CTNF 18/306,245 CTNF 86704 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-18-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 9, 13, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(g) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (CN 111377956 A) (hereafter “Tang”) . Regarding claims 1-5, 9, 13, 15, and 18-20. Tang teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (pages 191-192 of the machine translation). Tang teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a delayed fluorescent dopant (a formulation) (pages 191-193 of the machine translation). Tang teaches that delayed fluorescent material can have the following structure, PNG media_image1.png 240 850 media_image1.png Greyscale (pages 152-159 and 191-193 of the machine translation). Tang teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in a consumer product (page 2 of the machine translation) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 111377956 A) (hereafter “Tang”) as applied to claim s 1-5, 9, 13, 14, and 18-20 above, and further in view of Duan et al. (US 2018/0013073) (hereafter “Duan”) . Regarding claims 15-17, Tang does not teach where the TADF material is used as a host material for a phosphorescent dopant or a sensitizer. Duan teaches that TADF materials can be used as host material for phosphorescent dopants in electroluminescent devices and teaches that the TADF material as acts as a sensitizer (abstract and paragraph [0030]). Duan teaches that using the TADF material as a host material and sensitizer leads to lower doping proportion (cost savings), suppress attenuation, and improve life of the device (paragraph [0025]). Duan teaches that the phosphorescent dopant can have the following structure, PNG media_image2.png 139 173 media_image2.png Greyscale or PNG media_image3.png 171 198 media_image3.png Greyscale (paragraph [0119]-[0136]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention so the TADF material of Tang is used as a TADF host material/sensitizer for a phosphorescent dopant, such as PNG media_image2.png 139 173 media_image2.png Greyscale or PNG media_image3.png 171 198 media_image3.png Greyscale , as taught by Duan. The motivation would have been to save cost, lower attenuation, and improve life of the device . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. (CN 113651838) teaches boron compound comprising TADF emitting material for use in electroluminescent devices, where the boron compound meets the applicant’s claimed invention. Tanimoto et al. (US 2016/097282) teaches the use of TADF materials as sensitizer for use in the emitting layer of electroluminescent devices. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW K BOHATY whose telephone number is (571)270-1148. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Curtis Mayes can be reached at (571)272-1234. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/306,245 Page 2 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/306,245 Page 3 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/306,245 Page 4 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/306,245 Page 5 Art Unit: 1759