DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
COMPRESSION OF LIDAR POINTCLOUD DATA ACQUIRED FROM A LIDAR SESNOR COUPLED TO AN AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE USING A LOSSLESS COMPRESSION ALGORITHM.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, ll. 1: the phrase “the group” is suggested to be changed to -- a group --. This same issue is in claims 9 and 16. Claims 3, 10 and 17 are objected based on their dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in ll. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This issue is present in claims 10-14 and 16-20.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the instructions further cause the processor to" in ll. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This issue is present in claim 14 as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and/or a2) as being anticipated by Beek (US Pub 2019/0051017).
Re claim 1: Beek discloses an apparatus for compressing a point cloud, comprising:
a processor (e.g. a processor or CPU that is used for the compression operation, which is taught in ¶ [103].); and
[0103] In various embodiments, the operations discussed herein, e.g., with reference to FIG. 1 et seq., may be implemented as hardware (e.g., logic circuitry or more generally circuitry or circuit), software, firmware, or combinations thereof, which may be provided as a computer program product, e.g., including a tangible (e.g., non-transitory) machine-readable or computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions (or software procedures) used to program a computer to perform a process discussed herein. The machine-readable medium may include a storage device such as those discussed with respect to FIG. 1 et seq.
[0104] Additionally, such computer-readable media may be downloaded as a computer program product, wherein the program may be transferred from a remote computer (e.g., a server) to a requesting computer (e.g., a client) by way of data signals provided in a carrier wave or other propagation medium via a communication link (e.g., a bus, a modem, or a network connection).
.
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the processor and comprising instructions that, when loaded into the processor and executed (e.g. a tangible machine readable medium is used to store instructions of the invention to perform the features, which is taught in ¶ [103] and 104] above.), cause the processor to:
receive point cloud data from a Light Detection And Ranging (LiDAR) sensor coupled to an Autonomous Vehicle (AV) (e.g. point cloud data is received from a lidar sensor, which is taught in ¶ [29]. This system is applicable to autonomous driving systems, which is taught in ¶ [18].);
[0018] As will be further discussed herein (e.g., FIGS. 2-13), logic may be utilized to compress/decompress the LIDAR data to permit more efficient storage utilization as well as reducing the bandwidth requirements/use for transfer/storage of such data. This in turn would enhance safety/efficiency/performance/responsiveness for autonomous driving systems.
[0029] Referring to FIGS. 1-2, operations for compression of lidar sensor data include: a) converting 204 raw distance data from the lidar sensor 202 to X,Y,Z point positions or point cloud data; b) quantizing 206 (or converting) X,Y,Z values from floating point to fixed point representation; c) packing/organizing 206 the X,Y,Z values into one or more two dimensional (2-D or 2D) arrays; and d) applying 208 an existing image compression/encoding method on the data in the 2-D array(s) such as JPEG, JPEG-LS (Joint Photographic Experts Group-Lossless) or PNG (Portable Network Graphics). The compressed data may then be store in storage 108 as discussed with reference to FIG. 1.
format a portion of the received point cloud data according to a raster-graphic image file standard to create a data frame (e.g. the data is organized into one or two dimensional arrays and a compression is applied in a PNG or JPEG-LS format, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.); and
compress the data frame using a lossless compression algorithm (e.g. the data is formatted into a lossless compression encoding method, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 2: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the raster-graphic image file standard is selected from the group consisting of:
Portable Network Graphics (PNG);
Graphics Interchange Format (GIF);
Tag Image File Format (TIFF);
WebP;
High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC);
High Efficiency Image Format (HEIF);
Advanced Video Coding (AVC); and
Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG) 2000 (e.g. JPEG-LS and PNG are utilized for the raster graphic file standard for compression, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 3: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the raster graphic-image file standard is PNG (e.g. JPEG-LS and PNG are utilized for the raster graphic file standard for compression, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 4: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the LiDAR sensor comprises a first coordinate system (e.g. an X-Y-Z coordinate system is used within the system, which is taught in ¶ [29] above. In the invention, the first coordinate system used is the raw distance calculations.);
the point cloud data comprises a plurality of point data sets respectively associated with a plurality of points in an environment surrounding the AV (e.g. x, Y, Z point positions or point cloud data are associated with points in an area around the vehicle, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.);
each point data set comprises a 3D position of the associated point defined in the first coordinate system (e.g. each point data is a location within the X, Y, Z area around the vehicle, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.);
a second coordinate system is fixedly defined with respect to the AV (e.g. the distance from the car to the object is defined, which is taught as the raw distance data in ¶ [29] above. In addition, the x, y, z coordinate is based on the position of the vehicle.); and
a third coordinate system is fixedly defined in the environment (e.g. the azimuth angles of information around the vehicle is within another coordinate system, which is taught in ¶ [40].).
