DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/03/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,930,967 in view of Jones (US 2012/0097046 A1).
Instant application
Reference patent
Claim 1. A food heater, comprising:
a base;
a drive unit mounted to the base,
wherein the drive unit is pivotable between a first position relative to the base and a second position relative to the base
a plurality of rollers rotatably coupled to the drive unit,
wherein individual ones of the rollers extend along a longitudinal axis, wherein the longitudinal axes of the rollers are parallel to one another,
wherein the drive unit is configured to rotate the rollers about the corresponding longitudinal axes when the rollers are in the first position, and
wherein the rollers are configured to be manually removable from the drive unit when the rollers are in the second position; and
a control panel mounted to the drive unit and positioned to face in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axes.
Claim 1. A food heater, comprising:
a base;
a drive unit pivotally coupled to the base,
the drive unit including a motor operably coupled to a drive member;
a plurality of heaters coupled to the drive unit and projecting outwardly therefrom;
a plurality of rollers configured to be individually positioned over corresponding ones of the heaters such that each of the heaters is positioned within a corresponding roller; and….
wherein the motor is configured to rotate the drive member to thereby rotate the rollers, and
wherein the drive unit is rotatable from a first position in which the rollers extend generally parallel to the base to a second position in which the rollers extend at an angle to the base.
Claim 2. The food heater of claim 1 wherein the rollers are configured to be manually removable from over the corresponding ones of the heaters without the use of tools when the drive unit is in the second position.
The reference claims does not explicitly disclose the roller’s longitudinal axes. However the longitudinal axes of the plurality of parallel rollers are inherent.
The reference claims does not disclose a control panel mounted to the drive unit and positioned to face in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axes.
Jones discloses a heating device with rollers (Fig. 2) which can be used for hot dogs (par. 29) wherein the user control panel faces a direction parallel to the longitudinal axes of the rollers (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified reference claims to incorporate the teachings of Jones and provide the control panel to face a direction parallel to the longitudinal axes of the rollers. Jones demonstrate that one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of placing the control panel in any particular direction based on design constraints and specifications.
Claim 4Claim 5
Claims 12 and 13 reads on the limitation
Claims 12-14 reads on the limitation
Claims 9 and 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,930,967 in view of Hunot (US 20050061161 A1).
Instant application
Reference patent
Claim 9. A food heater, comprising:
a base;
a drive unit mounted to the base,
wherein the drive unit is pivotable between a first position relative to the base and a second position relative to the base;
a plurality of rollers coupled to the drive unit, wherein individual ones of the rollers extend along a longitudinal axis,
wherein the longitudinal axes of the rollers are parallel to one another,
wherein the drive unit is configured to rotate the rollers about the longitudinal axes when the rollers are in the first position, and
wherein the rollers are configured to be manually removed from the drive unit when the rollers are in the second position;
a support structure positioned over the configured to support the rollers in the first position.
a drip tray configured to be positioned between the base and the plurality of rollers; and
a support structure positioned over the drip tray and configured to support the rollers in the first position.
Claim 1. A food heater, comprising:
a base;
a drive unit pivotally coupled to the base,
the drive unit including a motor operably coupled to a drive member;
a plurality of heaters coupled to the drive unit and projecting outwardly therefrom;
a plurality of rollers configured to be individually positioned over corresponding ones of the heaters such that each of the heaters is positioned within a corresponding roller; and….
wherein the motor is configured to rotate the drive member to thereby rotate the rollers, and
wherein the drive unit is rotatable from a first position in which the rollers extend generally parallel to the base to a second position in which the rollers extend at an angle to the base.
Claim 2. The food heater of claim 1 wherein the rollers are configured to be manually removable from over the corresponding ones of the heaters without the use of tools when the drive unit is in the second position.
Claim 6. …. wherein the food heater further includes a support structure coupled to the base and configured to support the second end portions of the heaters and the second end portions of the rollers in the first position.
The reference claims does not explicitly disclose the roller’s longitudinal axes. However the longitudinal axes of the plurality of parallel rollers are inherent.
The reference claims does not disclose a drip tray configured to be positioned between the base and the plurality of rollers; and
the support structure positioned over the drip tray and configured to support the rollers in the first position.
Hunot discloses a roller grill assembly, Fig. 1, wherein a grease drip tray 78 rest beneath the roller tubes to catch grease (par. 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reference claims to incorporate the teachings of Hunot and provide a grease tray. Doing so would have the benefit of catching the grease drippings from the hot dog (par. 57, Hunot).
