DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 06/17/2026. Claims 8-16 are currently pending for examination on the merits, with claims 1-7 and 17-20 withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2006/0214641) (of record) in view of Kim (US 2013/0040181).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses a compression plate (20) for a battery module (10) having a plurality of battery cells (11) arranged in a row within a module housing (title; abstract; [0036]; see Fig. 1), the compression plate (20) comprising: a first cell engaging surface having a first cooling fluid channel (21) defined therein and extending from a first channel inlet at a plate bottom edge to a first channel outlet at a plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 below; [0038]); and a second cell engaging surface having a second cooling fluid channel (21) defined therein and extending from a second channel inlet at the plate bottom edge to a second channel outlet at the plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 below; [0038]). Examiner notes that because coolant enters each of the first fluid channel inlet and the second fluid channel inlet from the plate bottom edge (see arrows in Fig. 1; [0036]), the entire bottom edge can be considered a channel inlet shared by each of the first channel inlet and the second channel inlet (see Modified Figure 9 below; [0036]). Cho further discloses that the compression plate (20) is made of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, or a metal composite material ([0040]), which are each compressible (examiner notes that all materials are compressible, at least to a certain extent). Cho further discloses that the compression plate (20) is disposed between a pair of adjacent battery cells (11), the first cell engaging surface faces and engages a first cell casing of a first battery cell (11) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (11) and the second cell engaging surface faces and engages a second cell casing of a second battery cell (11) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (11) (see Modified Figure 9 below; [0051]), and wherein the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) cause cooling fluid entering through the first channel inlet and the second channel inlet to flow over the first cell casing and the second cell casing, respectively, and dissipate heat from the pair of adjacent battery cells (11), and to discharge from the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) through the first channel outlet and the second channel outlet ([0018]; [0036]-[0039]).
Modified Figure 1, Cho
Modified Figure 9, Cho
Cho fails to disclose, however, that the first channel outlet is wider than the first cooling fluid channel.
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Kim teaches a similar compression plate (150) for a battery module (100) having a plurality of battery cells (10) arranged in a row within a module housing (title; abstract; see Figs. 1-3; [0023]; [0041]), wherein the compression plate (150) comprises a first cooling fluid channel (Oc) extending from a first channel inlet (156) at a plate bottom edge to a first channel outlet (156) at a plate top edge (see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0028]). Kim further teaches that the first channel outlet (156) has a width (represented by the area S2) that is wider than a width (represented by the area E1) of the first cooling fluid channel (Oc) (see Figs. 3 and 4A; [0031]-[0033]). Kim further teaches that configuring the first cooling fluid channel (Oc) in this way improves the heat exchange efficiency of the battery cells (10) ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first channel outlet disclosed by modified Cho to be wider than the first cooling fluid channel, as taught by Kim, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would improve the heat exchange efficiency of the battery cells. Thus, modified Cho satisfies all of the limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. As set forth above, modified Cho discloses that the compression plate (Cho: 20) is made of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, or a metal composite material (Cho: [0040]), which are each compressible materials (examiner notes that all materials are compressible, at least to a certain extent).
Regarding claim 10, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) can have a serpentine shape with a plurality of vertical sections of the cooling fluid to flow over the first cell casing and the second cell casing (Cho: see Figs. 7 and 8; [0046]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that each of the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) can comprise a first serpentine section from the channel inlet to the channel outlet and a second serpentine section from the channel inlet to a second channel outlet (see Modified Figure 8 below; [0046]-[0050]).
Modified Figure 8, Cho
Regarding claim 12, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) comprises a plurality of first cooling fluid channels (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel comprises a plurality of cooling fluid channels (Cho: 21) (see Modified Figure 9 above; [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the compression plate (Cho: 20) comprises a corrugated sheet having alternating ridges and grooves extending from the plate bottom edge to the plate top edge (Cho: see Fig. 1; [0038]), wherein the alternating ridges of the first cell engaging surface engage the first cell casing and the grooves of the first cell engaging surface define first cooling fluid channels (Cho: 21), and the alternating ridges of the second cell engaging surface engage the second cell casing and the grooves of the second cell engaging surface define a plurality of second cooling fluid channels (Cho: 21) (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 above; [0038]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) can have a cross-section of a square of rectangle (Cho: [0041]). However, modified Cho is also clear that the cross-sectional shape of the channels (Cho: 21) are not limited thereto, and the channels (Cho: 21) can have various shapes (Cho: [0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least tried configuring the cross-sectional shapes of the channels (Cho: 21) to be triangular since modified Cho allows various shapes for the channels (Cho: 21). Examiner also notes that absent persuasive evidence that the particular the shapes of the first and second cooling fluid channels are significant, the configuration of the shapes of the cooling fluid channels are considered a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious (see MPEP 2144.04 IV).
