Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs [0001] and [0002] are missing a period at the end of the sentence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 & 13, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
All dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claims 2-10 & 12 recites the limitation “barrier element”. It is unclear if this is “barrier element” is the same or different from “barrier-forming element” from claim 1, of which they depend from. For the purpose of examination, they are being considered the same.
Claim 4 gives multiple range parameters for Young's modulus. It is unclear which range is the claimed range.
Claim 5 gives multiple range parameters for flexural strength. It is unclear which range is the claimed range.
Claim 6 gives multiple range parameters for tensile strength. It is unclear which range is the claimed range.
Claim 10 recites that “the barrier element is resorbing” however, claim 10 depends from claim 1, which claim 1 says the barrier-forming element is a non-resorbing material. It appears the limitations of claim 10 and claim 1, from which claim 10 depends, cannot be met at the same time. Accordingly, the examiner cannot examine claim 10 with prior art until clarification is made.
Claim 11 depends from claim 10. Claim 11 cannot be examined until claim 10 is clarified.
Claim 12 recites “at least one runner (2) in the shape of a slit, specifically two runners in the shape of slits, preferably four runners in the shape of lateral slits”. It is unclear which amount of runners is/are claimed. It is also unclear if the runner is just a slit or a lateral slit.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a barrier" in line 26 and “a surface of a bone”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this “barrier” and “a surface of a bone” is the same or different from claim 1.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 characterised in that the material of the barrier element is non-resorbing, which is claimed in Claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a the "means" placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and "means" is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for attaching the barrier-forming element in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, & 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartee (US 20210085471 A1) in view of Freeman et al. (US 3925824 A), hereinafter, Freeman.
Regarding claim 1, Bartee teaches
a device (116 or 300, Figs. 1 & 4, Bartee) for bone regeneration intended to form a barrier for protecting a space (110 or 404, Figs. 1 & 4, ¶0026, Bartee) above a surface of a bone (B) (108 or 402, Figs. 1 & 4, Bartee), for example a tooth, to allow, after insertion of a biomaterial (408, Fig. 4, Bartee), which, while mineralising, will form new bone above existing bone (bone and tissue regeneration, ¶0026, Bartee), comprising
a self-supporting barrier-forming element in the shape of a dome (1) or a shell (Figs. 1 & 4, Bartee) and
means for attaching the barrier-forming element above the bone surface in order thus to form a volume where the biomaterial can be arranged to mineralise and form new bone grafting itself onto the previously present bone (fastened in place at the location of the discontinuity defect 110 by screws, tacks, pins, and/or other fasteners, ¶0025-0025, Figs. 1 & 4, Bartee),
characterised in that the barrier-forming element in the shape of a dome (1) or shell is made of a material, specifically a non-resorbing material (device may be removed after healing therefore it is non-resorbing, ¶0045, Bartee).
Bartee does not teach the barrier-forming element is radiotransparent. However, Freeman teaches material of bone joint devices (col. 1 lines 4-5, Freeman)
such that the barrier-forming element is radiotransparent (plastics material of the cap member is radiotransparent and allows x-ray examination of the bone, col. 4 lines 17-19), i.e. specifically allows through X-rays with a transmission coefficient of at least 60%, preferably at least 70 %, preferably 80%, even more preferably 90%, specifically substantially 100% (in this case, the Freeman device functions to be radiotransparent and is therefore capable of X-rays with a transmission coefficient of at least 60%, preferably at least 70 %, preferably 80%, even more preferably 90%, specifically substantially 100%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bartee by incorporating radiotransparent as taught by Freeman in order to monitor the bone condition (col. 4 line 19, Freeman).
Regarding claim 2, Bartee teaches
characterised in that the barrier element (1) is self-supporting but can be deformed elastically, specifically by compression and/or flexion (Fig. 1, ¶0030, Bartee).
Regarding claim 3, Bartee teaches
characterised in that the barrier element (1) is self-supporting but can be deformed elastically by compression and/or flexion (Fig. 1, ¶0030, Bartee).
Regarding claim 7, Bartee teaches
characterised in that the material of the barrier element is non-resorbing (device can be removed, ¶0029, Bartee).
Regarding claim 12, Bartee teaches
characterised in that the barrier element (1) comprises at least one runner (2) in the shape of a slit, specifically two runners in the shape of slits, preferably four runners in the shape of lateral slits which extend in the direction perpendicular to the opening opposite the top of the barrier in the shape of a dome or shell and one or some corresponding respective osteosynthesis screw(s) (3), arranged in a respective slit runner allowing the barrier-forming element to be attached around the surface of bone to be regenerated, the movement of the screws in the runners allowing the volume protected by the barrier-forming element to be controlled, due to the possible deformation of the barrier-forming element (pilot holes, ¶0027, Bartee).
Regarding claim 13, Bartee teaches
characterised in that the device for bone regeneration forms a barrier for protecting, hermetically, the space above a surface of a bone, for example jaws (fig. 4, ¶0026, Bartee).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartee in view of Freeman and further in view of Bagga et al. (US 20210260242 A1) hereinafter, Bagga.
Regarding claim 4, Bartee does not teach the Young’s modulus. However, Bagga teaches composite bioactive polymeric biomaterials for forming implantable medical devices (abstract)
characterised in that the material from which the barrier element is made has a Young's modulus of between 2 and 20 GPa, specifically between 2 and 15 GPa, more particularly between 2 and 5 GPa, specifically between 3 and 4 GPa (3.6 GPa, ¶0005, Bagga).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bartee and Freeman by incorporating the teachings by Bagga as these ranges are inherent in the material.
Regarding claim 6, Bartee does not teach the Young’s modulus. However, Bagga teaches
characterised in that the material of the barrier element has a tensile strength of between 50 and 120 MPa, specifically between 80 and 100 MPa (100 MPa, ¶0005, Bagga).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bartee and Freeman by incorporating the teachings by Bagga as these ranges are inherent in the material.
Regarding claim 8, Bartee does not teach the non-resorbing material is a polyaryletherketone (PAEK). However, Bagga teaches
characterised in that the non-resorbing material is a polyaryletherketone (PAEK) (main body and a bioactive component that includes a polyarylretherketone (PAEK), ¶0026, Bagga).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bartee and Freeman by incorporating the teachings by Bagga in order to provide mechanical support, but with the benefit of bioactivity, to initiate cellular activity and promote successful bone regeneration (¶0017, Bagga).
Regarding claim 9, Bartee does not teach PAEK in the form of a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) or a polyetherketoneketone (PEKK). However, Bagga teaches
characterised in that the barrier element is a PAEK in the form of a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) or a polyetherketoneketone (PEKK) (¶0021, Bagga).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bartee and Freeman by incorporating the teachings by Bagga in order to possess desirable load-bearing properties such as excellent mechanical properties, not bioactive, osteoproductive, or osteoconductive and resistant to thermal degradation, thus making it a desirable material for implantable medical devices. (¶0005, Bagga).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartee in view of Freeman and further in view of Briscoe (US 20150289981 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Bartee does not teach the flexural strength. However, Briscoe teaches a prosthetic joint which is preferably polyetheretherketone (abstract)
characterised in that the material of the barrier element has a flexural strength of between 100 and 200 MPa, specifically between 150 and 190 MPa, specifically substantially equal to 180 MPa (145-164 MPa, ¶0028, Briscoe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bartee and Freeman by incorporating the teachings by Briscoe as these ranges are inherent in the material.
Conclusion
/K.X.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774