DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on December 19, 2025. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7 and 8 are currently amended. Claims 1-10 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C 112 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendments.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the through holes" on line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0331141, hereinafter Schneider.
Regarding claim 1, Schneider teaches a secondary battery (20) (paragraph [0037] and figure 2).
The secondary battery (20) comprises an electrode assembly (60) (paragraph [0041]). The electrode assembly (60) includes a first outer plate (94, “electrode tab”) and a second outer plate (84, “electrode tab”) exposed at opposite sides thereof in a second direction (paragraphs [0052, 0053, 0060] and figures 7 and 8).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Indicating the first direction, the second direction and the third direction in Schneider's assembly. Also shown is the correspondence between a length of the cap plate (23) and the first direction and a width of the cap plate (23) and the third direction.)]
A case (25) having two open sides accommodates the electrode assembly (60) (paragraph [0038] and figure 2).
A first cap plate (23) seals one of the two open sides of the case (25) (paragraph [0038]). The first cap plate (23) has an electrolyte injection hole (39) (paragraph [0080] and figure 2). The first cap plate (23) has a length in a first direction and a width in a third direction. The first direction, the second direction and the third direction cross each other (see Figure 1 above).
A first terminal (140) is electrically connected to the first outer plate (94, “electrode tab”) and is exposed to the outside of the first cap plate (23) (paragraphs [0038, 0060] and figure 2). The first terminal (140) passes through opening (35) of the cap plate (23) – therefore the first terminal (140) is at a central portion of the cap plate (23) in the second direction. The through opening (35) is shown to be positioned at a central portion of the cap plate (23) in the third direction – therefore the first terminal (140) is also positioned at a central portion of the first cap plate (23) in the third direction (see Figure 2 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 - Indicating the position of the terminal (140) at a central portion of the cap plate (23) in the second and third directions.)]
An insulating insert (40) is interposed between the first cap plate (23) and the electrode assembly (60). The insulating insert (40) includes an opening hole. The opening hole passes through the insulating insert (40) in the second direction – therefore, the opening hole is at a center of the insulating center (40) in the second direction. The opening hole is also located at a center of the insulating insert (40) along the third direction. The first terminal (140) is accommodated in the opening hole (see Figure 3 below).
The insulating insert (40) also includes a through hole between the center of the insulating insert (40) and a side thereof in the first direction (Figure 3 below). The through hole corresponds to the electrolyte injection hole (39) (paragraph [0066] and figures 2 and 15).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3 - Schneider's assembly.)]
Regarding claim 2, Schneider teaches a first current collector (120 and 170) electrically connecting the first outer plate (94, “electrode tab”) and the first terminal (140) (paragraphs [0060, 0063] and figure 16).
Regarding claim 9, Schneider teaches that the first terminal (140) comprises a first inner terminal plate (170), a first outer terminal plate (144) and a first terminal pillar (150) (paragraph [0063] and figures 13 and 14).
The first inner terminal plate (170) is inside the first cap plate (23). The first outer terminal plate (144) is outside the first cap plate (23). The first terminal pillar (150) is coupled to the first inner terminal plate (170) from the inside of the first cap plate (23). The first terminal pillar (150) is coupled to the first outer terminal plate (144) from the outside of the first cap plate (23) (paragraph [0063] and figures 13 and 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0331141, hereinafter Schneider as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0133655, hereinafter Guen.
Regarding claim 3, Schneider teaches that the first current collector (120 and 170) comprises a first electrode connection part (120) contacting and coupled to the first outer plate (94, “electrode tab”) (paragraph [0060]).
The first current collector (120 and 170) further comprises a first terminal connection part (170) having one end coupled to the first electrode connection part (120) by welding and another end coupled to the post (150) of first terminal (140) (paragraphs [0060, 0063]). First terminal connection part (170) is a thermally conductive plate (figure 13).
Schneider fails to specify the manner in which the first terminal connection part (170) is coupled to the post (150) of first terminal (140).
It is well known in the art to couple the post of an electrical terminal to a thermally conductive plate of the design taught by Schneider via welding. See, e.g. Guen, who teaches a terminal post (142) coupled to terminal plate (190) via welding (paragraph [0068] and figure 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the first terminal connection part (170) to the post (150) of first terminal (140) via welding for the purpose of ensuring a secure electrically conductive connection.
