DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 05/05/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim 6 is has been amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1, the applicant argued that nowhere does Belghoul teach, or even suggest that "the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements," as in the claim 1 recitation above.
Belghoul does not teach, or suggest, to "transmit, to a network entity of a core network, capability information for wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for the wireless device, wherein the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements," as recited in independent claim 1.
Wang also does not teach, or suggest, to "transmit, to a network entity of a core network, capability information for wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for the wireless device, wherein the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements," as recited in independent claim 1.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1-2&6, Wang discloses that the UE is transmitting capabilities information 604 to the BS 110/network entity of a core network 106 for wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based on its sensor capabilities and/or radio measurement capabilities for the UE wireless device since the capabilities management module 220 determines various capabilities of the UE 104 that may pertain to neural network configuration or selection and reports such capabilities to the serving BS 110-1 (e.g., in one or more UECapabilitiesinformation RRC messages), as well as monitors the UE 104 for changes in such capabilities, including changes in radio frequency (RF) and processing capabilities, changes in accessory availability or capability, and the like, and manages the reporting of such capabilities, and changes in the capabilities, to the serving BS 110-1 (see Wang, Fig.1 [0019]-[0020], Fig.2 [0041] and Fig.4&6 [0058][0064]).
Wang also discloses that the UE capability information 604 is including an indication of the sensor capabilities and the same or similar radio measurement capabilities i.e., at least one type of RF sensing measurement and, a set of sensor data and a set of radio measurements data i.e., a set of RF sensing measurements either from a single time slice or over a sequence of time slices since the UE 104 provides a representation of its capabilities (UE capabilities message 122) to the serving BS 110-1, whereby a set of RF sensing measurements of various parameters or metrics include a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurement, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement, a Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) measurement, a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SNIR) measurement, a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement, an Interference over Thermal (IoT) radio measurement and the like (see Wang, Fig.1 [0014], Fig.1-2 [0026]-[0027], Fig.1-2 [0033], Fig.4 [0050] and Fig.1&6 [0064]).
Additionally, Belghoul clearly discloses that the UE 102 is transmitting to network entity of a core network element at step 402 e.g., an E-SMLC is core network element "the Evolved Serving Mobile Location Centre (E-SMLC) is a crucial server/ function within the 3GPP Evolved Packet Core (EPC) or LTE core network, responsible for coordinating and calculating precise location and velocity estimates for User Equipment (UEs) using E-UTRAN (LTE radio access) data for Location-Based Services (LBS). It acts as the brain for UE positioning, deciding methods, gathering measurements from eNodeBs, and delivering", UE capability information for WLAN/ WPAN AP measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements i.e., wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for the UE 102 wireless device since a set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the UE 102 based WLAN/WPAN
assisted GPS position information e.g., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device
(see Belghoul, Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 58-62, Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12 and Fig.4 Col 43 lines 40-62).
Belghoul also discloses that at step 404, the UE 102 is receiving the WLAN/WPAN access point (AP) assistance data information and/or barometric reference information from the E-UTRA network element of the wireless network based on the UE capability information since the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration is received for the set of WLAN radio frequency bands based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device using one or more measurement control signaling messages or an assistance data message (see Belghoul, Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35-62, Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12 and Fig.4 Col 44 lines 4-11).
Additionally, Chen discloses that the capability message information/ assistance data or configuration is to indicate that the WLAN device supports transmission of a WLAN sensing element/frame for the WLAN RF via the RF interface or a WLAN sensing element/frame for a set of radio frequency (RF) sensing parameters since the configuration or the assistance data indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and PPDUs used by opportunistic WLAN sensing applications are sent with various transmit parameters i.e., RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing (see Chen, Fig.1&4-5 [0095]-[0096] and Fig.6&12 [0195]).