The combination results in a grease tray resting on the base of reference claims’ roller grill with the support structure positioned over the drip tray at the end of the grill to hold up the rollers.
Claim 11
Claim 7 reads on the limitation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, 8, and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the plurality of heaters” which lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "generally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 recites “wherein the rollers are concentrically aligned with the corresponding ones of the longitudinal axes.” This is indefinite because the rollers are already aligned with their corresponding axes.
Claim 12 recites “the heaters” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cretors (US 11,930,967 B2) in view of Jones (US 2012/0097046 A1).
Claim 1. Cretors discloses a food heater (100, Fig. 1A), comprising:
a base (104, Fig. 1B);
a drive unit mounted to the base (drive unit 106 is attached to the base, Fig. 1B),
wherein the drive unit is pivotable between a first position relative to the base and a second position relative to the base (106 rotates between the first position and second position, Fig. 1C and 1D);
a plurality of rollers rotatably coupled to the drive unit (rollers 110, Fig. 1B),
wherein individual ones of the rollers extend along a longitudinal axis, wherein the longitudinal axes of the rollers are parallel to one another (roller extend along an axis and are parallel to each other, Fig. 1B),
wherein the drive unit is configured to rotate the rollers about the corresponding longitudinal axes when the rollers are in the first position (rollers are rotated by the drive unit in the first position, claim 1), and
wherein the rollers are configured to be manually removable from the drive unit when the rollers are in the second position (claim 2); and
a control panel mounted to the drive unit and positioned to face in a
Cretors does not disclose that the control panel faces a direction parallel to the longitudinal axes.
Jones discloses a heating device with rollers (Fig. 2) which can be used for hot dogs (par. 29) wherein the user control panel faces a direction parallel to the longitudinal axes of the rollers (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cretors to incorporate the teachings of Jones and provide the control panel to face a direction parallel to the longitudinal axes of the rollers. Jones demonstrate that one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of placing the control panel in any particular direction based on design constraints and specifications.
Claim 4. Cretors in view of Jones discloses the food heater of claim 1 wherein the base is configured to be positioned on a counter and has a user-facing portion and a rear portion opposite the user-facing portion (base is capable of being placed on a counter, wherein a portion faces a user and the rear is opposite of the user facing portion, col 7, lines 30),
wherein the drive unit is mounted to the rear portion of the base (drive unit is at the rear portion of the base, Fig. 1B),
wherein the rollers are accessible by a user at the user- facing portion, and
wherein the longitudinal axes of the rollers extend from the drive unit at the rear portion toward the user-facing portion (device can be placed such that the longitudinal axes of the roller extend towards the user facing portion, Fig. 1A).
Claim 5. Cretors in view of Jones discloses the food heater of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of sprockets configured to be coupled to corresponding ones of the rollers (sprockets coupled to rollers, claim 1),
wherein the drive unit includes a motor operably coupled to a worm drive member, wherein the worm drive member is configured to engage the sprockets (worm drive engages the sprockets, claim 13), and
wherein the motor is configured to drive the worm drive member to rotate the sprockets to thereby rotate the rollers about the longitudinal axes (motor drives the worm drive, claim 13).
Claim 6. Cretors in view of Jones discloses the food heater of claim 5 wherein rotation of the worm drive member is configured to pull the sprockets toward the drive unit (claim 14), and wherein
(a) the rollers each have generally the same dimensions as one another (claim 15) and
(b) the sprockets each have generally the same dimensions as one another such that each of the rollers rotates at generally the same rate (claim 15).
Claim 8. Cretors in view of Jones discloses the food heater of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of heating elements mounted to the drive unit (Fig. 1), wherein individual ones of the heating elements extend inside corresponding ones of the rollers (heaters 108 extend inside the rollers, Fig. 4), and wherein the rollers are concentrically aligned with the corresponding ones of the longitudinal axes (col 4, lines 60-65).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cretors in view of Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hill (US 7472645 B2).
Claim 2. Cretors in view of Jones discloses the food heater of claim 1, further comprising an actuation latch operably coupled to the drive unit,
wherein the actuation latch is configured to be actuated to pivot the drive unit between the first and second positions, and
wherein the control panel is positioned to face the actuation latch.
