DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 7-18 and 21-27 are pending.
Claims 15, 17, 18 and 21-27 have been withdrawn.
Claims 19 and 20 have been cancelled.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 28 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that the Office has not shown Bache or Worm, alone or in combination, to disclose claim 1 to recite, in part, "a mouthpiece contacting the wall at a second end of the outer housing,” the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The feature is taught by a combination of Bache and Worm, specifically modified Bache teaches the mouthpiece (Worm, portion with hole 381) directly touches the adapter (Worm, 302) which is an extension of the wall (Worm, 305) (Worm, Fig. 4), thus Worm teaches a mouthpiece contacting the wall at a second end of the outer housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 12-14, 16 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180368474 (Bache hereinafter) in view of US 20130037041 (Worm hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Bache teaches an aerosol generating device (Fig. 1B) comprising: a flavor carrier (210, Fig. 2D) including,
an outer housing (208), the outer housing including a wall extending in a longitudinal direction, the outer housing defining a plurality of outer housing perforations (215) extending from an inner surface of the wall to an outer surface of the wall,
an inner housing (206) extending in the longitudinal direction and defining a plurality of inner housing perforations (213), the inner housing coaxial with the outer housing (Fig. 2D), the outer housing and the inner housing defining a flavor chamber therebetween (“inner annular space”, 214), the flavor chamber configured to contain a flavoring material (“pellets”, 218, [0236]).
Bache teaches an assembly (149) that is configured to establish a seal with the outer housing (208) of the flavor carrier (180) such that the seal restricts a flow pathway of the generated vapor generated by vapor generator (144) to being directed through the flavor carrier (180), resulting in generated vapor being directed through the flavor carrier (180) (Figs. 1B and 2D, [0093]).
Bache does not expressly teach that the assembly (149) includes an adapter at a first end of the outer housing, the adapter surrounding the outer housing, the adapter contacting the outer surface of the wall, such that the adapter is on an exterior surface of the flavor carrier. Bache does not expressly teach a mouthpiece contacting the wall at a second end of the outer housing.
Worm teaches an aerosol generating device (Fig. 1) comprising a flavor carrier wherein the flavor carrier has an outer housing (305, see annotated Fig. 4 below) and the adapter in Worm (302, see annotated Fig. 4 below) surrounds the outer housing (305), the adapter contacting the outer surface of the wall such that the adapter is on an exterior surface of the flavor carrier (see annotated Fig. 4 below). Worm teaches the mouthpiece (portion with hole 381) directly touches the adapter (302) which is an extension of the wall (305) (Fig. 4), thus Worm teaches a mouthpiece contacting the wall at a second end of the outer housing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included an adapter at the first end of the outer housing, as suggested by Worm, because it is beneficial for the wall of the flavor carrier to be reinforced within the body of the device (Worm, [0055]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Bache teaches the capsule includes a plant material, specifically tobacco ([0190]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bache teaches that the assembly, which includes an adapter, defines a channel therein, the channel in fluid communication with an air passage defined by the inner housing (Bache, [0093]).
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 10, modified Bache does not expressly teach a particular outer diameter of the outer housing, outer diameter of the inner housing, or the thickness of the outer housing and the inner housing. However, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims [is] a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device [is] not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the outer diameter of the outer housing, outer diameter of the inner housing, and the thickness of the outer housing and the inner housing of modified Bache within the claimed range with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, modified Bache teaches that the flavoring material includes a flavor bead (“pellet”, 218, [0218]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, modified Bache teaches that the plurality of outer housing perforations (215) are arranged in at least two columns (perforations on left and right side of the flavor housing) and that the plurality of inner housing perforations (213) are arranged in at least at least two columns (perforations on left and right side of the flavor housing) (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 14, modified Bache teaches a capsule (“pre-vapor formulation reservoir”, 146); and a heating element (148) configured to heat the capsule ([0079]). Modified Bache teaches that an electrode (154-3) is directly contacting the capsule (146) (Fig. 1B) such that the electrode is electrically connected to the capsule ([0112] and [0115]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Bache teaches that the plurality of outer housing perforations (215) is not aligned with the plurality of inner housing perforations (213) (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 28, modified Bache teaches that the adapter is configured to secure the flavor carrier to an aerosol-generating device (Worm, [0055]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bache in view of Worm as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2019012151 (Florack hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, modified Bache does not expressly state that the outer housing and inner housing are formed of one or more materials including a paper, a fabric, a metal, a polymer, a sub-combination thereof, or a combination thereof.
Florack teaches an aerosol-generating system comprising a cartridge assembly and an aerosol-generating device (abstract). Florack teaches that the cartridge assembly may comprise a cartridge holder, wherein at least a portion of the cartridge is positioned within the cartridge holder, and wherein at least a portion of the cartridge holder is positioned within the cartridge assembly outer housing (page 3, lines 5-7). Florack teaches that the cartridge, the cartridge assembly outer housing, and the cartridge holder may be formed from the same material, wherein the material is polymer or metal, specifically aluminum (page 9, lines 4-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have made the entire flavor carrier, or cartridge, of modified Bache, including the outer housing and inner housing of Bache, out of a polymer or aluminum, as taught by Florack, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results because modified Bache and Florack both have cartridges for holding flavorants within aerosol-generating, smoking devices, wherein the cartridges modify the flavor of the aerosol before the aerosol is inhaled by the user, and polymer and aluminum as taught by Florack, would have been able to withstand the operational conditions of these components.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755