Regarding claim 15, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) have a rectangular cross-sectional shape (see Modified Figure 9 above; [0015]; [0041]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the compression plate (Cho: 20) can comprise lateral discharge slots (Cho: 37) proximate the bottom edge (Cho: see Fig. 6; [0045]). Examiner notes that the limitation “so that a portion of the cooling fluid is discharged laterally and flows upward over lateral surfaces of the first cell casing and the second cell casing that are not engaged by the first cell engaging surface and the second cell engaging surface” is merely intended use language that fails to require further structure to the compression plate. Nonetheless, the discharge slots (Cho: 37) disclosed by modified Cho would clearly by capable of laterally discharging the cooling fluid over lateral surfaces (in this case the top and bottom surfaces) of the first cell casing and the second cell casing that are not engaged by the first cell engaging surface and the second cell engaging surface (Cho: [0045]). Thus, modified Cho satisfies all of the limitations in claim 16.
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2006/0214641) (of record) in view of Kalmbach et al. (US 2020/0136203) (Kalmbach) (of record) and Kim (US 2013/0040181).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses a compression plate (20) for a battery module (10) having a plurality of battery cells (11) arranged in a row within a module housing (title; abstract; [0036]; see Fig. 1), the compression plate (20) comprising: a first cell engaging surface having a first cooling fluid channel (21) defined therein and extending from a first channel inlet at a plate bottom edge to a first channel outlet at a plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 above; [0038]); and a second cell engaging surface having a second cooling fluid channel (21) defined therein and extending from a second channel inlet at the plate bottom edge to a second channel outlet at the plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 above; [0038]). Examiner notes that because coolant enters each of the first fluid channel inlet and the second fluid channel inlet from the plate bottom edge (see arrows in Fig. 1; [0036]), the entire bottom edge can be considered a channel inlet shared by each of the first channel inlet and the second channel inlet (see Modified Figure 9 above; [0036]). Cho further discloses that the compression plate (20) is disposed between a pair of adjacent battery cells (11), the first cell engaging surface faces and engages a first cell casing of a first battery cell (11) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (11) and the second cell engaging surface faces and engages a second cell casing of a second battery cell (11) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (11) (see Modified Figure 9 above; [0051]), and wherein the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) cause cooling fluid entering through the first channel inlet and the second channel inlet to flow over the first cell casing and the second cell casing, respectively, and dissipate heat from the pair of adjacent battery cells (11), and to discharge from the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) through the first channel outlet and the second channel outlet ([0018]; [0036]-[0039]).
Cho fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the compression plate (20) is compressible.
However, it is known in the art to configure compression plates between adjacent battery cells from compressible material. For instance, Kalmbach teaches a similar compression plate (7) located between adjacent battery cells (2) and comprising a plurality of cooling fluid channels (8) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0030]-[0031]), wherein the cooling fluid channels (8) cause cooling fluid entering through the channels (8) to flow over a first cell casing (9a) and a second cell casing (9b), respectively, and dissipate heat from the pair of adjacent battery cells (2) ([0030]-[0031]). Kalmbach further teaches that the compression plate (7) can be fabricated from a compressible material in order to compensate for increases or decreases in battery cell (2) thickness during the life cycle of the batteries (2) ([0030]; [0032]). Thus, the compression plate (7) is able to effectively cool neighboring battery cells (2) at the beginning as well as at the end of the life cycle of the batteries (2) independently of the charge status ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compression plate disclosed by Cho to be compressible, as taught by Kalmbach, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the compression plate to compensate for changes in thicknesses in neighboring battery cells during their life cycle and, thus, allow for effective cooling independently of charge status.