Hill discloses a grill wherein a handle at the front of the grill can be grabbed by an operator to pivot an upper platen (Fig. 1, col 2, lines 50-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cretors in view of Jones to incorporate the teachings of Hill and provide a handle with a lift/latch mechanism at the front of the rollers for lifting the rollers. Doing so would have the benefit of lifting the rollers between a first and second position.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [ 2 ] as applied to io
Claim 3. The food heater of claim 1, further comprising
Hunot discloses a roller grill assembly, Fig. 1, wherein a grease drip tray 78 rest beneath the roller tubes to catch grease (par. 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cretors to incorporate the teachings of Hunot and provide a grease tray. Doing so would have the benefit of catching the grease drippings from the hot dog (par. 57, Hunot).
Cretors in view of Hunot does not disclose that the drip tray is integrated with the support structure.
However, applicants have not provided why making the drip tray and support structure an integrated element solves any stated problem. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cretors to have the drip tray be integrated with the support structure since it has been held that the mere integration of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). MPEP 2144.V.B.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [ 2 ] as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kafentzsi (US 6,756,068 B1)
Claim 12. The food heater of claim 9, further comprising a plurality of end caps configured to seal corresponding ones of the rollers, wherein the support structure is configured to contact the end caps when supporting the heaters and the rollers in the first position.
Kafentzsi discloses a hot dog rolling food heater wherein the rollers have end caps that seal the rollers and contact a support structure (Fig. 5, par. 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified REF to incorporate the teachings of Kafentzsi and provide end caps to the rollers. Doing so would have the benefit of sealing the ends of the roller to prevent liquid or grease from getting into it.
Claim(s) 9-11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cretors in view of Hunot (US 20050061161 A1)
Claim 9. Cretors discloses a food heater (100, Fig. 1A), comprising:
a base (104, Fig. 1B);
a drive unit mounted to the base (drive unit 106 is attached to the base, Fig. 1B),
wherein the drive unit is pivotable between a first position relative to the base and a second position relative to the base (106 rotates between the first position and second position, Fig. 1C and 1D);
a plurality of rollers coupled to the drive unit, wherein individual ones of the rollers extend along a longitudinal axis (rollers 110, Fig. 1B),
wherein the longitudinal axes of the rollers are parallel to one another (rollers are parallel to a longitudinal axes, Fig. 1B),
wherein the drive unit is configured to rotate the rollers about the longitudinal axes when the rollers are in the first position (rollers are rotated by the drive unit in the first position, claim 1), and wherein the rollers are configured to be manually removed from the drive unit when the rollers are in the second position (claim 2);
a support structure positioned
Cretors does not disclose a drip tray configured to be positioned between the base and the plurality of rollers; and
the support structure positioned over the drip tray.
Hunot discloses a roller grill assembly, Fig. 1, wherein a grease drip tray 78 rest beneath the roller tubes to catch grease (par. 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cretors to incorporate the teachings of Hunot and provide a grease tray. Doing so would have the benefit of catching the grease drippings from the hot dog (par. 57, Hunot).
The combination results in a grease tray resting on the base of Cretors’ roller grill with the support structure positioned over the drip tray at the end of the grill to hold up the rollers.
Claim 10. Cretors in view of Hunot discloses the food heater of claim 9 wherein the support structure includes a plurality of grooves configured to support corresponding ones of the rollers in the first position (grooves holding up the ends of the roller, Fig. 8A-B).
Claim 11. Cretors in view of Hunot discloses the food heater of claim 9 wherein the support structure is configured to rotatably support distal end portions of the rollers (claim 7).
Claim 13. Cretors in view of Hunot does not disclose the food heater of claim 9 wherein the drip tray and the support structure form an integrated structure.
However, applicants have not provided why making the drip tray and support structure an integrated element solves any stated problem. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cretors to have the drip tray be integrated with the support structure since it has been held that the mere integration of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). MPEP 2144.V.B.
Claim 15. Cretors discloses the food heater of claim 9, further comprising a plurality of heating elements mounted to the drive unit (Fig. 1), wherein individual ones of the heating elements extend inside corresponding ones of the rollers (heaters 108 extend inside the rollers, Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose wherein the induction AC current only runs in one direction under each roller.
Cretors (US 2010/0163548 A1) discloses a hot dog roller wherein the AC current runs in multiple different directions under each roller (Fig. 3A). However, Cretors does not disclose that the direction of the AC current is only in one direction under the rollers.
The prior art does not disclose nor suggest that the direction of the AC current should flow in only one direction under each roller.
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761