DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Upon further consideration original claims 2 and 8 which were previously marked allowable over art, but are currently rejected by prior art. In view of this the current action is a Non-Final action.
With regards to the 112a and 112b rejections of claims 6 and 10 the rejections are moot and withdrawn in view of the amendments.
With regards to the 101 rejections to claims 11-13 the rejections are moot and withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200178887 to Ramirez et al. (hereinafter Ramirez) in view of CN 111084614 to Kuntao et al. (hereinafter Kuntao) in further view of US 5989193 to Sullivan (hereinafter Sullivan) in further view of US 20230065778 to Tadele (hereinafter Tadele).
Regarding Claim 1, an interpretation of Ramirez discloses a contactless vital signs monitoring system ([0054]-[0055], Figs. 1-3), being adapted for installation on a mattress and comprising a contactless vital signs signal acquisition and processing system ([0054]-[0055], Figs. 1-3);
wherein the contactless vital signs signal acquisition and processing system comprises a ballistocardiography (BCG) signal acquisition module ([0078]-[0079], [0080] including “pressure sensed by such pressure sensors may indicate one or more of gross movement of a sleeper, breathing rate of the sleeper, and heart rate of the sleeper.”, [0081]-[0082] including “allowing such a pressure sensor to be used as a ballistocardiogram sensor”, Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]; Recites a plurality of pressure sensors/or meshes of pressures sensors and recites using a set of the pressure sensors as BCG sensors), a human body pressure acquisition module ([0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0068]-[0070], [0227]; Recites a plurality of pressure sensors/or meshes of pressures sensor, including using different types of pressure sensors), and a control circuit ([0055], [0221]-[0222], [0224]-[0225], Figs. 1-3, 53 see also [0058], [0227]);
wherein the BCG signal acquisition module comprises a piezoelectric array ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082] including ”Such pressure sensors may include, for example, . . . piezo-electric pressure sensors . . .”, Figs. 1-3 see also [0068]-[0070], [0227]), the piezoelectric array comprises a plurality of piezoelectric queues arranged along a lengthwise direction of the mattress ([0077] including “The number of sensors in the sensor mesh may be as few as two, but additional sensors may increase the sensitivity and fidelity of the sleep monitoring system. For example, a 2×2 grid of sensors may be used in some implementations, or a 1×3 array of sensors may be used in other implementations. The number of sensors used may also be much higher, e.g., an 8×8 array of sensors. . . . sensors spaced apart from one another on the carrier in at least the transverse direction, and potentially also in the longitudinal direction”, [0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]; the piezoelectric array (or grid of BCG/pressure sensors) can have multiple transverse rows (width) with a plurality of rows at different positions on the longitudinal (length) axis), each of the plurality of piezoelectric queues comprises a plurality of piezoelectric sequentially arranged along a widthwise direction of the mattress ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]; the piezoelectric array (or grid of bcg/pressure sensors) can have multiple sensors on each transverse row (width)), and the human body pressure acquisition module is disposed on a side of the BCG signal acquisition module facing away from a head of the mattress ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]; the reference discloses a grid of pressure sensors in one nonlimiting interpretation the “row” closest to where the feet would be could be the “human body pressure acquisition module”. Examiner notes there are other interpretations which would read on the claims) and configured to detect a pressure applied thereon ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]);
wherein the control circuit is configured to extract heart rate data, respiration data based on a BCG signal output by the BCG signal acquisition module ([0061]-[0062], [0080] including “pressure sensed by such pressure sensors may indicate one or more of gross movement of a sleeper, breathing rate of the sleeper, and heart rate of the sleeper.”, [0081]-[0082] including “Pressure sensors may be used to obtain a variety of insights regarding a person sleeping or resting on such sensors. . . . a pressure measurement signal that indicates the breathing rate of the person. . . . allowing such a pressure sensor to be used as a ballistocardiogram sensor.” see also [0187], [0227]), and a process of the extract is that: first, performing digital filtering on the BCG signal to extract BCG signals with frequencies in ranges of 0.08-0.5 Hz, 0.66-3.3 Hz ([0089]-[0091] including “the respiration rate is on the order of 0.3 to 0.4 Hz . . . the heartrate is about 0.7 Hz, which is consistent with an expected normal heartrate” see also [0227]), comparing the BCG signal with the frequency in the range of 0.66-3.3 Hz with a wave peak regularity of a preset normal