Modified Cho still fails to disclose, however, that the first channel outlet is wider than the first cooling fluid channel.
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Kim teaches a similar compression plate (150) for a battery module (100) having a plurality of battery cells (10) arranged in a row within a module housing (title; abstract; see Figs. 1-3; [0023]; [0041]), wherein the compression plate (150) comprises a first cooling fluid channel (Oc) extending from a first channel inlet (156) at a plate bottom edge to a first channel outlet (156) at a plate top edge (see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0028]). Kim further teaches that the first channel outlet (156) has a width (represented by the area S2) that is wider than a width (represented by the area E1) of the first cooling fluid channel (Oc) (see Figs. 3 and 4A; [0031]-[0033]). Kim further teaches that configuring the first cooling fluid channel (Oc) in this way improves the heat exchange efficiency of the battery cells (10) ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first channel outlet disclosed by modified Cho to be wider than the first cooling fluid channel, as taught by Kim, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would improve the heat exchange efficiency of the battery cells. Thus, modified Cho satisfies all of the limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. As set forth above, Kalmbach discloses that the compression plate (Kalmbach: 7) is fabricated from a compressible material in order to compensate for increases or decreases in battery cell (Kalmbach: 2) thickness during the life cycle of the batteries (Kalmbach: 2) (Kalmbach: [0030]; [0032]). Therefore, since modified Cho includes the teachings from Kalmbach regarding the compressibility of the compression plate, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Cho to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) can have a serpentine shape with a plurality of vertical sections of the cooling fluid to flow over the first cell casing and the second cell casing (Cho: see Figs. 7 and 8; [0046]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that each of the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) can comprise a first serpentine section from the channel inlet to the channel outlet and a second serpentine section from the channel inlet to a second channel outlet (see Modified Figure 8 above; [0046]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) comprises a plurality of first cooling fluid channels (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel comprises a plurality of cooling fluid channels (Cho: 21) (see Modified Figure 9 above; [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the compression plate (Cho: 20) comprises a corrugated sheet having alternating ridges and grooves extending from the plate bottom edge to the plate top edge (Cho: see Fig. 1; [0038]), wherein the alternating ridges of the first cell engaging surface engage the first cell casing and the grooves of the first cell engaging surface define first cooling fluid channels (Cho: 21), and the alternating ridges of the second cell engaging surface engage the second cell casing and the grooves of the second cell engaging surface define a plurality of second cooling fluid channels (Cho: 21) (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 above; [0038]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) can have a cross-section of a square of rectangle (Cho: [0041]). However, modified Cho is also clear that the cross-sectional shape of the channels (Cho: 21) are not limited thereto, and the channels (Cho: 21) can have various shapes (Cho: [0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least tried configuring the cross-sectional shapes of the channels (Cho: 21) to be triangular since modified Cho allows various shapes for the channels (Cho: 21). Examiner also notes that absent persuasive evidence that the particular the shapes of the first and second cooling fluid channels are significant, the configuration of the shapes of the cooling fluid channels are considered a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious (see MPEP 2144.04 IV).
Regarding claim 15, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) and the second cooling fluid channel (Cho: 21) have a rectangular cross-sectional shape (see Modified Figure 9 above; [0015]; [0041]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Cho further discloses that the compression plate (Cho: 20) can comprise lateral discharge slots (Cho: 37) proximate the bottom edge (Cho: see Fig. 6; [0045]). Examiner notes that the limitation “so that a portion of the cooling fluid is discharged laterally and flows upward over lateral surfaces of the first cell casing and the second cell casing that are not engaged by the first cell engaging surface and the second cell engaging surface” is merely intended use language that fails to require further structure to the compression plate. Nonetheless, the discharge slots (Cho: 37) disclosed by modified Cho would clearly by capable of laterally discharging the cooling fluid over lateral surfaces (in this case the top and bottom surfaces) of the first cell casing and the second cell casing that are not engaged by the first cell engaging surface and the second cell engaging surface (Cho: [0045]). Thus, modified Cho satisfies all of the limitations in claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome the drawings objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/17/2026.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claim 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As such, claims 8-16 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749