DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains at least one phrase which can be implied, i.e., “The disclosure provides”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 8, “the confirmation step” should be changed to --a confirmation step--.
In claim 1, line 11, “a confirmation step” should be changed to --the confirmation step--.
In claim 3, line 7, --the-- should be inserted before “position information”.
In claim 8, line 7, --the-- should be inserted before “position information”.
In claim 11, line 1, “the system” should be changed to --a system--.
In claim 11, line 3, “a battery swap station” should be changed to --the battery swap station--.
In claim 13, line 7, --the-- should be inserted before “position information”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a monitoring unit”, “a determining unit” and “a confirmation unit” in claims 6 and 11; and “a guiding unit” in claims 7 and 12.
Claim limitation “monitoring apparatus” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “apparatus” coupled with functional language “the monitoring apparatus monitors an external area of the battery swap station” or “capable of performing a monitoring step to monitor an external area of the battery swap station” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-14 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: ¶ 0015: a lidar sensor and/or an image sensor.
Claim limitation “determining step” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “step” coupled with functional language “determining, based on a monitoring result of the monitoring step, whether the vehicle is parked into the parking position, wherein if the vehicle is parked into the parking position, the confirmation step is further performed, or if the vehicle is not parked into the parking position, the monitoring step continues to be performed” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-5 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: ¶ 0027: computer program instructions may be loaded onto the computer or the further programmable data processor, so that a series of operations and steps are performed on the computer or the further programmable processor, to generate a computer- implemented process. As such, the instructions executed on the computer or the further programmable data processor provide steps for implementing the functions or operations specified in one or more blocks in the flowcharts and/or block diagrams.
Claim limitation “confirmation step” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “step” coupled with functional language “outputting a message indicating that the vehicle has been parked into the parking position, and receiving a confirmation message from the vehicle, wherein if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle has been parked in place, it indicates that the vehicle is completely parked in place into the parking position, or if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle is not parked in place, the monitoring step is further performed” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-5 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: ¶ 0027: computer program instructions may be loaded onto the computer or the further programmable data processor, so that a series of operations and steps are performed on the computer or the further programmable processor, to generate a computer- implemented process. As such, the instructions executed on the computer or the further programmable data processor provide steps for implementing the functions or operations specified in one or more blocks in the flowcharts and/or block diagrams.
Claim limitation “guiding step” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “step” coupled with functional language “receiving from the vehicle a message about a driving mode of the vehicle, and performing different parking assistance actions based on types of the driving mode” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 2-3 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: ¶ 0027: computer program instructions may be loaded onto the computer or the further programmable data processor, so that a series of operations and steps are performed on the computer or the further programmable processor, to generate a computer- implemented process. As such, the instructions executed on the computer or the further programmable data processor provide steps for implementing the functions or operations specified in one or more blocks in the flowcharts and/or block diagrams.
Claim limitation “determining unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to be capable of determining, based on a monitoring result of the monitoring unit, whether the vehicle is parked into the parking position” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 6-15 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: ¶ 0027: computer program instructions may be loaded onto the computer or the further programmable data processor, so that a series of operations and steps are performed on the computer or the further programmable processor, to generate a computer- implemented process. As such, the instructions executed on the computer or the further programmable data processor provide steps for implementing the functions or operations specified in one or more blocks in the flowcharts and/or block diagrams.
Claim limitation “confirmation unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to: when the determining unit determines that the vehicle is parked into the parking position, output a message indicating that the vehicle has been parked into the parking position, and receive a confirmation message from the vehicle” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 6-15 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: ¶ 0027: computer program instructions may be loaded onto the computer or the further programmable data processor, so that a series of operations and steps are performed on the computer or the further programmable processor, to generate a computer- implemented process. As such, the instructions executed on the computer or the further programmable data processor provide steps for implementing the functions or operations specified in one or more blocks in the flowcharts and/or block diagrams.
