DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the submission filed 27 July 2026 for application 18/306,513. Currently claims 1-3, 5-7, 11, and 13 are amended. Claims 1-13 are pending and have been examined.
The objection to the Abstract is withdrawn in view of the amendments made.
The §112(b) rejection of claim 6 has been withdrawn in view of the amendments made. However, the §112(b) rejection on claim 5 is still maintained and since claim 6 is dependent on claim 5, claim 6 inherits the same §112(b) rejection. Please see below for the rejection.
Response to Arguments
Regarding applicant’s arguments, filed 27 July 2026, see pages 10 -12, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues on Page 10 that the Examiner rejected independent claims 1, 11, and 13 as allegedly being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Rieger in view of Brandao. Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections.
Applicant continues to argue on Page 11 that the Examiner has alleged that Rieger teaches the claimed feature extractor parameter exchange and updating recitations. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Rieger explicitly teaches the use of a "frozen" pre-trained feature extractor that is expressly not further trained by federated learning. As Rieger states, "a pretrained network is used as a 'frozen' feature extractor (that is, the pre-trained network is not further trained using federated learning)." *Rieger*, Page 2. Rieger further explains that "the communication costs are reduced, as the feature extractor does not need to be sent back and forth between rounds of federated learning. The federated learning then only has to learn to solve the problem of interest by learning a (much smaller) classifier on top of the embedding that the pre-trained network produces." *Rieger*, Page 3. Thus, Rieger's entire approach is predicated on keeping the feature extractor frozen and never transmitting or combining feature extractor parameters between clients and server. Rieger only trains and averages a small classifier network on top of the frozen embedding, not the feature extractor itself.
Accordingly, Rieger does not teach or suggest "global feature extractor parameters ... generated by combining multiple local feature extractor parameters" or "update the parameters of the local feature extractor based on the received global feature extractor parameters" as recited by claim 1. Nor does Rieger teach "receive trained local parameters of local neural network feature extractors" and "generate global feature extractor parameters by combining local feature extractor parameters" as recited by claim 11, or the corresponding recitations of claim 13. Indeed, Rieger teaches away from these claimed features, as keeping the feature extractor frozen and never transmitted or combined is central to Rieger's stated communication-cost benefit.
Examiners response: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that the Rieger does not teach the limitations “receive global feature extractor parameters from said server, wherein the global feature extractor parameters are generated by combining multiple local feature extractor parameters of said one or more user devices” and “update the parameters of the local feature extractor based on the received global feature extractor parameters” because firstly, although reference Rieger Applicant argues that Rieger states that a pretrained network is used as a “frozen” feature extractor, the reference also clearly states on Page 3 (Column 1, Paragraph 1) that additionally, the communication costs are reduced, as the feature extractor does not need to be sent back and forth between rounds of federated learning and that the federated learning then only has to learn to solve the problem of interest by learning a (much smaller) classifier on top of the embedding that the pre-trained network produces, the reference also states on Page 3 (Column 1, Section 3.2, Paragraph 2) that they propose the use of a simple architectural component for enabling a (federated learning) model to identify whether global features are expressed at a client and how each client modulates global patterns. Specifically, for the classifiers on top of the pre-trained networks, they use a feed-forward neural network with gated activation units and enable the model to condition the units based on the client. They refer to units as a conditional gated activation units, CGAU, see Fig. 1. The reference finally states on Page 7 (Last Paragraph) that they present a simple approach to reduce the impact of local features by learning patterns specific to each client along with the global model. All this shows that the global model is generated along with and from the local and therefore teaches “receive global feature extractor parameters from said server, wherein the global feature extractor parameters are generated by combining multiple local feature extractor parameters of said one or more user devices” under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Secondly, Rieger states on Page 1 (Column 2, Paragraph 3) that they propose to learn a local embedding for each client along with the global model as shown in Fig. 1., again showing that the local parameters are being learned or updated along with the global thus teaching “update the parameters of the local feature extractor based on the received global feature extractor parameters” under the broadest reasonable interpretation because “based on” is broad claim language. Hence, the cited references teach claim 1.
