DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action for application 18/306,016 in response to the amendment(s) filed on 02/06/2026. Claims 1-15 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/06/2026 have been fully considered and were found persuasive over the previously applied prior art rejection of record. However, in light of the amendments a new search was conducted and new prior art identified, which renders the previous arguments moot. See claims 1-15 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (WO-2022031056-A1), US-20230021740-A1 is being used as an equivalent translation and hereinafter referenced below.
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses a battery pack (see e.g. "a battery module" in paragraph [0010] comprising:
a housing (see e.g. "a module case 150" in paragraph [0062] and part number 150 in FIGs. 5 and 6);
a plurality of battery cells accommodated within the housing (see e.g. part number 110 in FIG. 6), each of the plurality of battery cells comprising a degassing valve (see e.g. "exposure hole P1" in paragraph [0053] and part number P1 in FIG. 6);
gas channel mounted to the housing as a structural member of the housing (see e.g. "a staying space S" in paragraph [0063] and part number S in FIG. 6); and
a thermally and electrically isolating sheet (see e.g. "screen member" in paragraph [0013] of Park), the isolating sheet being arranged between the battery cells and the gas channel (see e.g. part number 130 in FIG. 6),
wherein the isolating sheet seals the plurality of battery cells from the gas channel (see e.g. "a screen member fixed to the cell frame to seal the exposure hole" in paragraph [0013] and part number 130 in FIG. 6) and is configured to provide fluid communication between the gas channel and each of the degassing valves of the plurality of battery cells in response to one or more of the battery cells ejecting a venting gas through the degassing valve of the battery cell (see e.g. "the screen member configured to seal the exposure hole and to open the exposure hole by gas pressure and the protection plate configured to fix the screen member, the gas generated inside the cell frame may be discharged to the outside through the open exposure hole and the communication hole." in paragraph [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses an isolating sheet/screen member comprising a plurality of breaking sections. Specifically, Park discloses a screen member 130 including a heat-resistant sheet 131 configured to seal exposure holes P1 corresponding to vent units C2 of the battery cells, wherein a portion of the heat-resistant sheet 131 facing the exposure hole P1 is ruptured by gas pressure to open the exposure hole P1 (see e.g. paragraphs [0013], [0015], [0055], and [0058] of Park). Park further discloses that the heat-resistant sheet 131 includes a rupture portion 131a formed to have a smaller thickness than the remaining portion of the sheet, and that the rupture portion 131a may be formed in a portion of the heat-resistant sheet 131 facing the exposure hole P1 (see e.g. paragraphs [0019] and [0075] and part number 131a in FIG. 9 of Park). Park also discloses that the exposure hole P1 is formed at a position corresponding to the vent unit C2 of the battery cell, and more specifically at a position adjacent to the opening D of the top cap C1 through which gas discharged from the vent unit C2 is discharged to the outside of the battery can (see e.g. paragraphs [0053]-[0054] of Park). Thus, Park teaches breaking sections/rupture portions that respectively overlap the degassing valves/vent units and/or outlet ports/openings of the battery cells.
Regarding Claim 3, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the breaking sections is formed by a plurality of perforations (see e.g. "For example, the rupture portion 131 a may have a linear shape. For example, as shown in FIG. 9 , the rupture portion 131 a may have a cross shape in a plan view." in paragraph [0075] and part number 131a in FIG. 9 of Park) and/or by a depression in the isolating sheet (see e.g. "a rupture portion 131 a configured to have a smaller thickness than the remaining portion of the sheet. " in paragraph [0075] of Park).
Regarding Claim 4, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Park further discloses that each of the breaking sections is configured to break at a reference pressure and/or in response to the one of the battery cells ejecting a venting gas through the degassing valve of the battery cell (see e.g. "The heat-resistant sheet 131 may have a predetermined thickness so that, when the battery cell 110 explodes, a portion thereof facing the exposure hole P1 is ruptured by the pressure of the gas discharged during the explosion." in paragraph [0058] of Park).
