CTFR 18/306,752 CTFR 96924 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues on page 7, “ Szela discloses that the number of reference control signals depends on ambient temperature T, but not that charging and discharging of the of the measuring or reference capacitor is controlled based on the ambient temperature T.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Szela discloses electric charges collected on the measuring capacitor during its charging, electric charges collected on the reference capacitor during its charging with a pulse control signal (include the ambient temperature), power-supply voltage to the control unit that is a source of the current for charging the measuring and reference capacitors, the control-system preset voltage to which the measuring capacitor should discharge itself during counting of the reference control signals and the ambient temperature of said measuring capacitor and said reference capacitor , said signal being sent from said control system as necessary for charging of said measuring capacitor (paragraph [0008]). The above-cited paragraph shows that the capacitor is charged and discharged according to the control signal sent by the control unit, which also includes the parameters like the ambient temperature around the capacitor. The applicant arguments are not persuasive; thus, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdennadher et al. (US 2009/0112493), herein after Abdennadher, and Szela et al. (US 2006/0106547), herein after Szela . Regarding claim 1, Abdennadher discloses a method performed by a measurement tool for determining a State of Health, SOH, of a capacitor component in a vehicle (determining an item of information representative of the state of ageing of the capacitor, Abstract), wherein the method comprises: performing charging and discharging of the capacitor component according to a specific determined charge and discharge cycle; obtaining current and voltage measurements during both the charging and discharging of the capacitor component (measuring the ripple voltage between the contact terminals of the capacitor, paragraph [0019]; The means for determining the current flowing in the capacitor (charging of capacitor) are preferably connected to means for measuring a current on the power supply line and means for measuring a current in an electric load (discharging of capacitor), paragraph [0040]); determining an Equivalent Series Resistance, ESR and a capacitance of the capacitor component based on the obtained current and voltage measurements (the method comprises determination of the capacitance value of the capacitor, determinations of the equivalent series resistance and of the capacitance, paragraph [0025]); and determining the SOH of the capacitor component based on the determined capacitance and ESR (the method comprises display of information representative of the capacitance value of the capacitor or/and of information representative of at least one cause associated with the state of ageing of said capacitor according to the capacitance value and/or the equivalent series resistance of the capacitor, paragraph [0025]). However, Abdennadher does not disclose wherein the performing is further based on the ambient temperature surrounding the capacitor component. Szela discloses that the charging and discharging of the capacitor is control based on the ambient temperature (paragraph [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdennadher’s method to include the measurement of ambient temperature during charging and discharging of a capacitor as taught by Szela, in order to have improved diagnostic accuracy by enabling temperature compensation of capacitor parameters (e.g. ESR, capacitance etc.), thereby allowing more reliable determination of capacitor state of health, early detection of overheating conditions, and improved prediction of capacitor performance and lifetime. Regarding claim 3, Abdennadher in view of Szela discloses the method of claim 1. Szela further discloses wherein the ambient temperature is used to determine suitable charging voltage, VC (paragraph [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdennadher’s method to include the measurement of ambient temperature during charging and discharging of a capacitor as taught by Szela, in order to have improved diagnostic accuracy by enabling temperature compensation of capacitor parameters (e.g. ESR, capacitance etc.), thereby allowing more reliable determination of capacitor state of health, early detection of overheating conditions, and improved prediction of capacitor performance and lifetime. Regarding claim 5, Abdennadher further discloses the method further comprising providing, to a user of the measurement tool via a display, information indicating the SOH of the capacitor component (the method comprises display of information representative of the capacitance value of the capacitor or/and of information representative of at least one cause associated with the state of ageing of said capacitor, paragraph [0025]). Regarding claim 6, Abdennadher further discloses wherein the determining further comprises determining a time period until the capacitor component is in need of being replaced based on the determined SOH of the capacitor component, and the providing further comprises providing, to a user of the measurement tool via the display, information indicating the determined time period (paragraph [0069], [0083]). Regarding claim 7, Abdennadher discloses a measurement tool for determining a State of Health, SOH, of a capacitor component in a vehicle (Abstract), wherein the measurement tool is configured to perform charging and discharging of the capacitor component according to a specific determined charge and discharge cycle, obtain current and voltage measurements during both the charging and discharging of the capacitor component(measuring the ripple voltage between the contact terminals of the capacitor, Paragraph [0019]; The means for determining the current flowing in the capacitor (charging of capacitor) are preferably connected to means for measuring a current on the power supply line and means for measuring a current in an electric load (discharging of capacitor), paragraph [0040]), determine an Equivalent Series Resistance, ESR, and a capacitance of the capacitor component based on the obtained current and voltage