DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2021/0258102A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 2025/0141608 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches A method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving a request for a first type of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook and a second type of HARQ codebook; (Yang [0004], [0009]) Yang teaches that a user equipment (UE) configured to support multiple types of HARQ feedback: a first type associated with a single-bit ACK/NACK message (standard HARQ) and a second type that includes additional channel information (e.g., CQI) referred to as super-ACK or enhanced HARQ feedback. Specifically, Yang [0010] describes an apparatus including a processor and memory, wherein the processor executes instructions to receive a first set of downlink transmissions associated with a first HARQ configuration (standard HARQ feedback) and a second set of downlink transmissions associated with a second HARQ configuration (super-ACK feedback). This dual reception reflects the UE's ability to construct and respond to both types of HARQ codebooks.
Although Yang does not use the term “request” explicitly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the act of receiving configuration and downlink transmissions tied to different HARQ feedback types constitutes a request for those HARQ codebooks by the base station.
identifying one or more HARQ processes in the first type of HARQ codebook that are repetitive in the second type of HARQ codebook;(Yang [0015]- [0017], Fig.9) teaches that the processor of a UE may analyze HARQ feedback configuration schemes to reduce redundancy and communication overhead. Yang [0016] describes generating multiple identical feedback messages of the first type to match the bit size of the second type, implying redundancy or repetition of HARQ feedback elements. Yang [0171] further explains that the processor may reduce retransmissions and system signaling by identifying aspects of HARQ codebook construction that overlap, resulting in reduced resource use and improved efficiency. Figure 9 supports this functionality by illustrating a UE with a processor, memory, and transceiver components capable of performing the described functions.
and transmitting corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once to a network entity. (Yang [0052], [0070], [0096]) Yang teaches that a user equipment (UE) may multiplex different types of HARQ feedback—such as standard HARQ (single-bit ACK/NACK) and enhanced HARQ or super-ACK (multi-bit feedback)—into a single HARQ codebook for uplink transmission. This multiplexing allows the UE to report multiple HARQ feedback types together, thereby improving transmission efficiency.
Yang discloses a UE that multiplexes various HARQ feedback types into a single HARQ codebook, enabling efficient uplink signaling (Yang [0052], [0070], [0096]).
Yang does not teach transmitting the feedback for the repetitive HARQ processes only once.
However, Zhu from the same field of invention discloses suppressing or selectively omitting repetitive feedback transmissions (Zhu [0036]) Zhu discloses that a terminal (UE) can generate HARQ codebooks according to network-configured behavior, including suppression of feedback for repetitive or unnecessary HARQ processes. This allows the terminal to transmit only the necessary, non-redundant HARQ feedback. (Zhu [0027], [0041]) Zhu further explains that this mechanism enhances uplink resource efficiency by reducing transmission overhead. Zhu’s “network device” corresponds to the claimed “network entity,” as both configure HARQ behavior and receive UE feedback. A person of ordinary skill would understand the equivalence in functionality, whether implemented in a gNB, scheduler, or RAN controller.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang to have the feature of “suppressing or selectively omitting repetitive feedback transmissions” as taught by Zhu. The motivation would have been to achieve predictable performance improvements — namely, reducing unnecessary transmissions, conserving UE power, and improving uplink resource utilization (Zhu [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein transmitting the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once, further comprises:Yang ([0070]) Yang describes that HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK) and super-ACK feedback (multi-bit feedback) may be multiplexed into a combined HARQ codebook for uplink transmission. This implies that the HARQ codebook being transmitted includes feedback from multiple processes, including repetitive ones. However, Yang does not teach that the first type of HARQ codebook alone indicates the feedback of the repetitive HARQ processes, or that feedback is only transmitted once when repetition is detected.
However, Yang does not teach transmitting the first type of HARQ codebook to the network entity, wherein the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes are indicated in the first type of HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches terminal generates a HARQ codebook based on configured HARQ codebook capability, including selective feedback based on the partial HARQ disabled mechanism. This mechanism allows the UE to include only the active or non-redundant HARQ processes in the transmitted HARQ codebook—i.e., the first type may include the feedback of overlapping processes, which can be seen as, transmitting the first type of HARQ codebook to the network entity, wherein the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes are indicated in the first type of HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine Zhu’s selective HARQ feedback mechanism with Yang’s HARQ codebook structure to reduce redundant signaling. This predictable combination would improve uplink efficiency and simplify HARQ codebook transmission by using a single codebook (e.g., the first type) to indicate necessary feedback.
