DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 20 April 2026.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-18 and 20 are pending in this application. Claims 7, 15 and 19 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1, Statutory Category: Yes, the claim 17 is a system that recites a series of steps and therefore falls in the statutory category of a machine.
Step 2A- Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited: Yes, the claim recites: “identify at least one active node from the plurality of nodes that is currently executing”. As drafted, the claim as a whole recites a method including steps that could be performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computing components. The human mind can easily judging/evaluating/determining/identifying that at least one active node from the plurality of nodes that is currently executing. Therefore, but for the recitation of generic computing components, these steps may be a Mental Processes that can be performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Therefore, yes, the claims do recite judicial exceptions.
Step 2A- Prong 2: Integrated into a practical Application: No, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites an additional limitations that “receive, by a resolver in an orchestration framework, a pause request for stopping execution of a first pipeline that includes a plurality of nodes”, and “receive paused state data that is associated with the at least one active node” which is insignificant pre-solution data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). In addition, the limitation of “a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors being configured to”, “wherein the paused state data corresponds to an intermediate execution state of the at least one active node prior to completion of execution of the at least one active node” and “wherein the pipeline checkpoint data includes the paused state data associated with the at least one active node and further includes input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline.” which is directed to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a generic computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Further, the limitation of “send a pause command to the at least one active node from the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline”, “send pipeline checkpoint data corresponding to the first pipeline to a server,” which is insignificant extra solution activity (i.e., transmitting data) See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept: No. The additional element “a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors being configured to”, “wherein the paused state data corresponds to an intermediate execution state of the at least one active node prior to completion of execution of the at least one active node” and “wherein the pipeline checkpoint data includes the paused state data associated with the at least one active node and further includes input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline” which is directed to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a generic computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). In addition, the limitation of “receive, by a resolver in an orchestration framework, a pause request for stopping execution of a first pipeline that includes a plurality of nodes”, “receive paused state data that is associated with the at least one active node” which is insignificant pre-solution data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Further, the limitation of “send a pause command to the at least one active node from the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline”, “send pipeline checkpoint data corresponding to the first pipeline to a server,” which is insignificant extra solution activity (i.e., transmitting data) See MPEP 2106.05(g) and they are well understood, routine, conventional activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)). Courts have identified “receiving and transmitting data, storing and retrieving information”, et cetera as well understood, routine, conventional and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f))). These additional elements and combination of the elements does not amount to significant more than the exception itself or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “receive” and “send” steps were considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A as insignificant data gathering and communication and are well understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The “receive” and “send” steps are for the purpose of “communication” and “transmitting the data” and these can be reached on one of court case (Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) see MPEP § 2106.05(d) II). Accordingly, a conclusion that “receive” and “send” are well understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer options 2.
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus the claim is ineligible.
With respect to the dependent claim 18, the claim elaborates that wherein the at least one active node from the plurality of nodes is identified based on a directed acyclic graph that is associated with the first pipeline (“identified based on a directed acyclic graph” as being treated as part of abstract idea and is analogous to Mental processes, such that concept can be performed in the human mind. Further, the claim as a whole is a Mental Processes that can be performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)).
With respect to the dependent claim 20, the claim elaborates that wherein the paused state data includes at least one of a machine learning model, machine learning model weights, input data received by the at least one active node, output data generated by the at least one active node, and data corresponding to a last completed epoch (these limitations are directed to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a generic computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f))).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liguori et al. (US Pub. 2020/0310845 A1) in view of Pjesivac-Grbovic et al. (US Patent. 9,495,207 B1; hereafter Pjesivac) and further in view of Cseri et al. (US Patent. 12,461,940 B2).
Liguori and Cseri were cited in the previous Office Action.
As per claim 1, Liguori teaches the invention substantially as claimed including A system comprising (Liguori, Fig. 1,100):
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors being configured to (Liguori, Claim 5, A system, comprising: one or more processors; and memory that stores computer-executable instructions that, as a result of being executed, cause the one or more processors to):
receive, by a server in an orchestration framework, a request for execution of a first workflow that was previously executed within the orchestration framework, (Liguori, Fig. 2, 212 Call API, 214 resume function from state; Fig. 3, 320 receive request with the handle to continue the workflow (as request for execution of a first workflow that was previously executed); Fig. 6, 600 (as orchestration framework); Abstract, A resume workflow request is received from the entity, where the resume workflow request includes a handle to a snapshot that corresponds to a state of execution of the software code and a response to the operation request to the entity. Using the handle to the snapshot and the response to the operation request, a second instance is caused to execute the software code from the first state to perform a second portion of the workflow; Fig. 1, 104, 106 and 108 (as provided by server; also see Fig. 6, functions of workflow are executed within the virtual machine of the server); [0028] lines 1-8, the VM configuration 104 is under the control of a service such as a serverless compute service provided by the computing resource service provider to its customers to perform various functions on behalf of the customers. Examples of serverless compute services include AWS Lambda, Google Cloud Functions, IBM Cloud Functions, Fn or Fn Project, platform-as-a-service service providers; also see [0040] lines 1-2, all of process 200 may be performed by any suitable system, such as a server in a data center, by various components of the system 900 described in conjunction with FIG. 9, such as the web server 906 or the application server 908 (as server in an orchestration framework)); wherein the first workflow includes a plurality of nodes (Liguori, [0013] lines 1-3, perform a workflow over a series of stages (as plurality of nodes); [0044] lines 1-7, the resuming 214 of the function may comprise the instantiation of a second virtual machine instance different from the first virtual machine instance to perform the one or more functions of the function. The different virtual machine instances may further execute on different physical computing devices (“hosts”). In this manner, a virtual computer system service that provides the virtual machines to customers may use any available physical hosts to efficiently host the functions at different stages of the workflow; also see Fig. 6, different functions as plurality of nodes).
