DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The substitute specification filed 04/06/2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: a clean copy of the substitute specification has not been supplied (in addition to the marked-up copy) see MPEP 608.01(q) and 37 CFR 1.125(c).
Examiner further notes the statement as to a lack of new matter under 37 CFR 1.125(b) is missing. Applicant page 13, recite the claims does not introduce new matter but also need to recite the mark-up specification also does not introduce new matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi do not disclose “and based on a type of subscriber that is associated with the session” in combination with other claim elements of claim 1, but upon further review Doshi (US 20220224776 A1) discloses the said limitation in paragraph 41 wherein states “subscriptions that the requestor 210 has with different cloud storage services, and/or the like.” Meaning the data is offloaded based on the user subscription with the particular that that is offloaded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 11-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 20220286895 A1) in view of Yao (US 20230055658 A1) in view of Abhishek (US 20240333618 A1) in further view of Doshi (US 20220224776 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, LEE discloses A method comprising:
establishing a session between a user equipment and a core network element (par.80, SMF) (paragraph [0079], Fig.2:210, "Referring to FIG. 2, the UE 100 may transmit a PDU session establishment request message to the AMF 102 through the RAN 101 in order to establish a PDU session in operation 210." and paragraph [0080], "In operation 212, the AMF 102 may select an SMF which is able to manage the PDU session requested by the UE 100." and paragraph [0082], "SMF1 200 may generate session management (SM) context. The SM context is a set of information for managing the requested PDU session in operation 214." (i.e., AMF establishing a session with UE and SMF.));
creating an entry of context information for the session in a cache memory of the core network element (paragraph [0081], Fig.2:214, "In operation 214, the AMF 102 may transmit a PDU session create request message to selected SMF1 200. The PDU session create request message may include at least one of a PDU session ID, S-NSSAI, a DNN, and a serving network slice-AMBR." and paragraph [0082], "SMF1 200 may generate session management (SM) context…In connection with the SM context, one SM context or a plurality of SM contexts may be allocated to one UE." and paragraph [0085], "In operation 218, SMF1 200 may transmits a PDU session create response message to the AMF 102. When the authentication performed in operation 216 is successful, the PDU session create response message may include an SM context ID." (i.e., SMF creating PDU session to send to the AMF. The cache is implied since the SMF needs to store PDU session ID, S-NSSAI, DNN to build a session context.)).
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose wherein the cache memory of the core network element imparts a first control plane latency; determining, on the core network element, an activity pattern for the session; based on the activity pattern being supportable by a second control plane latency that is longer than the first control plane latency and based on a type of subscriber that is associated with the session, off-loading the context information for the session from the cache memory of the core network element to a database that is different from the cache memory and that imparts the second control plane latency.
Yao discloses determining, on the core network element, an activity pattern (par.47, Fig.3:325, a critical session context dataset (CSCD) template) for the session (paragraph [0046], Fig.3:325, "Embodiments of the session analyzer 310 can detect establishment of a communication session to effect end-to-end connectivity for one or more user devices (e.g., UEs 105) on a communication network (e.g., any suitable data network) via participating NFs…" and paragraph [0047], "the session analyzer 310 can then analyze the detected active communication session to determine a critical session context dataset (CSCD) template 325. The CSCD template 325 can define, for each NF of the participating NFs," (i.e., Yao discloses Overwatcher Fig.3:275 that takes snapshot of network functions (NF) including activity. Par.5 discloses the summary, par.48 discloses session context data associated with any NF and therefor able to determine activity pattern for the session.)).
LEE and Yao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE to implement Overwarcher system (Yao, Fig.2:270) because it would allow LEE system to restore communication session with full end-to-end connectivity without dropping the communication session and this would help with quality of experience for the user to not have their session dropped (Yao, paragraph [0045], “…Such restoration can potentially allow the communication session to continue with full end-to-end connectivity through an updated set of participating NFs (e.g., excluding the failed NFs and including the replacement NFs), without dropping the communication session.”).