Claims 17 and 18, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim 6, the applicant argued that claim 6 is amended herein to recite that the at least one type of RF sensing measurement includes at least one of a range map, a Doppler map, an angle map, CSI feedback, image feedback, or target feedback. Applicant respectfully asserts that Belghoul, Wang, Chen, Poupyrev, and/or Edge, alone or in any rational combination, teach or suggest such a feature as in the claim 6 recitation above.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1&4-5, Wang discloses that the at least one type of RF sensing measurement includes at least one of a range map, or image feedback since the configuration indicates the type of radio measurements i.e., one or more of the at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements and reporting parameters for the radio measurement types/at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements (see Wang, Fig.1&6 [0033]-[0035][0064] and Fig.1&4-5 [0050][0058][0065]).
Additionally, Chen discloses that the at least one type of RF sensing measurement includes at least one of a Doppler map or image feedback since the configuration or the assistance data indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a type of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and a various transmit parameters/ reporting parameter for one or more of the at least one type of WLAN RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements (see Chen, Fig.1&9 [0038][0041][0141] and Fig.5 [0095]-[0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belghoul et al. [hereinafter as Belghoul], US 9763051 B2 in view of Wang et al. (provisional application No. 63/340187 filed on 05/10/2022) [hereinafter as Wang], US 2025/0301285 A1 further in view of Chen et al. [hereinafter as Chen], US 2021/0211973 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Belghoul discloses wherein an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device (Fig.5 Col 44 lines 61-67 to Col 45 lines 1-7, an apparatus electronic device 500 for wireless communication is UE 102/wireless device), comprising:
memory (Fig.5 Col 44 lines 61-67 to Col 45 lines 1-7, memory subsystem 512); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Fig.5 Col 44 lines 61-67 to Col 45 lines 1-38, one or more digital signal processors (DSPs) or portions of processors 510/ at least one processor coupled to the memory 512 and, based at least in part on information/ instructions stored in the memory 512, the at least one processor 510 is configured to):
transmit, to a network entity of a core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 47-63, to an E-SMLC network entity of a core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), capability information for wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for the wireless device (Fig.4 Col 43 lines 40-62, at step 402, the UE 102 provides/transmits UE capability information for the UE 102 to an E-UTRA network element of a wireless network, e.g., the E-SMLC 114 indicating location estimation capabilities of the UE 102 based at least in part on WLAN/WPAN AP measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements i.e., wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for the UE 102 wireless device and Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 58-62, a set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the UE 102 based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device); and
obtain, from the network entity of the core network based on the capability information (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 47-63, from the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), at least one of a configuration or assistance data for the WLAN RF based sensing for the wireless device (Fig.4 Col 44 lines 4-11, at step 404, the UE 102 is receiving the WLAN/WPAN access point (AP) assistance data information and/or barometric reference information from the E-UTRA network element of the wireless network based on the UE capability information and Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35-62, the UE 102 is receiving the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration for the set of WLAN radio frequency bands based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device using one or more measurement control signaling messages or an assistance data message),
wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or the set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35- 67 to Col 14 lines 1-3, the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration indicates the set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the RF sensor measurements based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device, wherein the WLAN/WPAN AP information is communicated to the UE 102 via a measurements control signaling messages or an assistance data message and the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information includes a list of preferred WLAN APs to be used by the UE 102 for performing WLAN positioning; Noted: WLAN positioning is WLAN sensing and Fig.4 Col 44 lines 1-27, the assistance data message for the WLAN/WPAN AP measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements).
Even though Belghoul discloses wherein the WLAN/WPAN assistance information can include a set of radio frequency channels for the UE 102 to scan, e.g., a set of Wi-Fi channels, and/or a set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the UE 102 to scan, e.g., a set of Wi-Fi bands, but Belghoul does not specifically disclose wherein the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements (Fig.1&6 [0064], the UE capability information 604 includes an indication of the sensor capabilities and the same or similar radio measurement capabilities i.e., at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements and Fig.4 [0050], a set of sensor data and a set of radio measurements data either from a single time slice or over a sequence of time slices and Fig.1 [0014], type of radio measurements and Fig.1-2 [0026]-[0027], a set of RF sensing measurements of various parameters or metrics include a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurement, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement, a Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) measurement, a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SNIR) measurement, a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement, an Interference over Thermal (IoT) radio measurement and the like and Fig.1-2 [0033], the UE 104 provides a representation of its capabilities (UE capabilities message 122) to the serving BS 110-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul incorporate the teaching of Wang in order to provide for improving the accuracy of the output data.