retrieve, by the server in the orchestration framework, workflow checkpoint data corresponding to the first workflow (Liguori, Fig. 2, 206 store state, 214 resume function from state; Fig. 3, 322 instantiate the next configuration to execute the function from the most recent state; [0040] lines 1-2, all of process 200 may be performed by any suitable system, such as a server in a data center; [0060] lines 1-10, receive 320 a request with the handle to continue the workflow. In various embodiments, the request may originate from the service to which the request 317 was submitted. Using the handle, the system may then instantiate 322 the next configuration to execute the function from the most recent state. In some examples, instantiating the next configuration may comprise preparing one or more physical systems, such as a server computer, and/or one or more virtual systems, such as a virtual machine to execute the function. In an embodiment, the system utilizes the handle the request comprises to instantiate the next configuration; the handle the request may provide the system with access to the most recent state of the previous configuration (as to retrieve, by the server in the orchestration framework (see Fig. 6), workflow checkpoint data (i.e., state) corresponding to the first workflow to continue execution of the workflow));
initiate, based on the workflow checkpoint data corresponding to the first workflow (Liguori, Fig. 3, 324 cause the next configuration to execute the function to continue the workflow).
Liguori fails to specifically teach the first workflow is first pipeline, wherein the pipeline checkpoint data includes input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline; allocate compute resources for execution of a second pipeline; initiate, using the allocated compute resources and based on the input data and output data in the pipeline checkpoint data corresponding to the first pipeline, the second pipeline, wherein the second pipeline is a clone of the first pipeline.
However, Pjesivac teaches the first workflow is first pipeline, wherein the pipeline checkpoint data includes input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline (Pjesivac, Fig. 3, 102 pipeline (as first pipeline); pipeline objects 104a, 104b and 104c (as plurality of nodes in the first pipeline), pipeline objects store produced data sets (as pipeline checkpoint data) to data store 110; Col 4, lines 32-42, The data store 110 includes one or more data sets 112. In operation, the pipeline objects 104a-c store the one or more data sets 112 in the data store 110. For example, the pipeline object 104a may store the data set 112 it produces as output in the data store 110, such as before, after, or concurrently with providing the data set to pipeline object 104b as input. In some cases, the data sets 112 may include the input data set 106 or the output data set 108. In some cases, each of the pipeline objects 104a-c may interact directly with the data store 110 to store data sets 112. The pipeline 102 may also interact with the data store 110 to store data sets 112; Col 4, lines 49-56, each data set 112 includes a data set name 114. In some implementations, the data set name 114 for a particular data set 112 may be specified by the particular pipeline object 104a-c, or the pipeline 102 that stores the particular data set 112 in the data store 110. In operation, the data set name 114 may be used by later running pipelines to retrieve the particular data set 112 associated with the data set name 114; Col 5, lines 1-9, Each data set 112 also includes metadata 116. The metadata 116 may include information about the particular data set 112, including, but not limited to…a set of execution details for the particular data set 112, parameters used to generate the particular data set 112, names of one or more input data sets used as input to the pipeline that produced the particular data set 112; also see Fig. 1);
compute resources for execution of a second pipeline; initiate, using the compute resources and based on the input data and output data in the pipeline checkpoint data corresponding to the first pipeline, the second pipeline, wherein the second pipeline is a clone of the first pipeline (Pjesivac, Fig. 3, second pipeline 302, pipeline objects query stored data sets (as based on input data and output data in the pipeline checkpoint data); Fig. 2 servers 202a, 202b, 202n (as compute resources for execution of pipelines); Col 5, lines 33-36, the system 200 includes one or more servers 202a-n each running a pipeline instance 204a-n. A pipeline instance is an executing copy of a particular pipeline. Each pipeline instance 204a-n may be identical; Col 5, lines 51-53, pipeline objects 104a-c from the first pipeline 102 store data sets 112 and pipeline objects 304a-c from a second, later-executing pipeline 302 query and use the stored data sets 112; Col 5, line 66 -Col 6, line 1, The pipeline objects 304a-c may be identical…the pipeline objects 104a-c of pipeline 102).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Liguori with Pjesivac because Pjesivac’s teaching of resuming/continuing execution from first pipeline into second pipeline based on the stored data set would have provided Liguori’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the system to continue the execution of the pipeline by using the cached data set which avoiding performing the particular computation by using the cached data set in order to improving the processing speed (see Col 9, lines 58-59, “Continuing execution may include avoiding performing the particular computation by using the cached data set”).
Liguori and Pjesivac fail to specifically teach when using the computing resource for initiating/executing the second pipeline, the computing resource is allocated, and initiate a resolver that is configured to monitor execution of the second pipeline.