electrocardiogram (ECG) signal to extract some features matching a ECG signal model as the heart rate data ([0089]-[0091] including “the respiration rate is on the order of 0.3 to 0.4 Hz . . . the heartrate is about 0.7 Hz, which is consistent with an expected normal heartrate” see also [0227]), comparing the BCG signal with the frequency in the range of 0.08-0.5 Hz with a wave peak regularity of a preset normal respiration signal to extract some features matching a respiration signal model as the respiration data ([0089]-[0091] including “the respiration rate is on the order of 0.3 to 0.4 Hz . . . the heartrate is about 0.7 Hz, which is consistent with an expected normal heartrate” see also [0227]), and extracting an ambient noise level ([0188] including “may be attributable to other independent sources, such as independent sources in the environment (such as vibrations or sounds in the ambient environment), or noise.” see [0212], [0227]; continues to process data even when user is not in the bed to determine an ambient baseline);
wherein the control circuit is configured to determine whether the user is on the mattress according to a pressure signal detected by the human body pressure acquisition module ([0069], [0143] including “may analyze sensor data from pressure sensors located on a carrier on top of the mattress, and may determine from such pressure sensors that an object that produces a pressure distribution similar to that produced by a person is present on the first side of the mattress”, Figs. 1-3, 53 see also [0088], [0101], [0128], [0227]).
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose the piezoelectric pressure sensors are ceramic; wherein the plurality of piezoelectric ceramic queues of the piezoelectric ceramic array are two piezoelectric ceramic queues, a distance from a central position of a first one of the two piezoelectric ceramic queues to an end of the head of the mattress is hi = 20 centimeters (cm), and a distance between central positions of the two piezoelectric ceramic queues is h2= 40 cm; determine the user is on the mattress when the pressure signal is greater than or equal to a preset value, and determine the user is off the mattress when the pressure signal is smaller than the preset value.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Kuntao teaches piezoelectric pressure sensors are ceramic (Pg. 2 including “Further, the sensor is . . . a piezoelectric ceramic sensor,”, Pg. 4 paragraph 8 including “The strip sensors 11 and 12 are respectively used for collecting BCG signals”, Pg. 4 paragraph 9 including “The lattice sensor can be a . . . piezoelectric ceramics . . . The working principle of the mattress is the same as the above embodiments.”, Figs. 2-4; discloses using a grid of piezoelectric ceramic sensors for BCG sensing); determine the user is on the mattress when the pressure signal is greater than or equal to a preset value, and determine the user is off the mattress when the pressure signal is smaller than the preset value (Pg. 3 Paragraph 18 including “when the signal intensity is less than the threshold value 2, the monitoring area is considered to be free of people or the signal is weak, and the BCG signal is judged to be invalid under the two conditions; the acquired BCG signal is judged to be valid only when the signal strength is between the threshold 2 and the threshold 1”; there is a person deemed present on the device when the signal is above threshold 2). Examiner notes Kuntao also recites the filtering of the BCG signal (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez to include more specific elements of particular piezoelectric sensors and determination of presence as recited by Kuntao because it is merely combining a more general discussion of elements in Ramirez with more detailed disclosure of particular elements (ceramic piezoelectric sensor, and presence based on threshold); which is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
With regards to the “wherein the plurality of piezoelectric ceramic queues of the piezoelectric ceramic array are two piezoelectric ceramic queues, a distance from a central position of a first one of the two piezoelectric ceramic queues to an end of the head of the mattress is hi = 20 centimeters (cm), and a distance between central positions of the two piezoelectric ceramic queues is h2= 40 cm” Kuntao discloses (pg. 3, paragraphs starting with “Ballistocardiogram (BCG) is a non-invasive technique . . .” and “Specifically, in step (1),. . . ”) that the placement of the BCG electrodes is optimized to “the deployment sites include, for example, heart, head, back, and leg regions to obtain more body information.” As seen in the embodiments disclosed in figures 2, 3 as well, the location of the BCG sensing on the mattress (or distance from the top of the mattress) is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that the length from the top of the mattress is defined by what portion of the body is targeted (i.e. head and hear/chest etc.). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Ramirez in view of Kuntao device to have a length within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ramirez in view of Kuntao by making the distance of a sect of BCG electrodes to an end of the head of the mattress is hi = 20 centimeters (cm), and a distance between central positions of the two piezoelectric ceramic queues is h2= 40 cm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose extract abnormal sound signals of a user during rest with frequencies in ranges of 20-20000 Hz; extracting an ambient noise level and the abnormal sound signals including a snoring sound signal, a cough sound signal and a cry for help sound signal from the BCG signal with the frequency in the range of 20-20000 Hz.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic devices), Sullivan teaches to extract abnormal sound signals of a user during rest with frequencies in ranges of 20-20000 Hz (Col 6:25-31 including “Experiments have shown that the vibration frequency of the airway during a snore is typically in the range 10-100 Hz.”, Col 6:59-Col 7:12 including “If a signal is detected in the 10-100 Hz range which is not at inspiration or expiration, then this signal cannot relate to snoring and can be dismissed as a another noise created by the patient 13 or the surrounding environment” see also Col 3:13-45, Col 6:31-39); extracting an ambient noise level and the abnormal sound signals including a snoring sound signal from the BCG signal with the frequency in the range of 20-20000 Hz (Col 6:25-31, Col 6:59-Col 7:12 see also Col 3:13-45).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez in view of Kuntao to include extracting additional ranges of the signal for ambient noise and snoring determination as recited by Sullivan because it provides a way of sensing elements for determining snoring which provide no discomfort to the user while also associating the sub-audible vibrations (first electrical signal) of the snoring with the breathing cycle (second electrical signal) for validity of the first signal (Col 3:21-35, Col 3:46-56).
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose wherein the monitoring system is configured to run at an intelligent ultralow power consumption operation control mode, which comprises controlling components of the monitoring system except the human body pressure acquisition module to sleep or shut down when it is determined that the user is off the mattress, and controlling all components of the monitoring system to normally operate when it is determined the user is on the mattress.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Tadele teaches wherein the monitoring system is configured to run at an intelligent ultralow power consumption operation control mode ([0003], [0037], [0044] see also [0026], [0028]; reference discloses using occupancy detection for determining whether user is occupying the bed: (1) if they are occupying the bed then activating additional processes such as additional sensing; Alternatively, (2) if they are not occupying the bed then deactivating elements such as additional sensors to move the system into a low power mode), which comprises controlling components of the monitoring system except the human body pressure acquisition module to sleep or shut down when it is determined that the user is off the mattress ([0003], [0037], [0044] see also [0026], [0028], [0048]), and controlling all components of the monitoring system to normally operate when it is determined the user is on the mattress ([0003], [0037], [0044] see also [0026], [0028].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez in view of Kuntao in further view of Sullivan to include power saving by switching to a low power mode when the user is not present on the bed and operating normally when the user is present as recited by Tadele because switching to a low power state which advantageously uses less power ([0037], [0044]).
Regarding Claim 3, wherein the human body pressure acquisition module is embedded in the mattress ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], [0130] including “may take the form of, or be integrated with, a pad, bedsheet, blanket, duvet or comforter cover, fitted sheet, or mattress pad.”, Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0129], [0227]) and comprises a resistance-type pressure belt arranged along the widthwise direction of the mattress ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082] including “piezo-resistive pressure sensors”, Figs. 1-3 see also [0068]-[0070], [0129]-[0130], [0227]).
Regarding Claim 5, an interpretation of Ramirez further discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to: according to a characteristic that peaks of the BCG signal are generated by a human body of the user turning over on the mattress ([0069]-[0070] including “By analyzing the pattern of absolute pressure across the different sensor units, it is also possible to infer body position (e.g., prone versus supine versus side sleeping).”, [0206], [0208] see also [0068], [0080]-[0082], [0089], [0227]; recites using BCG sensor for determining body “gross” body movement (and supine/prone determination) which are higher pressure (“peaks”) than measuring the smaller pressure measurements of BCG, breathing etc.), extract signals with the peaks in the BCG signal as a body movement signal of the human body ([0069]-[0070], [0206], [0208] see also [0068], [0080]-[0082], [0089], [0227]).
