DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 6 remains withdrawn.
Examiner Note
As best understood by the Examiner, the first and second “detector types” recited in claim 1 refer to the first and second movable electrode groups cooperating with respective sets of fixed electrodes so as to provide different capacitive responses to a deflection of the proof mass for the purpose of differential detection. See figs. 3-4 and ¶48-49.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liukku et al. (US 20180321275 A1, hereinafter Liukku) in view of Chien (US 20130333471 A1), Lin et al. (US 20090031809 A1, hereinafter Lin) and Seeger et al. (US 20140266170 A1, hereinafter Seeger).
As to claim 1, Liukku teaches an inertial sensor (fig. 1; the Examiner relies on the embodiment in ¶48 in which only one of inspection electrodes 101-104 is present) comprising:
a base body (lower side portion of a package that encapsulates the sensor element, described below, to form a sealed space filled with inert gas - ¶38);
a sensor element (the structure of fig. 1) provided at the base body; and
a body (having inner plane 211 in fig. 2) covering the sensor element, wherein
the sensor element includes
an anchor 182 fixed to the base body,
a movable body (comprising at least movable body elements 13-15) swingable about a first axis RRA (¶34), which is horizontal to the base body (the first axis is capable of being aligned with the horizon, in which case it is horizontal to the base body), as a swing axis,
a first rotation spring 191 and a second rotation spring 193 coupling the anchor and the movable body,
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (161a)][AltContent: textbox (171a)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (131b)][AltContent: textbox (131a)]
a movable comb electrode group 131a-b (fig. 1 above) provided at the movable body including a first movable electrode group 131a associated with a first type detector and a second movable electrode group 131b associated with a second type detector (¶24 teaches “The rotor comprises one or more rotor electrodes and the one or more stators comprises one or more stator electrodes, the electrodes being configured for differential capacitive measurements.” and ¶35 teaches “When the accelerometer undergoes accelerating motion in a vertical direction, the rotor can rotate about the transversal rotor rotation axis and this movement can be detected with a differential capacitive measurement conducted between the rotor and stator electrodes described above.”; ¶28-29 discuss the electrodes 131, 161, 171 discussed in ¶35; accordingly, in response to acceleration, electrodes 131a, 171a produce a different capacitive response than electrodes 131b, 161a, meaning the first movable electrode group 131a is associated with a first type detector and the second movable electrode group 131b associated with a second type detector, as broadly recited; additionally or alternatively, “associating” is a mental process, and the first and second movable electrode groups are capable of being mentally associated with first and second type detectors, respectively, as broadly recited) provided at bilaterally symmetrical (i.e. at least substantially bilaterally symmetrical) positions with respect to a central axis LSA,
a fixed comb electrode group 161a, 171a (fig. 1 above) provided at the base body and facing the movable comb electrode group including a first fixed electrode group 171a associated with the first type detector (for substantially the same reason discussed above for the first movable electrode group) and a second fixed electrode group 161a associated with the second type detector (for substantially the same reason discussed above for the second movable electrode group) provided at bilaterally symmetrical (i.e. at least substantially bilaterally symmetrical) positions with respect to the central axis,
a first inspection electrode (the one of first inspection electrodes 101-104 that isn’t “removed” - ¶48; ¶70 teaches that the first inspection electrode is for self-testing), and
a second inspection electrode (the one of second inspection electrodes 201-204 cooperating with the first inspection electrode above - ¶46) provided at the base body or the lid body (¶46) and overlapping the first inspection electrode in the plan view (¶43).
Liukku does not teach wherein the body is a lid body, per se (there is no teaching that the body is a distinct element from the rest of the package 21, such that it can be considered a lid body),
wherein the first inspection electrode is provided between the first movable electrode group and the second movable electrode group in a plan view, and
in the plan view, the first inspection electrode is provided with a plurality of damping adjustment holes.