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the method of claim 2,further comprising: refraining from transmitting the second type of HARQ codebook.Yang ([0070]) teaches the generation and transmission of a combined HARQ codebook that includes both the first type (e.g., standard ACK/NACK) and the second type (e.g., enhanced or super-ACK).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
further comprising: receiving a message configuring the first type of HARQ codebook, wherein the message indicates a set of HARQ process identifiers (IDs) to include in the first type of HARQ codebook (Yang [0009], [0010]) Yang teaches that the UE receives configuration for multiple HARQ feedback types, including instructions to construct feedback based on received downlink transmissions associated with distinct HARQ processes.
However, Yang does not explicitly teach that the configuration message includes a set of HARQ process IDs to be included in the first type of codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the network device configures the HARQ codebook behavior of the terminal based on its capability, including a partial HARQ disabled mechanism. This configuration may involve signaling which HARQ processes to include in feedback. By implication, this would include identifiers (e.g., HARQ process IDs) of the active or repetitive processes to be covered in the first type of codebook, which can be seen as, the configuration message includes a set of HARQ process IDs to be included in the first type of codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate Zhu’s HARQ configuration signaling—including process selection—into Yang’s HARQ feedback framework to enable flexible and efficient codebook generation. This predictable improvement allows the network to control HARQ feedback granularity and avoids redundant feedback, thereby reducing signaling overhead and improving system performance.
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the method of claim 4,
further comprising: generating the second type of HARQ codebook and the first type of HARQ codebook in response to the request. (Yang [0010], [0016]) Yang teaches that the UE may generate both a first type of HARQ feedback (standard ACK/NACK) and a second type (enhanced/super-ACK including channel quality info), based on received configuration and downlink transmissions. This dual generation occurs in response to HARQ feedback configuration, aligning with the notion of a request.
Yang further teaches multiplexing the first type of HARQ codebook with the second type of HARQ codebook to form a multiplexed HARQ codebook. (Yang [0070], [0096]) Specifically, Yang discloses combining both feedback types into a single codebook structure, enabling the UE to transmit a unified report carrying both ACK/NACK and enhanced feedback indicators.
However, Yang does not teach modifying the multiplexed HARQ codebook to form a modified multiplexed HARQ codebook; and wherein transmitting the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once to the network entity further comprises transmitting the modified multiplexed HARQ codebook to the network entity, wherein the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes are indicated only once in the multiplexed HARQ codebook. While Yang addresses multiplexing standard and enhanced feedback types, it lacks disclosure on selectively filtering or omitting repetitive HARQ entries prior to transmission.
Similar to Yang, Zhu discloses the terminal to avoid unnecessary HARQ feedback during codebook generation. [0027] further explains that the Type-1 HARQ codebook may remain unenhanced to simplify terminal operation and reduce uplink overhead. [0041] confirms that the HARQ codebook may be selected and configured based on terminal capabilities and network signaling. Collectively, these disclosures support modifying the original HARQ codebook to form a version that suppresses redundant entries, enabling a single instance of feedback per repetitive HARQ process, which can be seen as, modifying the multiplexed HARQ codebook to form a modified multiplexed HARQ codebook; and wherein transmitting the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once to the network entity further comprises transmitting the modified multiplexed HARQ codebook to the network entity, wherein the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes are indicated only once in the multiplexed HARQ codebook (Zhu [0027], [0036], [0041]) .
One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Zhu’s redundancy-suppression strategy into Yang’s HARQ feedback structure in order to reduce control signaling, simplify UE operations, and improve uplink transmission efficiency in line with established 3GPP objectives.
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches the method of claim 5,wherein modifying the multiplexed HARQ codebook further comprises: identifying, based on the set of HARQ process IDs, one or more repetitive HARQ processes in the multiplexed HARQ codebook. (Yang [0015]– [0017], [0070], Fig. 9) Yang teaches that the UE may analyze HARQ feedback structures to optimize efficiency. Yang explains that the processor may detect redundancy by recognizing identical HARQ feedback messages across two different HARQ configurations and adapt the codebook accordingly. Figure 9 illustrates a UE capable of performing feedback construction and optimization using memory and processing logic.
However, while Yang discusses optimization and combining feedback, it does not explicitly teach identifying repetitive HARQ processes in the multiplexed HARQ codebook based on a specific set of HARQ process identifiers (IDs).