Regarding Claim 7, an interpretation of Ramirez further discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to communicate with a cloud service end through a signal transmitter of the contactless vital signs signal acquisition and processing system ([0084], [0221]-[0222] see also [0227]; data can be sent to remote “cloud”), and the cloud service end is configured to communicate with a monitoring computer and a mobile terminal ([0084], [0221]-[0222] see also [0227]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramirez in view of Kuntao in further view of Sullivan in further view Tadele US 20150164409 to Benson et al. (hereinafter Benson) in further view of Songsheng Li et al. A Smart Pillow for Health Sensing System Based on Temperature and Humidity Sensors. Sensors (Basel). 2018 Oct 29;18(11):3664. doi: 10.3390/s18113664. PMID: 30380614; https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6263409/. Viewed on 9/21/26 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding Claim 8, an interpretation of Ramirez discloses gathering temperature and humidity acquisition using a module ([0212]),
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose wherein the on bed sensing further comprises a temperature humidity acquisition module comprises an integrated digital sensing circuit and is configured to detect temperature and humidity values of the user in a sleep process.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Benson teaches wherein the on bed sensing further comprises a temperature humidity acquisition module comprises an integrated digital sensing circuit and is configured to detect temperature and humidity values of the user in a sleep process ([0087] including “the body temperature sensor 122 and the humidity sensor 124 embedded into the mattress 101 are provided on a common printed circuit board 128”, [0143]-[0145], Figs. 1, 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including temperature, humidity and piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez to include the temperature and humidity sensor on the same IC and on the bed as recited by Benson because it is merely use of known technique (humidity/temperature IC on bed) to improve similar devices (smart bed) in the same way.
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose integrated digital sensing circuit with a product model of SHT20.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Li teaches integrated digital sensing circuit with a product model of SHT20 (pg. 6 “SHT20 (an IC combining humidity and temperature sensors from sensiron)”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including temperature, humidity and piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez in view of Benson to include the temperature and humidity sensor is in particular the SHT20 sensor as recited by Li because it is merely combining prior art elements (the sensors and analysis system of Ramirez in view of Benson with the particular sensor model as recited by Li) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 15, an interpretation of Ramirez discloses a contactless vital signs monitoring system ([0054]-[0055], Figs. 1-3), being adapted for installation on a mattress and comprising a contactless vital signs signal acquisition and processing system ([0054]-[0055], Figs. 1-3);
wherein the contactless vital signs signal acquisition and processing system comprises a ballistocardiography (BCG) signal acquisition module ([0078]-[0079], [0080] including “pressure sensed by such pressure sensors may indicate one or more of gross movement of a sleeper, breathing rate of the sleeper, and heart rate of the sleeper.”, [0081]-[0082] including “allowing such a pressure sensor to be used as a ballistocardiogram sensor”, Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]; Recites a plurality of pressure sensors/or meshes of pressures sensors and recites using a set of the pressure sensors as BCG sensors), a human body pressure acquisition module ([0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0068]-[0070], [0227]; Recites a plurality of pressure sensors/or meshes of pressures sensor, including using different types of pressure sensors), and a control circuit ([0055], [0221]-[0222], [0224]-[0225], Figs. 1-3, 53 see also [0058], [0227]);
wherein the BCG signal acquisition module comprises a piezoelectric array ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082] including ”Such pressure sensors may include, for example, . . . piezo-electric pressure sensors . . .”, Figs. 1-3 see also [0068]-[0070], [0227]), the piezoelectric array comprises a plurality of piezoelectric queues arranged along a lengthwise direction of the mattress ([0077] including “The number of sensors in the sensor mesh may be as few as two, but additional sensors may increase the sensitivity and fidelity of the sleep monitoring system. For example, a 2×2 grid of sensors may be used in some implementations, or a 1×3 array of sensors may be used in other implementations. The number of sensors used may also be much higher, e.g., an 8×8 array of sensors. . . . sensors spaced apart from one another on the carrier in at least the transverse direction, and potentially also in the longitudinal direction”, [0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]; the piezoelectric array (or grid of BCG/pressure sensors) can have multiple transverse rows (width) with a plurality of rows at different positions on the longitudinal (length) axis), each of the plurality of piezoelectric queues comprises a plurality of piezoelectric sequentially arranged along a widthwise direction of the mattress ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]; the piezoelectric array (or grid of bcg/pressure sensors) can have multiple sensors on each transverse row (width)), and the human body pressure acquisition module is disposed on a side of the BCG signal acquisition module facing away from a head of the mattress ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]; the reference discloses a grid of pressure sensors in one nonlimiting interpretation the “row” closest to where the feet would be could be the “human body pressure acquisition module”. Examiner notes there are other interpretations which would read on the claims) and configured to detect a pressure applied thereon ([0077]-[0079], [0081]-[0082], Figs. 1-3 see also [0069]-[0070], [0227]);