Regarding applicant’s arguments, filed 27 July 2026, see page 12, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that the Examiner has further alleged that Rieger teaches assigning samples and augmentations to global clusters and minimizing cross-entropy between cluster assignments of samples and their augmentations. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
The "augmentation" cited by the Examiner from Rieger refers to "[t]he augmentation to the XOR-problem is that we consider the clusters to be from two different clients." *Rieger*, Page 10. This is merely an augmentation of a toy problem by adding two clients; it is not an augmentation or transformation of a sample that is assigned to a cluster alongside the original sample. Furthermore, the cross-entropy cited by the Examiner is an ordinary validation classification loss used to select the best model, not a consistency loss computed between the cluster assignment of a sample and the cluster assignment of its augmentation as recited by claims 1 and 13. Rieger does not teach or suggest "assign selected samples of one or more samples and one or more augmentations of said selected samples to global clusters" followed by "further update the updated parameters of the local feature extractor such that a cross-entropy between cluster assignments of the selected samples and the one or more augmentation of said selected samples is minimised."
Examiners response: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that the cited references do not teach these limitations because firstly, Rieger teaches “assign selected samples of one or more samples and one or more augmentations of said selected samples to global clusters” under the broadest reasonable interpretation because Page 4 (Column 1, Paragraph 2) of Rieger clearly states that in order to simulate such non-IID client feature distributions, we investigate simulated clients where the samples of a particular class are clustered based on the feature embedding showing that the samples are being clustered. The reference also states on Page 10 (Column 1, Paragraph 1) that the augmentation to the XOR-problem is that we consider the clusters to be from two different clients showing that augmentation is being performed in this process. Secondly, Rieger teaches “further update the updated parameters of the local feature extractor such that a cross-entropy between cluster assignments of the selected samples and the one or more augmentation of said selected samples is minimised, thereby generating a trained local feature extractor” under the broadest reasonable interpretation because Rieger states on Page 5 (Column 2, Paragraph 1) that while training, we monitor the loss of a held-out sub-partition of 5 % the training set (a validation partition) by centrally collecting the outcomes on the validation data points at each client. The best model (model weights) with the lowest cross-entropy loss on the validation partition across clients after a total of a 1000 rounds of federated learning is then used in the final evaluation on the test set. This clearly shows that the cross-entropy is minimized and hence Roeger teaches this limitation.
Regarding applicant’s arguments, filed 27 July 2026, see pages 10 -12, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that Brandao does not cure the deficiencies of Rieger. Brandao is directed to a privacy-preserving distributed K-means clustering algorithm. Brandao does not involve any neural network feature extractor at all. While Brandao teaches clustering local centroids into global centroids, Brandao cannot supply the missing feature extractor training recitations that are absent from Rieger. The combination of Rieger and Brandao therefore still fails to teach or suggest all recitations of independent claims 1, 11, and 13.
Examiners response: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that the combination of the cited references fail to teach or suggest all recitations of independent claims 1, 11, and 13 because firstly Brando is not relied upon to teach a neural network but rather just to teach “receive one or more global centroids from said server, wherein said one or more global centroids are generated by clustering multiple local centroids of one or more user devices” which under the reasonable interpretation is taught by Brando because reference Brando clearly states on Page 2 (Paragraph 3) that to reduce the data that is shared with the server and for robustness against non-IID data, clients compute the K-means locally, with a variable number of clusters, and only the centroids are sent to the server. To preserve privacy, the centroids are encrypted homomorphically, which still allows the server to compute the distance from the local centroids to the global centroids, over encrypted data. The distances are then sent to the clients who, after decryption, assign each local centroid to a global centroid. This shows that each local centroid is used to assign to the global centroid thereby generating the global centroid. Hence, Brando teaches this limitation.
Regarding applicant’s arguments, filed 27 July 2026, see pages 12 and 13, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that the Examiner rejected claims 2-3 as allegedly being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Rieger in view of Brandao and further in view of Neumann. Dependent claims 2-3 depend from claim 1 and are therefore allowable at least by virtue of their dependency. Furthermore, Neumann is cited only generically for loss functions and does not cure the deficiencies of the Rieger and Brandao combination with respect to the feature extractor parameter exchange and the cross-entropy minimization between cluster assignments of samples and their augmentations.
Examiners response: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that the cited references do not teach claims 2 and 3 because they depend from independent claim 1 and as explained above and shown in the detailed rejection below the cited references Rieger and Brandao teach claim 1. Neumann is relied upon only to teach “minimise a loss function, wherein the loss function includes a clustering parameter” and “wherein the loss function includes a degeneracy parameter incorporating a prediction of an augmentation applied to samples”. Hence, the combination of these three references teach claims 2 and 3.
