DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 4, 16 have been cancelled. No claims have been newly added. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-15, 17-20 remain pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Makino et al. US 2022/0089051 (hereinafter Makino).
Regarding claim 1, Makino discloses an electronic device comprising:
a first battery (fig. 1, element A);
a second battery (fig. 1, element B) connected in parallel (¶ 0022; battery stack A and battery stack B share the same nodes when SWa and SWb are controlled to the on-state) with the first battery;
a first current control module (¶¶ 0022-0023; fig. 1, elements SWa and 43a), comprising circuitry, configured to control a first discharge current of the first battery (by turning on and off the switch SWa);
a second current control module (¶¶ 0022-0023; fig. 1, elements SWb and 43b), comprising circuitry, configured to control a second discharge current of the second battery (by turning on and off the switch SWb);
a sensor module (¶ 0023; The battery sensors 51a to 51c serve to detect information about each of the battery stacks A to C, such as temperature, charge/discharge current, and terminal voltage), comprising at least one sensor, configured to sense a first temperature of the first battery and a second temperature of the second battery (¶ 0040; temperatures Ta, Tb, and Tc of the battery stacks A to C are read);
a memory (¶ 0093); and
a processor (¶ 0093) comprising processing circuitry operatively connected to the first current control module, the second current control module, the sensor module, and the memory (¶ 0093; at least one processor can be configured, by reading instructions from at least one machine readable tangible medium, to perform all or a part of functions of the controllers including the battery controller 60, the motor controller 61, the converter controller 62, the device controller 63, and the main controller 64),
wherein the processor is configured to:
measure the first temperature of the first battery and the second temperature of the second battery via at least the sensor module (¶ 0023; The battery sensors 51a to 51c serve to detect information about each of the battery stacks A to C, such as temperature, charge/discharge current, and terminal voltage) calculate a difference value between the first temperature and the second temperature (¶ 0046; it is determined whether the temperature difference (Ta-Tb) between the battery stacks A and B is less than or equal to the allowed temperature difference ΔT),
identify whether at least one reference condition is satisfied, based on the difference value exceeding a configured reference value (¶ 0046; if it is determined at
step S26 that the temperature difference (Ta-Tb) is above the allowed temperature difference ΔT), and
when the at least one reference condition is satisfied (¶ 0046) and the first temperature of the first battery is higher than the second temperature of the second battery (¶ 0046; if it is determined at step S26 that the temperature difference (Ta-Tb) is above the allowed temperature difference ΔT in other words, if it is determined at step S26 that the temperature Ta of the battery stack A has risen relative to the battery stack B to such an extent that their temperature difference exceeds a predetermined temperature difference; means TA-TB > ΔT_ threshold or battery stack A is hotter than battery stack B),
reduce the first discharge current of the first battery via the first current control module (¶ 0046; In the series mode B, the switch SWb of the switch selector 50 is controlled to an on-state, and the switches SWa and SWc are controlled to an off-state; means that the battery stack A is not discharging (reducing to zero) when the switch is controlled to the off-state), and
increase the second discharge current of the second battery via the second current control module based on a reduction amount of the first discharge current (¶¶ 0035, 0046; the charge/discharge power a2 of the battery stack A in the series mode can be made greater than the charge/discharge power a3 of the battery stack A in the parallel mode. Thus, when the switch [SWb] is controlled to the on-state, the charge/discharge power of the battery stack b in the series mode can be made greater than the charge/discharge power a3 of the battery stack B in the parallel mode because no current is flowing into battery stack A and the battery stack C).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Makino discloses wherein the processor is configured to: identify whether at least one of the first temperature of the first battery and the second temperature of the second battery exceeds a configured absolute reference value (¶ 0046; a predetermined temperature difference); and
identify that the at least one reference condition is satisfied, based on at least one of the first temperature of the first battery and the second temperature of the second battery exceeding the absolute reference value (¶ 0046; it is determined at step S26 that the temperature Ta of the battery stack A has risen relative to the battery stack B to such an extent that their temperature difference exceeds a predetermined temperature difference).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Makino discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
based on the at least one reference condition being identified as having been satisfied, identify a battery of which a temperature has risen relatively higher among the first battery and the second battery (¶ 0046; if it is determined at step S26 that the temperature Ta of the battery stack A has risen relative to the battery stack B to such an extent that their temperature difference exceeds a predetermined temperature difference); and
configure a discharge current of the identified battery to be low, via a current control module, comprising circuitry, corresponding to the identified battery (¶ 0046; In the series mode B, the switch SWb of the switch selector 50 is controlled to an on-state, and the switches SWa and SWc are controlled to an off-state).