However, Cseri teaches the computing resource is allocated, and initiate a resolver that is configured to monitor execution of the second pipeline (Cseri, Fig. 9, pipeline with tasks; Abstract, lines 2-6, detecting a committed version of recurrently executed tasks of a first data pipeline on a primary deployment that is hosted on a first cloud service, and replicating the committed version of the recurrently executed tasks to a second data pipeline on a secondary deployment that is hosted on a second cloud service; Fig. 9, data pipeline including tasks/nodes; Col 3, lines 17-22, A customer decides how frequently they wish to replicate and hence they also need sufficient information to decide at failover if they want to use the replicated checkpoint or externally upgrade the checkpoint to a later state if they so desire. In this way, they get the minimum configured loss of recency with the ability to override it for a newer pipeline version; Col 7, lines 42-44, the job scheduler and coordinator 224 identifies or assigns particular nodes in the execution platform 102 to process particular tasks (as allocating the computing resource); Col 13, lines 50-55, data pipeline replicator 232 identifies a latest committed version of a primary pipeline in response to (or created by) a “resume” or “execute” command. In block 604, the data pipeline replicator 232 replicates the identified latest committed version of the primary pipeline to a secondary pipeline; Col 7, lines 19-21, the management console service 208 (as resolver) may receive a request to execute a job and monitor the workload on the system (as include monitor execution of the second pipeline).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Liguori and Pjesivac with Cseri because Cseri’s teaching of replicating the first pipeline with checkpoint to second pipeline and monitoring the workload on the system would have provided Liguori and Pjesivac’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the system to continue the execution of the pipeline when the system is at failover in order to providing minimum configured loss of recency with the ability to override it for a newer pipeline version (see Cseri, Col 3, lines 16-24).
As per claim 2, Liguori, Pjesivac and Cseri teach the invention according to claim 1 above. Liguori further teaches wherein the request corresponds to a resume request for restarting execution of the first workflow from an intermediate execution state of at least one node from the plurality of nodes in the first workflow (Liguori, Fig. 2, 206 store state (as the intermediate execution state), 214 resume function from state; Fig. 3, 324, 310, 316; Abstract, A resume workflow request is received from the entity, where the resume workflow request includes a handle to a snapshot that corresponds to a state of execution of the software code and a response to the operation request to the entity. Using the handle to the snapshot and the response to the operation request, a second instance is caused to execute the software code from the first state to perform a second portion of the workflow; [0096] lines 1-10, the client 740 invokes 716 a handle to resume the terminated function. The terminated function may be resumed by the instantiation of a virtual machine instance to perform a second generation 742B of the function. In some examples, the invoke handle may be utilized to continue 714 the operation of the previously terminated function. For example, the previously terminated function may have comprised analyzing a portion of a large set of data; the continued operation of the second generation 742B of the function may continue to analyze additional portions of the large set of data. In an embodiment, the continued operation of the second generation 742B of the function comprises the performance of one or more operations, and a storage 718 of a continuation or state of the second generation 742B of the function following the performance of the one or more operations. The stored state, which in some examples can be referred to as a continuation). In addition, Pjesivac teaches the workflow is pipeline (Pjesivac, Fig. 3, 102 pipeline; pipeline objects 104a, 104b and 104c, pipeline objects store produced data sets to data store 110).
As per claim 3, Liguori, Pjesivac and Cseri teach the invention according to claim 2 above. Liguori further teaches wherein the workflow is configured to commence execution from a resume state corresponding to the intermediate execution state of the at least one node (Liguori, Fig. 2, 214 as resume state; Abstract, A resume workflow request is received from the entity, where the resume workflow request includes a handle to a snapshot that corresponds to a state of execution of the software code and a response to the operation request to the entity. Using the handle to the snapshot and the response to the operation request, a second instance is caused to execute the software code from the first state to perform a second portion of the workflow; [0042] lines 2-3, the stored state may be accessed by the usage of an invoke handle; [0044] lines 1-3, the resuming 214 of the function may comprise the instantiation of a second virtual machine instance different from the first virtual machine instance to perform the one or more functions of the function). In addition, Cseri teaches the second pipeline [commence execution from a resume state] (Cseri, Abstract, lines 2-6, detecting a committed version of recurrently executed tasks of a first data pipeline on a primary deployment that is hosted on a first cloud service, and replicating the committed version of the recurrently executed tasks to a second data pipeline on a secondary deployment that is hosted on a second cloud service; Fig. 9, data pipeline including tasks/nodes; Col 3, lines 17-22, A customer decides how frequently they wish to replicate and hence they also need sufficient information to decide at failover if they want to use the replicated checkpoint or externally upgrade the checkpoint to a later state if they so desire. In this way, they get the minimum configured loss of recency with the ability to override it for a newer pipeline version; Col 13, lines 50-55, data pipeline replicator 232 identifies a latest committed version of a primary pipeline in response to (or created by) a “resume” or “execute” command. In block 604, the data pipeline replicator 232 replicates the identified latest committed version of the primary pipeline to a secondary pipeline; Col 23, lines 1-6, the first data pipeline and the second data pipeline comprising same computing tasks; receiving a confirmation from the client device indicating that a version of the second data pipeline is acceptable for resuming execution of the first data pipeline on the second cloud service).