Claim limitation “guiding unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to: receive from the vehicle a message about a driving mode of the vehicle, and perform different parking assistance actions based on types of the driving mode” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 7-8 and 12-13 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: ¶ 0027: computer program instructions may be loaded onto the computer or the further programmable data processor, so that a series of operations and steps are performed on the computer or the further programmable processor, to generate a computer- implemented process. As such, the instructions executed on the computer or the further programmable data processor provide steps for implementing the functions or operations specified in one or more blocks in the flowcharts and/or block diagrams.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK (CA2781348A1) in view of YOON (US 2020/0198489).
Regarding claim 1, PARK discloses a method for assisting in parking a vehicle (100, Figs. 1 & 7) into a parking position (as shown in Fig. 7; page 24, lines 5-8: When it is confirmed that the vehicle has made a reservation, an entry grant signal is transmitted to the electric vehicle 100 (S102), so that the electric vehicle 100 enters into the exchange position), wherein the parking position is located outside a battery swap station (200, Figs. 1 & 7; page 10, lines 18-21: battery storage unit 210 is installed in the battery charging station 200 to store fully-charged and depleted batteries used during battery exchange operations), and the method comprises:
a monitoring step, wherein the monitoring step comprises: starting a monitoring apparatus disposed on the battery swap station (page 23, lines 21-30: electric vehicle 100, when entering the battery charging station 200, transmits identification information to the battery charging station 200 (S100). The electric vehicle 100 can transmit reservation information together with the identification information. Transmission of the identification information and reservation information from the electric vehicle 100 to the battery charging station 200 can be performed at the request of the battery charging station 200 when the electric vehicle 100 enters it; a monitoring apparatus is implied in order to allow the battery charging station 200 to determine when the vehicle 100 enters), so that the monitoring apparatus monitors an external area of the battery swap station (page 23, lines 21-30: see above);
a determining step, wherein the determining step comprises: determining, based on a monitoring result of the monitoring step, whether the vehicle is parked into the parking position, wherein if the vehicle is parked into the parking position, the confirmation step is further performed (page 24, lines 12-15: When the battery charging station 200 confirms that the electric vehicle 100 is in the right entry position, it transmits a conformation signal to the electric vehicle 100 (S104)), or if the vehicle is not parked into the parking position, the monitoring step continues to be performed (page 24, lines 12-15: see above; this is implied, e.g., if the vehicle is not in the “right entry position”, the station 200 will continue to monitor the vehicle); and
a confirmation step, wherein the confirmation step comprises: outputting a message indicating that the vehicle has been parked into the parking position (page 24, lines 12-15: When the battery charging station 200 confirms that the electric vehicle 100 is in the right entry position, it transmits a conformation signal to the electric vehicle 100 (S104)), and receiving a confirmation message from the vehicle, wherein if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle has been parked in place, it indicates that the vehicle is completely parked in place into the parking position (page 24, lines 15-19: The control unit 130 of the electric vehicle 100 commands the battery mounting module 150, on which a battery is mounted, to open the door 151 and sends a resulting confirmation signal to the battery charging station 200).
PARK fails to disclose if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle is not parked in place, the monitoring step is further performed.
YOON discloses if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle is not parked in place, the monitoring step is further performed (¶ 0061: the infrastructure monitors the operating state of the vehicle that is performing autonomous parking after reaching the target position and transmits an instruction on the basis of the results of the monitoring. The vehicle measures its position on its own. The vehicle transmits the measured position to the infrastructure. The error of the position measured by the vehicle needs to be within a predetermined error range. The predetermined error range is determined by the infrastructure; ¶ 0096: vehicle autonomously drives to the first target position, performs parking in the first target position, and undergoes wireless charging in the first target position; the message sent by the vehicle may include a measured position, and the measured position may “indicate that the vehicle is not parked in place” when it is not within a predetermined error range, wherein further monitoring is implied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the confirmation message indicating the vehicle is not parked in place of YOON into the method for assisting in parking of PARK to produce an expected result of a method for assisting in parking including a confirmation message indicating the vehicle is not parked in place. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the accuracy or reliability of the vehicle position sensing, or to provide vehicle position sensing redundancy.