Regarding Claim 5, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the gas channel is arranged above a cover face of each of the battery cells (see e.g. part number S in FIG. 6), and
wherein the isolating sheet is arranged between the gas channel and the cover faces of the battery cells (see e.g. part number 130 in FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the gas channel is made of metal (see e.g. "The top cap C1 may be formed of, for example, a metal material such as stainless steel or aluminum" in paragraph [0048] and FIG. 4 of Park; part number C1 is part of the gas channel and is made of metal).
Regarding Claim 14, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the housing comprises a top cover mounted to the gas channel (see e.g. part number 150a in FIG. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US-20140234677-A1) and further in view of Park et al. (WO-2022031056-A1), US-20230021740-A1 is being used as an equivalent translation and hereinafter referenced below.
Regarding Claim 1, Yoon discloses a battery pack (see e.g. "battery module" in paragraph [0033] and FIG. 1) comprising:
a housing (see e.g. "housing" and part number 110 in FIG. 1);
a plurality of battery cells accommodated within the housing (see e.g. " a plurality of battery cells" in paragraph [0035] and part number 10 in FIG. 1), each of the plurality of battery cells comprising a degassing valve (see e.g. "a vent portion 13 through which gas may be exhausted" in paragraph [0035] and part number 13 in FIG. 2);
gas channel mounted to the housing as a structural member of the housing (see e.g. paragraph [0037] and part number 120 in FIG. 2); and
a thermally and electrically isolating sheet (see e.g. "insulation member" in paragraph [0036] and part number 130 in FIG. 2), the isolating sheet being arranged between the battery cells and the gas channel (see e.g. part number 130 in FIG. 2; the isolating sheet is between the battery cells (10) and gas channel (120)),
wherein the isolating sheet is configured to provide fluid communication between the gas channel and each of the degassing valves of the plurality of battery cells in response to one or more of the battery cells ejecting a venting gas through the degassing valve of the battery cell (see e.g. "a plurality of openings 131 corresponding to the respective vent portions 13 may be provided in the insulation member 130." in paragraph [0043] and part number 130 in FIG. 2; the gas flows from the degassing valves on the battery cells through the opening of the insulation member and into the gas channel which provides conditional fluid communication).
Yoon does not disclose that the isolating sheet seals the plurality of battery cells from the gas channel.
Park, however, in the same field of endeavor, battery packs with vents for degassing of battery cells, discloses a thermally and electrically isolating sheet (see e.g. "screen member" in paragraph [0013] of Park), the isolating sheet being arranged between the battery cells and the gas channel (see e.g. part number 130 in FIG. 6 of Park),
wherein the isolating sheet seals the plurality of battery cells from the gas channel (see e.g. "a screen member fixed to the cell frame to seal the exposure hole" in paragraph [0013] and part number 130 in FIG. 6 of Park) and is configured to provide fluid communication between the gas channel and each of the degassing valves of the plurality of battery cells in response to one or more of the battery cells ejecting a venting gas through the degassing valve of the battery cell (see e.g. "the screen member configured to seal the exposure hole and to open the exposure hole by gas pressure and the protection plate configured to fix the screen member, the gas generated inside the cell frame may be discharged to the outside through the open exposure hole and the communication hole." in paragraph [0025] of Park).
Park also teaches that because the gas discharged to the outside of the cell frame is not able to flow into other exposure holes sealed by the screen member (isolating sheet) it is possible to effectively prevent fire and thermal runaway from propagating to other battery cells adjacent to the battery cell where the fire or thermal runaway has occurred and thus it is possible to provide a safe battery module (see e.g. paragraph [0025] of Park). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the isolating sheet of Yoon such that the isolating sheet seals the plurality of battery cells from the gas channel and is configured to provide fluid communication between the gas channel and each of the degassing valves of the plurality of battery cells in response to one or more of the battery cells ejecting a venting gas through the degassing valve of the battery cell as taught by Park et al. in order to provide a safe battery module as suggested by Park.