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the network device configures the HARQ codebook by indicating which HARQ processes (via capability-based configuration) should be included or omitted. This implies that the terminal identifies the active or repetitive HARQ process IDs based on the received set, allowing it to suppress or retain feedback accordingly. This aligns with identifying repetitions in the multiplexed HARQ codebook based on the set of HARQ process IDs, which can be seen as, identifying repetitive HARQ processes in the multiplexed HARQ codebook based on a specific set of HARQ process identifiers (IDs) (Zhu [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhu’s process-ID-based HARQ configuration with Yang’s feedback multiplexing strategy to enable targeted redundancy detection. This predictable enhancement enables finer control over codebook construction, reducing unnecessary feedback and improving system resource efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches the method of claim 6,further comprising: removing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the second type of HARQ codebook. (Yang [0070], [0073], [0096]) Yang teaches that the UE may generate a multiplexed HARQ codebook combining feedback from two HARQ types (e.g., standard ACK/NACK and super-ACK) and optimize the codebook for transmission by reducing redundancy and overhead. Yang explains that by identifying repeated information, the UE can lower signaling load and simplify the feedback content sent to the base station.
However, Yang does not explicitly teach removing the redundant feedback entries specifically from the portion of the codebook corresponding to the second HARQ type. While it implies efficient construction, it stops short of detailing selective suppression of feedback tied to a specific HARQ configuration.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the network device configures HARQ feedback behavior using a partial HARQ disabled mechanism. This mechanism allows the terminal to generate a HARQ codebook that omits unnecessary or repetitive feedback based on configuration, particularly disabling parts of the codebook that would otherwise duplicate responses—such as those belonging to a second HARQ type, which can be seen as, removing the redundant feedback entries specifically from the portion of the codebook corresponding to the second HARQ type. While it implies efficient construction, it stops short of detailing selective suppression of feedback tied to a specific HARQ configuration (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Zhu’s partial HARQ suppression scheme to Yang’s multiplexed HARQ framework to prevent duplicate feedback transmissions. This predictable improvement reduces uplink payload size and signaling cost while preserving essential acknowledgment functionality.
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches the method of claim 7,
wherein the second type of HARQ codebook is a Type 2 HARQ codebook(Yang [0010], [0070]) Yang describes a second HARQ feedback type that includes multiple bits and provides enhanced reporting (e.g., channel quality indicators or CQI), aligning with the concept of a Type 2 HARQ codebook. Yang does not label it “Type 2” directly but clearly distinguishes it from single-bit ACK/NACK feedback and describes multi-bit configurations used for richer uplink reporting.
and the method further comprises updating, based on the one or more removed HARQ processes, a counter downlink assignment index (DAI) and a total DAI associated with the second type of HARQ codebook; and transmitting the updated counter DAI and the total DAI to the network entity. Yang ([0073], [0096]) teaches that the UE processes HARQ codebooks to reduce overhead and improve reporting efficiency, especially when feedback entries are duplicated or redundant. Yang implies updates to scheduling and transmission structure after HARQ suppression.
However, Yang does not explicitly disclose DAI or total DAI updates tied to feedback removal.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the UE may adjust HARQ feedback signaling based on configured capabilities, including selectively disabling portions of feedback. This implies updating related control fields such as the Downlink Assignment Index (DAI), which indicates the number of HARQ processes being acknowledged. By removing feedback, the UE would necessarily update DAI values to reflect the remaining, non-redundant entries, ensuring correct interpretation by the network device. Zhu’s disclosure supports transmission of updated HARQ control metadata, including DAI, to align feedback signaling with modified codebook contents, which can be seen as, DAI or total DAI updates tied to feedback removal (Zhu [0040]– [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yang’s multiplexed HARQ feedback architecture with Zhu’s adaptive feedback suppression and signaling adjustment techniques to maintain accurate HARQ process tracking and synchronization between UE and network. This predictable enhancement ensures consistency in DAI reporting, prevents feedback misinterpretation, and supports scalable feedback design across diverse HARQ types.
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches the method of claim 7,
Wherein a size of the modified multiplexed HARQ codebook is less than a size of the multiplexed HARQ codebook. (Yang [0070], [0096], [0171]; Fig. 9) Yang teaches that the UE multiplexes multiple types of HARQ feedback into a single HARQ codebook and optimizes the resulting structure by identifying and removing redundant entries. Yang emphasizes reduction of signaling overhead and feedback redundancy to improve efficiency and reduce power consumption.
However, Yang does not explicitly teach that the size of the modified codebook is smaller than the original multiplexed version.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches the use of a partial HARQ disabled mechanism, allowing the UE to remove redundant HARQ entries and only transmit essential feedback. This removal naturally results in a smaller, modified codebook compared to the original multiplexed version that included repeated HARQ processes, which can be seen as, the size of the modified codebook is smaller than the original multiplexed version (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been obvious to combine Zhu’s redundancy elimination with Yang’s multiplexed codebook to reduce uplink payload size, saving bandwidth and processing while maintaining accurate feedback—yielding a predictable efficiency gain.
