DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present application is being examined under the claims filed on 06/26/2026. Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 19-20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to teach the amended limitations of the independent claims, referring to the discussion on prior art Ditty during the interview held on 06/03/2026.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ditty in view of Hira teaches the amended limitations of the independent claims (Hira [0028] teaches causing the PRC hardware block to power-up one or more additional auxiliary SOCs (i.e. first subset of SoCs) that are part of a plurality of SOCs residing in a pooled hardware “sub-cloud” of the platform, where these SOCs may be returned to a powered-off, or low power consumption, state once the analytics monitor determines that the workload has been reduced to a level where the SOCs are no longer necessary for handling the workload; [0029] teaches the auxiliary SOCs may be configured with an appropriate system/application image for performing the processing of the workload (i.e. during the boot process for the first SoC), and the workload is then offloaded and distributed to the auxiliary SOCs, where while multiple SOCs may be operating on the workloads that are being handled by the platform, coherency of the data is maintained through the use of a common shared memory; [0031] teaches a sub-cloud is provided within the platform which allows dynamic allocation/de-allocation of resources to application specific workloads; Fig. 4 and [0079] also teach a pool 420 of general purpose systems-on-a-chip (SOCs) 422-428 and 440 that may be allocated/deallocated for executing workloads in response to detected events/data/signals) as outlined in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, the claims recite the limitation receiving, during the boot process for the first SoC, access to a second compute resource of the second SoC in response to mapping the first subset of SoCs to the first node. It is unclear whether it is the “first SoC” or the “one processor” that is receiving access to the second compute resource of the second SoC.
For purposes of examination, Examiner construes the limitation to mean “the first SoC receiving, during the boot process for the first SoC, access to a second compute resource of the second SoC in response to mapping the first subset of SoCs to the first node” in light of [0192] of Applicant’s specification.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the respective parent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditty et al. (US 2019/0258251 A1) in view of Hira (US 2016/0306677 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ditty teaches a method (Ditty describes a method comprising a system using a set of SoCs [see fig. 20 and par. 292] operating to facilitate autonomous driving functionality) comprising:
initializing, with at least one processor, a boot process for a first system-on-chip (SoC) of a set of SoCs (Ditty par. 449-450, security supervisor 5014(2) can command the boot processor 5060 to perform a secure trusted boot of the SOC; and par. 279, system has multiple SoCs),
wherein […] the first SoC is mappable to share access to compute resources of any SoC of the set of SoCs based on a software configuration (Ditty [0294] teaches each SOC 2002 has an associated memory system 2004, where some or all of the memory systems could be shared between the SOCs 2002, and [0296] teaches a GPU that is shared between SOCs (see also [0297]); [0354] teaches providing such sharing of hardware between different autonomous vehicle functions can be accomplished safely by abstracting and virtualizing the computing structure to provide redundancy, independence, partitioning, and mitigation of security threats (i.e. based on a software configuration));
initializing, with the at least one processor, during the boot process for the first SoC, a first compute resource of the first SoC (Ditty par. 235, BPMP (703) is part of SoC boot sequence (see FIG. 17, with two advanced SoC [i.e., one of them may be the first SoC]), and used to handle boot functions for resources on the SoC [ex. system states, clock and voltage management]; and par. 235, BPMP is a dedicated processor and subsystem to handle boot and power management functions and related security enforcement (of the SoC, see par. 191)), the first compute resource of the first SoC comprising at least one of an input/output functionality (Ditty FIG. 9, peripheral bus 710 and connected peripherals), a processing unit (Ditty FIG. 9, CPUs in CPU Complex 200), or memory (Ditty FIG. 9, L3 cache 500 and SysRAM) [Note: FIG. 9 Is a component diagram of an example advanced SoC, see par. 191];