Regarding Claim 2, Yoon in view of Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoon does not disclose that the isolating sheet comprises a plurality of breaking sections, and wherein each of the breaking sections respectively overlaps one of the degassing valves of the battery cells and/or an outlet port of one of the degassing valves of the battery cells.
Park, however, discloses an isolating sheet/screen member comprising a plurality of breaking sections. Specifically, Park discloses a screen member 130 including a heat-resistant sheet 131 configured to seal exposure holes P1 corresponding to vent units C2 of the battery cells, wherein a portion of the heat-resistant sheet 131 facing the exposure hole P1 is ruptured by gas pressure to open the exposure hole P1 (see e.g. paragraphs [0013], [0015], [0055], and [0058] of Park). Park further discloses that the heat-resistant sheet 131 includes a rupture portion 131a formed to have a smaller thickness than the remaining portion of the sheet, and that the rupture portion 131a may be formed in a portion of the heat-resistant sheet 131 facing the exposure hole P1 (see e.g. paragraphs [0019] and [0075] and part number 131a in FIG. 9 of Park). Park also discloses that the exposure hole P1 is formed at a position corresponding to the vent unit C2 of the battery cell, and more specifically at a position adjacent to the opening D of the top cap C1 through which gas discharged from the vent unit C2 is discharged to the outside of the battery can (see e.g. paragraphs [0053]-[0054] of Park). Thus, Park teaches breaking sections/rupture portions that respectively overlap the degassing valves/vent units and/or outlet ports/openings of the battery cells.
Park also teaches that because the gas discharged to the outside of the cell frame is not able to flow into other exposure holes sealed by the screen member (isolating sheet) it is possible to effectively prevent fire and thermal runaway from propagating to other battery cells adjacent to the battery cell where the fire or thermal runaway has occurred and thus it is possible to provide a safe battery module (see e.g. paragraph [0025] of Park). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the isolating sheet of Yoon such that the isolating sheet comprises a plurality of breaking sections, and wherein each of the breaking sections respectively overlaps one of the degassing valves of the battery cells and/or an outlet port of one of the degassing valves of the battery cells as taught by Park et al. in order to provide a safe battery module as suggested by Park.
Regarding Claim 3, Yoon in view of Park disclose the battery pack of claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Yoon does not disclose that the breaking sections is formed by a plurality of perforations and/or by a depression in the isolating sheet.
Park, however, discloses that the breaking sections is formed by a plurality of perforations (see e.g. "For example, the rupture portion 131 a may have a linear shape. For example, as shown in FIG. 9 , the rupture portion 131 a may have a cross shape in a plan view." in paragraph [0075] and part number 131a in FIG. 9 of Park) and/or by a depression in the isolating sheet (see e.g. "a rupture portion 131 a configured to have a smaller thickness than the remaining portion of the sheet. " in paragraph [0075] of Park).
Park also teaches that because the gas discharged to the outside of the cell frame is not able to flow into other exposure holes sealed by the screen member (isolating sheet) it is possible to effectively prevent fire and thermal runaway from propagating to other battery cells adjacent to the battery cell where the fire or thermal runaway has occurred and thus it is possible to provide a safe battery module (see e.g. paragraph [0025] of Park). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the isolating sheet of Yoon such that ach of the breaking sections is formed by a plurality of perforations and/or by a depression in the isolating sheet as taught by Park et al. in order to provide a safe battery module as suggested by Park.
Regarding Claim 4, Yoon in view of Park disclose the battery pack of claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Yoon does not disclose that each of the breaking sections is configured to break at a reference pressure and/or in response to the one of the battery cells ejecting a venting gas through the degassing valve of the battery cell.