Chien teaches an accelerometer (title) with a lid body 204 having a circuit 205 that performs processing for outputting an acceleration value, and performs control for self-test purposes (¶28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Liukku to use a lid body with circuitry for acceleration determination and self-testing functions therein as taught by Chien so as to increase convenience (since the sensor is provided with the ability to perform its own processing for acceleration determination and self-testing) and/or to provide a compact sensor (since the circuitry for acceleration determination and self-testing is built-in) with increased functionality.
Lin teaches an accelerometer 60 (¶18) comprising plate-like electrode portions (above fixed electrodes 78, 80 - ¶28 and fig. 4) having damping adjustment holes 102, 106 (¶25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Liuuku as modified such that the plate-like electrode portion (being the first inspection electrode), in plan view, is provided with damping adjustment holes as taught by Lin to optimize damping (¶25 - Lin).
Regarding the location of the first inspection electrode in the plan view,
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (12)][AltContent: textbox (12X)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Seeger teaches a pivoting sensor structure (fig. 5; ¶40 teaches that the device of fig. 5 is analogous to the Z-accelerometer taught in fig. 1 and ¶18) comprising a self-test structure 16 (¶40-41) placed symmetrically with respect to third-bar-like portion 12X (fig. 5 above; additionally, in the plan view, the self-test structure 16 is provided centrally on the movable body with respect to the horizontal direction of fig. 5) of proof mass 12 (fig. 5 above; it is noted that a second self-test structure 502 that exerts force on the self-test structure 16 is substantially at the location of the self-test structure 16 in plan view - ¶40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Liukku as modified such that the self-test structure (corresponding with Liukku’s first inspection electrode) is located symmetrically on the third bar region (wherein the self-test structure is also provided centrally at the movable body, with respect to a horizontal direction when viewed in the plan view), as taught by Seeger, since such a modification would be a mere rearrangement of parts for the predictable result that self-testing is still successfully performed (additionally or alternatively, the self-test structure can more easily apply deflection forces on the proof mass, since it is farther from the rotation axis, which makes the proof mass more responsive to a self-testing signal; additionally, this means less energy is needed to perform self-testing).
Liukku as modified teaches wherein the first inspection electrode is provided between the first movable electrode group and the second movable electrode group in a plan view (in view of Seeger).
If Applicant argues that Liukku does not teach
wherein the first movable electrode group 131a and a second movable electrode group 131b are provided at bilaterally symmetrical positions with respect to a central axis LSA, and
wherein the first fixed electrode group 171a and a second fixed electrode group 161a are provided at bilaterally symmetrical positions with respect to the central axis,
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). In this case, there is no persuasive evidence of record that placing the first and second movable electrode groups and the first and second fixed electrode groups at bilaterally symmetrical positions with respect to the central axis would have modified the operation of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange elements of the apparatus of Liukku as modified such that the first movable electrode group and a second movable electrode group are provided at bilaterally symmetrical positions with respect to a central axis, and such that the first fixed electrode group and a second fixed electrode group are provided at bilaterally symmetrical positions with respect to the central axis, since such modifications would be mere rearrangements of parts for the predictable result that acceleration is still successfully detected.
As to claim 2, Liukku as modified teaches wherein
the movable body includes
a first bar 15 (Liukku) extending from the first rotation spring in a first direction,
a second bar 14 (Liukku) extending from the second rotation spring in the first direction and paired with the first bar, and
a third bar 13 (Liukku) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction and coupling the first bar and the second bar, and
the first inspection electrode is provided at the third bar (in view of Seeger).
As to claim 4, Liukku as modified teaches wherein
when a target axis (parallel to, and equidistant to, the first and second bars) serving as a reference in which the first bar and the second bar are line-symmetric is defined as a second axis, the first inspection electrode is line-symmetric with respect to the second axis (in view of Seeger).
As to claim 5, Liukku as modified teaches wherein
the damping adjustment holes are line-symmetric with respect to the second axis (in view of fig. 3 of Lin and fig. 5 of Seeger).