wherein the control circuit is configured to extract heart rate data, respiration data based on a BCG signal output by the BCG signal acquisition module ([0061]-[0062], [0080] including “pressure sensed by such pressure sensors may indicate one or more of gross movement of a sleeper, breathing rate of the sleeper, and heart rate of the sleeper.”, [0081]-[0082] including “Pressure sensors may be used to obtain a variety of insights regarding a person sleeping or resting on such sensors. . . . a pressure measurement signal that indicates the breathing rate of the person. . . . allowing such a pressure sensor to be used as a ballistocardiogram sensor.” see also [0187], [0227]), and a process of the extract is that: first, performing digital filtering on the BCG signal to extract BCG signals with frequencies in ranges of 0.08-0.5 Hz, 0.66-3.3 Hz ([0089]-[0091] including “the respiration rate is on the order of 0.3 to 0.4 Hz . . . the heartrate is about 0.7 Hz, which is consistent with an expected normal heartrate” see also [0227]), comparing the BCG signal with the frequency in the range of 0.66-3.3 Hz with a wave peak regularity of a preset normal electrocardiogram (ECG) signal to extract some features matching a ECG signal model as the heart rate data ([0089]-[0091] including “the respiration rate is on the order of 0.3 to 0.4 Hz . . . the heartrate is about 0.7 Hz, which is consistent with an expected normal heartrate” see also [0227]), comparing the BCG signal with the frequency in the range of 0.08-0.5 Hz with a wave peak regularity of a preset normal respiration signal to extract some features matching a respiration signal model as the respiration data ([0089]-[0091] including “the respiration rate is on the order of 0.3 to 0.4 Hz . . . the heartrate is about 0.7 Hz, which is consistent with an expected normal heartrate” see also [0227]), and extracting an ambient noise level ([0188] including “may be attributable to other independent sources, such as independent sources in the environment (such as vibrations or sounds in the ambient environment), or noise.” see [0212], [0227]; continues to process data even when user is not in the bed to determine an ambient baseline);
wherein the control circuit is configured to determine whether the user is on the mattress according to a pressure signal detected by the human body pressure acquisition module ([0069], [0143] including “may analyze sensor data from pressure sensors located on a carrier on top of the mattress, and may determine from such pressure sensors that an object that produces a pressure distribution similar to that produced by a person is present on the first side of the mattress”, Figs. 1-3, 53 see also [0088], [0101], [0128], [0227]).
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose the piezoelectric pressure sensors are ceramic; determine the user is on the mattress when the pressure signal is greater than or equal to a preset value, and determine the user is off the mattress when the pressure signal is smaller than the preset value.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Kuntao teaches piezoelectric pressure sensors are ceramic (Pg. 2 including “Further, the sensor is . . . a piezoelectric ceramic sensor,”, Pg. 4 paragraph 8 including “The strip sensors 11 and 12 are respectively used for collecting BCG signals”, Pg. 4 paragraph 9 including “The lattice sensor can be a . . . piezoelectric ceramics . . . The working principle of the mattress is the same as the above embodiments.”, Figs. 2-4; discloses using a grid of piezoelectric ceramic sensors for BCG sensing); determine the user is on the mattress when the pressure signal is greater than or equal to a preset value, and determine the user is off the mattress when the pressure signal is smaller than the preset value (Pg. 3 Paragraph 18 including “when the signal intensity is less than the threshold value 2, the monitoring area is considered to be free of people or the signal is weak, and the BCG signal is judged to be invalid under the two conditions; the acquired BCG signal is judged to be valid only when the signal strength is between the threshold 2 and the threshold 1”; there is a person deemed present on the device when the signal is above threshold 2). Examiner notes Kuntao also recites the filtering of the BCG signal (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez to include more specific elements of particular piezoelectric sensors and determination of presence as recited by Kuntao because it is merely combining a more general discussion of elements in Ramirez with more detailed disclosure of particular elements (ceramic piezoelectric sensor, and presence based on threshold); which is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose extract abnormal sound signals of a user during rest with frequencies in ranges of 20-20000 Hz; extracting an ambient noise level and the abnormal sound signals including a snoring sound signal, a cough sound signal and a cry for help sound signal from the BCG signal with the frequency in the range of 20-20000 Hz.