Park, however, discloses that each of the breaking sections is configured to break at a reference pressure and/or in response to the one of the battery cells ejecting a venting gas through the degassing valve of the battery cell (see e.g. "The heat-resistant sheet 131 may have a predetermined thickness so that, when the battery cell 110 explodes, a portion thereof facing the exposure hole P1 is ruptured by the pressure of the gas discharged during the explosion." in paragraph [0058] of Park).
Park also teaches that because the gas discharged to the outside of the cell frame is not able to flow into other exposure holes sealed by the screen member (isolating sheet) it is possible to effectively event fire and thermal runaway from propagating to other battery cells adjacent to the battery cell where the fire or thermal runaway has occurred and thus it is possible to provide a safe battery module (see e.g. paragraph [0025] of Park). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the isolating sheet of Yoon such that each of the breaking sections is configured to break at a reference pressure and/or in response to the one of the battery cells ejecting a venting gas through the degassing valve of the battery cell as taught by Park et al. in order to provide a safe battery module as suggested by Park.
Regarding Claim 5, Yoon in view of Park discloses the battery pack according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoon further discloses that the gas channel is arranged above a cover face of each of the battery cells (see e.g. part number 120 in FIGs. 1 and 2), and wherein the isolating sheet is arranged between the gas channel and the cover faces of the battery cells (see e.g. part number 130 in FIGs. 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoon in view of Park disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoon does not disclose that the gas channel is made of metal.
Park, however, discloses that the gas channel is made of metal (see e.g. "The top cap C1 may be formed of, for example, a metal material such as stainless steel or aluminum" in paragraph [0048] and FIG. 4 of Park; part number C1 is part of the gas channel and is made of metal).
Park also teaches that because the gas discharged to the outside of the cell frame is not able to flow into other exposure holes sealed by the screen member (isolating sheet) it is possible to effectively prevent fire and thermal runaway from propagating to other battery cells adjacent to the battery cell where the fire or thermal runaway has occurred and thus it is possible to provide a safe battery module (see e.g. paragraph [0025] of Park). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gas channel of Yoon such that the gas channel is made of metal as taught by Park et al. in order to provide a safe battery module as suggested by Park.
Regarding Claim 7, Yoon in view of Park discloses the battery pack according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoon in view of Park does not explicitly disclose that the isolating sheet is clamped between the battery cells and the gas channel.
Yoon, however, does disclose that the isolating sheet is between the battery cells and the gas channel (see e.g. FIG. 1) and that the isolating sheet seals the space between the battery cells and the gas channel (see e.g. "The insulation member 230, in one embodiment, is formed as a single body, such that the insulation member 230 can concurrently (e.g., simultaneously) seal the vent portions 13 of the plurality of battery cells 10." in paragraph [0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the insulating sheet must be held in compressed engagement (i.e. clamped) between the battery cells and the gas channel to ensure an effective seal and prevent gas leakage, as Yoon expressly teaches the sheet functions to seal the vent portions.
Regarding Claim 13, Yoon in view of Park disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoon in view of Park does not explicitly disclose that the gas channel is arranged and configured to mechanically fix the plurality of battery cells.
Yoon, however, discloses a gas channel (see e.g. part number 120) connected to the top of a plurality of battery cells (see e.g. FIG. 1), and that the gas channel is integrated with the housing to form part of the battery module assembly (see e.g. FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that such a gas channel, when connected to and supported by the battery housing, would mechanically fix or stabilize the plurality of battery cells in position which would maintain proper alignment and sealing between the vent portions of the cells and the gas channel openings, preventing displacement or vibration during operation.