Regarding applicant’s arguments, filed 27 July 2026, see pages 10 -12, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that the Examiner rejected claim 10 as allegedly being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Rieger in view of Brandao and further in view of Baker. Dependent claim 10 depends from claim 1 and is therefore allowable at least by virtue of its dependency. Furthermore, Baker's cited teaching of "cluster size C = 2" refers to a number of clusters, not to equally sized local clusters as recited by claim 10. Baker therefore does not cure the deficiencies of the Rieger and Brandao combination.
In view of the foregoing, Applicant respectfully submits that claims 1-13 are patentable over the cited references and respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Examiners response: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that the cited references do not teach claim 10 because “equally sized local clusters” is broad and under the broadest reasonable interpretation Baker teaches it because Baker states on Page 2913 (Figure 1) cluster size C = 2 that shows each cluster has 2 and so all the clusters are equally sized with 2 and hence teaches “equally sized local clusters”. Hence, the Baker teaches claim 10 as shown in the detailed rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 9 and 10 (especially 10 a and 10 b) are not clear enough to read. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Examiner has received the new drawings, however the bars in Figures 9 and 10 are still not very legible. Maybe it would help if the bars were larger to that the pattern can be legible. Hence, the objection is maintained.
Specification
Acknowledgement is made of the attempt to change the title. Please provide the specification with the new title placed at the top of the first page of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "… the respective samples …" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and therefore inherits the same rejection.
Claim 6 is dependent from claim 5 and hence inherits the same rejection as stated above.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "… the provided one or more global clusters …" in Page 7 (last line). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieger et al (Client Adaptation improves Federated Learning with Simulated Non-IID Clients, 2020) in view of Brandao et al (Efficient Privacy Preserving Distributed K-Means for Non-IID Data, 2021).
Regarding claim 1:
Rieger teaches: An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to ([Page 1, Column 2, Last Paragraph] The current paper presents two contributions. Firstly, we propose the conditional gated activation unit (CGAU), an enhancement for current neural network architectures suited for federated learning that captures features in client dependent non-IID data. Note: This shows that it uses at least one processor and memory):
obtain local data comprising one or more samples at a user device ([Page 1, Column 2, Paragraph 1] An example of such highly sensitive data is audio collected by personal mobile devices. Note: Mobile device corresponds to user device. Audio corresponds to sample);
compute representations of at least some of said one or more samples by passing said one or more samples through a local feature extractor, wherein the local feature extractor is implemented by a neural network having trainable parameters ([Page 1, Column 2, Last Paragraph] The current paper presents two contributions. Firstly, we propose the conditional gated activation unit (CGAU), an enhancement for current neural network architectures suited for federated learning that captures features in client dependent non-IID data. [Page 4, Column 2, Section 4, Paragraph 1] We use two data sets to evaluate our proposed scheme, one based on audio data and one on image data. We chose the two data sets to cover imbalanced and balanced data as well as binary and multi-class tasks. In both settings we use a pre-trained network that was not trained on the data set at hand. The pre-trained networks are used as feature extractors to provide the features for a classifier);
cluster the computed representations, by using a clustering algorithm, to generate one or more local centroids ([Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2] In order to simulate such non-IID client feature distributions, we investigate simulated clients where the samples of a particular class are clustered based on the feature embedding from a pre-trained network. [Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 5] For each class, we then cluster the training data using a K-means clustering, thereby obtaining a set of C times K cluster centroids);
provide at least some of said generated local centroids and at least some of said parameters of the local feature extractor to a server ([Page 2, Section 2, Paragraph 2] the client sends the local model to the server. [Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 1] as the feature extractor network can be trained centrally using any available but task-relevant data. [Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 5] Each of the K clients are then assigned a set of centroids);
receive global feature extractor parameters from said server, wherein the global feature extractor parameters are generated by combining multiple local feature extractor parameters of said one or more user devices ([Page 1, Column 2, Paragraph 3] we propose to learn a local embedding for each client along with the global model as shown in Fig. 1. We evaluate this approach, which we coined the conditional gated activation unit (CGAU), on two classification tasks, one from the audio domain and one from the image domain, covering both balanced and imbalanced data. CGAU outperforms a baseline in both scenarios, showing the usefulness of learning localized features explicitly as opposed to encoding them in the global model. [Page 2, Column 2, Last Paragraph] We investigate the use of pre-trained networks for classifications tasks in a federated learning scheme, where a pretrained network is used as a “frozen” feature extractor (that is, the pre-trained network is not further trained using federated learning). By using a pre-trained network, we off-load [Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 1] the needed computational power and data required from the federated learning process as the feature extractor network can be trained centrally using any available but task-relevant data, or taken from already trained networks from a relevant domain. Additionally, the communication costs are reduced, as the feature extractor does not need to be sent back and forth between rounds of federated learning. The federated learning then only has to learn to solve the problem of interest by learning a (much smaller) classifier on top of the embedding that the pre-trained network produces. [Page 3, Column 1, Section 3.2, Paragraph 2] We propose the use of a simple architectural component for enabling a (federated learning) model to identify whether global features are expressed at a client and how each client modulates global patterns. Specifically, for the classifiers on top of the pre-trained networks, we use a feed-forward neural network with gated activation units and enable the model to condition the units based on the client. We will refer to units as a conditional gated activation units, CGAU, see Fig. 1. [Page 7, Section 6. Conclusion, Last Paragraph] We present a simple approach to reduce the impact of local features by learning patterns specific to each client along with the global model);
update the parameters of the local feature extractor based on the received global feature extractor parameters ([Page 1, Column 2, Paragraph 3] we propose to learn a local embedding for each client along with the global model as shown in Fig. 1. [Page 2, Section 2, Paragraph 2] The number of weight updates before global consolidation E is a hyperparameter. After E weight updates on the local model. [Page 3, Column 1, Last Paragraph] A simplifying view of the process, to provide some intuition, is that the conditioning of the filtering responses modulates the global features (“what the feature is”), and the conditioning of the gating responses controls the client expression of features (“whether this feature is active”), each through corresponding learnable weights Vf ;Vg 2 RKN, where K is the number of clients. [Page 6, Column 1, Last Paragraph] As a result, the embeddings from the lower layers may be worse at “discounting”’ clientvariant features, making it particularly important to learn client-specific embeddings along with global embeddings. [Page 7, Section 6. Conclusion, Last Paragraph] We present a simple approach to reduce the impact of local features by learning patterns specific to each client along with the global model);
assign selected samples of one or more samples and one or more augmentations of said selected samples to global clusters ([Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2] In order to simulate such non-IID client feature distributions, we investigate simulated clients where the samples of a particular class are clustered based on the feature embedding from a pre-trained network. [Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 1] The augmentation to the XOR-problem is that we consider the clusters to be from two different clients: client one (“up client”) has only positive x2, and client two has only negative x2 (“down client”));
and further update the updated parameters of the local feature extractor such that a cross-entropy between cluster assignments of the selected samples and the one or more augmentation of said selected samples is minimised, thereby generating a trained local feature extractor ([Page 5, Column 2, Paragraph 1] While training, we monitor the loss of a held-out sub-partition of 5 % the training set (a validation partition) by centrally collecting the outcomes on the validation data points at each client. The best model (model weights) with the lowest cross-entropy loss on the validation partition across clients after a total of a 1000 rounds of federated learning is then used in the final evaluation on the test set).
However, Rieger does not explicitly disclose: receive one or more global centroids from said server, wherein said one or more global centroids are generated by clustering multiple local centroids of one or more user devices;
Brandao teaches, in an analogous system: receive one or more global centroids from said server, wherein said one or more global centroids are generated by clustering multiple local centroids of one or more user devices ([Page 2, Paragraph 3] To reduce the data that is shared with the server and for robustness against non-IID data, clients compute the K-means locally, with a variable number of clusters, and only the centroids are sent to the server. To preserve privacy, the centroids are encrypted homomorphically, which still allows the server to compute the distance from the local centroids to the global centroids, over encrypted data. The distances are then sent to the clients who, after decryption, assign each local centroid to a global centroid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Rieger to incorporate the teachings of Brandao to receive one or more global centroids from said server, wherein said one or more global centroids are generated by clustering multiple local centroids of one or more user devices. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of preserving privacy as taught by Brandao [Page 2, Paragraph 3].
Regarding claim 4:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (as shown above).
Rieger further teaches: wherein the providing of the at least some of said generated local centroids and the at least some of said parameters of the local feature extractor to the server is further caused to provide parameters of the trained local feature extractor and local centroids generated by clustering representations of said samples computed by passing said one or more samples through the trained local feature extractor to the server ([Page 4, Column 2, Section 4, Paragraph 1] In both settings we use a pre-trained network that was not trained on the data set at hand. The pre-trained networks are used as feature extractors to provide the features for a classifier. [Page 4, Column 2, Last Paragraph] In this case, we consider the simulated clients to be maximally non-IID (all samples that are the closest to a particular centroid are collected).