As per claim 4, Liguori, Pjesivac and Cseri teach the invention according to claim 2 above. Liguori further teaches wherein the workflow checkpoint data includes paused state data that corresponds to the intermediate execution state (Liguori, Fig. 2, 206 store state (as intermediate execution state), 214 resume function from state (as checkpoint data includes paused state data); also see Fig. 3, 316, 320, 322, 324 and back to 310 again and 316). In addition, In addition, Cseri further teaches the workflow checkpoint data is pipeline checkpoint data (Cseri, Col 3, lines 17-22, A customer decides how frequently they wish to replicate and hence they also need sufficient information to decide at failover if they want to use the replicated checkpoint or externally upgrade the checkpoint to a later state if they so desire. In this way, they get the minimum configured loss of recency with the ability to override it for a newer pipeline version; Col 13, lines 50-55, data pipeline replicator 232 identifies a latest committed version of a primary pipeline in response to (or created by) a “resume” or “execute” command. In block 604, the data pipeline replicator 232 replicates the identified latest committed version of the primary pipeline to a secondary pipeline; Col 23, lines 1-6, the first data pipeline and the second data pipeline comprising same computing tasks; receiving a confirmation from the client device indicating that a version of the second data pipeline is acceptable for resuming execution of the first data pipeline on the second cloud service).
As per claim 5, Liguori, Pjesivac and Cseri teach the invention according to claim 4 above. Liguori further teaches wherein the paused state data includes at least one of a machine learning model, machine learning model weights, input data received by the at least one node, output data generated by the at least one node, and data corresponding to a last completed epoch (Liguori, [0038] an embodiment where service A 106 is called repeatedly by the function, which stores its state to resume from the stored state when service A 106 responds with the invoke handle and its response; [0060] the system may then instantiate 322 the next configuration to execute the function from the most recent state; [0068] the results of the first stage 402A of the function may be stored with its state such that the results are accessible to the next stage of the function upon revival from the stored state (as output data generated by the at least one node, and data corresponding to a last completed epoch)).
As per claim 10, it is a method claim of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above.
As per claims 11-13, they are method claims of claims 2-5 above (i.e., claim 13 is corresponding to combination of claims 4 and 5 above). Therefore, they are rejected for the same reason as claims 2-5 above.
Claims 6, 8-9, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liguori, Pjesivac and Cseri, as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Uhrenholt (US Patent. 11,132,835 B1).
Uhrenholt was cited in the previous Office Action.
As per claim 6, Liguori, Pjesivac and Cseri teach the invention according to claim 1 above. Liguori and Cseri fail to specifically teach wherein the request corresponds to a replay request for repeating execution of at least a portion of the first pipeline.
However, Uhrenholt teaches wherein the request corresponds to a replay request for repeating execution of at least a portion of the first pipeline (Uhrenholt, Col 10, lines 45-56, primitives currently in the second section of the graphics processing pipeline when the suspend command is received were simply discarded, and then repeated from the beginning when processing is resumed without, e.g., first clearing the associated fragment state (data) the repeated processing of the primitives may introduce observable artefacts into the render output. The technology described herein thus provides an efficient mechanism for clearing the intermediate fragment state (data) from the second section of the graphics processing pipeline (and thereby allowing the processing of the primitives to be safely stopped and then repeated from the beginning; Col 32, lines 19-25, issuing the primitives for which it is determined that the processing was previously suspended into the graphics processing pipeline and repeating at least some of the processing for the primitives in the graphics processing pipeline to generate from the primitives respective sets of one or more graphics fragments for rendering).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Liguori, Pjesivac and Cseri with Uhrenholt because Uhrenholt’s teaching of the resume request that corresponding to repeating/replay request for repeating execution of at least some of the portions of the processing pipeline would have provided Liguori, Pjesivac and Cseri’s system with the advantage and capability to allowing the processing of the primitives to be safely stopped and then repeated from the beginning which improving the data processing efficiency (see Uhrenholt, Col 12, lines 33-40, “improved overall suspend mechanism”)
As per claim 8, Liguori, Pjesivac, Cseri and Uhrenholt teach the invention according to claim 6 above. Liguori further teaches wherein the workflow is configured to commence execution from a state, wherein the pause request was received while the first workflow was previously executed within the orchestration framework (Liguori, Fig. 2, 208 terminate function (as pause), 214 resume function from state; Abstract, A resume workflow request is received from the entity, where the resume workflow request includes a handle to a snapshot that corresponds to a state of execution of the software code and a response to the operation request to the entity. Using the handle to the snapshot and the response to the operation request, a second instance is caused to execute the software code from the first state to perform a second portion of the workflow; [0042] lines 2-3, the stored state may be accessed by the usage of an invoke handle; [0044] lines 1-3, the resuming 214 of the function may comprise the instantiation of a second virtual machine instance different from the first virtual machine instance to perform the one or more functions of the function). In addition, Cseri teaches the workflow is second pipeline, and wherein the pause request was received while the first pipeline was previously executed within the orchestration framework (Cseri, Abstract, lines 2-6, detecting a committed version of recurrently executed tasks of a first data pipeline on a primary deployment that is hosted on a first cloud service, and replicating the committed version of the recurrently executed tasks to a second data pipeline on a secondary deployment that is hosted on a second cloud service; Fig. 9, data pipeline including tasks/nodes; Col 3, lines 17-22, A customer decides how frequently they wish to replicate and hence they also need sufficient information to decide at failover if they want to use the replicated checkpoint or externally upgrade the checkpoint to a later state if they so desire. In this way, they get the minimum configured loss of recency with the ability to override it for a newer pipeline version; Col 13, lines 50-55, data pipeline replicator 232 identifies a latest committed version of a primary pipeline in response to (or created by) a “resume” or “execute” command. In block 604, the data pipeline replicator 232 replicates the identified latest committed version of the primary pipeline to a secondary pipeline; Col 15, line 37, SUSPEND the task; Col 23, lines 1-6, the first data pipeline and the second data pipeline comprising same computing tasks; receiving a confirmation from the client device indicating that a version of the second data pipeline is acceptable for resuming execution of the first data pipeline on the second cloud service [Examiner noted: the pause request also applies to second pipeline, and that pause request was recited while the first pipeline was previously executed, due to dynamic changes to the database system (see Col 5, lines 42-43, This architecture supports dynamic changes to the database system]).