identifying, with the at least one processor, […] a node configuration based on the node configuration indicating the first SoC; dividing […] the set of SoCs into a plurality of subsets of SoCs […], wherein a first subset of SoCs of the plurality of subsets of SoCs comprises the first SoC and a second SoC; mapping […] the first subset of SoCs to a first node (Ditty par. 292, any number of SoCs may be combined [i.e., node configuration is SoCs being combined]; and Ditty par. 293, stating multiple sets of plural SoCs are in the system [i.e., a first SoC and a second SoC], and par. 282, advanced SoCs 100 when configured for C2C communication function together as if they were a single unified system [or separately, see par. 283 and 285]; and Ditty par. 449-450, boot configuration table used in a trusted boot of the SOC; and Ditty par. 368, the mapping for virtual CPU operations to actual CPUs on the SoCs may be stored in a partition configuration table and controlled dynamically; see also par. 354 above teaching providing such sharing of hardware between different autonomous vehicle functions can be accomplished safely by abstracting and virtualizing the computing structure), […]; [Note: The operation is dynamic because Ditty discloses that a preferred embodiment of the system contains a plurality of the Advanced SoCs (par. 279), which are connected to a microcontroller (MCU) that operates as a master controller for the system (par. 281) and control operations (e.g., fault monitoring, communications) for the SoCs (par. 298). The SoCs may operate as a node receiving the same inputs and performing the same operations, but they may also operate as separate nodes using different inputs to perform independent calculations (par. 283 and 285) (i.e., dynamic mapping, as node mapping can change based on needs of the system)];
sharing, during the boot process for the first SoC, access to the first compute resource of the first SoC with the second SoC in response to mapping the first subset of SoCs to the first node (Ditty par. 294, memory is shared between SOCs due to hardware “all of the memory systems could be shared between the SOCs 2002” [i.e., during boot]; Ditty FIG. 20, depicting shared resources between SoCs (e.g., memory 2008, GPU 2006), […];
receiving […] access to a second compute resource of the second SoC in response to mapping the first subset of SoCs to the first node (see Ditty [0294], [0296-0297], and [0354] above).
Ditty does not explicitly disclose:
during the boot process for the first SoC, the first SoC is mappable to share access to compute resources of any SoC of the set of SoCs;
identifying […] during the boot process for the first SoC, a node configuration;
dividing, during the boot process for the first SoC, the set of SoCs into a plurality of subsets of SoCs […] based on a node size, indicated by the node configuration, that is independent of particular SoCs;
mapping […], during the boot process for the first SoC, the first subset of SoCs to a first node;
receiving, during the boot process for the first SoC, access to a second compute resource of the second SoC, wherein access to the first compute resource of the first SoC and access to the second compute resource of the second SoC is not shared with a third SoC of the set of SoCs based on the node configuration.
In the analogous art of provisioning a pool of SOCs for processing a workload (Hira par. 4), Ditty in view of Hira teaches during the boot process:
during the boot process for the first SoC, the first SoC is mappable to share access to compute resources of any SoC of the set of SoCs; identifying, with the at least one processor, during the boot process for the first SoC, a node configuration based on the node configuration indicating the first SoC; dividing, during the boot process for the first SoC, the set of SoCs into a plurality of subsets of SoCs […] based on a node size, indicated by the node configuration, that is independent of particular SoCs; mapping, during the boot process for the first SoC, the first subset of SoCs to a first node (Hira [0028] teaches causing the PRC hardware block to power-up one or more additional auxiliary SOCs (i.e. first subset of SoCs) that are part of a plurality of SOCs residing in a pooled hardware “sub-cloud” of the platform, where these SOCs may be returned to a powered-off, or low power consumption, state once the analytics monitor determines that the workload has been reduced to a level where the SOCs are no longer necessary for handling the workload; [0029] teaches the auxiliary SOCs may be configured with an appropriate system/application image for performing the processing of the workload (i.e. during the boot process for the first SoC), and the workload is then offloaded and distributed to the auxiliary SOCs, where while multiple SOCs may be operating on the workloads that are being handled by the platform, coherency of the data is maintained through the use of a common shared memory; [0031] teaches a sub-cloud is provided within the platform which allows dynamic allocation/de-allocation of resources to application specific workloads; Fig. 4 and [0079] also teach a pool 420 of general purpose systems-on-a-chip (SOCs) 422-428 and 440 that may be allocated/deallocated for executing workloads in response to detected events/data/signals);
receiving, during the boot process for the first SoC, access to a second compute resource of the second SoC (see Hira [0029] above, where the auxiliary SOCs are configured for performing the processing of the workload, and coherency of the data is maintained through the use of a common shared memory, where Ditty [0294] and [0296-0297] above teach memory/GPUs are shared between the SOCs),