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches the method of claim 6,Wherein the method further comprises: replacing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the second type of HARQ codebook with a negative acknowledgment (NACK). (Yang [0015], [0016], [0070], [0096]) Yang teaches that the UE multiplexes different types of HARQ feedback and performs analysis on HARQ codebook construction to reduce redundant signaling. Yang discusses feedback customization based on HARQ configuration, allowing for dynamic handling of feedback messages to reduce transmission overhead.
However, Yang does not explicitly teach replacing redundant feedback in the second HARQ codebook with a NACK. (Zhu [0036], [0042]) Zhu remedies this by describing a partial HARQ disabled mechanism where the terminal selectively omits or suppresses HARQ feedback based on configuration. A person of ordinary skill would recognize that replacing redundant feedback entries with a default NACK (rather than omitting them entirely) ensures signaling consistency while minimizing payload size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to integrate Zhu’s suppression technique with Yang’s HARQ feedback multiplexing to replace duplicate entries with NACKs—yielding a reduced, consistent codebook and conserving signaling resources, all while maintaining the integrity of HARQ protocol behavior.
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches the method of claim 6,Wherein the method further comprises: replacing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the second type of HARQ codebook with a set of bits predetermined to indicate to the network entity that corresponding HARQ process is a repetitive HARQ process and a feedback for which is provided in another portion of the transmitted HARQ codebook.(Yang [0015]–[0016], [0070], [0096]; Fig. 9) Yang describes codebook customization by the UE, including processing and multiplexing HARQ feedback to reduce signaling redundancy. Yang discusses constructing a codebook that efficiently reflects both standard and enhanced HARQ types while reducing overhead and duplication.
However, Yang does not teach replacing duplicate feedback with a specific bit pattern that signals to the network entity that the process is repetitive, and its feedback is included elsewhere. (Zhu [0036], [0042]) remedies this by disclosing that the network configures the terminal to suppress redundant HARQ feedback using partial HARQ disabling mechanisms. While Zhu focuses on omission or suppression, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that replacing redundant feedback with a predetermined bit pattern provides protocol clarity and ensures the network correctly interprets the feedback as intentionally consolidated rather than omitted due to error.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine Yang’s codebook multiplexing with Zhu’s suppression signaling by replacing redundant entries with designated bit patterns to inform the network of feedback consolidation—ensuring both reduced signaling overhead and consistent HARQ operation, yielding a predictable and interoperable improvement.
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches the method of claim 1,
Thus, Yang doesn’t teach wherein the first type of HARQ codebook is a Type 3 HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches three HARQ codebook types—Type-1 (semi-static), Type-2 (dynamic), and Type-3 (one-shot). Zhu [0026] states that due to the long Round-Trip Time (RTT) in Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN), HARQ feedback efficiency is improved by introducing a mechanism to disable multiple HARQ feedback processes, and that various HARQ codebook types—including Type-3—are supported within this framework. In [0042], Zhu further confirms that the terminal may support configuration capabilities for enhancing or applying partial HARQ disabling across all three types of HARQ codebooks, including Type-3, which can be seen as, wherein the first type of HARQ codebook is a Type 3 HARQ codebook (Zhu [0026], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a Type-3 HARQ codebook within the method of claim 1 in view of Zhu, as doing so improves HARQ feedback efficiency under long round-trip time conditions in NTN environments and enables flexible support for multiple HARQ feedback processes. Such integration represents a predictable optimization consistent with Zhu’s stated goal of enhancing HARQ performance across codebook types.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu teaches the method of claim 12,
Thus, Yang does not teach Further comprising: removing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that a terminal may use a partial HARQ disabled mechanism to selectively suppress redundant HARQ feedback entries across multiple codebook types. Specifically, [0036] explains that the terminal feeds back a HARQ codebook based on configuration information from the network device, which may enable the UE to avoid transmitting unnecessary or duplicated HARQ responses. [0042] states this mechanism can be applied to Type-3 HARQ codebooks, aligning with the first type of HARQ codebook in Claim 12, which can be seen as, removing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a Type-3 HARQ codebook within the method of claim 1 in view of Zhu, as doing so improves HARQ feedback efficiency under long round-trip time conditions in NTN environments and enables flexible support for multiple HARQ feedback processes. Such integration represents a predictable optimization consistent with Zhu’s stated goal of enhancing HARQ performance across codebook types.