It would have been beneficial to use the UE capability information 604 which includes an indication of the sensor capabilities and the same or similar radio measurement capabilities i.e., at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul incorporate to provide for efficient overall network throughput. (Wang, Fig.1 [0001], Fig.1 [0014], Fig.1-2 [0026]-[0027], Fig.1-2 [0033], Fig.4 [0050] and Fig.1&6 [0064])
Even though Belghoul and Wang discloses wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or a set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or a set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.6&12 [0195], the capability message information/ assistance data or configuration is to indicate that the WLAN device supports transmission of a WLAN sensing element/frame for the WLAN RF via the RF interface or a WLAN sensing element/frame for a set of RF sensing parameters and Fig.1&4-5 [0095]-[0096], the configuration or the assistance data indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and PPDUs used by opportunistic WLAN sensing applications are sent with various transmit parameters i.e., RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul and Wang incorporate the teaching of Chen in order to provide for high-throughput and high- efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the capability message information/ assistance data or configuration which is to indicate that the WLAN device supports transmission of a WLAN sensing element/frame for the WLAN RF via the RF interface or a WLAN sensing element/frame for a set of RF sensing parameters and the configuration or the assistance data which indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and PPDUs used by opportunistic WLAN sensing applications are sent with various transmit parameters i.e., RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing as taught by Chen to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul and Wang incorporate to provide for improving the performance of WLAN sensing. (Chen, Fig.1&4-5 [0095]-[0096], Fig.6 [0120] and Fig.6&12 [0195])
Regarding claim 3, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from [[a]] the network entity of the core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, from the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), a request for the capability information, wherein to transmit the capability information, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the capability information based on the request (Fig.2A Col 14 lines 63-67 to Col 15 lines 1-15, receiving a request for the capabilities messages information, wherein to send the capabilities messages information, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the capabilities messages information based on the request).
Regarding claim 4, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the wireless device comprises a user equipment (UE), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the network entity of the core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, from the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), a list of access points (APs) with which the UE is to perform the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.5 Col 22 lines 56-65, receiving a list of preferred WLAN/WPAN access points with which the UE is to perform the WLAN RF based sensing).
Regarding claim 5, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the wireless device comprises a user equipment (UE), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: discover, based on at least one of the configuration or the assistance data, a set of access points (APs) (Fig.1&5 Col 4 lines 46-51, discover a set of available WLAN/WPAN APs access points based on at least one of the configuration or the assistance data);
transmit, for the network entity of the core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, from the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network) and based on at least one of the configuration or the assistance data, a first indication of the set of APs (Fig.1&5 Col 4 lines 51-61, broadcast a first indication of the set of available WLAN/WPAN APs access points for a network entity based on at least one of the configurations or the assistance data); and
receive, from the network entity of the core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, from the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), a second indication of a subset of APs in the set of APs (Fig.1&5 Col 4 lines 51-61, gather a second indication of a subset of APs in the set of APs), wherein the UE is to perform the WLAN RF based sensing with the subset of APs (Fig.1&5 Col 6 lines 20-25, the UE is to perform the available WLANs. WPANs RF based barometric sensing with the subset of APs).
Regarding claim 6, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Wang further discloses the configuration further indicates one or more of the at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements and a reporting parameter for the at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements (Fig.1&6 [0033]-[0035][0064], the configuration further indicates the type of radio measurements i.e., one or more of the at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements and reporting parameters for the radio measurement types/at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements and Fig.1-2 [0026]-[0027], a set of RF sensing measurements of various parameters or metrics include a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurement, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement, a Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) measurement, a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SNIR) measurement, a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement, an Interference over Thermal (IoT) radio measurement and the like), wherein the at least one type of RF sensing measurement includes at least one of a range map, a Doppler map, an angle map, CSI feedback, image feedback, or target feedback (Fig.1&4-5 [0050][0058][0065], the at least one type of RF sensing measurement includes at least one of a range map or image feedback).
