Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sun does not teach "the emitting lens is embedded in the U-shaped groove", as the lens in Sun is not "embedded".
Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is unclear how the "embedded" in the application is different than the emitting lens being set in a groove, as taught by Sun. Applicant also only states the groove in Sun is not u-shaped and does not offer any evidence. Although Sun does not use the exact language of a u-shaped groove, Sun does describe the emitting lens set into a hollow fixing ring (pg 5), and applicant fails to show how this is not a u-shaped groove.
Applicant argues there is no reason to combine Liu and Sun, as Sun needs other components, thus not making the system "miniaturized". In addition, one skilled in the art would need to compensate for the darker FOV the u-shaped groove causes.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant only states the compensation is needed, and provides no evidence that this would need to be compensated for (See MPEP 2145.I).
Applicant argues amended Claim 1 solves technical problems in the art - specifically miniaturization.
In response to applicant's argument that the present invention solves the technical problem of miniaturization, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 111239751 A) in view of Noyes (US 6122106 A) and further in view of Sun (CN 113654514 A).
Claim 1: Liu teaches a miniaturized monocular telescopic laser range finder,
comprising a receiving and emitting lens group (Fig. 1 and 2, objective lens 1 and receiving lens 9),
[…]
a beam splitting prism group (Fig. 1, prisms 2 and 3),
an eyepiece group (Fig. 1, ocular lens group 5)
and a laser ranging unit (Fig. 1, photoelectric receiving tube 11),
wherein the receiving and emitting lens group, […] the beam splitting prism group and the eyepiece group are arranged in sequence from left to right (Fig. 1);
[…]
the laser ranging unit is used for emitting laser, receiving the return laser of the laser emitted by the emitting lens, and calculating a distance (pg 2 of attached PDF - laser distance measuring device).
Liu does not teach, but Noyes does teach, a focusing negative lens positioned between the emitting lens group and beam splitting prism group (Fig. 1, concave lens 4 between outgoing lens 2 and beam splitter 28),
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the negative/concave lens, as taught by Noyes, in the system as taught by Liu, because this lens could easily fit between Liu’s emitting lens and beam splitter. Further, a negative lens has predictable results (via the beam equation), and helps focus the incoming light.
Liu, as modified, does not teach, but Sun does teach a receiving and emitting lens group. […] The receiving and emitting lens group comprises an objective lens and an emitting lens; one side of the objective lens is provided with a u-shaped groove, and the emitting lens is embedded in the u-shaped groove (Fig. 1 and 2, showing objective lens 1 with emitting lens 16 in grove and pg 5 of pdf).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lens arrangement, as taught by Sun, in the system as taught by Liu, as modified, because this allows the system to be compacted and made in a single-cylinder design, thus reducing cost (Sun pg. 2).
Claim 2: Liu, as modified, teaches the miniaturized monocular telescopic laser range finder according to claim 1, wherein the laser ranging unit comprises a laser emitting diode and a laser receiver (Fig. 1, photoelectric receiving tube 11 and laser emitter 12);
the laser emitting diode is used for emitting laser externally through the emitting lens (Fig. 1, emitter 12 emitting through lens 7);
the laser returns after passing through an object, and passes through the objective lens (Fig. 1, light entering through objective lens 1 and to receiving tube 11),
the focusing negative lens and the beam splitting prism group successively to obtain the return laser (Fig. 1, prisms 2 and 3 after lens 1);
the laser receiver is used for receiving the return laser split by the beam splitting prism group (Fig. 1, laser split by prisms 2 and 3 before being received by receiving tube 11).
Claim 3: Liu, as modified, teaches the miniaturized monocular telescopic laser range finder according to claim 2, wherein the laser ranging unit further comprises a display device; and the display device is used for displaying a distance from a measured object (Fig. 1, display unit 4 ang pg 3-4, highlighted portions).
Claim 4: Liu, as modified, teaches the miniaturized monocular telescopic laser range finder according to claim 2, wherein the laser ranging unit further comprises a light filter, and the light filter is arranged at a receiving end of the laser receiver and used for transmitting band light emitted by a laser emitter (Fig. 1, optical filter 10 before receiving tube 11).
Claim 5: Liu, as modified, teaches the miniaturized monocular telescopic laser range finder according to claim 2, wherein the beam splitting prism group comprises a roof half penta prism (Fig. 1 prism 2),
an isosceles prism and a compensating prism (Fig. 1, prism 3 and pg. 5);
the roof half penta prism is used for receiving the return laser and the visible light of the object (Fig. 1, prism 2 receiving incoming light);
the isosceles prism is used for outputting the visible light of the object (pg 3-4 - highlighted portion);
the compensating prism is used for outputting the return laser (Fig. 1 and pg. 5 - laser goes through bottom of prism 3 before reaching receiving tube).
Claim 6: Liu, as modified, teaches the miniaturized monocular telescopic laser range finder according to claim 5, wherein the roof half penta prism comprises a light input surface, a reflection and output surface and a roof surface; and the return laser and the visible light of the object are inputted from the light input surface, reflected through the reflection and output surface, reflected through the roof surface, and outputted from the reflection and output surface to the isosceles prism (Fig. 1, light path through prisms 2 and 3 and pg. 5).
Claim 7: Liu, as modified, teaches the miniaturized monocular telescopic laser range finder according to claim 6, wherein the isosceles prism comprises a light input and reflection surface, a light output and reflection surface and a beam splitting surface (Fig. 1, prism 3 having beam input, splitting beam, and outputting beam);
the return laser and the visible light of the object are inputted by the light input and reflection surface and reflected to the beam splitting surface through the light output and reflection surface; the beam splitting surface is used for outputting laser to the compensating prism and reflecting the visible light of the object to the light input and reflection surface, and the light output and reflection surface outputs the light to the eyepiece group (Fig. 1, light path through prism 3);
the compensating prism comprises a second beam splitting surface and a light output surface (pg. 5, describing joining of cemented prism and Fig. 1, showing beam split through cemented prism 3);
and the return laser is inputted by the second beam splitting surface and outputted to the laser receiver through the light output surface (Fig. 1, light path from prism 3 to receiving tube 11);
the beam splitting surface of the compensating prism is cemented to the beam splitting surface of the isosceles prism (pg 5);
a light receiving surface of the roof half penta prism is parallel to the light output surface of the isosceles prism (Fig. 1, input of prism 2 parallel to output of prism 3).
Claim 8: Liu, as modified, teaches the miniaturized monocular telescopic laser range finder according to claim 1. Liu, as modified, does not teach, but Sun does teach wherein the eyepiece group comprises an eyepiece positive lens and an eyepiece cemented lens; the visible light of the object passes through the eyepiece cemented lens and the eyepiece positive lens successively (Fig 1 and 2, ocular group 6 and pg 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ocular group, as taught by Sun, in the system as taught by Liu, as modified, because this would allow for a person to view the image in real-time, which could further allow real-time adjustment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLARA G CHILTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645