However, LEE and Yao do not disclose based on the activity pattern being supportable by a second control plane latency that is longer than the first control plane latency and based on a type of subscriber that is associated with the session, off-loading the context information for the session from the cache memory of the core network element to a database that is different from the cache memory and that imparts the second control plane latency.
Abhishek discloses off-loading the context information for the session from the cache memory of the core network element to a database (par.35, 230a, data center) that is different from the cache memory (paragraph [0035], Fig.2A, " the DCSMF 202a to provide a data-centric function that coordinates with, e.g., the AMF 206a, the SMF 218a, the UPF 222a (and potentially other functions or entities not shown in FIG. 2A, such as NWDAF or UDM) to determine/decide offload and onload policies dynamically based on the UE 214a, edge server 234a, and/or data center 230a resource availability, and/or the QoS/QoE required by applications supported by the system 200a." (i.e., The DCSMF can offload data and coordinates with SMF, AMF, and UPF in order to accomplish the offloading.)).
LEE in view of Yao and Abhishek are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE (LEE, Fig.11), and Yao to implement DCSMF because there needs for load balancing data for data hungry application and the DCSMF provides improved Quality of Service (QoS) and Quality of Experience (QoE) when there is limited storage in the core network (Abhishek, paragraph [0047], “With an increasing number of high computational applications, the requirement for device processing capacity has increased.” and paragraph [0010], “5G systems and networks currently lack data centric services targeted towards application optimization and load balancing.” and paragraph [0061], “Practical applications of this disclosure generate useful, concrete, and tangible results in terms of improving or enhancing quality of service (QOS) and/or quality of experience (QoE) in communication networks and systems with limited resources available.”).
However, LEE and Yao do not disclose based on the activity pattern being supportable by a second control plane latency that is longer than the first control plane latency and based on a type of subscriber that is associated with the session, off-loading the context information for the session from the cache memory of the core network element to a database that is different from the cache memory and that imparts the second control plane latency.
Doshi discloses wherein the cache memory of the core network element imparts a first control plane latency (paragraph [0029], Fig.2, "the caching elements 215, caches 131, 137, 151, and the cloud storage 140 (collectively referred to as “storage tiers” or “caches”) are part of a tiered caching system that includes a set of storage tiers (e.g., storage tiers 220, 230, and 240 of FIG. 2). The caches are SW and/or HW component(s) that is/are used to temporarily store accessed objects to fulfill future access requests from the requestor 210…the cache discussed herein may be any dedicated (physical or logical) memory area or region that may be used to store cached data," and paragraph [0030], "The multiple caching strategies are adaptive and based at least in part on access latency based caching policies, rather than only using hit ratios as is the case with conventional caching algorithms that do not account for dynamic situations involving fluctuating bandwidths, latencies, and/or transient outages/failures." and paragraph [0031], "the storage tiers can be defined or specified by a network operator, caching service provider, edge network owner/operation, and/or the like (e.g., by configuring the OMS 160 accordingly)." (i.e., LEE cache is implied in the SMF and Doshi to teach that it can be set by the network operators.));
based on the activity pattern (par.59, objects) being supportable by a second control plane latency that is longer than the first control plane latency (paragraph [0059], Fig.4, "At operation 402, the OMS 160 ranks the objects according to their access density, latency and/or DH cost, and MTR…In some implementations, a policy function can be used to give objects different ranks according to their access density, latency and/or DH cost, and MTR." and paragraph [0062], "At operation 404, the OMS 160 aggregates a total caching capacity across the storage tiers 220, 230, and 240, setting aside a group-caching capacity in relatively close storage tiers (e.g., local storage tier 220 and/or nearby storage tier 230)…In other words, operation 404 involves determining a preference for different storage tiers for each ranked object." (i.e., examiner reading “objects” as the activity pattern, and the OMS 160 ranks them based on latency and the OMS 160 decides the storages the objects can go based on latency.)),
and based on a type of subscriber that is associated with the session (paragraph [0041], Fig.4, "In another example, the remote storage tier 240 can be divided into multiple sub-storage tiers according to the distance between the requestor 110, different (logical or physical) storage systems in the remote storage tier 240, overall available storage capacity or space of different (logical or physical) storage systems, subscriptions that the requestor 210 has with different cloud storage services, and/or the like." (i.e., par.41 state "subscriptions that the requestor 210 has different cloud storage service" and also based on the requestor determining the distance.)),
off-loading the context information for the session from the cache memory of the core network element to a database that is different from the cache memory and that imparts the second control plane latency (paragraph [0060], "In equation 4, DH.sub.c is the latency/DH cost. Here, a higher MTR (e.g., denominator in equation 4) favors not retaining the object in the cache, while a higher mean compounded cost of miss and DHs (e.g., numerator in equation 4) favors retaining the object in the cache. Ranking the objects allows for prioritizing local or nearby caching resources (e.g., tiers 220 and/or 230 in FIG. 2) in line with their relative FLMR (see e.g., operation 403)." and paragraph [0063], Fig.4, "At operation 405, the OMS 160 allocates caching capacity based on the object ranks." (i.e., Examiner relied of Abhishek to move session data from the core network, and examiner is using Doshi to move the session data based on the latency.)).