measurements(the method comprises determination of the capacitance value of the capacitor, determinations of the equivalent series resistance and of the capacitance, paragraph [0025]), and determine the SOH of the capacitor component based on the determined capacitance and ESR(the method comprises display of information representative of the capacitance value of the capacitor or/and of information representative of at least one cause associated with the state of ageing of said capacitor according to the capacitance value and/or the equivalent series resistance of the capacitor, paragraph [0025]). However, Abdennadher does not disclose wherein the performing is further based on the ambient temperature surrounding the capacitor component. Szela discloses that the charging and discharging of the capacitor is control based on the ambient temperature (paragraph [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdennadher’s method to include the measurement of ambient temperature during charging and discharging of a capacitor as taught by Szela, in order to have improved diagnostic accuracy by enabling temperature compensation of capacitor parameters (e.g. ESR, capacitance etc.), thereby allowing more reliable determination of capacitor state of health, early detection of overheating conditions, and improved prediction of capacitor performance and lifetime. Regarding claim 9, Abdennadher in view of Szela discloses the measuring tool of claim 8. Szela further discloses wherein the ambient temperature is used to determine suitable charging voltage, VC (paragraph [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdennadher’s method to include the measurement of ambient temperature during charging and discharging of a capacitor as taught by Szela, in order to have improved diagnostic accuracy by enabling temperature compensation of capacitor parameters (e.g. ESR, capacitance etc.), thereby allowing more reliable determination of capacitor state of health, early detection of overheating conditions, and improved prediction of capacitor performance and lifetime. Regarding claim 11, Abdennadher further discloses the measurement tool further comprising to provide, to a user of the measurement tool via a display, information indicating the SOH of the capacitor component(the method comprises display of information representative of the capacitance value of the capacitor or/and of information representative of at least one cause associated with the state of ageing of said capacitor, paragraph [0025]). Regarding claim 12, Abdennadher further discloses the measurement tool further configured to determine a time period until the capacitor component is in need of being replaced based on the determined SOH of the capacitor component, and provide, to a user of the measurement tool via the display, information indicating the determined time period(paragraph [0069], [0083]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdennadher (US 2009/0112493), and Szela (US 2006/0106547) , as applied to claim s 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2018/0033937), herein after Yu . Regarding claim 4, Abdennadher and Szela disclose the method of claim 1. However, they are silent about wherein the specific determined charge and discharge cycle is less than 120 seconds long. Yu discloses the supper capacitor with capacitance of 10F (paragraph [0089]). The charge and discharge cycle of such capacitor is less than 120 second long. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s in view of Szela method to have the capacitor such that whose charge and discharge cycle is less than 120 secs as taught by Yu, in order to have rapid charge and discharge capability with high peak power delivery, enabling reliable short-term energy storage and repeated cycling without significant degradation. Regarding claim 10, Abdennadher in view of Szela discloses the measuring tool of claim 7. However, they are silent about wherein the specific determined charge and discharge cycle is less than 120 seconds long. Yu discloses the supper capacitor with capacitance of 10F (paragraph [0089]). The charge and discharge cycle of such capacitor is less than 120 second long. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s in view of Szela method to have the capacitor such that whose charge and discharge cycle is less than 120 secs as taught by Yu, in order to have rapid charge and discharge capability with high peak power delivery, enabling reliable short-term energy storage and repeated cycling without significant degradation. Regarding claim 13, Abdennadher in view of Szela discloses the measuring tool of claim 7. However, Abdennadher is silent about the capacitor is a super capacitor. Yu discloses the capacitor is a super capacitor (paragraph [0089]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s in view of Szela method to have a super capacitor as taught by Yu, in order to have rapid charge and discharge capability with high peak power delivery, enabling reliable short-term energy storage and repeated cycling without significant degradation . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdennadher (US 2009/0112493), and Szela (US 2006/0106547) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eilertsen (US 2014/0114592) . Regarding claim 14, Abdennadher in view of Szela discloses a processing unit to perform steps of claim 1 (paragraph [0045], see the rejection of claim 1). However, Abdennadher is silent about the processing unit have a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Eilertsen discloses the processing unit is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (microcontroller, data storage, paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s in view of Szela processing unit to have the controller with the data storage as taught by Eilersten, in order to have persistent retention of the program code, allowing reliable execution of the method after power cycles. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SADIA KOUSAR whose telephone number is (571)272-3386. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 7:30am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at (571) 272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. SADIA . KOUSAR Examiner Art Unit 2859 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/306,752 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859