Further, Uhrenholt teaches when commence execution, it is from a replay state that is prior to an intermediate execution state of at least one node that was active during a pause request (Uhrenholt, Col 7, lines 1-5, writing out a set of suspend operation state information (as include intermediate execution state) for the set of one or more graphics fragments indicating that the processing in respect of the set of one or more graphics fragments was suspended; Col 10, lines 45-56, primitives currently in the second section of the graphics processing pipeline when the suspend command is received were simply discarded, and then repeated from the beginning (as from a replay state that is prior to an intermediate execution state) when processing is resumed without, e.g., first clearing the associated fragment state (data) the repeated processing of the primitives may introduce observable artefacts into the render output. The technology described herein thus provides an efficient mechanism for clearing the intermediate fragment state (data) from the second section of the graphics processing pipeline (and thereby allowing the processing of the primitives to be safely stopped and then repeated from the beginning; Col 32, lines 19-25, issuing the primitives for which it is determined that the processing was previously suspended into the graphics processing pipeline and repeating at least some of the processing for the primitives in the graphics processing pipeline to generate from the primitives respective sets of one or more graphics fragments for rendering).
As per claim 9, Liguori, Pjesivac, Cseri and Uhrenholt teach the invention according to claim 8 above. Uhrenholt further teaches wherein the replay state that is prior to the intermediate execution state of the at least one node corresponds to at least one other node from the plurality of nodes, wherein the at least one other node completed execution prior to the pause request (Uhrenholt, Col 7, lines 1-5, writing out a set of suspend operation state information (as include intermediate execution state) for the set of one or more graphics fragments (As nodes) indicating that the processing in respect of the set of one or more graphics fragments was suspended; Col 8, lines 18-19, (repeatedly) suspend/resume the processing of a (and each) render output; Col 11, lines 46-54, when processing is to be resumed, the graphics primitives for which processing was suspended in this way, i.e. that were in the second section of the graphics processing pipeline when the suspend command was received, can safely be (and in the technology described herein are) re-issued into the graphics processing pipeline and processed again from the beginning in order to rebuild the necessary intermediate fragment state (data) for the render output (as prior to the intermediate execution state of the at least one node corresponds to at least one other node from the plurality of nodes, wherein the at least one other node completed execution prior to the pause request); also see Col 10, lines 45-56, primitives currently in the second section of the graphics processing pipeline when the suspend command is received were simply discarded, and then repeated from the beginning when processing is resumed without, e.g., first clearing the associated fragment state (data) the repeated processing of the primitives may introduce observable artefacts into the render output. The technology described herein thus provides an efficient mechanism for clearing the intermediate fragment state (data) from the second section of the graphics processing pipeline (and thereby allowing the processing of the primitives to be safely stopped and then repeated from the beginning; Col 32, lines 19-25, issuing the primitives for which it is determined that the processing was previously suspended into the graphics processing pipeline and repeating at least some of the processing for the primitives in the graphics processing pipeline to generate from the primitives respective sets of one or more graphics fragments for rendering).
As per claim 14, it is a method claim of claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 6 above.
As per claim 16, it is a method claim of claim 8 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 8 above.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhrenholt (US Patent. 11,132,835 B1) in view of CAIN et al. (US Pub. 2016/0373833 A1) and further in view of MERCURI (US Pub. 2012/0116980 A1) and Pjesivac-Grbovic et al. (US Patent. 9,495,207 B1; hereafter Pjesivac).
Uhrenholt, CAIN and MERCURI were cited in the previous Office Action.