Regarding Claim 14, Yoon in view of Park disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoon further discloses that the housing comprises a top cover mounted to the gas channel (see e.g. part number 120 in FIG. 1; the gas channel 120 has a mounted top cover which is connected to the housing). Regarding Claim 15, Yoon in view of Park discloses an electric vehicle (see e.g. "The high-power battery module is configured as a large-capacity battery module manufactured by connecting a plurality of battery cells in series and which may be used for driving devices, such as motors of electric vehicles and the like, which require high power" in paragraph [0005] of Yoon) comprising the battery pack according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US-20140234677-A1) in view of Park et al. (WO-2022031056-A1), US-20230021740-A1 is being used as an equivalent translation and hereinafter referenced below, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US-20130071706-A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoon in view of Park disclose the battery pack according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoon discloses a thermally and electrically isolating sheet (see e.g. "insulation member" in paragraph [0036] and part number 130 in FIG. 2), the isolating sheet being arranged between the battery cells and the gas channel (see e.g. part number 130 in FIG. 2; the isolating sheet is between the battery cells (10) and gas channel (120)), wherein the isolating sheet is configured to provide fluid communication between the gas channel and each of the degassing valves of the plurality of battery cells (see e.g. "a plurality of openings 131 corresponding to the respective vent portions 13 may be provided in the insulation member 130." in paragraph [0043] and part number 130 in FIG. 2; the gas flows from the degassing valves on the battery cells through the opening of the insulation member and into the gas channel which provides fluid communication).
Yoon in view of Park does not disclose a common venting channel branches off from the gas channel.
Lee, however, in the same field of endeavor battery modules with a plurality of battery cells and vents, discloses a common venting channel branches off from the gas channel (see e.g. FIGs. 1-3 of Lee; gas moves through the gas channel 120 into the discharge portion 121 and through the discharge holes 122 into the common venting channel which branches off and moves through the battery pack to an outlet).
Lee further teaches that a battery pack of this type is capable of improving stability by shielding an entrance of an inlet connected to a vehicle interior when harmful gas is detected of a temperature of a battery cell is greater than a predetermined temperature thus increasing the safety of the battery pack and the electric vehicle (see e.g. paragraph [0056] of Lee). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gas channel of Yoon in view of Park et al. such that a common venting channel branches off from the gas channel as taught by Lee in order to increase the safety of the battery pack as suggested by Lee.
Regarding Claim 9, Yoon in view of Park and further in view of Lee disclose the battery pack of claim 8 (see e.g. claim 8 rejection above).
Yoon in view of Park does not disclose that the battery pack comprises a plurality of cell stacks, and wherein the common venting channel is arranged between at least two of the plurality of cell stacks.
Lee, however, discloses the battery pack comprises a plurality of cell stacks (see e.g. part number 100 in FIG. 1 of Lee), and wherein the common venting channel is arranged between at least two of the plurality of cell stacks (see e.g. FIG. 3 of Lee; Lee discloses the flow path of the common venting channel and it runs through and between the plurality of cell stacks in the battery pack).
Lee further teaches that a battery pack of this type is capable of improving stability by shielding an entrance of an inlet connected to a vehicle interior when harmful gas is detected of a temperature of a battery cell is greater than a predetermined temperature thus increasing the safety of the battery pack and the electric vehicle (see e.g. paragraph [0056] of Lee). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pack of Yoon in view of Park et al. such that the battery pack comprises a plurality of cell stacks, and wherein the common venting channel is arranged between at least two of the plurality of cell stacks as taught by Lee in order to increase the safety of the battery pack as suggested by Lee.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US-20140234677-A1) in view of Park et al. (WO-2022031056-A1), US-20230021740-A1 is being used as an equivalent translation and hereinafter referenced below, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Itoi et al. (US-2012/0164490-A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoon in view of Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoon further discloses a venting path is formed leading from the degassing valves of the battery cells through the gas channel exterior of the battery pack (see e.g. " The gas may be exhausted through the vent portion 13. The gas is exhausted to the outside of the battery module 100 through the exhaust port 125 of the cover 120." in paragraph [0040]).
Yoon in view of Park does not explicitly disclose that the housing comprises a hollow beam.