LEE in view of Yao in further view of Abhishek and Doshi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Storing data temporarily at an intermediate stage, e.g. caching. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE in view of Yao in further view of Abhishek to implement the method of Doshi of off-loading object in order to keep objects in the cache in order to reduce cache miss and thus decreasing the delay when requesting a particular object while also not entirely deleting old cache data but moving to another storage tier list thus keeping the system functional (Doshi, paragraph [0006], “However, if accessing an object that is not found in the cache takes a relatively long time to obtain from memory or storage, then other accesses may arise during the cache miss interval, regardless of whether the other accesses are correlated to the initial object access or not. This may result in a cascading (i.e., increasing) delay. The amount of delay/latency resulting from cache misses is exacerbated in edge computing, distributed services, and other scale deployments…” and paragraph [0021], “in particular, to caching techniques for selecting objects for retention to reduce cache miss latencies.”).
Regarding Claim 2, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
Yao further discloses wherein the core network element is a network function element of a fifth generation core network (paragraph [0077], Fig.2, "it is assumed that the RAN 101 is a 5G base station and a mobile communication system is a 5G wireless communication network. Further, it is assumed that a 5G core network expect for the RAN 101 includes the AMF 102, SMF1 200, the PCF 103, a UPF 202, the UDM 104, and a DN 203." (i.e., SMF1 200 is a network function element of 5G wireless communication network.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 3, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
Yao further discloses wherein the core network element is a Session Management Function element (paragraph [0077], Fig.2:200, "Further, it is assumed that a 5G core network expect for the RAN 101 includes the AMF 102, SMF1 200, the PCF 103," (i.e., the core network element is a session management function SMF1.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 4, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
Yao further discloses further comprising employing at least one machine learning to determine the activity pattern for the session (paragraph [0050], Fig.2, "Some embodiments of the overwatch system 270 can dynamically update definitions of CSCD templates 325 over time based on feedback from the network…Embodiments can include a training data store 360 coupled with a CSCD modeling engine 365.…The CSCD modeling engine 365 can be implemented by any suitable AI algorithms, including any machine learning (ML)…" (i.e., CSCD templates 325 is the participation of network function (NF) for the session and has a machine learning that updates the CSCD templates.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 5, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
Abhishek further discloses wherein the database is separate from the core network element (paragraph [0034], Fig.2A:230a, "the system 200a may include…a session management function (SMF) 218a…a data center 230a" (i.e., Examiner points to Fig.2A the SMF and Data Center separate from each other.)) and
is in communication with the core network element via a network connection (paragraph [0034], Fig.2A:226a, "The DN 226a may be associated with, include, or be communicatively coupled to/with, a data center 230a" (i.e., Examiner points to Fig.2A wherein the Data Center is connected with data network 226a and therefor connected with SMF.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 9, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
Abhishek further discloses wherein determining the activity pattern for the session comprises monitoring a slice distribution of a subscriber associated with the session (paragraph [0047], "In some embodiments, a DCSMF may collect data from slice instances and frame dynamic policies in accordance therewith," and paragraph [0049], "In particular, in FIG. 2C a first UE 214c-1 may be associated with a first PDU session (e.g., PDU session #1 via a cloud or data network DN1)…The first PDU session may be administered/supported via a first network slice (e.g., Slice #1)," (i.e., The DCSMF collect data from slice instances and par.49 discloses the UE is associated with network slice.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 10, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
