DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a heating element in claims 2 and 12 wherein heating is a functional language with the term element being a generic placeholder for means.
A heating element is interpreted to include a wire or a conductive trace as described in the specification or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 lacks proper antecedent basis for “the base”.
Claim 5 lacks proper antecedent basis for “the base”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, 15, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2015/0284031) in view of Forrest et al (US 2008/0296279).
Lee discloses the component claimed including a main body (12 shown by a wheel well liner) that defines a part of a wheel well of a vehicle having an outer face that faces a wheel of the vehicle with an inner face (that is inherently present on the opposite side of the liner 12; also, see Figure 1) spaced and facing away from the wheel well (also, see Figures 1 and 4) wherein a heater (18) is carried by the main body.
But, Lee does not explicitly show an electrical connector as claimed.
Forrest shows it is known to provide a heater that is provided in or on a wheel well of a vehicle for deicing or melting snow build up wherein the heater is known to have an electrical connector (125) that provides an electrical connection with a power source.
In view of Forrest, it would have been obvious to adapt Lee with the heater having an electrical connector carried on by the heater so that an electrical connection can be made with a power source of a vehicle to power the heater as known in the art.
With respect to claims 2 and 12, Forrest discloses it is known to provide the heater that is formed with a base (110) with a heating element (120) carried by the base (para 0011), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Lee with the heater that is provided with a base and a heating element carried by the base as a known heater arrangement that forms a heater that can predictably and effectively melt snow or ice accumulations in the wheel well.
With respect to claims 3 and 13, Lee discloses that the heating element can be a resistive heating wire (para 002), and Forrest also discloses the heating element that can be a resistive wire (para 0012).
With respect to claims 4, 5 and 15 Forrest discloses the heating element that is integrated and sandwiched between two flexible layers/base of plastic (para 0015) with the plastic being polymer (para 0011) wherein such heating element would provide an effective heating capabilities for deicing or removing snow buildups.
With respect to claim 8, Lee discloses for the heater (18) that is arranged at a portion of the main body that defines a lower end of the wheel well as illustrated in Figure 1.
With respect to claim 9, Lee discloses the heater that provides heat to the main body by heat conduction as the heater is in thermal contact with the man body.
With respect to claim 10, Lee discloses a vehicle with a wheel well component that defines a least part of a wheel well (also, see Figure 1) which is open to an exterior of the vehicle and extends to and is open to a lower side of the vehicle, a wheel (shown in Figure 1) located within the wheel well having an axis of rotation (which is inherently provided for the rotation of the wheel) wherein the wheel well component is radially spaced from the wheel with the wheel having an axial thickness that is axially overlapped by the wheel well component (also, see Figure 1), the wheel well component including a main body main (12 shown by a well liner) that defines a part of a wheel well of a vehicle having an outer surface that is exposed to the exterior of the vehicle and an inner surface (inherently present on the opposite of the outer surface of the main body/line 12) opposite the outer surface, and the wheel well component including a heater (18) that is carried by the main body and arranged to increase a temperature of the wheel well component when electricity is provided to the heater.
With respect to claim 11, Lee discloses the heater (18) that is arranged against the inner surface of the wheel well component.
With respect to claim 18, Lee discloses a temperature sensor (26) that provides an indication of an ambient temperature outside the vehicle (para 0021).
With respect to claim 19, Lee discloses a control system (24) that is responsive to an output of the temperature sensor and arranged to permit electricity to be provided to the heater when the ambient temperature is below a threshold temperature (para 0026).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Forrest as applied to claims 1-5, 8-13, 15, 18 and 19 above and further in view of Brown et al (US 3,166,371).
Lee in view of Forrest discloses the component claimed including the electrical connector (125 as show by Forrest) but does not explicitly show a cavity of the main body where the electrical connector is arranged to provide for a water-tight connection as claimed.
Brown discloses it is known to provide an electrical connector/wire (16) connected to a cavity of a body such as a socket (56) to be electrically engaged with the electrical connector wherein the electrical connector is further arranged to provide a water-tight electrical connection between the electrical connector and the socket/cavity (also, see column 4, lines 54-73).
In view of Brown, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Lee, as modified by Forrest, with the main body having a cavity such as a socket that would allow an electrical connection of with an electric connector of the heater element with a power source so that electric power can be supplied to the heater, and the cavity would be further arranged to provide a water-tight connection to predicably prevent any water contaminations or electrical shorts due to water that may come between the heating element and the power supply of the vehicle and ensure an effective operation of the heater.
Claims 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Forrest as applied to claims 1-5, 8-13, 15, 18 and 19 above and further in view of Bouman (US 6,211,493).
Lee in view of Forrest discloses the component claimed except for a temperature sensor that is responsive to the temperature of the heater.
Bouman discloses it is known to provide a heater that is provided with a temperature sensor (36) that is responsive to the temperature of the heater that would further control the activation/deactivation of the heater when its temperature is above a threshold temperature. Also, see column 5, lines 10-18.
In view of Bouman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Lee, as modified by Forrest, with a temperature sensor that is responsive to the temperature of the heater including when the heater temperature exceeds or goes over a threshold temperature to prevent overheating of the heater.
Claims 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Forrest as applied to claims 1-5, 8-13, 15, 18 and 19 above and further in view of Gullerud et al (US 2005/0098684).
Lee in view of Forrest discloses the component claimed including the heating element that is incorporated into the base that is made of a polymeric sheet of material as taught by Forrest but does not show that the heating element includes a carbon based material.
Gullerud discloses it is known to provide a heater having a heating element that includes a carbon based material (para 0047).
In view of Gullerud, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Lee, as modified by Forrest, with the heating element that includes a carbon-based material or any other suitable materials since such material is well known material as a simple substitution that can form an electrical resistance heating element suitable for an electric heater as known in the art.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761