Regarding claim 14, Zhu teaches the method of claim 12,
Thus, Yang does not teach Further comprising: replacing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook with a negative acknowledgement (NACK).
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the terminal may utilize a partial HARQ disabled mechanism to handle overlapping HARQ processes across multiple codebooks. Rather than sending redundant acknowledgments, the terminal may suppress or modify such entries. While Zhu focuses on removal or suppression, it implies that alternate indicators—such as default or negative acknowledgments—may be inserted to flag suppressed processes or indicate lack of transmission, especially in systems requiring fixed-length codebooks or signaling placeholders, which can be seen as, replacing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook with a negative acknowledgement (NACK) (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a Type-3 HARQ codebook within the method of claim 1 in view of Zhu, as doing so improves HARQ feedback efficiency under long round-trip time conditions in NTN environments and enables flexible support for multiple HARQ feedback processes. Such integration represents a predictable optimization consistent with Zhu’s stated goal of enhancing HARQ performance across codebook types.
Regarding claim 15, Zhu teaches the method of claim 12,
Thus, Yang does not teach Further comprising: replacing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook with a set of bits predetermined to indicate to the network entity that the corresponding HARQ process is a repetitive HARQ process and feedback for which is provided in another portion of the transmitted HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that a terminal may employ a partial HARQ disabled mechanism based on HARQ codebook configuration received from the network. Under this mechanism, the terminal may suppress or modify HARQ feedback for certain processes deemed repetitive or unnecessary. Although Zhu does not explicitly describe inserting a set of predetermined bits in place of redundant feedback, it discloses the ability to selectively disable HARQ feedback for overlapping processes and retain only the necessary feedback in the codebook. This implies control over how those feedback slots are represented—whether removed, replaced, or marked, which can be seen as, replacing corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook with a set of bits predetermined to indicate to the network entity that the corresponding HARQ process is a repetitive HARQ process and feedback for which is provided in another portion of the transmitted HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a Type-3 HARQ codebook within the method of claim 1 in view of Zhu, as doing so improves HARQ feedback efficiency under long round-trip time conditions in NTN environments and enables flexible support for multiple HARQ feedback processes. Such integration represents a predictable optimization consistent with Zhu’s stated goal of enhancing HARQ performance across codebook types.
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches an apparatus for wireless
communication comprising: A memory; and a processor communicatively coupled with the memory and configured to: receive a request for a first type of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook and a second type of HARQ codebook; (Yang [0010]) describes an apparatus at the UE including a processor and memory, with instructions executed by the processor to receive downlink transmissions corresponding to two distinct HARQ configurations—a first type (e.g., single-bit ACK/NACK) and a second type (e.g., multi-bit super ACK or enhanced HARQ). These transmissions reflect implicit requests for constructing corresponding HARQ codebooks.
Identify one or more HARQ processes in the first type of HARQ codebook that are repetitive in the second type of HARQ codebook; (Yang [0171], Fig. 9) teaches that the processor may identify overlapping or redundant HARQ feedback elements across multiple configurations to reduce signaling overhead, improve efficiency, and conserve device power. This includes recognizing repetitive HARQ processes when constructing or interpreting multiple HARQ codebook types.
However, Yang does not teach transmit corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once to a network entity. However, Yang does not explicitly teach selective suppression or single instance reporting of repeated HARQ feedback.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches a partial HARQ disabled mechanism that allows a UE to selectively transmit only non-redundant HARQ feedback, based on configuration received from the network device. Zhu states that the terminal feeds back a HARQ codebook that matches its capability—i.e., includes only one instance of overlapping feedback, which can be seen as, transmit corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once to a network entity and selective suppression or single instance reporting of repeated HARQ feedback (Zhu [0036]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art familiar with HARQ optimization in 5G systems and codebook signaling, would have found it obvious to combine Zhu’s redundancy-elimination strategy with Yang’s HARQ multiplexing framework. Doing so would result in a predictable improvement by reducing uplink payload size, lowering power consumption, and minimizing signaling overhead, all while maintaining accurate feedback delivery.
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor configured to transmit the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once, the processor is further configured to: transmit the first codebook to the network entity, wherein the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes are indicated in the first type of HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the terminal (UE) sends a HARQ codebook configured based on instructions from the network device, which reflect the terminal’s HARQ configuration capability and the partial HARQ disabled mechanism. This codebook includes only the necessary (i.e., non-redundant) HARQ feedback. Accordingly, the corresponding feedback for repetitive processes is included only in the transmitted first HARQ codebook, which can be seen as, wherein the processor configured to transmit the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once, the processor is further configured to: transmit the first codebook to the network entity, wherein the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes are indicated in the first type of HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback procedure to include Zhu’s teaching of transmitting a first HARQ codebook that indicates feedback of one or more repetitive HARQ processes in a single codebook transmission. Such combination would have predictably improved feedback efficiency by reducing redundant signaling and enabling faster acknowledgment of repeated HARQ processes, consistent with well-known design objectives in wireless communication systems.
