DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ 0044, delete “a boats” and replace with “a boat”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, lines 4-5, delete “an stoppage” and replace with “a stoppage”
Claims 4-5 are objected for the reasons as claim 3 from they depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deh (US Pub 2021/0170894).
Regarding claim 1, Deh discloses a charging system comprising:
a charging unit (¶ 0027) comprising:
an enclosure (fig. 1, element 110 and ¶ 0024) for the charging unit (¶ 0027; the housing encloses a charging circuitry), wherein the enclosure is to be mounted on a pole (fig. 2 and 3, element 200 and ¶¶ 0023-0025);
one or more transformers (¶ 0023; further includes transformers) coupled with one or more power lines (¶¶ 0023, 0027; overhead power lines) supported by the pole to receive an input voltage (¶ 0027; the housing encloses a charging circuitry that can be connected to a transformer for receiving power from one or more grids); and
at least one charging outlet (¶ 0024 and fig. 2-3, element 130; a charging cord 120 and a charging plug 130) coupled with the one or more transformers (¶ 0027; since the charging circuitry can be connected to a transformer),
wherein the charging outlet is connectable to a charging port of a vehicle (see fig. 2, 3) to provide charge to the vehicle (¶ 0025; the plug connected to an EV for charging its batteries) for a first time-period (the charging period: charging start to charging end).
Regarding claim 2, Deh discloses the charging system further comprises one or more processors configured to: receive a first user input via at least one of: a user device, or a display screen associated with the charging unit (¶ 0029; a predetermined combination of numbers can be input into the keypad for unlocking the panel and extending the cord), wherein the first user input is associated with an initiation of charging of the vehicle (¶¶ 0012, 0030; start the charging);
control a movement of a cord connected to the charging outlet based on the reception of the first user input, wherein controlling the movement comprises downward traction of the cord along with the charging outlet (¶ 0037 and claims 6, 8);
receive connection information from at least one of: the charging outlet, the user device, or the display screen (claim 6 and ¶ 0034), wherein the connection information indicates that the charging outlet is connected with the charging port of the vehicle (claim 6); and
control a flow of electricity from the charging unit to the vehicle via the charging outlet to charge the vehicle for the first time-period (claim 18).
Regarding claim 3, Deh discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a second user input via at least one of: the user device or the display screen associated with the charging unit, wherein the second user input is associated with a stoppage of charging of the vehicle (¶ 0012; the app allows a user to…stop the charging of the EV);
control the flow of electricity from the charging unit to the charging port of the vehicle based on the reception of the second user input, to stop the charging of the vehicle after the first time-period (¶ 0012; start to end);
receive disconnection information from at least one of: the charging outlet, the user device (¶¶ 0012, 0030; a smartphone or a tablet computer), or the display screen, wherein the disconnection information indicates that the charging outlet is disconnected from the charging port of the vehicle after the first time-period (¶ 0032; provide invoices and receive payments); and
control the movement of the cord based on the reception of the received disconnection information, wherein controlling the movement comprises upward traction of the cord along with the charging outlet (¶ 0037 and claim 9; the charging assembly can move up and down on the utility pole).
Regarding claim 4, Deh discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
calculate an amount to be paid by a user of the vehicle based on one or more factors (¶¶ 0030, 0032; the interface can also have a meter showing the amount of charge transferred and cost. The interface can also provide invoices and receive payments);
render the calculated amount on at least one of:
the user device (¶ 0030; via a smartphone) or the display screen;
receive confirmation information associated with a successful payment of the calculated amount (¶ 0032; provide invoices and receive payments); and
control the movement of the cord based on the reception of the received disconnection information and the confirmation information (claims 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 5, Deh discloses wherein the one or more factors are associated with at least one of: an electricity consumed by the vehicle (¶ 0032; the interface can have a meter showing the amount of charge transferred and cost), the first time-period, and a user profile of a user associated with the vehicle.
Regarding claim 6, Deh discloses the charging system further comprises a payment device mounted on the enclosure, wherein the payment device is configured to accept one or more payments via at least one of: a credit card, a debit card, a prepaid card, a quick response (QR) code (¶ 0031; a user can scan a QR code on the utility pole), a radio-frequency identification (RFID) card, a voucher code, a coupon code, or a contactless payment method.
Regarding claim 11, Deh discloses wherein the charging unit further comprises a printed circuit board with an onboard software (¶ 0012; application software), and wherein one or more processors are configured to utilize the onboard software to perform operations associated with the charging unit (¶ 0030; tablet computer).
Regarding claim 14, Deh discloses wherein the charging unit further comprises a set of light emitting diode (LED) indicators configured to indicate information about a set of parameters associated with the charging unit (¶¶ 0024,0034; the series of indicators below the display panel can show the progress of the charging).
Regarding claim 15, Deh discloses wherein the set of parameters associated with the charging unit comprises at least one of: a charging unit state parameter (¶ 0034; show information related to the charging), a network parameter, and a payment parameter.
Regarding claim 16, Deh discloses the charging system further comprises a server in communication with the charging unit via a communication network (fig. 4 and ¶¶ 0012, 0026; the charging assembly 100 connected to a cloud…and a user device through the network), and wherein the server is configured to perform operations associated with the charging unit (¶¶ 0012, 0026, 0031, 0036).