[0040] (a) The conversion of raw distance values coming from the lidar sensor data to X,Y,Z point positions is dependent on the specific lidar sensor and its calibration information. For example, for a Velodyne® lidar sensor with 16-beam, 32-beam or 64-beam sensor, laser pulses are emitted at specific azimuth angles and elevation angles. These angles are specified by a sensor calibration file as well as parameters in the raw lidar data stream (e.g., such as illustrated in FIG. 2 as input to operation 204). After conversion to X,Y,Z data, this parameter data is no longer needed.
Re claim 5: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein each point data set comprises:
a distance from the LiDAR sensor to the respectively associated point (e.g. the distance from the vehicle to a point is associated with a point in the cloud, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.); and
a directional parameter defining a vector from the LiDAR sensor to the respectively associated point (e.g. directions from the Lidar sensor to the object is determined by the system, which is taught in ¶ [25] and [42].).
[0025] Furthermore, LIDAR can accurately measure ranges by utilizing light in the form of a pulsed laser. As discussed herein, a “laser” beam generally refers to electromagnetic radiation that is spatially and temporally coherent. Also, while some embodiments are discussed with reference to laser beams, other types of electromagnetic beams capable of detecting ranges or obstacle detection can also be used such as ultrasound, infrared, or other types of beams. LIDAR sensors typically measure ranges to objects in the environment by a process of scanning, that is, by modulating the direction of one or multiple laser beams across a range of azimuth angles and elevation angles and repeatedly taking distance/range measurements. This process of scanning the environment results in a series of distance/range measurements in a particular order, which depends on the specific scanning pattern.
[0042] (c) The goal of this operation is to “pack” the X,Y,Z position values into one or more 2-D array(s) that can be directly encoded by available image compression methods in the next step. Packing the X,Y,Z position values into 2-D arrays can be relatively low overhead in the case of lidar data. A lidar scan in itself is organized already on a grid, namely across a grid of azimuth and elevation directions. For example, a scan from a Velodyne HDL-32 sensors includes 32 “rows” of data, where each “row” may contain about 1850 samples. Although the position values themselves are points in 3-D space, the scan has a grid structure. Hence, the X,Y,Z values simply can be moved to 2-D “image-like” arrays in 1-to-1 fashion without problem. A few basic options exist, similar to the options by which natural R,G,B images are stored in 2-D arrays. A first option is to pack X values into a single 2-D array, pack Y values into a 2-D array, and pack Z values into a 2-D array. This is similar to encoding the R, G, and B “channels” of a natural image into 3 arrays. A second option is to pack X, Y and Z values in interleaved manner in the same row of the same array, i.e. X00,Y00,Z00,X01,Y01,Z01,X02,Y02,Z02, etc. This is similar to the way that R, G and B values for natural images can be stored in a single array, where values are interleaved on a sample basis. A third option is to pack X, Y and Z values in the same array, but interleaving on a line basis. This means a first line contains only X values, the next line contains only Y values, the next line contains only Z values, etc.
Re claim 6: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to transform the 3D positions of the plurality of points in the point cloud data from the first coordinate system into the second coordinate system before the data frame is compressed (e.g. before performing a compression operation, the system transitions the 3D positions of the point found in the point cloud data from the raw data to the X, Y, Z coordinate system, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 7: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to transform the 3D positions of the plurality of points in the point cloud data from the second coordinate system into the third coordinate system before the data frame is compressed (e.g. the system packs the x, y, z coordinate values into one or more 2D arrays before applying a compression method, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 8: Beek discloses a computer-implemented method for compressing a point cloud, comprising:
receiving point cloud data from a Light Detection And Ranging (LiDAR) sensor coupled to an Autonomous Vehicle (AV) (e.g. point cloud data is received from a lidar sensor, which is taught in ¶ [29] above. This system is applicable to autonomous driving systems, which is taught in ¶ [18] above.);
formatting a portion of the received data according to a raster-graphic image file standard to create a data frame (e.g. the data is organized into one or two dimensional arrays and a compression is applied in a PNG or JPEG-LS format, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.); and
compressing the data frame using a lossless compression algorithm (e.g. the data is formatted into a lossless compression encoding method, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 9: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the raster-graphic image file standard is selected from the group consisting of:
Portable Network Graphics (PNG);
Graphics Interchange Format (GIF);
Tag Image File Format (TIFF);
WebP;
High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC);
High Efficiency Image Format (HEIF);
Advanced Video Coding (AVC); and
Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG) 2000 (e.g. JPEG-LS and PNG are utilized for the raster graphic file standard for compression, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 10: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the raster graphic-image file standard is PNG (e.g. JPEG-LS and PNG are utilized for the raster graphic file standard for compression, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 11: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein:
the LiDAR sensor comprises a first coordinate system (e.g. an X-Y-Z coordinate system is used within the system, which is taught in ¶ [29] above. In the invention, the first coordinate system used is the raw distance calculations.);
the point cloud data comprises a plurality of point data sets respectively associated with a plurality of points in an environment surrounding the AV (e.g. x, Y, Z point positions or point cloud data are associated with points in an area around the vehicle, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.);
each point data set comprises a 3D position of the associated point defined in the first coordinate system (e.g. each point data is a location within the X, Y, Z area around the vehicle, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.);
a second coordinate system is fixedly defined with respect to the AV (e.g. the distance from the car to the object is defined, which is taught as the raw distance data in ¶ [29] above. In addition, the x, y, z coordinate is based on the position of the vehicle.); and
a third coordinate system is fixedly defined in the environment (e.g. the azimuth angles of information around the vehicle is within another coordinate system, which is taught in ¶ [40] above.).