Regarding claim 4, PARK discloses the confirmation step further comprises: if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle has been parked in place, informing the battery swap station to prepare for a battery swap (page 24, lines 20-29).
Regarding claim 6, PARK discloses a system for assisting in parking a vehicle (100, Figs. 1 & 7) into a parking position (as shown in Fig. 7; page 24, lines 5-8: When it is confirmed that the vehicle has made a reservation, an entry grant signal is transmitted to the electric vehicle 100 (S102), so that the electric vehicle 100 enters into the exchange position), wherein the parking position is located outside a battery swap station (200, Figs. 1 & 7; page 10, lines 18-21: battery storage unit 210 is installed in the battery charging station 200 to store fully-charged and depleted batteries used during battery exchange operations), and the system comprises:
a monitoring unit (at least partially within 270, Fig. 7; page 23, lines 9-35: charging station control unit 270 is adapted to control the battery exchange robot 250 and the protection guide 260 so as to exchange batteries, and can be implemented by a processor, a controller, and a control code…The charging station control unit 270 checks the identification information or the reservation information from the electric vehicle 100), wherein the monitoring unit comprises a monitoring apparatus, and the monitoring apparatus is disposed on the battery swap station (page 23, lines 21-30: electric vehicle 100, when entering the battery charging station 200, transmits identification information to the battery charging station 200 (S100). The electric vehicle 100 can transmit reservation information together with the identification information. Transmission of the identification information and reservation information from the electric vehicle 100 to the battery charging station 200 can be performed at the request of the battery charging station 200 when the electric vehicle 100 enters it; a monitoring apparatus is implied in order to allow the battery charging station 200 to determine when the vehicle 100 enters), so that the monitoring unit is capable of performing a monitoring step to monitor an external area of the battery swap station (page 23, lines 21-30: see above);
a determining unit (located within 270, Fig. 7), wherein the determining unit is communicatively connected to the monitoring unit (page 23, lines 9-35: see above; the “monitoring unit” and “determining unit” are part of 270), and the determining unit is configured to be capable of determining, based on a monitoring result of the monitoring unit, whether the vehicle is parked into the parking position (page 24, lines 12-15: When the battery charging station 200 confirms that the electric vehicle 100 is in the right entry position, it transmits a conformation signal to the electric vehicle 100 (S104)); and
a confirmation unit (located within 270, Fig. 7; page 24, lines 20-21: charging station control unit 270 receives the confirmation signal), wherein the confirmation unit is communicatively connected to the determining unit and the monitoring unit (page 23, lines 9-35 & page 24, lines 20-21: see above; the “monitoring unit”, “determining unit”, and “confirmation unit” are part of 270), and the confirmation unit is configured to: when the determining unit determines that the vehicle is parked into the parking position, output a message indicating that the vehicle has been parked into the parking position (page 24, lines 12-15: When the battery charging station 200 confirms that the electric vehicle 100 is in the right entry position, it transmits a conformation signal to the electric vehicle 100 (S104)), and receive a confirmation message from the vehicle, wherein if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle has been parked in place, it indicates that the vehicle is completely parked in place into the parking position (page 24, lines 15-21: The control unit 130 of the electric vehicle 100 commands the battery mounting module 150, on which a battery is mounted, to open the door 151 and sends a resulting confirmation signal to the battery charging station 200…charging station control unit 270 receives the confirmation signal).
PARK fails to disclose if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle is not parked in place, the monitoring unit is informed to further perform the monitoring step.