wherein access to the first compute resource of the first SoC and access to the second compute resource of the second SoC is not shared with a third SoC of the set of SoCs based on the node configuration (Hira [0023] teaches monitoring signaling and events occurring within the platform to determine when to modify the allocation of resources within the platform in a cloud-based manner to handle specific software bottlenecks, where a plurality of systems-on-a-chip (SOCs) may be selectively enabled/disabled based on detected demands for particular types of software processing by the platform. This selective enablement/disablement of resources is performed in a transparent manner to the software-based applications utilizing the cloud services. Based on this determination, dynamic powering-up or powering-down of SOCs may be performed so as to balance the number of powered-up SOCs with the workload being processed (i.e. some SOCs are powered up but not others depending on the workload, where SOCs that are not powered up are not part of the node configuration, and thus would not share access with SOCs that are powered up and working together through the use of common shared memory to process the workload ([0029]); [0030] also teaches a gradual scaling back of the auxiliary SOCs may be achieved based on the level of underloading detected by the analytics monitor; see [0090] for if the overloaded loading condition abates in the second and third SOC 422, 424, this is an indication that the third SOC 424 can be powered-down and the workload shifted back to the remaining powered-up SOCs 422, 440, which are examples of ways in which to determine how many SOCs 422-428 of the pool 420 to power-up/down in response to a detected overloaded/underloaded condition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ditty and Hira before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Ditty’s method of initializing SoC computing nodes during boot with Hira’s dynamic node mapping during SoC boot, the motivation being to adjust the capabilities of each SoC as needed for the current workload to improve efficiency (Hira par. 29 and 94).
Regarding Claim 2, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising accessing startup code from a memory of the first SoC, wherein initializing the boot process for the first SoC is based on the startup code (Ditty par. 449, BootROM stage in table states to authenticate and execute Boot Loader [Boot Loader is startup code, code is accessed in ROM i.e., from a read-only memory]).
Regarding Claim 3, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the memory of the first SoC comprises read-only memory (Ditty par. 235, DPMP runs after the boot ROM and boot-loader have finished [therefore SoC contains read-only memory]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying, during the boot process for the first SoC, using the node configuration, the second SoC (Hira par. 79, SoCs 422-428 may be allocated/deallocated by the primary SoC 440 for executing workloads in response to detected events/data/signals, which would require identifying the SoC to boot); and
determining, during the boot process for the first SoC, that the first SoC and the second SoC correspond to the first node based on the node configuration (Hira par. 89, SoCs 422-428 power up based on workload and to offload work from primary SoC 440 [i.e. overload/underload criteria], therefore function as a compute node; [adding a SoC to the node requires determining the SoC is needed by analytics monitor 450 (see par. 88)]), wherein sharing access to the first compute resource of the first SoC with the second SoC is based on determining that the first SoC and the second SoC correspond to the first node (Hira par. 28, a plurality of SOCs residing in a pooled hardware “sub-cloud” of the platform [i.e., a node]; and Hira par. 83, shared memory 470 [i.e., shared resource] provides a central data store to ensure data coherency in the event that a workload is distributed across multiple SOCs).
Regarding Claim 5, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the boot process for the first SoC is based on a boot image (Ditty par. 449, boot comprises Boot Configuration Table and Boot Loader [which would allow the system to boot and is therefore a boot image]), the method further comprising loading and authenticating, during the boot process for the first SoC, the boot image (Ditty par. 449, BCT and boot loader are authenticated and loaded [bootloader is for the SoC, see par. 448]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first compute resource of the first SoC further comprises at least one of a central processing unit (Ditty Figure 9, CPUs in CPU Complex 200), a cache (Ditty Figure 9, L3 cache 500), random-access memory (Ditty Figure 9, SysRAM; or Hira FIG. 4, shared memory 470), or an input/output device (Ditty Figure 9, peripheral bus 710 and connected peripherals).
Regarding Claim 7, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first compute resource of the first SoC is a physical compute resource (Ditty Figure 8, showing processing architecture of system in figure 9).