Additionally, Chen discloses the configuration further indicates one or more of the at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements and a reporting parameter for the at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements (Fig.5 [0095]-[0096], the configuration or the assistance data indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a type of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and a various transmit parameters/ reporting parameter for one or more of the at least one type of WLAN RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements), wherein the at least one type of RF sensing measurement includes at least one of a range map, a Doppler map, an angle map, CSI feedback, image feedback, or target feedback (Fig.1&9 [0038][0041][0141], the at least one type of RF sensing measurement includes at least one of a Doppler map or image feedback).
Regarding claim 7, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the configuration further indicates at least one condition or restriction on the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35-67 to Col 14 lines 1-3, the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration indicates at least one condition on the set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the RF sensor measurements and Fig.2A-B Col 21 lines 46-58, the configuration further indicates at least one condition on the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing).
Regarding claim 8, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the wireless device comprises a user equipment (UE), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform, based on at least one of the configuration or the assistance data, the set
of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.2A-B Col 9 lines 25-57, perform the set of RF sensing measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements for the WLAN/WPAN RF based sensing); and
transmit, for the network entity of the core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, from the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), an indication of the performed set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.2A-B Col 9 lines 25-57, sending an indication of the performed set of RF sensing measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements for the WLAN/ WPAN RF based sensing),
wherein the indication of the performed set of RF sensing measurements includes at least one of an RF sensing measurement for each access point (AP) in a list of APs or a representative RF measurement that is indicative of a combination of the RF sensing measurement for each AP in the list of APs (Fig.2A-B Col 22 lines 47-65, the indication of the performed set of RF sensing measurements includes at least one of an RF sensing measurement for each preferred WLAN/WPAN access point (AP) in a list of APs).
Regarding claim 9, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the wireless device comprises an access point (AP), and wherein the configuration indicates that the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing is to be performed in one of a periodic sensing session of the AP, a semi-persistent sensing session of the AP, or an aperiodic sensing session of the AP (Fig.1 Col 11 lines 12-20, the wireless device comprises one or more eNodeBs i.e., access point (AP), and wherein the configuration indicates that the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing is to be performed in one of a periodic sensing session of the AP).
Regarding claim 10, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the wireless device comprises a receiving access point (AP) or a transmitting AP, and wherein the configuration indicates that the wireless device is to engage in a sensing session associated with the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing with at least one additional AP (Fig.1 Col 12 lines 13-50, the wireless device comprises a receiving WLAN/WPAN access point (AP) or a transmitting WLAN/WPAN AP, and wherein the configuration indicates that the wireless device is to engage in a sensing session associated with the set of RF sensing measurements based on barometric sensor measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing with at least one additional WLAN/WPAN AP and Fig.2A-B Col 14 lines 31-46, the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN/WPAN RF based sensing with at least one additional network elements).
Regarding claim 11, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the wireless device comprises an access point (AP), and wherein the configuration indicates that the AP is to configure at least one additional AP for the WLAN RF based sensing based on the configuration (Fig.3 Col 41 lines 63-67 to Col 42 lines 1-41, the wireless device comprises WLAN/WPAN access point (AP), and wherein the configuration indicates that the WLAN/WPAN AP is to configurable at least one additional AP of various wireless networks for the WLAN RF based sensing based on the configuration), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
configure the at least one additional AP for the WLAN RF based sensing based on the configuration (Fig.3 Col 41 lines 63-67 to Col 42 lines 1-41, the one or more processor 312 is configurable to the at least one additional AP of various wireless networks for the WLAN RF based sensing based on the configuration).
Regarding claim 12, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the wireless device comprises an access point (AP), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, for the network entity of the core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, for the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network) and based on the configuration, an indication of the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.2A-B Col 9 lines 25-57, sending an indication of the set of RF sensing measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements for the WLAN/ WPAN RF based sensing based on the configuration).