YOON discloses if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle is not parked in place, the monitoring unit (¶ 0033: infrastructure 100 refers to an apparatus, facility or system for operating, managing, and controlling the automated valet parking system. For example, the infrastructure 100 may be a parking facility. In some forms of the present disclosure, the infrastructure 100 includes sensors, communication devices, alarm devices, display devices, and a server that controls those devices and sensors. Alternatively, in some cases, the term “infrastructure” may refer to a control center that controls a parking lot gate, vehicles in a parking lot, etc; ¶ 0034: infrastructure 100 includes a communication circuit for performing communication and a processor for performing computation. In some forms of the present disclosure, the infrastructure 100 may further include sensors for detecting nearby objects and surrounding parameters. In the present disclosure, determinations and computations performed by the infrastructure 100 are performed by the processor; the “monitoring unit” is at least partially located in the disclosed processor) is informed to further perform the monitoring step (¶ 0061: the infrastructure monitors the operating state of the vehicle that is performing autonomous parking after reaching the target position and transmits an instruction on the basis of the results of the monitoring. The vehicle measures its position on its own. The vehicle transmits the measured position to the infrastructure. The error of the position measured by the vehicle needs to be within a predetermined error range. The predetermined error range is determined by the infrastructure; ¶ 0096: vehicle autonomously drives to the first target position, performs parking in the first target position, and undergoes wireless charging in the first target position; the message sent by the vehicle may include a measured position, and the measured position may “indicate that the vehicle is not parked in place” when it is not within a predetermined error range, wherein further monitoring is implied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the confirmation message indicating the vehicle is not parked in place of YOON into the system for assisting in parking of PARK to produce an expected result of a system for assisting in parking including a confirmation message indicating the vehicle is not parked in place. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the accuracy or reliability of the vehicle position sensing, or to provide vehicle position sensing redundancy.
Regarding claim 9, PARK discloses the determining unit is further configured to: if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle has been parked in place, inform the battery swap station to prepare for a battery swap (page 24, lines 20-29).
Regarding claim 11, PARK discloses a battery swap station (200, Figs. 1 & 7; page 10, lines 18-21: battery storage unit 210 is installed in the battery charging station 200 to store fully-charged and depleted batteries used during battery exchange operations), wherein the battery swap station comprises the system for assisting in parking a vehicle (100, Figs. 1 & 7) into a parking position (as shown in Fig. 7; page 24, lines 5-8: When it is confirmed that the vehicle has made a reservation, an entry grant signal is transmitted to the electric vehicle 100 (S102), so that the electric vehicle 100 enters into the exchange position), wherein the parking position is located outside a battery swap station (200, Figs. 1 & 7; page 10, lines 18-21: battery storage unit 210 is installed in the battery charging station 200 to store fully-charged and depleted batteries used during battery exchange operations), and the system comprises:
a monitoring unit (at least partially within 270, Fig. 7; page 23, lines 9-35: charging station control unit 270 is adapted to control the battery exchange robot 250 and the protection guide 260 so as to exchange batteries, and can be implemented by a processor, a controller, and a control code…The charging station control unit 270 checks the identification information or the reservation information from the electric vehicle 100), wherein the monitoring unit comprises a monitoring apparatus, and the monitoring apparatus is disposed on the battery swap station (page 23, lines 21-30: electric vehicle 100, when entering the battery charging station 200, transmits identification information to the battery charging station 200 (S100). The electric vehicle 100 can transmit reservation information together with the identification information. Transmission of the identification information and reservation information from the electric vehicle 100 to the battery charging station 200 can be performed at the request of the battery charging station 200 when the electric vehicle 100 enters it; a monitoring apparatus is implied in order to allow the battery charging station 200 to determine when the vehicle 100 enters), so that the monitoring unit is capable of performing a monitoring step to monitor an external area of the battery swap station (page 23, lines 21-30: see above);
a determining unit (located within 270, Fig. 7), wherein the determining unit is communicatively connected to the monitoring unit (page 23, lines 9-35: see above; the “monitoring unit” and “determining unit” are part of 270), and the determining unit is configured to be capable of determining, based on a monitoring result of the monitoring unit, whether the vehicle is parked into the parking position (page 24, lines 12-15: When the battery charging station 200 confirms that the electric vehicle 100 is in the right entry position, it transmits a conformation signal to the electric vehicle 100 (S104)); and
a confirmation unit (located within 270, Fig. 7; page 24, lines 20-21: charging station control unit 270 receives the confirmation signal), wherein the confirmation unit is communicatively connected to the determining unit and the monitoring unit (page 23, lines 9-35 & page 24, lines 20-21: see above; the “monitoring unit”, “determining unit”, and “confirmation unit” are part of 270), and the confirmation unit is configured to: when the determining unit determines that the vehicle is parked into the parking position, output a message indicating that the vehicle has been parked into the parking position (page 24, lines 12-15: When the battery charging station 200 confirms that the electric vehicle 100 is in the right entry position, it transmits a conformation signal to the electric vehicle 100 (S104)), and receive a confirmation message from the vehicle, wherein if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle has been parked in place, it indicates that the vehicle is completely parked in place into the parking position (page 24, lines 15-21: The control unit 130 of the electric vehicle 100 commands the battery mounting module 150, on which a battery is mounted, to open the door 151 and sends a resulting confirmation signal to the battery charging station 200…charging station control unit 270 receives the confirmation signal).
