DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 8-16) in the reply filed on 02/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups I and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/05/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: "110", as seen in Fig. 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 10-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (US 2006/0214641).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses a compression plate (20) for a battery module (10) having a plurality of battery cells (11) arranged in a row within a module housing (title; abstract; [0036]; see Fig. 1), the compression plate (20) comprising: a first cell engaging surface having a first cooling fluid channel (21) defined therein and extending from a first channel inlet at a plate bottom edge to a first channel outlet at a plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 below; [0038]); and a second cell engaging surface having a second cooling fluid channel (21) defined therein and extending from a second channel inlet at the plate bottom edge to a second channel outlet at the plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 below; [0038]), wherein, when the compression plate (20) is disposed between a pair of adjacent battery cells (11), the first cell engaging surface faces and engages a first cell casing of a first battery cell (11) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (11) and the second cell engaging surface faces and engages a second cell casing of a second battery cell (11) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (11) (see Modified Figure 9 below; [0051]), and wherein the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) cause cooling fluid entering through the first channel inlet and the second channel inlet to flow over the first cell casing and the second cell casing, respectively, and dissipate heat from the pair of adjacent battery cells (11), and to discharge from the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) through the first channel outlet and the second channel outlet ([0018]; [0036]-[0039]).
Modified Figure 1, Cho
Modified Figure 9, Cho
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) can have a serpentine shape with a plurality of vertical sections of the cooling fluid to flow over the first cell casing and the second cell casing (see Figs. 7 and 8; [0046]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Cho further discloses that each of the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) can comprise a first serpentine section from the channel inlet to the channel outlet and a second serpentine section from the channel inlet to a second channel outlet (see Modified Figure 8 below; [0046]-[0050]).
Modified Figure 8, Cho
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (21) comprises a plurality of first cooling fluid channels (21) and the second cooling fluid channel comprises a plurality of cooling fluid channels (21) (see Modified Figure 9 above; [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Cho further discloses that the compression plate (20) comprises a corrugated sheet having alternating ridges and grooves extending from the plate bottom edge to the plate top edge (see Fig. 1; [0038]), wherein the alternating ridges of the first cell engaging surface engage the first cell casing and the grooves of the first cell engaging surface define first cooling fluid channels (21), and the alternating ridges of the second cell engaging surface engage the second cell casing and the grooves of the second cell engaging surface define a plurality of second cooling fluid channels (21) (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 above; [0038]).
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) have a rectangular cross-sectional shape (see Modified Figure 9 above; [0015]; [0041]).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Cho further discloses that the compression plate (20) can comprise lateral discharge slots (37) proximate the bottom edge (see Fig. 6; [0045]). Examiner notes that the limitation “so that a portion of the cooling fluid is discharged laterally and flows upward over lateral surfaces of the first cell casing and the second cell casing that are not engaged by the first cell engaging surface and the second cell engaging surface” is merely intended use language that fails to require further structure to the compression plate. Nonetheless, the discharge slots (37) disclosed by Cho would clearly by capable of laterally discharging the cooling fluid over lateral surfaces (in this case the top and bottom surfaces) of the first cell casing and the second cell casing that are not engaged by the first cell engaging surface and the second cell engaging surface ([0045]). Thus, Cho reads on all of the limitations in claim 16.
Claims 8-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalmbach et al. (US 2020/0136203) (Kalmbach).
Regarding claim 8, Kalmbach discloses a compression plate (7) for a battery module (1) having a plurality of battery cells (2) arranged in a row within a module housing (title; abstract; [0016]; [0030]; see Fig. 1), the compression plate (7) comprising: a first cell engaging surface having a first cooling fluid channel (8) defined therein and extending from a first channel inlet at a plate bottom edge to a first channel outlet at a plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 2 below; [0030]-[0031]); and a second cell engaging surface having a second cooling fluid channel (8) defined therein and extending from a second channel inlet at the plate bottom edge to a second channel outlet at the plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 below; [0030]-[0031]), wherein, when the compression plate (7) is disposed between a pair of adjacent battery cells (2), the first cell engaging surface faces and engages a first cell casing (9a) of a first battery cell (2) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (2) and the second cell engaging surface faces and engages a second cell casing (9b) of a second battery cell (2) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (2) (see Modified Figure 1 below; [0031]), and wherein the first cooling fluid channel (8) and the second cooling fluid channel (8) cause cooling fluid entering through the first channel inlet and the second channel inlet to flow over the first cell casing (9a) and the second cell casing (9b), respectively, and dissipate heat from the pair of adjacent battery cells (2), and to discharge from the first cooling fluid channel (8) and the second cooling fluid channel (8) through the first channel outlet and the second channel outlet ([0030]-[0031]).
Modified Figure 1, Kalmbach
Modified Figure 1, Kalmbach
Regarding claim 9, Kalmbach discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Kalmbach further discloses that the compression plate (7) is fabricated from a compressible material ([0030]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Kalmbach discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Kalmbach further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (8) comprises a plurality of first cooling fluid channels (8), and the second cooling fluid channel (8) comprises a plurality of second cooling fluid channels (8) (see Modified Figure 1 above; [0030]).