Regarding claim 5:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (as shown above).
Rieger further teaches: wherein the trained local feature extractor used to compute representations of a sample of said local data or an augmentation of the respective samples is updated using stochastic gradient descent ([Page 5, Column 2, Paragraph 1] Each client completed 10 steps of gradient descent with batch sizes of 32 samples, or until all client data had been seen once—each client had a variable size of data set, seeing as samples are assigned based on proximity to the cluster centroids. The clients utilized a stochastic gradient descent optimizer2).
Regarding claim 6:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 5 (as shown above).
Rieger further teaches: wherein the trained local feature extractor used to compute the representations of the sample of said local data or the augmentation of the respective samples is generated using an averaging process ([Page 5, Column 2, Paragraph 2] We determine the average Fr´echet distances from any given client’s features to all others (as described in Section 3.4). The results averaged across replicates of the shuffling proportion are shown in Table 1).
Regarding claim 7:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (as shown above).
Rieger further teaches: wherein the one or more augmentations comprises one or more of: transformations of image data; and transformations of audio data ([Page 1, Column 2, Paragraph 3] two classification tasks, one from the audio domain and one from the image domain. [Page 4, Section 4, Paragraph 1] We use two data sets to evaluate our proposed scheme, one based on audio data and one on image data. We chose the two data sets to cover imbalanced and balanced data as well as binary and multi-class tasks).
Regarding claim 8:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (as shown above).
Rieger further teaches: wherein said local data comprises unlabelled data from one or more devices ([Page 1, Section 1, Paragraph 2] Clustering algorithms belong to the unsupervised learning class, i.e., they can learn from unlabeled data).
Regarding claim 9:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (as shown above).
Rieger further teaches: wherein the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to initialise the parameters of said local feature extractor ([Page 2, Column 2, Last Paragraph] We investigate the use of pre-trained networks for classifications tasks in a federated learning scheme, where a pretrained network is used as a “frozen” feature extractor (that is, the pre-trained network is not further trained using federated learning). Note: Pre-trained network is used as a frozen feature extractor corresponds to initialising the parameters of said local feature extractor).
Regarding claim 11:
Rieger teaches: An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to ([Page 1, Column 2, Last Paragraph] The current paper presents two contributions. Firstly, we propose the conditional gated activation unit (CGAU), an enhancement for current neural network architectures suited for federated learning that captures features in client dependent non-IID data. Note: This shows that it uses at least one processor and memory):
receive trained local parameters of local neural network feature extractors from a plurality of user devices ([Page 1, Column 2, Last Paragraph] The current paper presents two contributions. Firstly, we propose the conditional gated activation unit (CGAU), an enhancement for current neural network architectures suited for federated learning that captures features in client dependent non-IID data. [Page 4, Column 2, Section 4, Paragraph 1] In both settings we use a pre-trained network that was not trained on the data set at hand. The pre-trained networks are used as feature extractors to provide the features for a classifier);
receive a set of generated local centroids from the plurality of user devices, wherein the set of the generated local centroids describe clustering representations of local data at the plurality of the user devices ([Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2] In order to simulate such non-IID client feature distributions, we investigate simulated clients where the samples of a particular class are clustered based on the feature embedding from a pre-trained network. [Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 5] For each class, we then cluster the training data using a K-means clustering, thereby obtaining a set of C times K cluster centroids);
generate global feature extractor parameters by combining local feature extractor parameters from some or all of said user devices ([Page 2, Column 2, Last Paragraph] We investigate the use of pre-trained networks for classifications tasks in a federated learning scheme, where a pretrained network is used as a “frozen” feature extractor (that is, the pre-trained network is not further trained using federated learning). By using a pre-trained network, we off-load [Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 1] the needed computational power and data required from the federated learning process as the feature extractor network can be trained centrally using any available but task-relevant data, or taken from already trained networks from a relevant domain. Additionally, the communication costs are reduced, as the feature extractor does not need to be sent back and forth between rounds of federated learning. The federated learning then only has to learn to solve the problem of interest by learning a (much smaller) classifier on top of the embedding that the pre-trained network produces);
and provide the generated global feature extractor parameters ... to said plurality of user devices, for use in training respective local neural network feature extractors ([Page 1, Column 2, Paragraph 3] Motivated by this, we propose to learn a local embedding for each client along with the global model as shown in Fig. 1. [Page 2, Column 2, Last Paragraph] We investigate the use of pre-trained networks for classifications tasks in a federated learning scheme, where a pretrained network is used as a “frozen” feature extractor (that is, the pre-trained network is not further trained using federated learning). By using a pre-trained network, we off-load [Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 1] the needed computational power and data required from the federated learning process as the feature extractor network can be trained centrally using any available but task-relevant data, or taken from already trained networks from a relevant domain. Additionally, the communication costs are reduced, as the feature extractor does not need to be sent back and forth between rounds of federated learning. The federated learning then only has to learn to solve the problem of interest by learning a (much smaller) classifier on top of the embedding that the pre-trained network produces).