PARK fails to disclose if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle is not parked in place, the monitoring unit is informed to further perform the monitoring step.
YOON discloses if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle is not parked in place, the monitoring unit (¶ 0033: infrastructure 100 refers to an apparatus, facility or system for operating, managing, and controlling the automated valet parking system. For example, the infrastructure 100 may be a parking facility. In some forms of the present disclosure, the infrastructure 100 includes sensors, communication devices, alarm devices, display devices, and a server that controls those devices and sensors. Alternatively, in some cases, the term “infrastructure” may refer to a control center that controls a parking lot gate, vehicles in a parking lot, etc; ¶ 0034: infrastructure 100 includes a communication circuit for performing communication and a processor for performing computation. In some forms of the present disclosure, the infrastructure 100 may further include sensors for detecting nearby objects and surrounding parameters. In the present disclosure, determinations and computations performed by the infrastructure 100 are performed by the processor; the “monitoring unit” is at least partially located in the disclosed processor) is informed to further perform the monitoring step (¶ 0061: the infrastructure monitors the operating state of the vehicle that is performing autonomous parking after reaching the target position and transmits an instruction on the basis of the results of the monitoring. The vehicle measures its position on its own. The vehicle transmits the measured position to the infrastructure. The error of the position measured by the vehicle needs to be within a predetermined error range. The predetermined error range is determined by the infrastructure; ¶ 0096: vehicle autonomously drives to the first target position, performs parking in the first target position, and undergoes wireless charging in the first target position; the message sent by the vehicle may include a measured position, and the measured position may “indicate that the vehicle is not parked in place” when it is not within a predetermined error range, wherein further monitoring is implied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the confirmation message indicating the vehicle is not parked in place of YOON into the system for assisting in parking of PARK to produce an expected result of a system for assisting in parking including a confirmation message indicating the vehicle is not parked in place. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the accuracy or reliability of the vehicle position sensing, or to provide vehicle position sensing redundancy.
Regarding claim 14, PARK discloses the determining unit is further configured to: if the confirmation message indicates that the vehicle has been parked in place, inform the battery swap station to prepare for a battery swap (page 24, lines 20-29).
Claim(s) 2-3, 7-8, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of YOON as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of SARKAR (US 2018/0072175).
Regarding claim 2, PARK as modified by YOON teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the method further comprises: a guiding step, wherein the guiding step comprises: receiving from the vehicle a message about a driving mode of the vehicle, and performing different parking assistance actions based on types of the driving mode.
SARKAR discloses a guiding step, wherein the guiding step comprises: receiving from the vehicle a message about a driving mode of the vehicle, and performing different parking assistance actions based on types of the driving mode (¶ 0058, 0084, 0114, 0138).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the guiding step of SARKAR into the method for assisting in parking of PARK to produce an expected result of a method for assisting in parking including a guiding step. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 3, PARK as modified by YOON and SARKAR teaches the different parking assistance actions comprise: if the driving mode is a manual driving mode, informing a driver and a passenger in the vehicle of position information of the parking position and position information of the vehicle; or if the driving mode is an autonomous driving mode, when the monitoring apparatus monitors the vehicle, calculating an offset between a current position of the vehicle and the parking position, and informing the vehicle of calculated offset information and position information of the vehicle (SARKAR, ¶ 0058, 0084, 0114, 0138).