Regarding Claim 8, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising training, during the boot process for the first SoC, the at least one of the input/output functionality, the processing unit, or the memory to perform an operation (Hira par. 95, shared memory 470 allows the primary SOC 440 and powered-up SOCs 422-428 to share the state of the workload; and par. 93, shared memory 470 stores details of the program stack for each SoC’s portion of the workload; also see par. 93, when the SOCs 422-428 power-up they have a boot vector for the program stack [i.e. during boot the memory is trained to perform the operation]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising initializing, during the boot process for the first SoC, an isolated execution environment manager (Hira FIG. 4 and par. 82, analytics module 450 [i.e., isolated execution environment manager] monitors events, signals, patterns of events/signals for platform 410 [i.e., isolated execution environment]), wherein the isolated execution environment manager instantiates an isolated execution environment using the first SoC (Hira par. 82, analytics module 450 manages power states for SoCs in the environment [i.e., instantiates the execution environment]).
Regarding Claim 10, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising, subsequent to sharing access to the first compute resource of the first SoC with the second SoC, booting, during the boot process for the first SoC, a kernel (Ditty par. 383, states hypervisor is held to a higher standard than operating system kernels, implying the OS starts kernels during boot; [In the secure boot process for the SoC (par. 449), the first step is loading boot configuration tables that would contain node configuration, and the SoCs share resources based on the node configuration (see fig. 20), therefore booting a kernel would be subsequent to sharing access to compute resource]).
Regarding Claim 13, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining, during the boot process for the first SoC, the node configuration from a memory of the set of SoCs (Hira Figure 4 and par. 93, when the SOCs 422-428 power-up they have a boot vector for the program stack, which contains details of what workload the powered-up SOC should operate on [the node configuration, which includes the SoCs working together on the compute task as per instant app. par. 39], which is a predetermined section of the program stack stored in the shared memory 470), wherein the memory of the set of SoCs is coupled to and in communication with the set of SoCs (Hira Figure 4, shared memory 470 with buses to each SoC 422-428 and 440).
Regarding Claim 15, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, wherein further comprising assigning a function to the first SoC based on execution of the boot process for the first SoC (Hira par. 85, the primary SOC 440 is configured by the host system 405 by installing an operating system image and application for use in processing the particular workload [the function is assigned during boot based on the OS image provisioned]; and Hira par. 94, SOCs 422-428 can be configured upon with a system image upon boot depending on the functionality needed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ditty and Hira before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Ditty’s method of combining SoCs into compute nodes with specific functions with Hira’s system image provisioning, the motivation being to adjust the capabilities of each SoC as needed for the current workload (Hira par. 94).
Regarding Claim 16, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
assigning a first function to the first SoC based on execution of the boot process for the first SoC (Hira par. 85, the primary SoC receives a workload and is provisioned with a system image for preforming the task); and
assigning a second function to the second SoC (Hira par. 94, SOCs 422-428 can be configured with a system image upon boot depending on the functionality needed), wherein the first SoC utilizes the first compute resource of the first SoC for execution of the first function and the second SoC utilizes the first compute resource of the first SoC for execution of the second function (Hira par. 83 and par. 95, sharing compute resources among each of the SoCs working on a task).
Regarding Claim 18, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising booting the first SoC based on initializing the boot process for the first SoC (Ditty par. 235, boot process for the SoC requires initializing the boot ROM and boot-loader).
Regarding Claim 19, Ditty discloses a system (Ditty FIG. 19, platform architecture (900)), comprising:
at least one processor (Ditty FIG. 9, component diagram of an example advanced SoC showing CPU Complex 200), and
at least one non-transitory storage media storing instructions (Ditty par. 295, memory systems 2004 at least in part constitute non-transitory memory that store program instructions the associated SOC 2002 executes to perform tasks);
The remaining limitations of claim 19 are similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above and are thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim is similar in scope to claim 19 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 11-12, 14, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditty in view of Hira as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Javre et al. (US 2019/0324806 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the node configuration indicates a multi-SoC architecture (Ditty par. 298, SOCs 2002 communicate and interact with one or more microcontroller units (MCUs) 2003 [also see FIG. 20]).
Ditty in view of Hira does not explicitly teach:
wherein the node configuration is associated with an author of the multi-SoC architecture.
In the analogous art of provisioning computing resources of SOCs for processing a workload (Javre par. 3), Ditty in view of Hira and Javre teaches:
wherein the node configuration is associated with an author of the multi-SoC architecture (Javre FIG. 5 and par. 58, based upon user inputs 520 [i.e., author] specifies domains [i.e., nodes], e.g., which processors are included in each respective domains, the operating system to be executed by each processor, peripherals and/or memory to be available to each processor in each domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ditty, Hira, and Javre before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Ditty and Hira’s method of using configuration files for allocating resources to a group of SoCs, with providing the configuration files by a user as taught by Javre, the motivation being to provide improved control over the allocation of resources (Javre par. 58 and 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1.