Regarding claim 18, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 17,Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: refrain from transmitting the second type of HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches a partial HARQ disabled mechanism in which the terminal is configured, based on its capability, to generate and transmit only a specific HARQ codebook matching that configuration—such as Type-1, Type-2, or Type-3—while omitting others. When certain HARQ processes are repetitive, the terminal is configured to transmit feedback only once and omit redundant codebooks or feedback types. This implies refraining from transmitting the second type of HARQ codebook when its information is already represented in the first, which can be seen as, wherein the processor is further configured to: refrain from transmitting the second type of HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback procedure in view of Zhu’s teaching of refraining from transmitting a redundant or secondary HARQ codebook when the feedback information is already represented in a first type of codebook. Such modification would have predictably optimized uplink resource usage and reduced unnecessary signaling overhead, which are well-recognized design goals in HARQ feedback systems. The motivation to combine arises from the shared objective of simplifying feedback transmission and improving system efficiency by avoiding duplication of feedback data across multiple codebook types.
Regarding claim 19, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 16,Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a message configuring the first type of HARQ codebook, wherein the message indicates a set of HARQ process identifiers (IDs) to include in the first type of HARQ codebook, wherein the set of HARQ process IDs include corresponding HARQ process IDs of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes. (Zhu [0036], [0042]) Zhu discloses that the terminal receives HARQ codebook configuration information from the network device based on the terminal’s HARQ feedback capability. This configuration may include details such as which HARQ feedback processes are active or disabled, implying a selection of HARQ process identifiers. Specifically, Zhu’s method enables selective HARQ feedback via a partial HARQ disabled mechanism, which inherently involves identifying and including only the relevant HARQ process IDs in the codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the terminal receives HARQ codebook configuration information from the network device based on the terminal’s HARQ feedback capability. This configuration may include details such as which HARQ feedback processes are active or disabled, implying a selection of HARQ process identifiers. Specifically, Zhu’s method enables selective HARQ feedback via a partial HARQ disabled mechanism, which inherently involves identifying and including only the relevant HARQ process IDs in the codebook, which can be seen as, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a message configuring the first type of HARQ codebook, wherein the message indicates a set of HARQ process identifiers (IDs) to include in the first type of HARQ codebook, wherein the set of HARQ process IDs include corresponding HARQ process IDs of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 20, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 19, Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: generate the second type of HARQ codebook and the first type of HARQ codebook in response to the request; multiplex the first type of the HARQ codebook with the second type of HARQ codebook to form a multiplexed HARQ codebook; modify the multiplexed HARQ codebook to form a modified multiplexed HARQ codebook; and wherein to transmit the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes only once to the network entity, the processor is further configured to transmit the modified multiplexed HARQ codebook to the network entity, wherein the corresponding feedback of the one or more repetitive HARQ processes are indicated only once in the multiplexed HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the terminal generates and feeds back a HARQ codebook based on configuration instructions that reflect the terminal’s HARQ feedback capability. The network may configure multiple types of HARQ codebooks (e.g., Type-1, Type-2, Type-3) based on feedback strategy, and Zhu’s partial HARQ disabled mechanism supports combining different HARQ types into a unified structure. This inherently involves generating both standard and enhanced HARQ codebooks, multiplexing them, and modifying the combined codebook to remove redundant feedback. Zhu emphasizes that only the non-redundant feedback is transmitted, thereby ensuring that repetitive HARQ processes are included only once in the final HARQ codebook sent to the network entity. This directly maps to each limitation of the claim and supports the transmission of a modified multiplexed codebook with optimized feedback (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 21, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 20,Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor configured to modify the multiplexed HARQ codebook, the processor is further configured to: identify, based on the set of HARQ process IDs, the one or more repetitive HARQ processes in the multiplexed HARQ codebook. (Zhu [0036], [0042]) Zhu discloses that the terminal supports partial HARQ disabled mechanisms and receives HARQ codebook configuration information from the network, including which HARQ processes should be active. Based on this configuration, the terminal generates a HARQ codebook that reflects only the relevant feedback processes. By implication, the terminal must first identify—based on HARQ process IDs—which processes are repetitive or redundant in the multiplexed HARQ codebook to determine which entries to retain or suppress. This identification step is essential to perform the subsequent codebook modification (e.g., suppression or removal of feedback entries).