Regarding claim 7, PARK as modified by YOON teaches the system as applied to claim 6, but PARK fails to disclose the system further comprises: a guiding unit, wherein the guiding unit is configured to: receive from the vehicle a message about a driving mode of the vehicle, and perform different parking assistance actions based on types of the driving mode.
SARKAR discloses a guiding unit, wherein the guiding unit is configured to: receive from the vehicle a message about a driving mode of the vehicle, and perform different parking assistance actions based on types of the driving mode (¶ 0058, 0084, 0114, 0138).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the guiding unit of SARKAR into the system for assisting in parking of PARK to produce an expected result of a system for assisting in parking including a guiding unit. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 8, PARK as modified by YOON and SARKAR teaches the different parking assistance actions comprise: if the driving mode is a manual driving mode, informing a driver and a passenger in the vehicle of position information of the parking position and position information of the vehicle; or if the driving mode is an autonomous driving mode, when the monitoring apparatus monitors the vehicle, calculating an offset between a current position of the vehicle and the parking position, and informing the vehicle of calculated offset information and position information of the vehicle (SARKAR, ¶ 0058, 0084, 0114, 0138).
Regarding claim 12, PARK as modified by YOON teaches the battery swap station as applied to claim 11, but PARK fails to disclose the system further comprises: a guiding unit, wherein the guiding unit is configured to: receive from the vehicle a message about a driving mode of the vehicle, and perform different parking assistance actions based on types of the driving mode.
SARKAR discloses a guiding unit, wherein the guiding unit is configured to: receive from the vehicle a message about a driving mode of the vehicle, and perform different parking assistance actions based on types of the driving mode (¶ 0058, 0084, 0114, 0138).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the guiding unit of SARKAR into the battery swap station of PARK to produce an expected result of a battery swap station including a guiding unit. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 13, PARK as modified by YOON and SARKAR teaches the different parking assistance actions comprise: if the driving mode is a manual driving mode, informing a driver and a passenger in the vehicle of position information of the parking position and position information of the vehicle; or if the driving mode is an autonomous driving mode, when the monitoring apparatus monitors the vehicle, calculating an offset between a current position of the vehicle and the parking position, and informing the vehicle of calculated offset information and position information of the vehicle (SARKAR, ¶ 0058, 0084, 0114, 0138).
Claim(s) 5, 10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of YOON as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of PROKHOROV (US 2017/0001527).
Regarding claim 5, PARK as modified by YOON teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but PARK fails to disclose the monitoring apparatus comprises a lidar sensor and/or an image sensor.
PROKHOROV discloses the monitoring apparatus comprises an image sensor (¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the image sensor of PROKHOROV into the method for assisting in parking of PARK to produce an expected result of a method for assisting in parking including an image sensor. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the known characteristics of image sensors, such as low costs and/or richer data.
Regarding claim 10, PARK as modified by YOON teaches the system as applied to claim 6, but PARK fails to disclose the monitoring apparatus comprises a lidar sensor and/or an image sensor.
PROKHOROV discloses the monitoring apparatus comprises an image sensor (¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the image sensor of PROKHOROV into the system for assisting in parking of PARK to produce an expected result of a system for assisting in parking including an image sensor. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the known characteristics of image sensors, such as low costs and/or richer data.
Regarding claim 15, PARK as modified by YOON teaches the battery swap station as applied to claim 11, but PARK fails to disclose the monitoring apparatus comprises a lidar sensor and/or an image sensor.
PROKHOROV discloses the monitoring apparatus comprises an image sensor (¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the image sensor of PROKHOROV into the battery swap station of PARK to produce an expected result of a battery swap station including an image sensor. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the known characteristics of image sensors, such as low costs and/or richer data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 1/30/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859