Ditty in view of Hira does not explicitly teach:
obtaining, during the boot process for the first SoC, the node configuration from a persistent memory of the first SoC, wherein mapping the first subset of SoCs to the first node is based on an input received via an user computing device and stored in the memory of the first SoC.
In the analogous art of provisioning computing resources of SOCs for processing a workload (Javre par. 3), Ditty in view of Hira and Javre teaches:
obtaining, during the boot process for the first SoC, the node configuration from a persistent memory of the first SoC (Javre FIG. 1 and par. 26, hardware description file [i.e., node configuration] is located in memory 110 for a SoC; and par. 77, first stage boot loader [i.e., during boot] includes the configuration data generated for each of the domains created [i.e., node configuration], where [0025] teaches memory 110 may include persistent data storage device), wherein mapping the first subset of SoCs to the first node is based on an input received via an user computing device and stored in the memory of the first SoC (Javre par. 21 and 140, the system is capable of modifying properties of the domain [i.e., dynamic mapping] using the hardware description file [which is stored in memory 110, see par. 26]; and Javre FIG. 5 and par. 58, hardware description file based upon user inputs 520 specifies domains [i.e., nodes], e.g., which processors are included in each respective domains, the operating system to be executed by each processor, peripherals and/or memory to be available to each processor in each domain).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Ditty, Hira, and Javre as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 12.
Regarding Claim 14, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first SoC and the second SoC operate in a multiprocessing mode based on sharing access to the first compute resource of the first SoC (Ditty Fig 20 and par. 292 and 294, SoCs are operating in multi-processor mode, and some or all of the memory systems are shared between the SOCs 2002).
Ditty in view of Hira does not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein sharing access to the compute resource of the first SoC is based on the input received via the user computing device.
In the analogous art of provisioning computing resources of SOCs for processing a workload (Javre par. 3), Ditty in view of Hira and Javre teaches:
wherein sharing access to the compute resource of the first SoC is based on the input received via the user computing device (Javre FIG. 5 and par. 58, based upon user inputs 520 specifies domains [i.e., nodes], e.g., which processors are included in each respective domains, the operating system to be executed by each processor, peripherals and/or memory to be available to each processor in each domain; also see par. 21, a software developer [i.e., user] may utilize the domain creation tool to modify one or more of the different domains).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Ditty, Hira, and Javre as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 14.
Regarding Claim 17, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1,
remapping, in the same physical configuration of the set of SoCs, a second subset of SoCs to the first node, the second subset of SoCs comprising the first SoC and the third SoC, wherein access to the first compute resource of the first SoC and access to a third compute resource of the third SoC is not shared with the second SoC based on remapping the second subset of SoCs to the first node (Ditty par. 282, the Advanced SoCs 100 are capable of Chip-to-Chip (“C2C”) communication and may operate as if it were a single unified system [the alternative being each SoC operating independently]; or Hira FIG. 4 and par. 99, SOCs in platform 410 share compute resources via shared memory to perform the processing of the workload [i.e., SoCs not operating as part of the node do not share the resource]; or Javre par. 58, hardware description file specifies which peripherals and/or memory to be available to each processor in each domain [i.e., each domain may specify access or inaccessibility of compute resources, node configuration in file states whether resources are shared]).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Ditty, Hira, and Javre as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 17.
Regarding Claim 21, Ditty in view of Hira disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the node configuration is configurable from a first node configuration to a second node configuration without physical reconfiguration of the set of SoCs (Hira par. 79, SoCs 422-428 may be allocated/deallocated by the primary SoC 440 for executing workloads in response to detected events/data/signals [i.e., change node configuration]; or Javre par. 21, a software developer [i.e., user] may utilize the domain creation tool to modify one or more of the different domains [i.e., nodes]; or Javre par. 58, hardware description file specifies which peripherals and/or memory to be available to each processor in each domain).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Ditty, Hira, and Javre as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al. (US 9836400 B2) “Method, Apparatus And System For Dynamically Controlling An Addressing Mode For A Cache Memory” relates to SOC grouping modes including a subset of the plurality of nodes sharing at least one cache portion of each of the subset of the plurality of nodes.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2175