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the terminal supports partial HARQ disabled mechanisms and receives HARQ codebook configuration information from the network, including which HARQ processes should be active. Based on this configuration, the terminal generates a HARQ codebook that reflects only the relevant feedback processes. By implication, the terminal must first identify—based on HARQ process IDs—which processes are repetitive or redundant in the multiplexed HARQ codebook to determine which entries to retain or suppress. This identification step is essential to perform the subsequent codebook modification (e.g., suppression or removal of feedback entries, which can be seen as, wherein the processor configured to modify the multiplexed HARQ codebook, the processor is further configured to: identify, based on the set of HARQ process IDs, the one or more repetitive HARQ processes in the multiplexed HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 22, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 21,
Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: remove corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the second type of HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches a terminal employing a partial HARQ disabled mechanism in which HARQ codebook feedback is adapted to reflect only selected HARQ processes. To achieve this, the processor must remove redundant or repetitive HARQ feedback from the codebook, particularly when the same feedback appears in both the first and second types of HARQ codebooks. This removal step directly supports the claimed limitation by indicating that the processor excludes feedback for the repetitive processes from the second type portion of the multiplexed codebook in favor of transmitting them once, aligning with efficient codebook design and transmission, which can be seen as, wherein the processor is further configured to: remove corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the second type of HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 23, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 22,Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the second type of HARQ codebook is a Type 2 HARQ codebook, and the processor is further configured to: update, based on the one or more removed HARQ processes, a counter downlink assignment index (DAI) and a total DAI associated with the second type of HARQ codebook; and transmit the updated counter DAI and the total DAI to the network entity.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches between Type-1, Type-2, and Type-3 HARQ codebooks and describes adapting feedback behavior based on HARQ process configuration. In particular, [0047] teaches that when a partial HARQ disabling mechanism is applied, the terminal may reduce the number of bits used for feedback and update the HARQ codebook structure accordingly. This includes updating signaling information such as the number of feedback bits and associated identifiers, which implicitly includes adjustments to DAI counters to maintain alignment with reduced feedback. The updated DAI and total DAI are then included in the HARQ report sent to the network entity, which can be seen as, wherein the second type of HARQ codebook is a Type 2 HARQ codebook, and the processor is further configured to: update, based on the one or more removed HARQ processes, a counter downlink assignment index (DAI) and a total DAI associated with the second type of HARQ codebook; and transmit the updated counter DAI and the total DAI to the network entity (Zhu [0026], [0042], [0047]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 24, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 22,
Thus, Yang does not teach wherein a size of the modified multiplexed HARQ codebook is less than a size of the multiplexed HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches NTN with long RTTs, HARQ feedback efficiency is improved by disabling redundant feedback processes through a partial HARQ disabled mechanism. [0042] explains that the terminal generates an enhanced HARQ codebook tailored to its capabilities, and [0047] teaches that unnecessary HARQ process feedback can be removed, leading to fewer bits being used in the final codebook. This reduction directly results in a smaller (i.e., modified) HARQ codebook relative to the original multiplexed version, which initially contained duplicated feedback entries across types, which can be seen as, wherein a size of the modified multiplexed HARQ codebook is less than a size of the multiplexed HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042], [0047]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 25, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 21,
Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: replace corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the second type of HARQ codebook with a negative acknowledgement (NACK).