LEE further discloses wherein the context information comprises at least one of user equipment policy data (paragraph [0035], "A policy control function (PCF) is a network function of applying a service policy of a mobile communication service provider for the terminal, a charging policy, and a policy for a PDU session." (i.e., Abhishek discloses SM policy control server provides data-centric PDU session related policies to the SMF and that could be a policy for a PDU session.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 11, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Examiner notes LEE discloses a device comprising an interface configured to enable network communication; a memory; and one or more processor (paragraph [0338], Fig.8, “FIG. 8 is a block diagram illustrating internal functions of NFs according to various embodiments of the disclosure” and paragraph [0339], “the NF may be one of the AMF 102, the PCF 103, the UDM 104, SMF1 200, SMF2 500, UPF1 202, and UPF2 400”, and paragraph [0340], “a network interface 810” and paragraph [0341], “A controller 811 may be implemented as at least one processor” and paragraph [0342], “A memory 812 may store programs…”).
Regarding Claim 12, which is similar in scope to claim 2, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 13, which is similar in scope to claim 3, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claim 4, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claim 5, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 19, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Examiner notes LEE discloses a One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor (paragraph [0342], Fig.8, “A memory 812 may store programs required for the controller 811 and various pieces of control information, and also store information described in the disclosure.”).
Regarding Claim 20, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 19 (similar to claim 1).
LEE further discloses wherein the core network element comprises a Session Management Function element (paragraph [0077], Fig.2, "it is assumed that the RAN 101 is a 5G base station and a mobile communication system is a 5G wireless communication network. Further, it is assumed that a 5G core network expect for the RAN 101 includes the AMF 102, SMF1 200, the PCF 103, a UPF 202, the UDM 104, and a DN 203." (i.e., SMF1 200 is a network function element of 5G wireless communication network.)).
of a fifth generation core network (paragraph [0077], Fig.2:200, "Further, it is assumed that a 5G core network expect for the RAN 101 includes the AMF 102, SMF1 200, the PCF 103," (i.e., the core network element is a session management function SMF1.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference. The proposed combination and motivation can be found in rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 20220286895 A1) in view of Yao (US 20230055658 A1) in view of Abhishek (US 20240333618 A1) in view of Doshi (US 20220224776 A1) in further view of Kollipara (US 10063431 B1).
Regarding Claim 6, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
However, , LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi do not disclose wherein determining the activity pattern for the session comprises monitoring handovers over a predetermined period of time
Kollipara discloses wherein determining the activity pattern for the session comprises monitoring handovers over a predetermined period of time (Col. 07, lines 45-48, Fig.1, " Handover monitor 154 may be, for example, a computer program or program component capable of capturing certain quality related information with respect to handover procedures, in real time." and Col. 09, lines 49-51, “the handover monitor 154 preferably receives and analyzes information provided by one or more soft probes deployed in the communication network…” (i.e., Kollipara discloses Handover monitor Fig.1:154 that monitors handover in real time and “a predetermined period of time” is implied as it collects data and needs to analyze for a given time.)).
LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi and Kollipara are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE (LEE, Fig.11), Yao, Abhishek, and Doshi to implement Kollipara handover monitor (Kollipara, Fig.1:154, handover monitor) as that would allow LEE (LEE, Fig.11, 5GS/EPS interworking structure) to monitor handover in order to increase network quality and increase user satisfaction (Kollipara, Col.11, Lines 39-52, “In summary, various embodiments of the present invention describe a novel media session monitoring approach that may enable to monitor the use of specific allocated network resources on real-time basis…These new measures help to provide a source of and to prioritize problem areas and help to improve sophisticated network traffic analysis to… increase network quality, increase subscriber satisfaction that, in turn, improves customer churn.”).
