DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on December 30, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 30, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 11 recite the terms “possibly” and “possible” respectively. It is not clear if the terms are reciting limitations that are optionally there or merely capable of being there.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nikitin et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0075600).
Regarding Claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, and 12-15: Nikitin et al. teaches a material (article) comprising a matrix comprising SiO2 and Al2O3 (oxide based matrix) and Y3Al5O12:Ce (doped component of the aluminum garnet family) ([0040]).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. colored, the claimed color space, hardness, and toughness, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claims 2-3: Nikitin et al. teaches the oxide-based matrix in 90 wt% and the Y3Al5O12:Ce in 10 wt% ([0040]).
Regarding Claim 4: Nikitin et al. teaches the Ce is doped at 1 or 5 at% ([0039]).
Regarding Claims 7-8: Claims 7-8 further limit neodymium doping, however, the claims do not require neodymium doping to be present. Therefore, the material of Nikitin et al. still anticipates claims 7-8.
Regarding Claim 11: Nikitin et al. does not require any other components than the oxide based matrix) and Y3Al5O12:Ce (doped component of the aluminum garnet family), reading on the claim limitation “consists of.”
Regarding Claim 16: The article of Nikitin et al. is capable of being used in a horological casing or in jewelry and therefore reads on such a component.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 April 2, 2026