As per claim 17, Uhrenholt teach the invention substantially as claimed including A system comprising (Uhrenholt, Fig. 1.):
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors being configured to (Uhrenholt, Fig. 1, GPU and memory; Col 37, lines 5-15, the technology described herein is in an embodiment implemented in a system comprising a memory system and a graphics processing unit (GPU) (a graphics processor). Data for a render output (e.g. image to be displayed) is in an embodiment stored in a memory of the memory system. The GPU is in an embodiment arranged to read required data from the memory system for generating the render output (e.g. in the manner described above). The render output, once generated in this way, is then in an embodiment displayed, e.g. on a display such as a screen or the like); also see Col 40, lines 12-16, the graphics processor will typically receive commands and data from a driver, e.g. executing on a host processor, that indicates to the graphics processor the operations that it is to carry out and the data to be used for those operations):
receive, by a resolver in an orchestration framework, a pause request for stopping execution of a first pipeline that includes a plurality of nodes (Uhrenholt, Fig. 2, 21 Fragment shader endpoint, 26 primitive reorder unit (as resolver in an orchestration framework, i.e., Fig. 2, 10) receive VTILE_SUSPEND from 21; Abstract, To suspend processing of a sequence of primitives being processed in a graphics processing pipeline; (As a first pipeline that includes a plurality of nodes (i.e., sequence of primitives));
identify at least one active node from the plurality of nodes that is currently executing (Uhrenholt, Col 43, lines 47-61, At the same time, the suspend operation is signalled to the primitive re-order unit 26 (step 303), which then determines a suitable suspend operation boundary primitive at which to suspend the current sequence of primitives. In particular, in the present embodiments, the selected boundary primitive is the last primitive in the primitive re-order unit 26 that is guaranteed to still be in order, and for which the processing thus far has not produce any observable effects for the render output. The primitive re-order unit 26 then responds with a primitive identifier (“primitive_id”) identifying the position of the selected boundary primitive within the sequence of primitives for the rendering tile that is currently being processed, as well as a tile identifier (“VTILE_id”) identifying the tile in question. The tile buffer 33 is then notified which tile is to be suspended).;
receive paused state data that is associated with the at least one active node, wherein the paused state data corresponds to an intermediate execution state of the at least one active node prior to completion of execution of the at least one active node and the paused state data associated with the at least one active node (Uhrenholt, Abstract, To suspend processing of a sequence of primitives (as including the at least one active node) being processed in a graphics processing pipeline; Col 10, lines 29-36, provide a more efficient mechanism for handling the relatively large amounts of intermediate fragment state (data) that may typically be generated by the (out of order) processing of primitives in the second section of the graphics processing pipeline, which intermediate fragment state (data) may otherwise need to be written out in order to be able to safely resume processing of these primitives; Col 13, lines 30-35, each execution thread of the programmable execution unit in an embodiment has an associated set of registers for storing data for the execution thread. The data may be loaded into the registers, and written out from the registers from and to an appropriate memory system of or accessible to the graphics processor; Col 14, lines 51-61, Once the execution of the fragment shader program for a set of graphics fragments has been suspended, the content of the registers associated with the threads of the group of one or more execution threads executing the fragment shader program for the set of one or more graphics fragments is in an embodiment then written out, e.g., to storage. This can then allow the execution of the fragment shader program for the set of one or more graphics fragments to be resumed from the next instruction to be executed in a straightforward and efficient manner (as receive paused state data that is associated with the at least one active node prior to completion of execution)).
Uhrenholt fails to specifically teach send a pause command to the at least one active node from the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline.
However, CAIN teaches send a pause command to the at least one active node from the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline (CAIN, [0656] The resource manager 6830 retrieves the previously allocated resource from the first pipeline 6840 according to the step S6818 or the step S6820 and the retrieved resource is allocated to the second pipeline 6850 again (S6822). In this case, the resource manager 6830 transmits a pause command to the first application 6810 related to the first pipeline (as send a pause command to the at least one active node from the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline) 6840 (S6824). And, the resource manager 6830 suspends the first pipeline 6840 (S6826)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Uhrenholt with CAIN because CAIN’s teaching of sending the pause command directly to the application/node of the pipeline for suspending the pipeline would have provided Uhrenholt’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the system to easily suspending the selected node/application from the pipeline which improving the system performance and efficiency.
Uhrenholt and CAIN fail to specifically teach send pipeline checkpoint data corresponding to the first pipeline to a server, wherein the pipeline checkpoint data includes the paused state data.
However, MERCURI teaches send pipeline checkpoint data corresponding to the first pipeline to a server, wherein the pipeline checkpoint data includes the paused state data (MERCURI, Fig. 1, 130, 132 as server; Fig. 3, 340 receive stop command, 346 store workflow state (as pipeline checkpoint data), 348 transmit workflow state, 350 receive workflow state, 354, 356, 358 and 360 continue executing workflow with new state; [0099] The workflow state may be received in block 350 by the workflow manager 302 and may be transmitted to the second workflow provider 306 in block 354. The second workflow provider 306 may receive the workflow state in block 356 and may perform a translation or conversion in block 358 to match the local schema. The second workflow provider 306 may continue executing the workflow with the new state in block 360 (please note: pipeline was taught by Uhrenholt)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Uhrenholt and CAIN with MERCURI because MERCURI’s teaching of sending the workflow checkpoint data to another server provider to continue execution would have provided Uhrenholt and CAIN’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the system to sending the paused state of the workflow to a low cost server for continue execution which improving the reducing the execution cost and improving the system performance (see, MERCURI, [0045] “ when there may be a cost advantage to change providers”).
Uhrenholt, CAIN and MERCURI fail to specifically teach wherein the pipeline checkpoint data further includes input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline
However, Pjesivac teaches wherein the pipeline checkpoint data further includes input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline (Pjesivac, Fig. 3, 102 pipeline (as first pipeline); pipeline objects 104a, 104b and 104c (as plurality of nodes in the first pipeline), pipeline objects store produced data sets (as pipeline checkpoint data) to data store 110; Col 4, lines 32-42, The data store 110 includes one or more data sets 112. In operation, the pipeline objects 104a-c store the one or more data sets 112 in the data store 110. For example, the pipeline object 104a may store the data set 112 it produces as output in the data store 110, such as before, after, or concurrently with providing the data set to pipeline object 104b as input. In some cases, the data sets 112 may include the input data set 106 or the output data set 108. In some cases, each of the pipeline objects 104a-c may interact directly with the data store 110 to store data sets 112. The pipeline 102 may also interact with the data store 110 to store data sets 112; Col 4, lines 49-56, each data set 112 includes a data set name 114. In some implementations, the data set name 114 for a particular data set 112 may be specified by the particular pipeline object 104a-c, or the pipeline 102 that stores the particular data set 112 in the data store 110. In operation, the data set name 114 may be used by later running pipelines to retrieve the particular data set 112 associated with the data set name 114; Col 5, lines 1-9, Each data set 112 also includes metadata 116. The metadata 116 may include information about the particular data set 112, including, but not limited to…a set of execution details for the particular data set 112, parameters used to generate the particular data set 112, names of one or more input data sets used as input to the pipeline that produced the particular data set 112; also see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Uhrenholt, CAIN and MERCURI with Pjesivac because Pjesivac’s teaching of resuming/continuing execution from first pipeline into second pipeline based on the stored data set would have provided Uhrenholt, CAIN and MERCURI’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the system to continue the execution of the pipeline by using the cached data set which avoiding performing the particular computation by using the cached data set in order to improving the processing speed (see Col 9, lines 58-59, “Continuing execution may include avoiding performing the particular computation by using the cached data set”).