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic devices), Sullivan teaches to extract abnormal sound signals of a user during rest with frequencies in ranges of 20-20000 Hz (Col 6:25-31 including “Experiments have shown that the vibration frequency of the airway during a snore is typically in the range 10-100 Hz.”, Col 6:59-Col 7:12 including “If a signal is detected in the 10-100 Hz range which is not at inspiration or expiration, then this signal cannot relate to snoring and can be dismissed as a another noise created by the patient 13 or the surrounding environment” see also Col 3:13-45, Col 6:31-39); extracting an ambient noise level and the abnormal sound signals including a snoring sound signal from the BCG signal with the frequency in the range of 20-20000 Hz (Col 6:25-31, Col 6:59-Col 7:12 see also Col 3:13-45).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez in view of Kuntao to include extracting additional ranges of the signal for ambient noise and snoring determination as recited by Sullivan because it provides a way of sensing elements for determining snoring which provide no discomfort to the user while also associating the sub-audible vibrations (first electrical signal) of the snoring with the breathing cycle (second electrical signal) for validity of the first signal (Col 3:21-35, Col 3:46-56).
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose wherein the monitoring system is configured to run at an intelligent ultralow power consumption operation control mode, which comprises controlling components of the monitoring system except the human body pressure acquisition module to sleep or shut down when it is determined that the user is off the mattress, and controlling all components of the monitoring system to normally operate when it is determined the user is on the mattress.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Tadele teaches wherein the monitoring system is configured to run at an intelligent ultralow power consumption operation control mode ([0003], [0037], [0044] see also [0026], [0028]; reference discloses using occupancy detection for determining whether user is occupying the bed: (1) if they are occupying the bed then activating additional processes such as additional sensing; Alternatively, (2) if they are not occupying the bed then deactivating elements such as additional sensors to move the system into a low power mode), which comprises controlling components of the monitoring system except the human body pressure acquisition module to sleep or shut down when it is determined that the user is off the mattress ([0003], [0037], [0044] see also [0026], [0028], [0048]), and controlling all components of the monitoring system to normally operate when it is determined the user is on the mattress ([0003], [0037], [0044] see also [0026], [0028].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez in view of Kuntao in further view of Sullivan to include power saving by switching to a low power mode when the user is not present on the bed and operating normally when the user is present as recited by Tadele because switching to a low power state which advantageously uses less power ([0037], [0044]).
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose wherein the on bed sensing further comprises a temperature humidity acquisition module comprises an integrated digital sensing circuit and is configured to detect temperature and humidity values of the user in a sleep process.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Benson teaches wherein the on bed sensing further comprises a temperature humidity acquisition module comprises an integrated digital sensing circuit and is configured to detect temperature and humidity values of the user in a sleep process ([0087] including “the body temperature sensor 122 and the humidity sensor 124 embedded into the mattress 101 are provided on a common printed circuit board 128”, [0143]-[0145], Figs. 1, 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including temperature, humidity and piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez to include the temperature and humidity sensor on the same IC and on the bed as recited by Benson because it is merely use of known technique (humidity/temperature IC on bed) to improve similar devices (smart bed) in the same way.
An interpretation of Ramirez may not explicitly disclose integrated digital sensing circuit with a product model of SHT20.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Li teaches integrated digital sensing circuit with a product model of SHT20 (pg. 6 “SHT20 (an IC combining humidity and temperature sensors from sensiron)”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors including temperature, humidity and piezoelectric sensors with associated physiological and presence analysis as recited by Ramirez in view of Benson to include the temperature and humidity sensor is in particular the SHT20 sensor as recited by Li because it is merely combining prior art elements (the sensors and analysis system of Ramirez in view of Benson with the particular sensor model as recited by Li) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 14 are allowed over the prior art. The additional claims each contain specific additional elements which were not found in the art.
The claims 4, 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. For claim 9 this is done in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018021409 see [0029], [0036]
/James Moss/Examiner, Art Unit 3792