DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,5-7, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Abdennadher et al. (US 2009/0112493), herein after Abdennadher.
Regarding claim 1, Abdennadher discloses a method performed by a measurement tool for determining a State of Health, SOH, of a capacitor component in a vehicle (determining an item of information representative of the state of ageing of the capacitor, Abstract), wherein the method comprises:
performing charging and discharging of the capacitor component according to a specific determined charge and discharge cycle; obtaining current and voltage measurements during both the charging and discharging of the capacitor component (measuring the ripple voltage between the contact terminals of the capacitor, paragraph [0019]; The means for determining the current flowing in the capacitor (charging of capacitor) are preferably connected to means for measuring a current on the power supply line and means for measuring a current in an electric load (discharging of capacitor), paragraph [0040]);
determining an Equivalent Series Resistance, ESR and a capacitance of the capacitor component based on the obtained current and voltage measurements (the method comprises determination of the capacitance value of the capacitor, determinations of the equivalent series resistance and of the capacitance, paragraph [0025]); and
determining the SOH of the capacitor component based on the determined capacitance and ESR (the method comprises display of information representative of the capacitance value of the capacitor or/and of information representative of at least one cause associated with the state of ageing of said capacitor according to the capacitance value and/or the equivalent series resistance of the capacitor, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Abdennadher further discloses the method further comprising providing, to a user of the measurement tool via a display, information indicating the SOH of the capacitor component (the method comprises display of information representative of the capacitance value of the capacitor or/and of information representative of at least one cause associated with the state of ageing of said capacitor, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Abdennadher further discloses wherein the determining further comprises determining a time period until the capacitor component is in need of being replaced based on the determined SOH of the capacitor component, and the providing further comprises providing, to a user of the measurement tool via the display, information indicating the determined time period (paragraph [0069], [0083]).
Regarding claim 7, Abdennadher discloses a measurement tool for determining a State of Health, SOH, of a capacitor component in a vehicle (Abstract), wherein the measurement tool is configured to perform charging and discharging of the capacitor component according to a specific determined charge and discharge cycle, obtain current and voltage measurements during both the charging and discharging of the capacitor component(measuring the ripple voltage between the contact terminals of the capacitor, Paragraph [0019]; The means for determining the current flowing in the capacitor (charging of capacitor) are preferably connected to means for measuring a current on the power supply line and means for measuring a current in an electric load (discharging of capacitor), paragraph [0040]),
determine an Equivalent Series Resistance, ESR, and a capacitance of the capacitor component based on the obtained current and voltage measurements(the method comprises determination of the capacitance value of the capacitor, determinations of the equivalent series resistance and of the capacitance, paragraph [0025]), and determine the SOH of the capacitor component based on the determined capacitance and ESR(the method comprises display of information representative of the capacitance value of the capacitor or/and of information representative of at least one cause associated with the state of ageing of said capacitor according to the capacitance value and/or the equivalent series resistance of the capacitor, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 11, Abdennadher further discloses the measurement tool further comprising to provide, to a user of the measurement tool via a display, information indicating the SOH of the capacitor component(the method comprises display of information representative of the capacitance value of the capacitor or/and of information representative of at least one cause associated with the state of ageing of said capacitor, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Abdennadher further discloses the measurement tool further configured to determine a time period until the capacitor component is in need of being replaced based on the determined SOH of the capacitor component, and provide, to a user of the measurement tool via the display, information indicating the determined time period(paragraph [0069], [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdennadher (US 2009/0112493), as applied to claims 1, 7 above, and further in view of Szela et al. (US 2006/0106547), herein after Szela.
Regarding claim 2, Abdennadher discloses the method of claim 1. Abdennadher does not disclose wherein the performing is further based on the ambient temperature surrounding the capacitor component.
Szela discloses that the charging and discharging of the capacitor is control based on the ambient temperature (paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdennadher’s method to include the measurement of ambient temperature during charging and discharging of a capacitor as taught by Szela, in order to have improved diagnostic accuracy by enabling temperature compensation of capacitor parameters (e.g. ESR, capacitance etc), thereby allowing more reliable determination of capacitor state of health, early detection of overheating conditions, and improved prediction of capacitor performance and lifetime.