As to claim 7, Liukku as modified teaches an inertial measurement unit comprising:
the inertial sensor according to claim 1; and
a controller (comprising at least the control element in ¶71 of Liukku) configured to perform control based on a detection signal output from the inertial sensor (¶71 - Liukku).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 5 that
“Applicant contends any proper combination of Liukku, Chien, Lin, and Seeger fails to teach or suggest all features of independent claim 1. Specifically, Applicant contends that Liukku does not teach or suggest all features of claim 1, as amended. The Office Action cites FIG. 1 of Liukku for allegedly disclosing the movable comb electrode group of claim 1. Applicant contends that Liukku does not disclose that the movable comb electrode group includes a first movable electrode group associated with a first type detector and a second movable electrode group associated with a second type detector. In fact, Liukku is completely silent with regard to types of detectors, and thus, cannot possibly disclose this feature of claim 1.”
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Liukku teaches
a movable comb electrode group 131a-b (fig. 1 above) provided at the movable body including a first movable electrode group 131a associated with a first type detector and a second movable electrode group 131b associated with a second type detector (¶24 teaches “The rotor comprises one or more rotor electrodes and the one or more stators comprises one or more stator electrodes, the electrodes being configured for differential capacitive measurements.” and ¶35 teaches “When the accelerometer undergoes accelerating motion in a vertical direction, the rotor can rotate about the transversal rotor rotation axis and this movement can be detected with a differential capacitive measurement conducted between the rotor and stator electrodes described above.”; ¶28-29 discuss the electrodes 131, 161, 171 discussed in ¶35; accordingly, in response to acceleration, electrodes 131a, 171a produce a different capacitive response than electrodes 131b, 161a, meaning the first movable electrode group 131a is associated with a first type detector and the second movable electrode group 131b associated with a second type detector, as broadly recited; additionally or alternatively, “associating” is a mental process, and the first and second movable electrode groups are capable of being mentally associated with first and second type detectors, respectively, as broadly recited) provided at bilaterally symmetrical (i.e. at least substantially bilaterally symmetrical) positions with respect to a central axis LSA,
a fixed comb electrode group 161a, 171a (fig. 1 above) provided at the base body and facing the movable comb electrode group including a first fixed electrode group 171a associated with the first type detector (for substantially the same reason discussed above for the first movable electrode group) and a second fixed electrode group 161a associated with the second type detector (for substantially the same reason discussed above for the second movable electrode group) provided at bilaterally symmetrical (i.e. at least substantially bilaterally symmetrical) positions with respect to the central axis.
Applicant argues on pg. 5 that “Applicant contends that Chien, Lin, and Seeger do not remedy the shortcomings of Liukku with respect to claim 1, and that the cited references therefore do not support a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to claim 1.”
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for at least the reasons given by the Examiner above.
Applicant argues on pg. 5 that “None of the remaining references of Chien, Lin, and Seeger disclose a movable comb electrode group provided at the movable body including a first movable electrode group associated with a first type detector and a second movable electrode group associated with a second type detector provided at bilaterally symmetrical positions with respect to a central axis. As such, claim 1 should be found to define over the cited references.”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Liukku already teaches the claimed association with the detector types.
Applicant argues on pgs. 5-6 that
“Therefore, it is believed that Liukku, Chien, Lin, and Seeger are silent with regard to at least some of the aforementioned features of claim 1 and that any proper combination of Liukku, Chien, Lin, and Seeger fails to teach or suggest all features of independent claim 1.
Claims 2, 4-5, and 7 depend from independent claim 1 and are believed to be allowable over Liukku in view of Chien, Lin, and Seeger by depending from an allowable independent claim. Therefore, withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C. $103 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7 and allowance of the pending claims is respectfully requested.”
Applicants arguments are not persuasive at least for the reasons discussed above by the Examiner, and because the pending elected claims are properly rejected as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853