Claims 8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Srinivasamurthy (DE 102013215083 with English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 8, Srinivasamurthy discloses a compression plate (200’) for a battery module (40) having a plurality of battery cells (100) arranged in a row within a module housing (title; abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0071]; see Fig. 4), the compression plate (200’) comprising: a first cell engaging surface having a first cooling fluid channel defined therein and extending from a first channel inlet at a plate bottom edge to a first channel outlet at a plate top edge (see Modified Figures 4 and 6 below; [0045]-[0047]; [0012]); and a second cell engaging surface having a second cooling fluid channel defined therein and extending from a second channel inlet at the plate bottom edge to a second channel outlet at the plate top edge (see Modified Figures 4 and 6 below; [0045]-[0047]; [0012]), wherein, when the compression plate (200’) is disposed between a pair of adjacent battery cells (1001,1002), the first cell engaging surface faces and engages a first cell casing of a first battery cell (1001) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (1001,1002) and the second cell engaging surface faces and engages a second cell casing of a second battery cell (1002) of the pair of adjacent battery cells (1001,1002) (see Modified Figure 4 below; [0049]), and wherein the first cooling fluid channel and the second cooling fluid channel cause cooling fluid entering through the first channel inlet and the second channel inlet to flow over the first cell casing and the second cell casing, respectively, and dissipate heat from the pair of adjacent battery cells (1001,1002), and to discharge from the first cooling fluid channel and the second cooling fluid channel through the first channel outlet and the second channel outlet ([0047]; [0012]).
Modified Figure 4, Srinivasamurthy
Modified Figure 6, Srinivasamurthy
Regarding claim 12, Srinivasamurthy discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Srinivasamurthy further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel comprises a plurality of first cooling fluid channels, and the second cooling fluid channel comprises a plurality of second cooling fluid channels (see Modified Figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 13, Srinivasamurthy discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Srinivasamurthy further discloses that the compression plate (200’) comprises a corrugated sheet (260, 275) having alternating ridges and grooves extending from the plate bottom edge to the plate top edge (see Figs. 4 and 6; [0046]; [0055]; [0057]), wherein the alternating ridges of the first cell engaging surface engage the first cell casing and the grooves of the first cell engaging surface define first cooling fluid channels, and the alternating ridges of the second cell engaging surface engage the second cell casing and the grooves of the second cell engaging surface define a plurality of second cooling fluid channels (see Modified Figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 14, Srinivasamurthy discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Srinivasamurthy further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel and the second fluid channel can have a triangular cross-sectional shape (see Fig. 6; [0057]).
Regarding claim 15, Srinivasamurthy discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Srinivasamurthy further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel and the second cooling fluid channel can have a rectangular cross-sectional shape (see Fig. 5; [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2006/0214641) in view of Kalmbach et al. (US 2020/0136203) (Kalmbach).
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Cho fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the compression plate (20) is fabricated from a compressible material.
However, it is known in the art to configure compression plates between adjacent battery cells from compressible material. For instance, Kalmbach teaches a similar compression plate (7) comprising: a first cell engaging surface having a first cooling fluid channel (8) defined therein and extending from a first channel inlet at a plate bottom edge to a first channel outlet at a plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 2 above; [0030]-[0031]); and a second cell engaging surface having a second cooling fluid channel (8) defined therein and extending from a second channel inlet at the plate bottom edge to a second channel outlet at the plate top edge (see Modified Figures 1 and 9 above; [0030]-[0031]), wherein the first cooling fluid channel (8) and the second cooling fluid channel (8) cause cooling fluid entering through the first channel inlet and the second channel inlet to flow over the first cell casing (9a) and the second cell casing (9b), respectively, and dissipate heat from the pair of adjacent battery cells (2), and to discharge from the first cooling fluid channel (8) and the second cooling fluid channel (8) through the first channel outlet and the second channel outlet ([0030]-[0031]). Kalmbach further teaches that the compression plate (7) can be fabricated from a compressible material in order to compensate for increases or decreases in battery cell (2) thickness during the life cycle of the batteries (2) ([0030]; [0032]). Thus, the compression plate (7) is able to effectively cool neighboring battery cells (2) at the beginning as well as at the end of the life cycle of the batteries (2) independently of the charge status ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compression plate disclosed by Cho to be fabricated with the compressible material taught by Kalmbach because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the compression plate to compensate for changes in thicknesses in neighboring battery cells during their life cycle and, thus, allow for effective cooling independently of charge status.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2006/0214641).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Cho further discloses that the first cooling fluid channel (21) and the second cooling fluid channel (21) can have a cross-section of a square of rectangle ([0041]). However, Cho is also clear that the cross-sectional shape of the channels (21) are not limited thereto, and the channels (21) can have various shapes ([0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least tried configuring the cross-sectional shapes of the channels (21) to be triangular since Cho allows various shapes for the channels (21). Examiner also notes that absent persuasive evidence that the particular the shapes of the first and second cooling fluid channels are significant, the configuration of the shapes of the cooling fluid channels are considered a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious (see MPEP 2144.04 IV).
Conclusion
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749