This office action is in response to the reply filed on 9/9/2025, wherein claims 1, 6 and 7 were amended; claim 5 was canceled; and claims 11-14 were added. Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the peel-away substrate [claim 12] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mills (US 2010/0132734).
Regarding claim 12, Mills discloses a kit (See Figs. 1-2), capable of being disposed, for applying makeup for a specific scenario event, the kit comprising: a container (at 14 in Fig. 2) having a plurality of walls (four sidewalls extending upward from the bottom wall) defining a compartment accessible by way of an opening (See rectangular opening in Fig. 2 that element 32 is accommodated) defined by the plurality of walls; a lid (at 36) pivotably connected to one of the walls and moveable between an open condition and a closed condition preventing access to the compartment by way of the opening; a plurality of sub-compartments (at 16 in Fig. 2) within the container, each sub-compartment containing a predetermined cosmetic product configured for single-use application associated with the specific scenario event; and a peel-away substrate (at 32 in Fig. 1, shown removed in Fig. 2) sealing off the sub-compartments.
Regarding claim 14, Mills discloses the container includes an integrated mirror (at 38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (US 2010/0132734) as applied to claim 12 above, in view of Rapp et al. (US 2022/0142386). As described above, Mills discloses the claimed invention except for the indicia. However, Rapp teaches a container comprising an indicia area providing an indicium of the specific scenario event (instructions on use/assembly of the container), the indicia area comprising a hyperlink to a video tutorial associated with the specific scenario event, for the purpose of providing the user with instructions on the use of the container (See [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the container of Mills with indicia as taught by Rapp in order to provide the user with instructions on the use of the makeup container. Regarding the specific location of the indicia, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the indicia on any location on the container such as on the outer or inner surface of the lid in order to provide information to the user in a convenient location. The indicia would perform the same function regardless of its location on the kit. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (US 2010/0132734) in view of Rapp et al. (US 2022/0142386).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Mills discloses a kit (See Figs. 1-2) for applying makeup for a specific scenario event, the kit comprising: a container (at 14 in Fig. 2) having a plurality of walls (four sidewalls extending upward from the bottom wall) defining a compartment accessible by way of an opening (See rectangular opening in Fig. 2 that element 32 is accommodated) defined by said plurality of walls; a lid (at 36) pivotably connected to one of the plurality of walls so as to be moveable between an open condition and a closed condition preventing access to the compartment by way of the opening. Mills discloses the claimed invention except for the indicia. However, Rapp teaches a container comprising an indicia area providing an indicium of the specific scenario event (instructions on use/assembly of the container), the indicia area comprising a hyperlink to a video tutorial associated with the specific scenario event, for the purpose of providing the user with instructions on the use of the container (See [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the container of Mills with indicia as taught by Rapp in order to provide the user with instructions on the use of the makeup container. Regarding the specific location of the indicia, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the indicia on any location on the container such as on the outer or inner surface of the lid in order to provide information to the user in a convenient location. The indicia would perform the same function regardless of its location on the kit. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Mills discloses a plurality of makeup components associated with the specific scenario event, wherein the plurality of makeup components is housed in the compartment.
Regarding claim 3, Mills discloses a reflective surface (at 38) along an inner surface of the lid.
Regarding claim 6, Mills discloses the compartment is divided into a plurality of sub-compartments (20,22,24, etc.) by way of divider walls (walls between makeup compartments 20,22,24, etc.).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (US 2010/0132734) in view of Rapp et al. (US 2022/0142386) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yi-Hung (US 2004/0129599).
Regarding claims 7-9, Mills-Rapp discloses the claimed invention except for the specific contents of the kit. However, Yi-Hung teaches it is well known in the art to provide compartments of a makeup case with makeup components such as pencils or brushes ([0019]) in pencil and brush blocks (at 20 in Fig. 5) having pencil and brush slots (at 26” in Fig. 5) for the purpose of providing the user with implements for applying makeup. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sub compartments of Mills-Rapp with makeup components in blocks as taught by Yi-Hung in order to apply desired makeup.
Regarding claim 10, Mills discloses the lid provides a lift slot (See Fig. 1) along an edge of the lid opposite a pivotable connection.
Regarding claim 11, Mills discloses a set of instructions (at 40) housed in the container, wherein the instructions demonstrating application of the plurality of makeup components contained within the plurality of sub-compartments to effectuate a full face of makeup associated with the specific scenario content.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacelli, Jr. (US 5,092,354) in view of Rapp et al. (US 2022/0142386).
Regarding claim 1, Pacelli discloses a kit (See Fig. 1) for applying makeup for a specific scenario event, the kit comprising: a container (at 10) having a plurality of walls (four upward extending walls of 10) defining a compartment accessible by way of an opening defined by said plurality of walls; a lid (at 12) pivotably connected (at 18) to one of the plurality of walls so as to be moveable between an open condition and a closed condition preventing access to the compartment by way of the opening; and wherein the lid has an outer surface. Pacelli discloses the claimed invention except for the outer surface of the lid having an indicia area providing an indicium of the specific scenario event, wherein the indicia area provides a hyperlink to a video tutorial associated with the specific scenario event. However, Rapp teaches a container comprising an indicia area providing an indicium of the specific scenario event (instructions on use/assembly of the container), the indicia area comprising a hyperlink to a video tutorial associated with the specific scenario event, for the purpose of providing the user with instructions on the use of the container (See [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the container of Pacelli with indicia as taught by Rapp in order to provide the user with instructions on the use of the makeup container. Regarding the specific location of the indicia, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the indicia on any location on the container such as on the outer or inner surface of the lid in order to provide information to the user in a convenient location. The indicia would perform the same function regardless of its location on the kit. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 2-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacelli, Jr. (US 5,092,354) in view of Rapp et al. (US 2022/0142386) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yi-Hung (US 2004/0129599).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 7-9, Pacelli-Rapp discloses the claimed invention except for the specific contents of the kit and the mirror. However, Yi-Hung teaches it is well known in the art to provide the inner surface of the lid with a reflective surface (mirror at 122) and compartments of a makeup case with makeup components such as pencils or brushes ([0019]) in pencil and brush blocks (at 20 in Fig. 5) having pencil and brush slots (at 26” in Fig. 5) for the purpose of providing the user with implements for applying makeup. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sub compartments (40) of Pacelli-Rapp with makeup components in blocks as taught by Yi-Hung in order to apply desired makeup.
Regarding claim 4, Pacelli-Rapp-Yi-Hung discloses the claimed invention except for the specific location of the indicia. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the indicia on the outer or inner surface of the lid in order to provide information to the user. The indicia would perform the same function regardless of its location on the kit. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 6, Pacelli discloses the compartment is divided into a plurality of sub compartments (at 40/40/40 in Fig. 1) by way of divider walls (walls between compartments 40).
Regarding claim 10, Pacelli discloses the lid provides a lift slot (slot between 14 and 12 in Fig. 1) along an edge of the lid opposite a pivotable connection.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacelli, Jr. (US 5,092,354) in view of Rapp et al. (US 2022/0142386) and Yi-Hung (US 2004/0129599) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Mills (US 2010/0132734). As described above, Pacelli-Rapp-Yi-Hung discloses the claimed invention except for the instructions. However, Mills teaches it is well known in the art for a cosmetics kit to include a set of instructions (at 40) housed in the container for the purpose of providing the user with instructions on using the kit contents (See [0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the kit of Pacelli-Rapp-Yi-Hung with a set of instructions as taught by Mills in order to assist the user in using the contents of the kit.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735