each strings STR1-STRN are full strings); and
a bypass switch (BL, S1) associated with each subset configured to enable each subset to be individually switched in and out of the full string (¶’s [20-31], Figs. [2,3]).
Independent Claim 13 and Dependent Claim 8, Syouda discloses a battery system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a) DC/DC converters configured to step-up module voltage to a common bus voltage; and/or
b) subsets of serially connected substrings of modules (M1-Mn, ¶[24] where if packs are used instead of modules, then packs often contain multiple cells/modules in series with each other, as is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art), wherein the subsets are configured to be connected into a full string (if all S2 are closed, each strings STR1-STRN are full strings); and
a bypass switch associated with each subset configured to enable each subset to be individually switched in and out of the full string (¶’s [20-31], Figs. [2,3]); and/or
c) a series of modules connected via skip stringing.
Dependent Claim 2, Syouda discloses each of the strings of batteries comprise battery cells connected in series (Fig. 1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al (USPGPN 20190089178)
Independent Claim 13, Jeon discloses a battery system (Figs. [1-5, 8]), comprising:
a) DC/DC converters configured to step-up module voltage to a common bus voltage (converters shown in Figs. [1-5], where each of 110-112 is described as battery modules in ¶[41], boost/step-up operation described in at least ¶’s [43-46]); and/or
b) subsets of serially connected substrings of modules, wherein the subsets are configured to be connected into a full string; and
a bypass switch associated with each subset configured to enable each subset to be individually switched in and out of the full string; and/or
c) a series of modules connected via skip stringing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (USPGPN 20250007311) in view of Chow et al (USPGPN 20100117599)
Dependent Claim 3, Syouda is silent to the battery cells are connected in series to have:
a maximum operational voltage in a charge operating state less than a DC voltage maximum; and a maximum operational voltage in a discharge operating state less than the DC voltage maximum.
Chow teaches the battery cells are connected in series (abstract, Figs. 1-2B) to have:
a maximum operational voltage in a charge operating state less than a DC voltage maximum; and a maximum operational voltage in a discharge operating state less than the DC voltage maximum (abstract, ¶[14] where the batteries’ operational voltages are kept below their respective maximum operational voltages, i.e. below a DC voltage maximum;
Chow is analogous to Syouda in that Syouda teaches used batteries with different deterioration/failure rates ¶[14], while Chow describes the failure of any battery in the battery system/pack causing the keeping of the operational voltages below the maximum operational voltages so as to reduce the risk of further failure, i.e. improving safety and lifetime).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Syouda with Chow to provide improved lifetime and safety.
Dependent Claim 4, the combination of Syouda and Chow teaches the DC voltage maximum is 1500 V (Chow teaches the voltages of the batteries, before being reduced, are between 4.2V to 32, see ¶’s [23, 24, 38], with Fig. 2A showing a minimum of 3 batteries in series for a string, meaning the battery string voltages would be less than 1500 V [i.e. 96 V is less than 1500 V, 12.6 V is less than 1500 V).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (USPGPN 20250007311) in view of Krishnan et al (USPGPN 20180301929; hereinafter Krish), as evidenced by Vartak et al (USPGPN 20020146600)
Dependent Claims 5 and 6, Syouda teaches the two or more strings of batteries (Fig. 1)
Syouda is silent to the batteries comprise metal-air type battery cells (with respect to [wrt] Claim 5) and the metal-air type battery cells comprise iron-air type battery cells, zinc-air type battery cells, and/or lithium-air battery cells (wrt Claim 6).
Krish teaches the batteries (Figs. 4-8) comprise metal-air type battery cells and the metal-air type battery cells comprise iron-air type battery cells, zinc-air type battery cells, and/or lithium-air battery cells (abstract, ¶’s [43-45, 71, esp. 45]). Vartak provides evidence that metal air [and in particular zinc air] batteries are easier to produce due to the availability of zinc, safer, easier to handle/store, and are available to work at ambient temperature (¶[05]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Syouda with Krish to provide improved ease and safety.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (USPGPN 20250007311) in view of White et al (USPGPN 20160149421)
Dependent Claim 7, Syouda teaches the two or more strings of batteries comprise at least a four string grouping (Fig. 1);
in a charge state (abstract):
connects two power conversion stages independently to two strings of batteries (see Fig. 1, bypass allows for different subs-strings to be connected, but all full strings have a converter) for unique or lockstep-identical DC currents (¶’s [21 for DC current, 39, 40] Fig. 2)
in a discharge state (abstract, Fig. 3):
a first set of two strings of batteries of the four string grouping is connected in series (sub-strings all being connected together makes two sub-strings in series);
a second set of the two strings of batteries of the four string grouping is connected in series (sub-strings all being connected together makes two sub-strings in series); and
the electrical power conversion system connects one of the two power conversion stages to the first set of two strings and the second of the two power conversion stages to the second set of two strings (discharge available for the entire strings).