Itoi, however, in the same field of endeavor, venting battery modules, discloses a housing (see e.g. "case" in paragraph [0049] and part number 20 in FIG. 2 of Itoi) comprises a hollow beam (see e.g. "exhaust duct" in paragraph [0050] and part number 60 in FIG. 2 of Itoi), and wherein a venting path is formed leading from the degassing valves of the battery cells through the gas channel, and the hollow beam to an exterior of the battery pack (see e.g. FIG. 2 of Itoi; Itoi discloses a venting path where gas leaves the battery cells enters the hollow beam and exits to the exterior of the battery pack).
Itoi further teaches a battery pack such as this allows for high-temperature gas from an abnormal battery to be released outside the case without influencing the other normal batteries and thus a battery pack with a higher degree of safety can be obtained (see e.g. paragraph [0015] of Itoi). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing of Yoon in view of Park et al. such that the housing comprises a hollow beam, and wherein a venting path is formed leading from the degassing valves of the battery cells through the gas channel, and the hollow beam to an exterior of the battery pack as taught by Itoi et al. in order to have a battery pack with a higher degree of safety as suggested by Itoi.
Regarding Claim 11, Yoon in view of Park and further in view of Itoi discloses the battery pack of claim 10 (see e.g. claim 10 rejection above).
Yoon in view of Park does not disclose that the hollow beam has an upper beam section, a lower beam section in fluid communication with the upper beam section, and a separation member, and wherein the upper beam section and the lower beam section are separated from each other by the separation member.
Itoi, however, discloses that the hollow beam has an upper beam section (see e.g. "second space" in paragraph [0051] and part number 62 in FIG. 2 of Itoi), a lower beam section (see e.g. "first space" in paragraph [0051] and part number 61 in FIG. 2 of Itoi) in fluid communication with the upper beam section (see e.g. "The first space 61 communicates with the second space 62 through a through hole 40 a formed in the partition 40." in paragraph [0051] and FIG. 2 of Itoi), and a separation member (see e.g. "partition" in paragraph [0051] and part number 40 in FIG. 2 of Itoi), and wherein the upper beam section and the lower beam section are separated from each other by the separation member (see e.g. part numbers 61, 62 and 40 in FIG. 2 of Itoi).
Itoi further teaches a battery pack such as this allows for high-temperature gas from an abnormal battery to be released outside the case without influencing the other normal batteries and thus a battery pack with a higher degree of safety can be obtained (see e.g. paragraph [0015] of Itoi). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pack of Yoon in view of Park et al. such that the hollow beam has an upper beam section, a lower beam section in fluid communication with the upper beam section, and a separation member, and wherein the upper beam section and the lower beam section are separated from each other by the separation member as taught by Itoi et al. in order to have a battery pack with a higher degree of safety as suggested by Itoi.
Regarding Claim 12, Yoon in view of Park and further in view of Itoi discloses the battery pack of claim 11 (see e.g. claim 11 above).
Yoon in view of Park does not disclose that the separation member comprises a fluid passage providing conditional fluid communication between the upper beam section and the lower beam section.
Itoi, however, discloses that the separation member comprises a fluid passage providing conditional fluid communication between the upper beam section and the lower beam section (see e.g. "The first space 61 communicates with the second space 62 through a through hole 40 a formed in the partition 40." and FIG. 2 of Itoi; gas flows between the lower beam and the upper beam through the hole providing conditional fluid communication).
Itoi further teaches a battery pack such as this allows for high-temperature gas from an abnormal battery to be released outside the case without influencing the other normal batteries and thus a battery pack with a higher degree of safety can be obtained (see e.g. paragraph [0015] of Itoi). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pack of Yoon in view of Park et al. such that the separation member comprises a fluid passage providing fluid communication between the upper beam section and the lower beam section as taught by Itoi et al. in order to have a battery pack with a higher degree of safety as suggested by Itoi.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723