However, Rieger does not explicitly disclose: generate global centroids by clustering the received set of the generated local centroids using a clustering algorithm; and the generated global centroids.
Brandao teaches, in an analogous system: generate global centroids by clustering the received set of the generated local centroids using a clustering algorithm ([Page 2, Paragraph 3] To reduce the data that is shared with the server and for robustness against non-IID data, clients compute the K-means locally, with a variable number of clusters, and only the centroids are sent to the server. To preserve privacy, the centroids are encrypted homomorphically, which still allows the server to compute the distance from the local centroids to the global centroids, over encrypted data. The distances are then sent to the clients who, after decryption, assign each local centroid to a global centroid);
and the generated global centroids ([Page 2, Paragraph 3] the global centroids).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Rieger to incorporate the teachings of Brandao to generate global centroids by clustering the received set of the generated local centroids using a clustering algorithm; and the generated global centroids. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of preserving privacy as taught by Brandao [Page 2, Paragraph 3].
Regarding claim 12:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 11 (as shown above).
Rieger further teaches: wherein said global feature extractor parameters are an average of the received local parameters ([Page 2, Section 2, Paragraph 2] After E weight updates on the local model, the client sends the local model to the server. The server averages the model weights from all clients into the global model).
Regarding claim 13:
Rieger teaches: A system comprising: a user device, comprising, at least one processor, at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user device at least to ([Page 1, Column 2, Last Paragraph] The current paper presents two contributions. Firstly, we propose the conditional gated activation unit (CGAU), an enhancement for current neural network architectures suited for federated learning that captures features in client dependent non-IID data. Note: This shows that it uses at least one processor and memory):
obtain local data comprising one or more samples at the user device ([Page 1, Column 2, Paragraph 1] An example of such highly sensitive data is audio collected by personal mobile devices. Note: Mobile device corresponds to user device. Audio corresponds to sample. Sensitive data corresponds to local data);
compute representations of at least some of said one or more samples by passing said one or more samples through a local feature extractor, wherein the local feature extractor is implemented by a neural network having trainable parameters ([Page 1, Column 2, Last Paragraph] The current paper presents two contributions. Firstly, we propose the conditional gated activation unit (CGAU), an enhancement for current neural network architectures suited for federated learning that captures features in client dependent non-IID data. [Page 4, Column 2, Section 4, Paragraph 1] We use two data sets to evaluate our proposed scheme, one based on audio data and one on image data. We chose the two data sets to cover imbalanced and balanced data as well as binary and multi-class tasks. In both settings we use a pre-trained network that was not trained on the data set at hand. The pre-trained networks are used as feature extractors to provide the features for a classifier);
cluster the computed representations, by using a clustering algorithm, to generate one or more local centroids ([Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2] In order to simulate such non-IID client feature distributions, we investigate simulated clients where the samples of a particular class are clustered based on the feature embedding from a pre-trained network. [Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 5] For each class, we then cluster the training data using a K-means clustering, thereby obtaining a set of C times K cluster centroids);
provide at least some of said generated one or more local centroids and at least some of said trainable parameters of the local feature extractor to a second apparatus ([Page 2, Section 2, Paragraph 2] the client sends the local model to the server. [Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 1] as the feature extractor network can be trained centrally using any available but task-relevant data. [Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 5] Each of the K clients are then assigned a set of centroids).