Regarding claim 13, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the assistance data for the WLAN RF based sensing comprises at least one of a list of WLAN RF sensing channels for access points (APs), the at least one type of RF sensing measurement in the set of RF sensing measurements, a set of locations of the APs, a set of location uncertainties of the APs, or a trust type of the APs (Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35-67 to Col 14 lines 1-3, the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration for the WLAN RG based sensing includes the at least one of a set of radio frequency channels/list of WLAN RF sensing channels for access points (APs) or barometric sensor or set of locations of the WLAN APs).
Regarding claim 14, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the wireless device comprises a user equipment (UE), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, for the network entity of the core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, for the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), a request for the assistance data, wherein the request indicates a list of access points (APs) for which the assistance data is requested (Fig.2A-B Col 16 lines 12-25, sending a request for the configuration or the assistance data, and the request indicates a list of preferred), and
wherein to receive the assistance data for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.2A-B Col 16 lines 12-25, receiving the assistance data for the WLAN/WPAN access points with which the UE is to perform the WLAN RF based sensing configuration or the assistance data), the at least one processor is configured to receive the assistance data for the WLAN RF based sensing based on the request (Fig.2A-B Col 16 lines 12-25, the at least one processor is configured to receive the assistance data for the WLAN/WPAN access points based sensing based on the request).
Regarding claim 16, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor (Fig.5 Col 44 lines 61-67 to Col 45 lines 1-38, transceiver or an antenna couple to the process), wherein to obtain at least one of the configuration or the assistance data, the at least one processor is configured to obtain at least one of the configuration or the assistance data via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna (Fig.2A-B Col 16 lines 12-25, receiving the assistance data for the WLAN/WPAN access points with which the UE is to perform the WLAN RF based sensing configuration or the assistance data).
Regarding claim 17, Belghoul discloses wherein a method of wireless communication at a wireless device (Fig.5 Col 44 lines 61-67 to Col 45 lines 1-7, a method wireless communication is UE 102/wireless device), comprising:
transmitting, to a network entity of the core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 47-63, to an E-SMLC network entity of a core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network) capability information for wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for the wireless device (Fig.4 Col 43 lines 40-62, at step 402, the UE 102 provides/transmits UE capability information for the UE 102 to an E-UTRA network element of a wireless network, e.g., the E-SMLC 114 indicating location estimation capabilities of the UE 102 based at least in part on WLAN/WPAN AP measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements i.e., wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for the UE 102 wireless device and Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 58-62, a set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the UE 102 based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device); and
obtaining, from the network entity of the core network based on the capability information (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, from the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), at least one of a configuration or assistance data for the WLAN RF based sensing for the wireless device (Fig.4 Col 44 lines 4-11, at step 404, the UE 102 is receiving the WLAN/WPAN access point (AP) assistance data information and/or barometric reference information from the E-UTRA network element of the wireless network based on the UE capability information and Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35-62, the UE 102 is receiving the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration for the set of WLAN radio frequency bands based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device using one or more measurement control signaling messages or an assistance data message), wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or a set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35- 67 to Col 14 lines 1-3, the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration indicates the set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the RF sensor measurements based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device, wherein the WLAN/WPAN AP information is communicated to the UE 102 via a measurements control signaling messages or an assistance data message and the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information includes a list of preferred WLAN APs to be used by the UE 102 for performing WLAN positioning; Noted: WLAN positioning is WLAN sensing and Fig.4 Col 44 lines 1-27, the assistance data message for the WLAN/WPAN AP measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements).
Even though Belghoul discloses wherein the WLAN/WPAN assistance information can include a set of radio frequency channels for the UE 102 to scan, e.g., a set of Wi-Fi channels, and/or a set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the UE 102 to scan, e.g., a set of Wi-Fi bands, but Belghoul does not specifically disclose wherein the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements (Fig.1&6 [0064], the UE capability information 604 includes an indication of the sensor capabilities and the same or similar radio measurement capabilities i.e., at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements and Fig.4 [0050], a set of sensor data and a set of radio measurements data either from a single time slice or over a sequence of time slices and Fig.1 [0014], type of radio measurements and Fig.1-2 [0026]-[0027], a set of RF sensing measurements of various parameters or metrics include a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurement, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement, a Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) measurement, a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SNIR) measurement, a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement, an Interference over Thermal (IoT) radio measurement and the like and Fig.1-2 [0033], the UE 104 provides a representation of its capabilities (UE capabilities message 122) to the serving BS 110-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul incorporate the teaching of Wang in order to provide for improving the accuracy of the output data.
