DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
101 Rejection
Based on applicant filed amendments and arguments, the previously set for the 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claim 3, it appears the claim should depend from claim 2 based on antecedent basis with respect to “the RC stage”). Appropriate correction is required.
Note: the examiner has examined the claims such that claim 3 depends from claim 2, based on antecedent basis.
With respect to claim 16, it appears the claim should depend from claim 12 based on antecedent basis with respect to “the root”). Appropriate correction is required.
Note: the examiner has examined the claims such that claim 16 depends from claim 12, based on antecedent basis.
With respect to claim 17, it appears the claim should depend from claim 12 based on antecedent basis with respect to “the total battery resistance”). Appropriate correction is required.
Note: the examiner has examined the claims such that claim 17 depends from claim 12, based on antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites two voltage and current measurement circuits? The examiner is unsure if this is a typographical error related to antecedent basis or if applicant intends to have more than one of these respective circuit elements recited? To further prosecution, the examiner has interpreted the claim such that there are only one of these measurement circuits, respectively. However, clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. (2019/0146038).
With respect to claim 1, Matsumoto et el. teaches in Fig. 4 a circuit, comprising: a processing circuit configurable to: receive, from a voltage measurement circuit (4; [t]he voltage sensor 4 detects a terminal voltage of the battery 1, that is, a potential difference between a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the battery 1 in a state in which the battery 1 is connected to the load 6 and a current flows in the battery 1, and transmits a signal corresponding to the detection value to the battery state estimating part 5; [0036]), a first signal representing a voltage across a battery (1); receive, from a current measurement circuit (3), a second signal representing a current conducted by the battery (as Matsumoto et al. teaches [t]he current sensor 3 detects a discharging current that flows in the battery 1 when electric power is supplied from the battery 1 to the load 6 or a charging current that flows in the battery 1 when electric power is supplied from the load 6 to the battery 1 at the time of braking of the vehicle or the like, and transmits a signal corresponding to the detection value to the battery state estimating part 5); receive, from memory (52), parameters of the battery (1; [0045-0046]); determine (via 53) one or more resistances [0045] of the battery (1) responsive to receiving the first and second signals (via 4 and 3) and the parameters (stored in memory 52); and provide a fourth signal (r1) indicative of a predicted behavior of the battery to a load responsive to determining the one or more resistances (as the calculating part 55 determines from the first and second signals and stored parameters a deteriorated state of the battery, which lends to a predictable behavior of the that battery when responding to a load).
The method of claim 11 is performed during the operation of the rejected circuit of claim 1.
With respect to claim 19, Matsumoto et el. teaches in Fig. 4 a system, comprising: a battery (1); memory (52); a voltage measurement circuit (4) coupled to the battery (1); a current memory circuit (3) coupled to the battery (1); a battery gauge circuit (as seen in Fig. 4) coupled to the memory (52), the voltage measurement circuit (4), and the current measurement circuit battery (3), the battery gauge circuit including: a processing circuit (53) configured to: receive, from a current measurement circuit (3), a second signal representing a current conducted by the battery (as Matsumoto et al. teaches [t]he current sensor 3 detects a discharging current that flows in the battery 1 when electric power is supplied from the battery 1 to the load 6 or a charging current that flows in the battery 1 when electric power is supplied from the load 6 to the battery 1 at the time of braking of the vehicle or the like, and transmits a signal corresponding to the detection value to the battery state estimating part 5); receive, from memory (52), parameters of the battery (1; [0045-0046]); determine (via 53) one or more resistances [0045] of the battery (1) responsive to receiving the first and second signals (via 4 and 3) and the parameters (stored in memory 52); and provide a fourth signal (r1) indicative of a predicted behavior of the battery to a load responsive to determining the one or more resistances (as the calculating part 55 determines from the first and second signals and stored parameters a deteriorated state of the battery, which lends to a predictable behavior of the that battery when responding to a load).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (2019/0146038) in view of Kawai et al. (5,864,237).
With respect to claim 22, Matsumoto et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 1 but remains silent regarding wherein the processing circuit is configurable to: receive, from a temperature sensing circuit, a fifth signal representing a current conducted by the battery; and determine the one or more resistances of the battery responsive to receiving the fifth signal.
Kawai et al. teaches a similar method that includes a processing circuit (as indirectly taught) is configurable to: receive, from a temperature sensing circuit (s15), a fifth signal representing a current conducted by the battery (as s15 receives signal data that represents current flow; Col. 7 lines 57 to Col. 8 lines 3); and determine the one or more resistances of the battery responsive to receiving the fifth signal (as the signal is used to determine the internal resistance of the battery by correcting for temperature, Col. 3 line 44 to Col. 4 line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the processing circuit of Matsumoto to include the temperature sensing circuit of Kawai et al. because Kawai et al. teaches such a modification improves the accuracy of the internal resistance determination by correcting for temperature, thereby improving the overall accuracy of Matsumoto et al.
With respect to claim 23, Matsumoto et el. Teaches all that is claimed in above rejection of claim 1, but remains silent regarding the parameters include a degree of discharge.
Kawai et al. teaches a similar method that include parameter data like a DoD, Col. 1 lines 43-63.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the processing circuit of Matsumoto to include a DoD parameter because Kawai et al. teaches such a modification improves the accuracy of the internal resistance determination, as simply looking solely at the voltage of the battery isn’t enough, thereby improving the overall accuracy of Matsumoto et al.
With respect to claim 24, Matsumoto et el. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 1, but remains silent regarding the fourth signal indicates how much time the battery can supply a particular amount of current before a voltage across the battery falls below a threshold.
Kawai et al. teaches in s10 a signal indicating how much time the battery can supply a particular amount of current before a voltage across the battery falls below a threshold (Col. 7 lines 42-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the circuit of Matsumoto et al. such that the fourth signal indicates the time a battery will be unserviceable as taught in Kawai et al. because such a modification increases the versatility of the circuit by allowing a user to fully grasp how long the battery will last.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10, 12-16, 18, 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BABA et al. (2016/0252585) teaches using a battery model to estimate parameters while reducing a computation load.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW G MARINI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853