Regarding claim 5, Makino discloses wherein the processor is configured to configure the second discharge current of the second battery to a current value allowable for the second battery (¶¶ 0040, 0041, 0048, 0049, 0053; dischargeable electric energy).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Makino discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
identify a total amount of current supplied to a system of the electronic device, based on the first discharge current and the second discharge current (fig. 4, element a3 + a3 + a3); and
at least partially limit a function of the system, based on the identified total amount of current (see fig. 7, step 27 or 29 or 32).
Regarding claim 10, Makino discloses wherein the sensor module comprises
a first temperature sensor configured to sense a first temperature of the first battery and a second temperature sensor configured to sense a second temperature of the second battery (¶ 0023; The battery sensors 51a to 51c serve to detect information about each of the battery stacks A to C, such as temperature, charge/discharge current, and terminal voltage), and
wherein the processor is configured to:
measure the first temperature of the first battery via the first temperature sensor; and individually measure the second temperature of the second battery via the second temperature sensor (¶ 0023; The battery sensors 51a to 51c serve to detect information about each of the battery stacks A to C, such as temperature, charge/discharge current, and terminal voltage).
Regarding claim 11, Makino discloses wherein the first current control module comprises a first battery capacity measurement module, comprising circuitry configured to measure a residual capacity of the first battery, and wherein the second current control module comprises a second battery capacity measurement module, comprising circuitry, configured to measure a residual capacity of the second battery (¶¶ 0027-0028; The output determiner 70 determines the state of output of each of the battery stacks A to C. The output determiner 70 of the main controller 64 determines, based on information such as the temperature and SOC of each of the battery stacks A to C, whether each of the battery stacks A to C is in low output state or in normal output state).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Makino discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
measure the residual capacity of the first battery via the first battery capacity measurement module (¶¶ 0023, 0027-0028);
determine the first discharge current of the first battery via the first current control module, based on the measured residual capacity of the first battery (¶ 0088; the dischargeable electric energies Wa to We each calculated based on temperature and SOC may be used in determining whether each of the battery stacks A to C is in low output state);
measure the residual capacity of the second battery via the second battery capacity measurement module (¶¶ 0023, 0027-0028); and
determine the second discharge current of the second battery via the second current control module, based on the measured residual capacity of the second battery (¶ 0088).
Regarding claim 13, Makino discloses a method comprising:
measuring (¶ 0040; temperatures Ta, Tb, and Tc of the battery stacks A to C are read) a first temperature of a first battery (fig. 1, battery stack A) and a second temperature of a second battery (fig. 1, battery stack B);
calculating a difference value between the first temperature and the second temperature (¶ 0046; it is determined whether the temperature difference (Ta-Tb)
between the battery stacks A and B is less than or equal to the allowed temperature difference ΔT);
identifying whether at least one reference condition is satisfied, based on the difference value exceeding a configured reference value (¶ 0046; if it is determined at
step S26 that the temperature difference (Ta-Tb) is above the allowed temperature difference ΔT);
when the at least one reference condition is satisfied (¶ 0046) and the first temperature of the first battery is higher than the second temperature of the second battery (¶ 0046; if it is determined at step S26 that the temperature difference (Ta-Tb) is above the allowed temperature difference ΔT in other words, if it is determined at step S26 that the temperature Ta of the battery stack A has risen relative to the battery stack B to such an extent that their temperature difference exceeds a predetermined temperature difference; means TA-TB > ΔT_ threshold or battery stack A is hotter than battery stack B),
reducing a first discharge current of the first battery (¶ 0046; In the series mode B, the switch SWb of the switch selector 50 is controlled to an on-state, and the switches SWa and SWc are controlled to an off-state; means that the battery stack A is not discharging (reducing to zero) when the switch is controlled to the off-state); and
increasing a second discharge current of the second battery based on a reduction amount of the first discharge current (¶¶ 0035, 0046; the charge/discharge power a2 of the battery stack A in the series mode can be made greater than the charge/discharge power a3 of the battery stack A in the parallel mode. Thus, when the switch [SWb] is controlled to the on-state, the charge/discharge power of the battery stack b in the series mode can be made greater than the charge/discharge power a3 of the battery stack B in the parallel mode because no current is flowing into battery stack A and the battery stack C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Makino discloses wherein the reference value comprises a first reference value and a second reference value, wherein the absolute reference value comprises a first absolute reference value and a second absolute reference value, and wherein the second reference value is relatively greater than the first reference value, and the second absolute reference value is relatively greater than the first absolute reference value.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 06/17/2026