Syouda is silent to in a first charging configuration the electrical power conversion system connects two power input/output stages independently to two strings of batteries of the four string grouping and controls the two power input/output stages to operate to charge the two strings of batteries of the four string grouping; and in a second charging configuration the electrical power conversion system connects the two power input/output stages independently to the other two strings of batteries of the four string grouping & controls the two power input/ output stages to operate to charge the other two strings of batteries of the four string grouping.
White teaches in a first charging configuration the electrical power conversion system connects two power input/output stages independently to two strings of batteries of the four string grouping and controls the two power input/output stages to operate to charge the two strings of batteries of the four string grouping; and in a second charging configuration the electrical power conversion system connects the two power input/output stages independently to the other two strings of batteries of the four string grouping & controls the two power input/ output stages to operate to charge the other two strings of batteries of the four string grouping (Figs. [1, 3, 4] shows the structure, where Figs. [2, 5, esp. 5] describes a case where the strings are divided into two substrings which can be used for charging, see ¶’s [54-57, esp. 55, 56]). Fig. 2 then demonstrates that after a charging even has occurred, the strings which were charged separately are connected to the other strings in each string group 110 to discharge in series. White teaches these features provide improved efficiency, lower voltage power supply [which requires lower costs to buy them], and versatility to work with renewable energy sources (¶’s [63, 46, 17, 09, 03-05]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Syouda with White to provide improved costs, efficiency, and versatility.
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (USPGPN 20250007311) in view of Tyler et al (USPGPN 20210091709), as evidenced by Camp et al (USPGPN 20150044522)
Independent Claims 10 and 13, Syouda teaches a battery system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a series of battery modules (Fig. 1, each string)
Syouda is silent to power modules connected via skip stringing (it is noted that the remaining limitations of Claim 13 are presented in the alternative, so not necessary to reject).
Tyler teaches power modules connected via skip stringing (Figs. [10A, 10B, 12A-12D], ¶[59]), where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that a battery and a solar panel are analogous in that they produce DC power for loads. Furthermore, Camp provides evidence (see at least Fig. 8, ¶’s [13, 78, 79, 82, 83 ,85]) that the leapfrog/skip-stringing is used in another analogous system with battery cells (battery controller connections).
Tyler teaches that this method of connecting power modules serves to reduce the amount of cable required (¶[59]), which one of ordinary skill in the art understands can improve costs (i.e. reduce costs) and weight (i.e. reduce weight,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Syouda with Tyler to provide improved costs and weight.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (USPGPN 20250007311) in view of Tyler et al (USPGPN 20210091709), further in view of Krishnan et al (USPGPN 20180301929; hereinafter Krish), as evidenced by Vartak et al (USPGPN 20020146600) and Camp et al (USPGPN 20150044522)
Dependent Claims 11 and 12, Syouda teaches the two or more strings of batteries (Fig. 1)
Syouda is silent to the batteries comprise metal-air type battery cells (with respect to [wrt] Claim 11) and the metal-air type battery cells comprise iron-air type battery cells, zinc-air type battery cells, and/or lithium-air battery cells (wrt Claim 12).
Krish teaches the batteries (Figs. 4-8) comprise metal-air type battery cells and the metal-air type battery cells comprise iron-air type battery cells, zinc-air type battery cells, and/or lithium-air battery cells (abstract, ¶’s [43-45, 71, esp. 45]). Vartak provides evidence that metal air [and in particular zinc air] batteries are easier to produce due to the availability of zinc, safer, easier to handle/store, and are available to work at ambient temperature (¶[05]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Syouda in view of Tyler with Krish to provide improved ease and safety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art was found to be:
US-5666041-A
US-5982143-A
US-8541980-B2
US-11349319-B2
US-20100295510-A1
US-20160149421-A1
US-20200303934-A1
US-20230369664-A1
US-20230378772-A1
US-20230396079-A1
US-20240022099-A1
US-20240022103-A1
US-20250007311-A1
US-20250192576-A1
US-20250253697-A1
US-20250253681-A1
US-20250357778-A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859