Re claim 12: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein each point data set comprises:
a distance from the LiDAR sensor to the respectively associated point (e.g. the distance from the vehicle to a point is associated with a point in the cloud, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.); and
a directional parameter defining a vector from the LiDAR sensor to the respectively associated point (e.g. directions from the Lidar sensor to the object is determined by the system, which is taught in ¶ [25] and [42] above.).
Re claim 13: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to transform the 3D positions of the plurality of points in the point cloud data from the first coordinate system into the second coordinate system before the data frame is compressed (e.g. before performing a compression operation, the system transitions the 3D positions of the point found in the point cloud data from the raw data to the X, Y, Z coordinate system, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 14: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to transform the 3D positions of the plurality of points in the point cloud data from the second coordinate system into the third coordinate system before the data frame is compressed (e.g. the system packs the x, y, z coordinate values into one or more 2D arrays before applying a compression method, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 15: Beek discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions for compressing a point cloud that, when loaded into a processor and executed (e.g. a tangible machine-readable medium is used to store instructions of the invention to perform the features, which is taught in ¶ [103] and 104] above.), cause the processor to:
receive point cloud data from a Light Detection And Ranging (LiDAR) sensor coupled to an Autonomous Vehicle (AV) (e.g. point cloud data is received from a lidar sensor, which is taught in ¶ [29] above. This system is applicable to autonomous driving systems, which is taught in ¶ [18] above.);
format a portion of the received data according to a raster-graphic image file standard to create a data frame (e.g. the data is organized into one or two dimensional arrays and a compression is applied in a PNG or JPEG-LS format, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.); and
compress the data frame using a lossless compression algorithm (e.g. the data is formatted into a lossless compression encoding method, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 16: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the raster-graphic image file standard is selected from the group consisting of:
Portable Network Graphics (PNG);
Graphics Interchange Format (GIF);
Tag Image File Format (TIFF);
WebP;
High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC);
High Efficiency Image Format (HEIF);
Advanced Video Coding (AVC); and
Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG) 2000 (e.g. JPEG-LS and PNG are utilized for the raster graphic file standard for compression, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 17: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the raster-graphic image file standard is PNG (e.g. JPEG-LS and PNG are utilized for the raster graphic file standard for compression, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 18: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein:
the LiDAR sensor comprises a first coordinate system (e.g. an X-Y-Z coordinate system is used within the system, which is taught in ¶ [29] above. In the invention, the first coordinate system used is the raw distance calculations.);
the point cloud data comprises a plurality of point data sets respectively associated with a plurality of points in an environment surrounding the AV (e.g. x, Y, Z point positions or point cloud data are associated with points in an area around the vehicle, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.);
each point data set comprises a 3D position of the associated point defined in the first coordinate system (e.g. each point data is a location within the X, Y, Z area around the vehicle, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.);
a second coordinate system is fixedly defined with respect to the AV (e.g. the distance from the car to the object is defined, which is taught as the raw distance data in ¶ [29] above. In addition, the x, y, z coordinate is based on the position of the vehicle.); and
a third coordinate system is fixedly defined in the environment (e.g. the azimuth angles of information around the vehicle is within another coordinate system, which is taught in ¶ [40] above.).
Re claim 19: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to transform the 3D positions of the plurality of points in the point cloud data from the first coordinate system into the second coordinate system before the data frame is compressed (e.g. before performing a compression operation, the system transitions the 3D positions of the point found in the point cloud data from the raw data to the X, Y, Z coordinate system, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Re claim 20: Beek discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to transform the 3D positions of the plurality of points in the point cloud data from the second coordinate system into the third coordinate system before the data frame is compressed (e.g. the system packs the x, y, z coordinate values into one or more 2D arrays before applying a compression method, which is taught in ¶ [29] above.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takagi discloses compression of LIDAR data.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682