the second apparatus, comprising, at least one processor, at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second apparatus at least to ([Page 1, Column 2, Last Paragraph] The current paper presents two contributions. Firstly, we propose the conditional gated activation unit (CGAU), an enhancement for current neural network architectures suited for federated learning that captures features in client dependent non-IID data. Note: This shows that it uses at least one processor and memory):
generate global feature extractor parameters by combining local feature extractor parameters from the user device and from some other user devices ([Page 2, Column 2, Last Paragraph] We investigate the use of pre-trained networks for classifications tasks in a federated learning scheme, where a pretrained network is used as a “frozen” feature extractor (that is, the pre-trained network is not further trained using federated learning). By using a pre-trained network, we off-load [Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 1] the needed computational power and data required from the federated learning process as the feature extractor network can be trained centrally using any available but task-relevant data, or taken from already trained networks from a relevant domain. Additionally, the communication costs are reduced, as the feature extractor does not need to be sent back and forth between rounds of federated learning. The federated learning then only has to learn to solve the problem of interest by learning a (much smaller) classifier on top of the embedding that the pre-trained network produces);
and provide the global feature extractor parameters to the user device ([Page 2, Column 2, Last Paragraph] We investigate the use of pre-trained networks for classifications tasks in a federated learning scheme, where a pretrained network is used as a “frozen” feature extractor (that is, the pre-trained network is not further trained using federated learning). By using a pre-trained network, we off-load [Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 1] the needed computational power and data required from the federated learning process as the feature extractor network can be trained centrally using any available but task-relevant data, or taken from already trained networks from a relevant domain. Additionally, the communication costs are reduced, as the feature extractor does not need to be sent back and forth between rounds of federated learning. The federated learning then only has to learn to solve the problem of interest by learning a (much smaller) classifier on top of the embedding that the pre-trained network produces);
the user device, further caused to update the parameters of the local feature extractor based on the received global feature extractor parameters ([Page 2, Section 2, Paragraph 2] The number of weight updates before global consolidation E is a hyperparameter. After E weight updates on the local model);
assign selected samples of one or more samples and one or more augmentations of said selected samples to the provided one or more global clusters ([Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2] In order to simulate such non-IID client feature distributions, we investigate simulated clients where the samples of a particular class are clustered based on the feature embedding from a pre-trained network. [Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 1] The augmentation to the XOR-problem is that we consider the clusters to be from two different clients: client one (“up client”) has only positive x2, and client two has only negative x2 (“down client”));
and further update the updated parameters of the local feature extractor such that a cross-entropy between cluster assignments of the selected one or more samples and the one or more augmentation of said selected one or more samples is minimised, thereby generating a trained local feature extractor ([Page 5, Column 2, Paragraph 1] While training, we monitor the loss of a held-out sub-partition of 5 % the training set (a validation partition) by centrally collecting the outcomes on the validation data points at each client. The best model (model weights) with the lowest cross-entropy loss on the validation partition across clients after a total of a 1000 rounds of federated learning is then used in the final evaluation on the test set).
However, Rieger does not explicitly disclose: generate one or more global centroids by clustering the provided set of the generated one or more local centroids by the user device and received from some other user devices by using a clustering algorithm; provide the one or more global centroids to the user device.
Brandao teaches, in an analogous system: generate one or more global centroids by clustering the provided set of the generated one or more local centroids by the user device and received from some other user devices by using a clustering algorithm; provide the one or more global centroids to the user device ([Page 2, Paragraph 3] To reduce the data that is shared with the server and for robustness against non-IID data, clients compute the K-means locally, with a variable number of clusters, and only the centroids are sent to the server. To preserve privacy, the centroids are encrypted homomorphically, which still allows the server to compute the distance from the local centroids to the global centroids, over encrypted data. The distances are then sent to the clients who, after decryption, assign each local centroid to a global centroid);
provide the one or more global centroids to the user device ([Page 2, Paragraph 3] To reduce the data that is shared with the server and for robustness against non-IID data, clients compute the K-means locally, with a variable number of clusters, and only the centroids are sent to the server. To preserve privacy, the centroids are encrypted homomorphically, which still allows the server to compute the distance from the local centroids to the global centroids, over encrypted data. The distances are then sent to the clients who, after decryption, assign each local centroid to a global centroid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Rieger to incorporate the teachings of Brandao to generate one or more global centroids by clustering the provided set of the generated one or more local centroids by the user device and received from some other user devices by using a clustering algorithm; provide the one or more global centroids to the user device; provide the one or more global centroids to the user device. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of preserving privacy as taught by Brandao [Page 2, Paragraph 3].
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieger et al (Client Adaptation improves Federated Learning with Simulated Non-IID Clients, 2020) in view of Brandao et al (Efficient Privacy Preserving Distributed K-Means for Non-IID Data, 2021) and further in view of Neumann (US 20210057100 A1).
Regarding claim 2:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (as shown above).
However, the system of Rieger and Brandao does not explicitly disclose: wherein the update of the parameters of the local feature extractor is further caused to minimise a loss function, wherein the loss function includes a clustering parameter.