It would have been beneficial to use the UE capability information 604 which includes an indication of the sensor capabilities and the same or similar radio measurement capabilities i.e., at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul incorporate to provide for efficient overall network throughput. (Wang, Fig.1 [0001], Fig.1 [0014], Fig.1-2 [0026]-[0027], Fig.1-2 [0033], Fig.4 [0050] and Fig.1&6 [0064])
Even though Belghoul and Wang discloses wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or a set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or a set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.6&12 [0195], the capability message information/ assistance data or configuration is to indicate that the WLAN device supports transmission of a WLAN sensing element/frame for the WLAN RF via the RF interface or a WLAN sensing element/frame for a set of RF sensing parameters and Fig.1&4-5 [0095]-[0096], the configuration or the assistance data indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and PPDUs used by opportunistic WLAN sensing applications are sent with various transmit parameters i.e., RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul and Wang incorporate the teaching of Chen in order to provide for high-throughput and high- efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the capability message information/ assistance data or configuration which is to indicate that the WLAN device supports transmission of a WLAN sensing element/frame for the WLAN RF via the RF interface or a WLAN sensing element/frame for a set of RF sensing parameters and the configuration or the assistance data which indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and PPDUs used by opportunistic WLAN sensing applications are sent with various transmit parameters i.e., RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing as taught by Chen to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul and Wang incorporate to provide for improving the performance of WLAN sensing. (Chen, Fig.1&4-5 [0095]-[0096], Fig.6 [0120] and Fig.6&12 [0195])
Regarding claim 18, Belghoul discloses wherein an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity of a core network (Fig.2A-B Col 7 lines 24-35, an apparatus for wireless communication is network elements of an LTE wireless network e.g., WLAN/WPAN in the E-UTRAN wireless communication system and Fig.1 Col 6 lines 47-63, an E-SMLC network entity of a core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), comprising:
a memory (Fig.2A-B Col 7 lines 24-35, memory of network elements inherently implied and Fig.5 Col 44 lines 61-67 to Col 45 lines 1-7, memory subsystem inherently implied); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Fig.2A-B Col 7 lines 24-35, at least one processor of network elements inherently implied, coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory and Fig.5 Col 44 lines 61-67 to Col 45 lines 1-7, one or more digital signal processors (DSPs) or portions of processors 510/ at least one processor coupled to the memory 512 and, based at least in part on information/ instructions stored in the memory 512, the at least one processor 510 is configured to, inherently implied):
obtain, at a network entity of a core network (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, at an E-SMLC network entity of a core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network) capability information for wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for at least one wireless device (Fig.4 Col 43 lines 40-62, in step 402, an E-UTRA network element of a wireless network, e.g., the E-SMLC 114 receive UE capability information for the UE 102 indicating location estimation capabilities of the UE 102 based at least in part on WLAN/WPAN AP measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements i.e., wireless local area network (WLAN) radio frequency (RF) based sensing for the UE 102 wireless device and Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 58-62, a set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the UE 102 based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device); and
transmit, from the network entity of the core network for the at least one wireless device and based on the capability information (Fig.1 Col 6 lines 43-63, from the E-SMLC network entity of the core network element and Fig.2A-B Col 15 lines 3-12, the E-SMLC 114 of the E-UTRA i.e., network entity wireless communication system, which is part of an LTE/LTE-A wireless network), at least one of a configuration or assistance data for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.4 Col 44 lines 4-11, in step 404, in step 404, the E-UTRA network element of the wireless network transmit the WLAN/WPAN access point (AP) assistance data information and/or barometric reference information for the UE 102 based on the UE capability information and Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35-62, transmit the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration for the set of WLAN radio frequency bands based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device using one or more measurement control signaling messages),
wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or a set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.2A-B Col 13 lines 35-67 to Col 14 lines 1-3, the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information or configuration indicates the set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the RF sensor measurements based WLAN/WPAN assisted GPS position information i.e., sensing for the UE 102/wireless device, wherein the WLAN/WPAN AP information is communicated to the UE 102 via a measurements control signaling messages or an assistance data message and the WLAN/WPAN assistance data information includes a list of preferred WLAN APs to be used by the UE 102 for performing WLAN positioning; Noted: WLAN positioning is WLAN sensing and Fig.4 Col 44 lines 1-27, the assistance data message for the WLAN/WPAN AP measurements and/or barometric sensor measurements).