Regarding Claim 16, which is similar in scope to claim 6, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 20220286895 A1) in view of Yao (US 20230055658 A1) in view of Abhishek (US 20240333618 A1) in view of Doshi (US 20220224776 A1) in further view of Payette (US 20170163821 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
However, , LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi do not disclose wherein determining the activity pattern for the session comprises monitoring data usage (par.21, data usage) in view of a quota on data usage.
wherein determining the activity pattern for the session comprises monitoring data usage (par.21, data usage) in view of a quota on data usage (par.21, data usage quota) (paragraph [0021], "Some embodiments of the WSP server 140 monitor data usage by the user equipment 107… The WSP server 140 may monitor data usage by the primary subscriber… to determine whether the amount of data consumed is less than a time-dependent threshold value that is determined based on the data usage quota established by the primary subscriber's wireless service plan, such as a time interval of one month." (i.e., Payette discloses a WSP server that monitors data usage and checking if data usage is under the usage quota.)).
LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi and Payette are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LEE (LEE, Fig.11), Yao, Abhishek, and Doshi to implement Wireless Service Provider server (Payette, Fig.1:140, WSP server) to monitor the data usage of the user and modify the quality-of-service (QoS) in order to reduce the likelihood of exceeding a data usage quota as users don’t want to get charged when they are exceeding a data usage quota (Payette, paragraph [0014], “The likelihood of exceeding a data usage quota and incurring overage charges can be reduced by modifying a quality-of-service (QoS) for providing data to one or more wireless subscribers associated with a wireless service plan based on a comparison of data usage by the one or more wireless subscribers during a time interval”).
Regarding Claim 17, which is similar in scope to claim 7, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 20220286895 A1) in view of Yao (US 20230055658 A1) in view of Abhishek (US 20240333618 A1) in view of Doshi (US 20220224776 A1) in further view of Johansson (US 20160014629 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
However, LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi do not disclose wherein determining the activity pattern for the session comprises monitoring a time period between data bursts.
Johansson discloses wherein determining the activity pattern for the session comprises monitoring a time period between data bursts (paragraph [0035], Fig.4, On the other hand, for data burst #2, although there is no data transmission from time t4 to t5, but because the time gap from t4 to t5 is smaller than the absent time duration T, the receivers is able to determine that time t4 is not the end of data burst #2. Instead, the time gap from t4 to t5 is likely to be a small scheduling gap during data burst #2.” (i.e., Examiner points to Fig.4 of receiver monitoring a time period between data burst and if two data burst time period are close to each other the receivers the t5 to t6 data burst is a continuation of t3 to t4 data burst. Thus, showing a network monitoring a time period between two data bursts.)).
LEE in view of Yao in view of Abhishek in further view of Doshi and Johansson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of LEE (LEE, Fig.11), Yao, Abhishek, and Doshi to implemented Minimization of Drive Test (MDT) for UE to collect measurements and report to eNB to provide with network optimization such as when the UE is transmit uplink data to data network (LEE, paragraph [0101], Fig.2, “The UE 100 may transmit uplink data to the DN 203 via the RAN 101 and the UPF 202.”) in order to provide network optimization and Johansson discloses a desire to measure throughput while UE doing handovers as the measurement can further help network optimization (Johansson, paragraph [0005], “It would be desirable to provide the possibility to measure throughput, and while the UE pass through a network doing frequent handovers.”).
Regarding Claim 18, which is similar in scope to claim 8, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Examiner suggest to incorporate subject matter from the Fig.3 steps 310 to 316 which correlate to paragraphs 42 to 47. The UE request for the session update and the cache efficiency logic checks the session in SMF and if not found then processed to the session context database to retrieve the session if it exits, and when the session is retrieved, the AI/ML learns/train based on the activity pattern and maintains the session on the cache of the SMF.
Conclusion
ERKIN S. ABDULLAEV
Examiner
Art Unit 2648
/ERKIN ABDULLAEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648