As per claim 20, Uhrenholt, CAIN, MERCURI and Pjesivac teach the invention according to claim 17 above. Uhrenholt further teaches wherein the paused state data includes at least one of a machine learning model, machine learning model weights, input data received by the at least one active node, output data generated by the at least one active node, and data corresponding to a last completed epoch (Uhrenholt, Abstract, To suspend processing of a sequence of primitives being processed in a graphics processing pipeline; Col 9, lines 57-61, in response to receiving a command to suspend processing, rather than simply at that point immediately, e.g., storing out any and all required data, state, etc. needed to allow the processing of the primitives to be resumed at a later time; Col 50, line 66 – Col 51, line 4, whose shader program execution is to be resumed, the previously stored warp state will first be loaded from memory (step 80). The corresponding register file content for the thread group in question will then also be loaded from memory into the appropriate registers for the thread group (step 81). (as data corresponding to a last completed epoch)).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhrenholt, CAIN, MERCURI and Pjesivac, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Zorin et al. (US Pub. 2023/0409386 A1).
Zorin was cited in the previous Office Action.
As per claim 18, Uhrenholt, CAIN, MERCURI and Pjesivac teach the invention according to claim 17 above. Uhrenholt teaches wherein the at least one active node from the plurality of nodes is identified (Uhrenholt, Col 43, lines 47-61, At the same time, the suspend operation is signalled to the primitive re-order unit 26 (step 303), which then determines a suitable suspend operation boundary primitive at which to suspend the current sequence of primitives. In particular, in the present embodiments, the selected boundary primitive is the last primitive in the primitive re-order unit 26 that is guaranteed to still be in order, and for which the processing thus far has not produce any observable effects for the render output. The primitive re-order unit 26 then responds with a primitive identifier (“primitive_id”) identifying the position of the selected boundary primitive within the sequence of primitives for the rendering tile that is currently being processed, as well as a tile identifier (“VTILE_id”) identifying the tile in question. The tile buffer 33 is then notified which tile is to be suspended).
Uhrenholt, CAIN, MERCURI and Pjesivac fail to specifically teach the identification is based on a directed acyclic graph that is associated with the first pipeline.
However, Zorin teaches the identification is based on a directed acyclic graph that is associated with the first pipeline (Zorin, [0004] The orchestration interface iteratively identifies dependent tasks that depend on already completed tasks as per the runtime dependencies by traversing the DAG and determining the status of each node and the dependencies to and from respective nodes and, accordingly, instructs the TES to execute the dependent tasks identified; [0042] pipelines of tasks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Uhrenholt, CAIN, MERCURI and Pjesivac with Zorin because Zorin’s teaching of identifying the status of the tasks/node based on the DAG would have provided Uhrenholt, CAIN, MERCURI and Pjesivac’s system with the advantage and capability to allow the system to easily determining the execution status of the different tasks within the pipeline which improving the system performance and efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-18 and 20 under 103 rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In the remark applicant’s argue in substance:
(a), 101 rejection for claim 17: These limitations describe specific, concrete computational actions that go far beyond mere mental analysis. Specifically, the claim requires programmatically halting an actively executing computational node mid-execution (prior to completion) and capturing its highly specific, volatile computing state ("paused state data"). As detailed in the Specification, this intermediate execution state corresponds to granular programmatic data, such as capturing intermediate machine learning model weights during an unfinished training epoch, before the node's function has concluded (See Specification at [0019], [0055]). A human mind cannot interface with a computer's volatile memory to halt a thread mid-execution, nor can a human mind extract and store intermediate programmatic state data. The human mind is simply not equipped to perform this mid-process extraction.
(b), Amended Claim 17 requires generating and sending pipeline checkpoint data that granularly maps the "input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline… Generating a comprehensive data structure that tracks the specific programmatic inputs and outputs of every discrete executable node within a distributed orchestration framework is a deeply computational process. It is impossible to practically perform this step in the human mind with pen and paper.
(c), The claims, as amended, are directed toward a specific, technical method and system for controlling the execution state of computing nodes within an orchestration framework, providing a concrete technical solution to technical problems inherent in complex pipeline execution, particularly in machine learning development. The amended claims recite a specific series of steps that go far beyond an alleged abstract mental process of "identifying" or "evaluating," and instead introduce concrete, specific computational actions tied directly to improving the efficiency and functionality of the computing system itself… Specifically, the technical problem addressed by the amended claims involves the immense computational cost and inefficiency of executing complex software algorithms, such as machine learning pipelines.
(d), The claim requires halting a node prior to completion of its execution. This is not a generic instruction to "pause a process," but a specific architectural feature that prevents the computer from wasting highly intensive compute cycles on an aborted or altered pipeline run (e.g., capturing intermediate model weights before an epoch finishes, as supported by [0019]).