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches a partial HARQ disabled mechanism is applied, the terminal may indicate that certain HARQ processes are not to be actively acknowledged multiple times. Instead, [0047] describes that for disabled or repetitive HARQ processes, a NACK or placeholder may be used in certain positions of the codebook to avoid duplication and maintain structural integrity. This effectively replaces the redundant feedback in the Type 2 portion of the multiplexed codebook with a predetermined value (such as NACK) signaling the process is handled elsewhere, which can be seen as, wherein a size of the modified multiplexed HARQ codebook is less than a size of the multiplexed HARQ codebook (Zhu [0046]– [0047]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 26, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 21,
Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: replace corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the second type of HARQ codebook with a set of bits predetermined to indicate to the network entity that corresponding HARQ process is a repetitive HARQ process and a feedback for which is provided in another portion of the transmitted HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that when a HARQ process is identified as repetitive and already covered elsewhere (e.g., in the Type 1 or Type 3 portion), the terminal may substitute the feedback in the Type 2 section with a distinct bit pattern or placeholder to signal the redundancy to the network device. This set of bits acts as an indicator that the feedback for this HARQ process is provided elsewhere in the codebook, avoiding duplication while preserving interpretability by the network, which can be seen as, wherein the processor is further configured to: replace corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the second type of HARQ codebook with a set of bits predetermined to indicate to the network entity that corresponding HARQ process is a repetitive HARQ process and a feedback for which is provided in another portion of the transmitted HARQ codebook (Zhu [0046]– [0047], [0052]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 27, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the first type of HARQ codebook is a Type 3 HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches classifies different HARQ codebook types, stating that: “Type-1 HARQ codebook is also called a semi-static HARQ codebook,” “Type-2 HARQ codebook is also called a dynamic codebook,” and “Type-3 HARQ codebook is also called a one-shot codebook.” ([0026]). Zhu further states in [0042] that the terminal's HARQ codebook configuration capability includes support for enhanced or non-enhanced forms of Type-1, Type-2, and Type-3 HARQ codebooks, depending on the partial HARQ disabling mechanism used, which can be seen as, wherein the first type of HARQ codebook is a Type 3 HARQ codebook (Zhu [0026], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 28, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 27,
Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: remove corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches that the terminal supports partial HARQ disabling, enabling the network to configure HARQ codebooks such that redundant or repetitive feedback entries are selectively excluded ([0036]). This mechanism permits the removal of feedback corresponding to repetitive HARQ processes, especially when such processes are already represented in another codebook portion. Moreover, [0042] explains that the HARQ codebook configuration behavior may include selective participation of HARQ processes per codebook type, such as Type-3 (first type), enhancing flexibility and reducing signaling overhead, which can be seen as, wherein the processor is further configured to: remove corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback mechanism to include Zhu’s teaching of receiving configuration information indicating specific HARQ process identifiers (IDs) for inclusion in a first HARQ codebook. Such a modification would have predictably enhanced flexibility and system adaptability by allowing the terminal to selectively include only the relevant HARQ process IDs based on configuration instructions from the network, thereby improving efficiency and reducing unnecessary signaling.
Regarding claim 29, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 27,Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: replace corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook with a negative acknowledgement (NACK).
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches a partial HARQ disabled mechanism that allows the terminal to selectively alter HARQ feedback behavior by either removing or replacing redundant entries in HARQ codebooks. While [0042] identifies the inclusion of various HARQ codebook types (including Type-3) and their enhancement based on configuration, [0036] suggests that the HARQ feedback can be adjusted to match terminal capabilities. One method of indicating the suppression or override of feedback for repetitive HARQ processes is by inserting predetermined values, such as NACKs, to signal non-acknowledgment or to simplify downstream scheduling behavior, which can be seen as, wherein the processor is further configured to: replace corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook with a negative acknowledgement (NACK) (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback handling to incorporate Zhu’s teaching of selectively replacing redundant feedback entries in a multiplexed HARQ codebook with negative acknowledgements (NACKs). Such modification would have predictably simplified the feedback structure and improved scheduler interpretation by clearly distinguishing between valid and repetitive HARQ feedback responses.
Regarding claim 30, Zhu teaches the apparatus of claim 27,
Thus, Yang does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: replace corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook with a set of bits predetermined to indicate to the network entity that corresponding HARQ process is a repetitive HARQ process and a feedback for which is provided in another portion of the transmitted HARQ codebook.
Similar to Yang, Zhu teaches a partial HARQ disabled mechanism in which the HARQ feedback behavior is tailored by the terminal according to its configuration capability. In particular, [0036] describes that the HARQ codebook generation adapts based on the terminal’s configuration, which includes selectively suppressing redundant feedback. [0042] further elaborates that Type-3 HARQ codebooks are among the supported types under such configurations, which can be seen as, wherein the processor is further configured to: replace corresponding feedback in the multiplexed HARQ codebook of the one or more identified repetitive HARQ processes from a portion of the multiplexed HARQ codebook corresponding to the first type of HARQ codebook with a set of bits predetermined to indicate to the network entity that corresponding HARQ process is a repetitive HARQ process and a feedback for which is provided in another portion of the transmitted HARQ codebook (Zhu [0036], [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Yang’s HARQ feedback framework to include Zhu’s teaching of indicating repetitive HARQ processes using a set of predetermined bits within the transmitted HARQ codebook. Such modification would have predictably enhanced signaling clarity by explicitly informing the network which HARQ feedback entries correspond to repeated processes and which are already acknowledged elsewhere in the codebook.
Conclusion
/ANNABELLA CHRISTOPHE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415