Regarding claim 3, Abdennadher in view of Szela discloses the method of claim 1. Szela further discloses wherein the ambient temperature is used to determine suitable charging voltage, VC (paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdennadher’s method to include the measurement of ambient temperature during charging and discharging of a capacitor as taught by Szela, in order to have improved diagnostic accuracy by enabling temperature compensation of capacitor parameters (e.g. ESR, capacitance etc), thereby allowing more reliable determination of capacitor state of health, early detection of overheating conditions, and improved prediction of capacitor performance and lifetime.
Regarding claim 8, Abdennadher discloses the measuring tool of claim 7. Abdennadher does not disclose wherein the performing is further based on the ambient temperature surrounding the capacitor component.
Szela discloses that the charging and discharging of the capacitor is control based on the ambient temperature (paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdennadher’s method to include the measurement of ambient temperature during charging and discharging of a capacitor as taught by Szela, in order to have improved diagnostic accuracy by enabling temperature compensation of capacitor parameters (e.g. ESR, capacitance etc), thereby allowing more reliable determination of capacitor state of health, early detection of overheating conditions, and improved prediction of capacitor performance and lifetime.
Regarding claim 9, Abdennadher in view of Szela discloses the measuring tool of claim 8. Szela further discloses wherein the ambient temperature is used to determine suitable charging voltage, VC (paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdennadher’s method to include the measurement of ambient temperature during charging and discharging of a capacitor as taught by Szela, in order to have improved diagnostic accuracy by enabling temperature compensation of capacitor parameters (e.g. ESR, capacitance etc), thereby allowing more reliable determination of capacitor state of health, early detection of overheating conditions, and improved prediction of capacitor performance and lifetime.
Claim(s) 4, 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdennadher (US 2009/0112493), as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2018/0033937), herein after Yu.
Regarding claim 4, Abdennadher discloses the method of claim 1. However, Abdennadher is silent about wherein the specific determined charge and discharge cycle is less than 120 seconds long.
Yu discloses the supper capacitor with capacitance of 10F (paragraph [0089]). The charge and discharge cycle of such capacitor is less than 120 second long.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s method to have the capacitor such that whose charge and discharge cycle is less than 120 secs as taught by Yu, in order to have rapid charge and discharge capability with high peak power delivery, enabling reliable short-term energy storage and repeated cycling without significant degradation.
Regarding claim 10, Abdennadher discloses the measuring tool of claim 7. However, Abdennadher is silent about wherein the specific determined charge and discharge cycle is less than 120 seconds long.
Yu discloses the supper capacitor with capacitance of 10F (paragraph [0089]). The charge and discharge cycle of such capacitor is less than 120 second long.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s method to have the capacitor such that whose charge and discharge cycle is less than 120 secs as taught by Yu, in order to have rapid charge and discharge capability with high peak power delivery, enabling reliable short-term energy storage and repeated cycling without significant degradation.
Regarding claim 13, Abdennadher discloses the measuring tool of claim 7. However, Abdennadher is silent about the capacitor is a super capacitor.
Yu disclose the capacitor is a super capacitor (paragraph [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s method to have a super capacitor as taught by Yu, in order to have rapid charge and discharge capability with high peak power delivery, enabling reliable short-term energy storage and repeated cycling without significant degradation.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdennadher (US 2009/0112493) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eilertsen (US 2014/0114592).
Regarding claim 14, Abdennadher discloses a processing unit to perform steps of claim 1 (paragraph [0045], see the rejection of claim 1). However, Abdennadher is silent about the processing unit have a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Eilertsen discloses the processing unit is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (microcontroller, data storage, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s processing unit to have the controller with the data storage as taught by Eilersten, in order to have persistent retention of the program code, allowing reliable execution of the method after power cycles.
Regarding claim 15, Abdennadher in view of Eilersten discloses a processing unit to perform steps of claim 14 (paragraph [0045], see the rejection of claim 14). However, Abdennadher is silent about a computer program carrier carrying a computer program product wherein the computer program carrier is one of an electronic signal, optical signal, radio signal, or computer-readable storage medium.
Eilersten discloses a computer program carrier carrying a computer program product wherein the computer program carrier is one of an electronic signal, optical signal, radio signal, or computer-readable storage medium (paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Abdennadher’s processing unit to have the controller with the data storage as taught by Eilersten, in order to have persistent retention of the program code, allowing reliable execution of the method after power cycles.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859