(e), Claim 17 does not merely claim the idea of pausing a pipeline. It provides the specific operational steps of how to accomplish it: utilizing a resolver in an orchestration framework to identify the active node, issue a command to halt the node prior to completion, extract the intermediate volatile data, and compile a specific checkpoint data structure containing the input/output map for every node in the pipeline. These are detailed, specific instructions that surpass mere "apply it" language. They dictate a specific interaction between resolvers, nodes, and servers to alter the physical execution state of the computing hardware.
(f), Finally, this sequence of steps imposes meaningful limits on the claim scope and does not monopolize any alleged abstract idea of "identifying" or "evaluating" a pipeline. There are many ways to manage software execution that do not involve this specific, granular sequence. For instance, a system could simply wait for a pipeline to finish and store the final output, or it could save a monolithic snapshot of a virtual machine without cataloging the specific "input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes." The claims are narrowly tailored to this specific technological implementation (e.g., extracting mid-execution state data and mapping node-level I/O) providing concrete technical benefits regarding compute resource conservation and pipeline flexibility.
Examiner respectfully disagreed with Applicant’s argument for the following reasons:
As to point (a), in response to applicant’s argument that “the claim requires programmatically halting an actively executing computational node mid-execution (prior to completion) and capturing its highly specific, volatile computing state ("paused state data")… A human mind cannot interface with a computer's volatile memory to halt a thread mid-execution, nor can a human mind extract and store intermediate programmatic state data”.
Examiner would like to point out that the claim does NOT recites “halting an actively executing computational node mid-execution” and “capturing its highly specific, volatile computing state”. In fact, the claim only recites “receive”, “send”, “receive” and “send” steps for data communication purpose (i.e., receive pause request, send the pause state data of first pipeline and send pipeline checkpoint data to a server) with the step of “identify” (which can be performed by human mind, see 101 rejection above). That is, the claim does NOT require to actually perform “halting an actively executing computational node mid-execution (prior to completion) and capturing its highly specific, volatile computing state and extract and store intermediate programmatic state data”. Therefore, Applicant’s argument has not been found to be persuasive.
As to point (b), in response to applicant’s argument that “Amended Claim 17 requires generating and sending pipeline checkpoint data that granularly maps the "input data and output data corresponding to each of the plurality of nodes in the first pipeline… Generating a comprehensive data structure that tracks the specific programmatic inputs and outputs of every discrete executable node within a distributed orchestration framework is a deeply computational process”.
Again, the claim does NOT require “generating” pipeline checkpoint data. Therefore, Applicant’s argument has not been found to be persuasive.
As to point (c), in response to applicant’s argument that “The claims, as amended, are directed toward a specific, technical method and system for controlling the execution state of computing nodes within an orchestration framework, providing a concrete technical solution to technical problems inherent in complex pipeline execution, particularly in machine learning development…Specifically, the technical problem addressed by the amended claims involves the immense computational cost and inefficiency of executing complex software algorithms, such as machine learning pipelines”. Examiner respectfully disagreed.
Firstly, the claim does NOT recites any details on how that claimed limitations are “directed toward a specific, technical method and system for controlling the execution state of computing nodes within an orchestration framework, providing a concrete technical solution to technical problems inherent in complex pipeline execution”. The claim, at the best, it recites a data communication mechanism that including receive pause request, send the pause state data of first pipeline and send pipeline checkpoint data to a server, it does not providing any details on how that checkpoint data are utilized and how the execution is controlled in order to provide a concrete technical solution to technical problems inherent in complex pipeline execution.
Secondly, it is unclear how the claimed limitation can arriving immense computational cost and inefficiency of executing complex software algorithms, such as machine learning pipelines with merely data communication and “identify” step? How to providing the cost efficiency without actually using it (i.e., the claim does NOT perform executing and utilizing the pipeline checkpoint data).
Therefore, Applicant’s argument has not been found to be persuasive.
As to point (d), in response to applicant’s argument that “The claim requires halting a node prior to completion of its execution.” Examiner respectfully disagreed. Again, the claim does NOT recites the step of “halting”. Therefore, Applicant’s argument has not been found to be persuasive.
As to point (e), in response to applicant’s argument that “It provides the specific operational steps of how to accomplish it: utilizing a resolver in an orchestration framework to identify the active node, issue a command to halt the node prior to completion, extract the intermediate volatile data, and compile a specific checkpoint data structure containing the input/output map for every node in the pipeline. These are detailed, specific instructions that surpass mere "apply it" language”. Examiner respectfully disagreed. Again, the claim does NOT recites “utilizing a resolver in an orchestration framework to identify the active node, extract the intermediate volatile data, and compile a specific checkpoint data structure”. In addition, “issue a command to halt the node prior to completion” is no more than a data communication (please see 101 rejection above for “send a pause command”). Therefore, Applicant’s argument has not been found to be persuasive.
As to point (f), The applicant’s argument regarding to “The claims are narrowly tailored to this specific technological implementation (e.g., extracting mid-execution state data and mapping node-level I/O) providing concrete technical benefits regarding compute resource conservation and pipeline flexibility” are NOT in the claim. So, how to providing concrete technical benefits regarding compute resource conservation and pipeline flexibility if the claim just merely require data communication? Please also refers to points (a) to (e) above.
For the reasons above, Applicant’s argument has not been found to be persuasive, and therefore the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZUJIA XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2195