Regarding claim 17, Deh discloses wherein the pole corresponds to one of: a utility pole or a streetlight pole (abstract and fig. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 18, Deh discloses a method comprising:
receiving a first user input via at least one of:
a user device (¶ 0030; can be a smartphone), or a display screen associated with a charging unit of a charging system (¶ 0029; a predetermined combination of numbers can be input into the keypad for unlocking the panel and extending the cord), wherein the first user input is associated with an initiation of charging of a vehicle (¶¶ 0012, 0030; start the charging);
controlling a movement of a cord connected to a charging outlet of the charging system, based on the reception of the first user input, wherein controlling the movement comprises downward traction of the cord along with the charging outlet (¶ 0037 and claims 6, 8; the electric code enters the utility pole at its top portion, passes downwards within the utility pole and extend out from the utility pole at its bottom portion);
receiving connection information from at least one of: the charging outlet, the user device, or the display screen (claim 6 and ¶ 0034), wherein the connection information indicates that the charging outlet is connected with the charging port of the vehicle (claim 6; display panel mounted in front of the housing and configured to display information related to charging of the electric vehicle); and
controlling a flow of electricity from the charging unit to the vehicle via the charging outlet to charge the vehicle for a first time-period (claim 18).
Regarding claim 19, Deh discloses the method further comprising:
receiving a second user input via at least one of:
the user device or the display screen associated with the charging unit, wherein the second user input is associated with a stoppage of charging of the vehicle (¶ 0012; the app allows a user to…stop the charging of the EV);
controlling the flow of electricity from the charging unit to the charging port of the vehicle based on the reception of the second user input, to stop the charging of the vehicle after the first time-period ((¶ 0012; start to end));
receiving disconnection information from at least one of:
the charging outlet, the user device (¶¶ 0012, 0030; a smartphone or a tablet computer), or the display screen, wherein the disconnection information indicates that the charging outlet is disconnected from the charging port of the vehicle after the first time-period (¶ 0032; provide invoices and receive payments); and
controlling the movement of the cord based on the reception of the received disconnection information, wherein the controlling the movement comprises upward traction of the cord along with the charging outlet (¶ 0037 and claim 9; the charging assembly can move up and down on the utility pole).
Regarding claim 20, Deh discloses the method further comprising:
calculating an amount to be paid by a user of the vehicle based on one or more factors (¶¶ 0030, 0032; the interface can also have a meter showing the amount of charge transferred and cost. The interface can also provide invoices and receive payments);
rendering the calculated amount on at least one of:
the user device (¶ 0030; via a smartphone) or the display screen;
receiving confirmation information associated with a successful payment of the calculated amount (¶ 0032; provide invoices and receive payments); and
controlling the movement of the cord along with the charging outlet based on the reception of the received disconnection information and the confirmation information (claims 8 and 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deh in view of Redmann (US 2010/0283426).
Regarding claim 7, Deh fails to teach the charging system further comprises a fused disconnect switch disposed between an output of the one or more power lines and the one or more transformers.
However, Redmann further discloses the charging system further comprises a fused disconnect switch (fig. 5, element 222, 532, 534 and ¶¶ 0048, 0053; an inadvertent draw of excess current through charging circuit trips breaker rather than blowing fuse 222) disposed between an output of the one or more power lines (fig. 5, element 108) and the one or more transformers.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deh to incorporate with the teaching of Redmann by including a fuse and a circuit break in the system, because it would be advantageous to protect the electrical components from short circuit and prolong the service life of the whole system.
Although Deh in view of Redmann does not disclose the location of the fused disconnect switch, one ordinary skilled in the art would recognize that the fuse and circuit break can be disposed between an output of the power line and the transformer, because it would be advantageous to protect the transformer from short circuit and further improve system stability.
Regarding claim 8, Deh in view of Redmann fails to disclose wherein the fused disconnect switch is a 50 Amperes fusible disconnect switch. However, to choose a 50 Amperes fusible disconnect switch, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” value of the fusible disconnect switch, as stated above, that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the desired accuracy and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.04 and 2144.05.
Claim(s) 9-10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deh (US Pub 2021/0170894).
Regarding claim 9, Deh discloses wherein the one or more transformers (¶¶ 0023, 0027), but fails to disclose the transformer can be selected from one of: a step-up transformer, a step-down transformer, or an isolation transformer. One skilled in the art would recognize that the transformer of Deh is a step-down transformer because the sole purpose of the pole-mounted distribution transformer is to step-down that high primary voltage to safe secondary voltage for end-use requires only routine skill.
Regarding claim 10, Deh fails to disclose wherein the one or more transformers corresponds to a 277/240 volts transformer. However, to choose a 277/240 volts transformer, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” value of the fusible disconnect switch, as stated above, that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the desired accuracy and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.04 and 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, although Deh does not expressly disclose wherein the enclosure is formed of one of: a metal, a wood, or a plastic, these limitations with regard to the material of the enclosure/housing of the charging assembly, does not show any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the housing, taught by Deh, since it appears to the Examiner that selecting a specific material for the enclosure is nothing more than one of numerous materials that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide. In this case to lower the manufacturing cost of the charging assembly.
Regarding claim 13, although Deh does not disclose wherein the enclosure comprises one or more ventilation vents, the enclosure includes one or more ventilation vents claimed by applicant, absent any criticality, is considered to be nothing more than a choice of engineering skill, choice or design because 1) neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e., results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the charging assembly is able to supply power without interruption, as already suggested by Deh, 2) the enclosure includes one or more ventilation vents to cool down the internal components by Applicant is considered to be nothing more than the use of one of numerous and well known alternate types of cooling method that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to provide using routine experimentation in order to reduce the size of the charging assembly and further lower the manufacturing cost.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 03/19/2026