Neumann teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the update of the parameters of the local feature extractor is further caused to minimise a loss function, wherein the loss function includes a clustering parameter ([Page 31, [0146], Column 2] An element of machine-learning data may include variables used to minimize a loss function. An element of machine-learning data may include a graphical representation of clusters generated by a clustering algorithm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system of Rieger and Brandao to incorporate the teachings of Neumann wherein the update of the parameters of the local feature extractor is further caused to minimise a loss function, wherein the loss function includes a clustering parameter. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of Machine learning that includes any algorithm and/or statistical model that processor connected to memory utilizes to perform any task without using explicit instructions, and instead relying on patterns and inferences as taught by Neumann [0146].
Regarding claim 3:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 2 (as shown above).
However, the system of Rieger and Brandao does not explicitly disclose: wherein the loss function includes a degeneracy parameter incorporating a prediction of an augmentation applied to the samples.
Neumann teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the loss function includes a degeneracy parameter incorporating a prediction of an augmentation applied to the samples ([Page 22, [0110], Column 2] Scoring function may be expressed as a risk function representing an “expected loss” of an algorithm relating inputs to outputs, where loss is computed as an error function representing a degree to which a prediction generated by the relation is incorrect when compared to a given input-output pair provided in first training set. Note: Scoring function corresponds to a degeneracy parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system of Rieger and Brandao to incorporate the teachings of Neumann wherein the loss function includes a degeneracy parameter incorporating a prediction of an augmentation applied to the samples. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of Machine learning that includes any algorithm and/or statistical model that processor connected to memory utilizes to perform any task without using explicit instructions, and instead relying on patterns and inferences as taught by Neumann [0146].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieger et al (Client Adaptation improves Federated Learning with Simulated Non-IID Clients, 2020) in view of Brandao et al (Efficient Privacy Preserving Distributed K-Means for Non-IID Data, 2021) and further in view of Baker et al (Decentralized dynamic functional network connectivity: State analysis in collaborative settings, 2019).
Regarding claim 10:
The system of Rieger and Brandao teaches: An apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (as shown above).
However, the system of Rieger and Brandao does not explicitly disclose: wherein the clustering algorithm used to generate one or more local centroids generates equally sized local clusters.
Baker teaches, in an analogous system: wherein the clustering algorithm used to generate one or more local centroids generates equally sized local clusters ([Page 2913, Figure 1] with cluster size C = 2. [Page 2913, Column 1, Last Paragraph] where each processor broadcasts an updated set of local centroids. Note: cluster size =2 corresponds to equally sized local clusters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system of Rieger and Brandao to incorporate the teachings of Baker wherein the clustering algorithm used to generate one or more local centroids generates equally sized local clusters. One would have been motivated to do this modification because doing so would give the benefit of each cluster performs the standard GlobalPCA. As the recursion steps back from this base-case, the result from GlobalPCA is passed between subclusters, and GlobalPCA performed again until the recursion ends as taught by Baker [Page 2913, Column 1, Figure 1 legend].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cui et al (Slashing Communication Traffic in Federated Learning by Transmitting Clustered Model Updates, 2021) discloses the Model Update Compression by Soft Clustering (MUCSC) algorithm to compress model updates transmitted between clients and the PS. In MUCSC, it is only necessary to transmit cluster centroids and the cluster ID of each model update. Moreover, we prove that: 1) The compressed model updates are unbiased estimation of their original values so that the convergence rate by transmitting compressed model updates is unchanged; 2) MUCSC can guarantee that the influence of the compression error on the model accuracy is minimized. Then, we further propose the boosted MUCSC (B-MUCSC) algorithm, a biased compression algorithm that can achieve an extremely high compression rate by grouping insignificant model updates into a super cluster. B-MUCSC is suitable for scenarios with very scarce network resource. Ultimately, we conduct extensive experiments with the CIFAR-10 and FEMNIST datasets to demonstrate that our algorithms can not only substantially reduce the volume of communication traffic in FL, but also improve the training efficiency in practical networks.
Oza (LEARNING FROM INCOMPLETE AND HETEROGENEOUS DATA, 2021) discloses an unsupervised domain adaptation in which the idea is to utilize an additional set of unlabeled data sampled from a particular domain to help improve the performance in that respective domain. Various experiments on multiple domain adaptation benchmarks show that the proposed strategy is able to generalize better compared to existing methods in the literature.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/OMAR F FERNANDEZ RIVAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2128