Regarding claim 4, Schneider teaches that the first electrode connection part (120) is a copper plate extending along the first direction (paragraphs [0060, 0089], figure 10 and Figure 1 above).
The first electrode connection part (120) comprises a first connection part (121) welded in contact with the first outer plate (94, “electrode tab”) (paragraph [0060]). The first outer plate (94, “electrode tab”) is one side of the electrode assembly (60).
The first electrode connection part (120) further comprises a first center part (123) bent from the first connection part (121), protruding towards the first cap plate (23) compared to the first connection part (121) and spaced apart from one side surface of the electrode assembly (60) (paragraph [0060] and figures 8, 10 and 16).
Regarding claim 5, Schneider teaches that the first connection part (121) extends the full length of the first electrode connection part (120) in the first direction. The first connection part (121) is on both sides of at least a portion of the first center part (123) in the first direction (figure 10 and Figure 1 above).
Alternatively, in the welded state, plate (120) and plate (94) would be integral and may together be considered the “first electrode connection part”. Plate (94) and leg (121) together would then be the “first connection part”. The “first connection part” (94 and 121) extends on both sides of the “first center part” (123) (figure 17). (Under such an interpretation, the “electrode tab” would be any one of clear lanes (76) protruding from the end of the electrode assembly (60) (paragraphs [0051, 0058] and figures 6, 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 6, Schneider teaches that the insulating insert (40) comprises fixing protrusions (45) protruding toward the first current collector (120 and 170) (paragraph [0066] and figures 15 and 16).
The fixing protrusions (45) are in the shape of hooks (figure 16). The fixing protrusions (45) are hooked beneath the first electrode connection part (120) and are fixed. The fixing protrusions (45) are located on both sides of the first center part (123).
Regarding claim 7, Schneider teaches that the insulating insert (40) includes first body parts on both sides of the opening hole in the first direction (see Figure 4 below). A straight line may be drawn between the first connection part (121) and the first cap plate (23) such that it intersects the first body parts – therefore, the first body parts are interposed between the first connection part (121) and the first cap plate (23).
First support parts have a height in the second direction and are disposed along outer peripheries of the first body parts (see Figure 4 below).
The insulating insert (40) includes first side parts (42 and 44) located on both sides of the opening in the third direction (paragraph [0066] and figures 15 and 16).
The first side parts (42 and 44) are connected between the first support parts (figure 15).
The fixing protrusions (45) protrude from the first side parts (42 and 44) toward the first current collector (120 and 170) (paragraph [0066] and figures 15 and 16).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 4 - Schneider's assembly. Defining the features relevant to claim 7.)]
Regarding claim 8, Schneider teaches that the first body parts define (“have”) through holes on both sides. Each through hole accommodates an electrode terminal and leg (122) of the first electrode connection part (120) (figures 15 and 16).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0331141, hereinafter Schneider as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2005/0287435, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 10, Schneider teaches a second cap plate (24) sealing the other one of the two open sides of the case (25) (paragraph [0038] and figure 2).
A second current collector (100) electrically connects the second outer plate (84, “electrode tab”) and the second cap plate (24) (paragraph [0056] and figure 2).
In Schneider’s assembly, the second cap plate (24) and the case (25) have the same polarity as the second outer plate (84, “electrode tab”) and the case (25) serves a second terminal (paragraph [0056]).
Schneider fails to teach a second terminal electrically connected to the second outer plate (84, “electrode tab”) and exposed to an outside of the second cap plate (24)
A configuration with two terminals of opposite polarity located on opposite cap plates is known in the art. See, e.g. Kim.
Kim teaches a battery having a case (11) with two open ends. A cap plate (30a) seals one end of the case (11) and includes a first terminal (305). A second cap plate (30b) seals the second end of the case (11) and includes a second terminal (305’) (paragraph [0035] and figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Schneider’s battery to have a second terminal exposed from the second cap plate (24) for the purpose of maintaining the case (25) neutral.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the previously presented Schneider reference was found to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724