Even though Belghoul discloses wherein the WLAN/WPAN assistance information can include a set of radio frequency channels for the UE 102 to scan, e.g., a set of Wi-Fi channels, and/or a set of WLAN radio frequency bands for the UE 102 to scan, e.g., a set of Wi-Fi bands, but Belghoul does not specifically disclose wherein the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the capability information includes an indication of at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements (Fig.1&6 [0064], the UE capability information 604 includes an indication of the sensor capabilities and the same or similar radio measurement capabilities i.e., at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements and Fig.4 [0050], a set of sensor data and a set of radio measurements data either from a single time slice or over a sequence of time slices and Fig.1 [0014], type of radio measurements and Fig.1-2 [0026]-[0027], a set of RF sensing measurements of various parameters or metrics include a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurement, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement, a Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) measurement, a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SNIR) measurement, a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement, an Interference over Thermal (IoT) radio measurement and the like and Fig.1-2 [0033], the UE 104 provides a representation of its capabilities (UE capabilities message 122) to the serving BS 110-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul incorporate the teaching of Wang in order to provide for improving the accuracy of the output data.
It would have been beneficial to use the UE capability information 604 which includes an indication of the sensor capabilities and the same or similar radio measurement capabilities i.e., at least one type of RF sensing measurement of a set of RF sensing measurements as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul incorporate to provide for efficient overall network throughput. (Wang, Fig.1 [0001], Fig.1 [0014], Fig.1-2 [0026]-[0027], Fig.1-2 [0033], Fig.4 [0050] and Fig.1&6 [0064])
Even though Belghoul and Wang discloses wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or a set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein at least one of the configuration or the assistance data indicates at least one of the set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing or a set of RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing (Fig.6&12 [0195], the capability message information/ assistance data or configuration is to indicate that the WLAN device supports transmission of a WLAN sensing element/frame for the WLAN RF via the RF interface or a WLAN sensing element/frame for a set of RF sensing parameters and Fig.1&4-5 [0095]-[0096], the configuration or the assistance data indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and PPDUs used by opportunistic WLAN sensing applications are sent with various transmit parameters i.e., RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul and Wang incorporate the teaching of Chen in order to provide for high-throughput and high- efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the capability message information/ assistance data or configuration which is to indicate that the WLAN device supports transmission of a WLAN sensing element/frame for the WLAN RF via the RF interface or a WLAN sensing element/frame for a set of RF sensing parameters and the configuration or the assistance data which indicates WLAN sensing measurements i.e., a set of RF sensing measurements for the WLAN RF based sensing and PPDUs used by opportunistic WLAN sensing applications are sent with various transmit parameters i.e., RF sensing parameters for the WLAN RF based sensing as taught by Chen to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul and Wang incorporate to provide for improving the performance of WLAN sensing. (Chen, Fig.1&4-5 [0095]-[0096], Fig.6 [0120] and Fig.6&12 [0195])
Regarding claim 20, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 18 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor (Fig.5 Col 44 lines 61-67 to Col 45 lines 1-38, transceiver or an antenna couple to the process), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, for the at least one wireless device via at least one of the transceiver or
the antenna, a request for the capability information (Fig.2A-B Col 16 lines 12-25, transmitting WLAN-BT-Request Capabilities information for the at least one wireless device via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna), wherein to obtain the capability information (Fig.2A-B Col 16 lines 12-25, obtain the capability information), the at least one processor is configured to obtain the capability information
based on the request (Fig.2A-B Col 24 lines 12-25 to Col 25 lines 27-34, the processor is configured to obtain the capability message information based on the request).
