DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence, “A device for lowering and raising blinds relates to the technical field of blind”, is implied and also simply repeats the title. The second sentence begins with “the device includes: which is implied language as well. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limiting section comprising multiple “bumps” from claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 line 2 recites “the baffle plate”, but should recite “the baffle plates”
Claim 9 lines 6-7 recites “the usage state of the lining plate to the first usage state, and fixing the usage state of the blind at this time”. The phrase “the usage state” on line 6, as best understood, should be “a usage state”. It is also noted that “fixing the usage state of the blind at this time” should better explain which usage state it is referring to, because the blind doesn’t seem to have a usage state recited at this time. The phrase “at this time” also is not needed in the claim, and may add complications to any interpretation, and the examiner suggests removing it. It is also noted that claim 9 depends from claim 8, and if the applicant chooses to delete claim 8 because of the 112(d) rejection below, the dependency should also be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 merely recites limitations added to claim 1 line 21. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Theobald (US 2,345,481).
Regarding claim 1, Theobald teaches a device for lowering and raising a blind, comprising:
a fixing frame (10), wherein the fixing frame is used to connect with a blind body (capable of this); and
a lining plate (14 on the left in fig. 3), wherein the lining plate articulately connects with the fixing frame (see fig. 3-4);
the lining plate has a first usage state and a second usage state, in the first usage state, the blind body is rolled up, the fixing frame is inserted into a rolled part of the blind body and the lining plate is rotated relative to the fixing frame to be located at a rear of the blind and contacts with the blind body, so that the fixing frame and the lining plate are located at opposite sides of the blind body to prevent the blind body from being rolled down (functional language, Theobald is able to be used in the manner as described);
in the second usage state, the lining plate is rotated relative to the fixing frame to be located at a lateral side of the blind body, and the blind body is able to be rolled down and up (functional language, Theobald is able to be used in the manner as described), wherein the fixing frame comprises:
a fixing frame body (the structure of the fixing frame is considered the body), wherein one end of the fixing frame body articulately connects with the lining plate (14 on left in fig. 3, at least indirectly);
two baffle plates (shown as 10 and 22 in fig. 1), wherein an end of each of the baffle plates connects with the fixing frame body, another end of each of the baffle plates extends to a side direction of the fixing frame body (see figs. 1 and 3), and the two baffle plates are spaced apart by a distance, and a baffle bar (12), wherein an end of the baffle bar connects with the fixing frame body, another end of the baffle bar extends to the same side direction of the fixing frame body, and the baffle bar is set between the two baffle plates (see fig. 3) for cooperating with each of the two of the baffle plates to clip the blind body (functional language), wherein the baffle bar is provided in a staggered position with the baffle plates so that a plane in which the baffle bar is disposed and a plane in which the baffle plates are disposed are different (staggering as best shown in fig. 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Theobald teaches that the fixing frame body rotationally connects with the lining plate (figs. 3-4 shows this rotational connection).
Regarding claim 5 Theobald teaches that the lining plate is provided with a limiting section (42) for limiting a sectional structure of the blind body.
Regarding claim 8, Theobald teaches that the baffle bar is provided in a staggered position with the baffle plate (as best shown in fig. 2 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald (US 234581) in view of Haarer (US 5060710).
Regarding claim 4, although Theobald teaches that the fixing frame body rotationally connects with the lining plate, it does not explicitly teach that this is through a rivet structure.
Haarer teaches a device for a blind with a frame body (50) that rotationally connects with a plate (60) through a rivet structure (element 90 is a rivet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Theobald with teachings of Haarer so that the elements are rotationally connected through a rivet structure. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a cheap and durable way of joining elements while allowing them to be rotated relative to one another.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald (US 234581).
Regarding claim 6, Theobald teaches that the limiting section comprises a bump (see column 2 lines 45-47). Theobald doesn’t explicitly teach bumps.
The examiner notes that the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have the limiting section contain multiple bumps. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of the multiple bumps providing a stronger securement means and a backup securement means for the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6/22/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634