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belghoul et al. [hereinafter as Belghoul], US 9763051 B2 in view of Wang et al. (provisional application No. 63/340187 filed on 05/10/2022) [hereinafter as Wang], US 2025/0301285 A1 in view of Chen et al. [hereinafter as Chen], US 2021/0211973 A1 further in view of Poupyrev [hereinafter as Poupyrev], US 11,079,289 B2.
Regarding claim 2, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the capability information indicates that the wireless device supports at least one of a set of range map measurements, a set of Doppler map measurements, or a set of angle map measurements (Fig.5 Col 13 lines 3-14, the capability information indicates that the wireless device supports at least a set of range map measurements).
Even though Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose wherein the capability information indicates that the wireless device supports at least one of a set of range map measurements, a set of Doppler map measurements, or a set of angle map measurements, in the same field of endeavor, Poupyrev teaches wherein the capability information indicates that the wireless device supports at least one of a set of range map measurements, a set of Doppler map measurements, or a set of angle map measurements (Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 12-32, the capability information of capable process indicates that the computer device 104 supports at least a set of range-Doppler map measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul, Wang and Chen incorporate the teaching of Poupyrev in order to improve mapping later-received force data to calibration information.
It would have been beneficial to use the capability information of capable process which indicates that the computer device 104 supports at least a set of range-Doppler map measurements as taught by Poupyrev to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul, Wang and Chen incorporate to provide for an improved accuracy of the radar-based force-sensing system. (Poupyrev, Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 12-32 and Fig.6 Col 9 lines 51-60)
Regarding claim 19, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 18 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses the capability information indicates that the at least one wireless device supports at least one of a set of range map measurements, a set of Doppler map measurements, or a set of angle map measurements (Fig.5 Col 13 lines 3-14, the capability information indicates that the wireless device supports at least a set of range map measurements).
Even though Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose wherein the capability information indicates that the at least one wireless device supports at least one of a set of range map measurements, a set of Doppler map measurements, or a set of angle map measurements, in the same field of endeavor, Poupyrev teaches wherein the capability information indicates that the at least one wireless device supports at least one of a set of range map measurements, a set of Doppler map measurements, or a set of angle map measurements (Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 12-32, the capability information of capable process indicates that the computer device 104 supports at least set of range-Doppler map measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul, Wang and Chen incorporate the teaching of Poupyrev in order to improve mapping later-received force data to calibration information.
It would have been beneficial to use the capability information of capable process which indicates that the computer device 104 supports at least a set of range-Doppler map measurements as taught by Poupyrev to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul, Wang and Chen incorporate to provide for an improved accuracy of the radar-based force-sensing system. (Poupyrev, Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 12-32 and Fig.6 Col 9 lines 51-60)
Claim 15 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belghoul et al. [hereinafter as Belghoul], US 9763051 B2 in view of Wang et al. (provisional application No. 63/340187 filed on 05/10/2022) [hereinafter as Wang], US 2025/0301285 A1 in view of Chen et al. [hereinafter as Chen], US 2021/0211973 A1 further in view of Edge et al. [hereinafter as Edge], US 2017/0005914 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Belghoul, Wang and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Belghoul further discloses wireless device comprises a trusted access point (AP) or a non-trusted AP (Fig.2A-B Col 7 lines 24-35, wireless device comprises a trusted access point (AP) WLAN/WPAN).
Even though Belghoul discloses wherein wireless device comprises a trusted access point (AP) or a non-trusted AP, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches wherein wireless device comprises a trusted access point (AP) or a non-trusted AP (Fig.1-2 [0035], the UE wireless device comprises a trusted access point (AP) WiFi AP, the trusted WLAN 210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Belghoul, Wang and Chen incorporate the teaching of Edge in order to provide for improved identification verification techniques.
It would have been beneficial to use the UE wireless device which comprises a trusted access point (AP) WiFi AP, the trusted WLAN 210 as taught by Edge to have incorporated in the system of Belghoul, Wang and Chen incorporate to provide position location capability by various time and phase measurement techniques. (Edge, Fig.1-2 [0035] and Fig.7 [0101])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414