DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0355929) in view of CAI et al. (CN 113764470) [paragraph numbers not available], and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20230009723).
As to claims 1, 9, 18, and 20, Zhang discloses a device (Fig. 1, (100) comprising: one or more processors [0063]; at least one memory storing instructions[0063]; a multi-functional optical module (Fig. 1, (120) [0002]comprising a plurality of optical lens layers (Fig. 10, (1010, 1020, 1040, 1045)[0113]; and a layer (Fig. 10, (130), among the plurality of optical lens layers, comprising a patterned substrate comprising a plurality of light emitting diodes (Fig. 10, (1020) in a field of view of the layer [0113]and wherein the patterned substrate comprises a plurality of wires Fig. 9, (916) [0109] in the field of view of the layer configured to connect to a circuit (Fig. 9, (914)[0109,0113], and wherein when the one or more processors execute the instructions[0063], the device is configured to enable the light emitting diodes in the field of view to illuminate light directed to at least one eye of a user to cause at least one reflection of the at least one eye [0083]. However, the device of Zhang does not specifically disclose a circuit being a flexible printed circuit board.
Analogous art CAI discloses a head-mounted display (HMD) device (see in reference to Figs. 1 and 2, “The electronic device 1 according to the embodiment can also be used in a wearable device such as smart watch, watch phone, glasses type display and head-mounted display (HMD”), wherein printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) (Fig. 5A, (30) is bonded to the substrate (100), and “The display circuit board 30 may be a bendable flexible printed circuit board (FPCB), a rigid printed circuit board (PCB) having rigidity and thus not easily bent, or a composite PCB including a rigid PCB and an FPCB”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the flexible printed circuit board of CAI, in the device of Zhang, because flexible printed circuit boards are well known in the art of displays and computer circuitry and are widely used because they provide a compact size, are easy to diagnose and repair, are time saving when it comes to strong connections, reduced electronic noise, lower price and increase reliability.
Further, Zhang, as anticipated by CAI, does not specifically disclose the plurality of light emitting diodes and the plurality of wires are integrated within the patterned substrate, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes are arranged on an edge of the patterned substrate and point to a rotational center of an eyeball of at least one eye.
Analogous art Lee discloses the plurality of light emitting diodes (page 10, lines 9-13, and page 13, lines 23-25) and the plurality of wires (page 4, line 13, page 7, lines 20-24, page 8, lines 9-11, and page 13, lines 15-16) (the wiring is part of the patterned substrate) are integrated within the patterned substrate (see Figs. 16, 18, and 21-22) , (210, 310, 610, 4210) (page 10, lines 9-13, and page 13, lines 23-25) (claim 1), wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes (Figs. 3 and 4, 1200a-1200h) are arranged on an edge of the patterned substrate (Fig.4, (110-112) and point to a rotational center of an eyeball of at least one eye (Figs 6 and 11)(“ the electronic device 4000 may perform gaze tracking by recognizing light reflected from an eye corresponding to the target E, in particular, a pupil, using a sensor unit. The sensor unit may recognize movement of the pupil based on information of the incident light”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the led integrated patterned substrate, as taught by Lee, in the device of Zhang and CAI, so as to reduce the size of the device and enhance the reliability of electrical connection.
As to claim 2, Zhang discloses HMD (Fig. 2), or smart glasses (Fig. 3).
As to claims 3 and 19, Zhang, further, discloses a size of the light emitting diodes is less than 250 micrometers [0105].
As to claim 4, Zhang discloses the light comprises near-infrared light [0040].
As to claim 5, Zhang discloses a plurality of cameras (Fig. 8, 830), wherein the plurality of cameras are configured to capture at least one glint image associated with the at least one reflection of the at least one eye caused by the light illuminated by the plurality of light emitting diodes [0105, 0106, 0107].
As to claim 6, Zhang discloses, further, based on the at least one glint image or pupil image, a gaze associated with the at least one eye [0082].
As to claim 7, further, Zhang discloses a first camera, among the plurality of cameras, arranged on at least one temporal side of a frame of the device (Fig. 8, (830)) (the cameras on the right or left side of the frame are located around the temporal side of the frame) and wherein the first camera is configured to capture a first image, at a first angle, of the at least one reflection of the at least one eye [0107].
As to claim 8, further, Zhang discloses a second camera, among the plurality of cameras, arranged on at least one nasal component of a frame of the device (Fig. 8, 830) (two cameras are located on the nasal area or component of the frame) and wherein the second camera is configured to capture a second image, at a second angle, of the at least one reflection of the at least one eye [0107](“ Based on the images captured by camera(s) 830, an eye's position, including the orientation and location of the eye, may be determined. The gaze direction and/or gaze point of the user may also be determined based on the detected eye's position as described above. The image content displayed on display 810 may then be adjusted accordingly based on the gaze direction and/or gaze point of the user.”)
As to claims 10 and 11, further, Zhang discloses a controller (circuit (Fig. 9, (914)[0109]) configured to control the plurality of light emitting diodes and providing power, voltage or current, to the LEDs [0109]. Although the connection between the controller and the PCB is not specifically disclosed, Examiner takes Official Notice that a controller connects to a printed circuit board . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the controller connected to the flexible printed circuit board, in the device of Zhang and CAI, because printed circuit boards are well known in the art of displays and computer circuitry to connect to controllers that provide power to LEDs, and are widely used because they provide a compact size, are easy to diagnose and repair, are time saving when it comes to strong connections, reduced electronic noise, lower price and increase reliability.
As to claim 12, further, Zhang discloses another layer, among the plurality of optical lens layers in the multi-functional optical module, closest, in relation to other layers of the plurality of optical lens layers, to the at least one eye [0106, 0107].
As to claims 13, further, Zhang discloses the another layer comprises glass [0106].
As to claims 17 and 21, Further, Zhang, as anticipated by CAI, does not specifically disclose a first pattern portion integrated on a first portion of the patterned substrate is formed by a first wire of the plurality of wires and a second pattern portion integrated on a second portion of the patterned substrate is formed by a second wire of the plurality of wires, wherein i) the second portion of the patterned substrate is distinct from the first portion of the patterned substrate and ii) the first pattern portion and the second pattern portion are distinct; and a third pattern portion integrated on a third portion of the patterned substrate, wherein i) the third pattern portion is distinct from the first and second pattern portions and ii) the third portion of the patterned substrate is distinct from the first and second portions of the patterned substrate.
Lee, further, discloses a first pattern portion integrated on a first portion of the patterned substrate is formed by a first wire of the plurality of wires (Figs. 8-10, (111) and a second pattern portion integrated on a second portion of the patterned substrate is formed by a second wire of the plurality of wires (Figs. 8-10, (112), wherein i) the second portion of the patterned substrate is distinct from the first portion of the patterned substrate and ii) the first pattern portion and the second pattern portion are distinct (pattern portion (112) is distinct from pattern portion (111); and a third pattern portion integrated on a third portion of the patterned substrate (Figs. 8-10, slopped portion (3rd portion) that connects (111) to 112), wherein i) the third pattern portion is distinct from the first and second pattern portions and ii) the third portion of the patterned substrate is distinct from the first and second portions of the patterned substrate (the slopped portion (3rd portion) that connects first portion (111) to second portion (112) is different from the first portion (111) and the second portion (112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the led integrated patterned substrate, as taught by Lee, in the device of Zhang and CAI, so as to reduce the size of the device and enhance the reliability of electrical connection.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0355929) in view of CAI et al. (CN 113764470), Lee et al. (KR 20230009723), and further in view of Freeman et al. (US 11,353,711).
As to claim 14, further, Zhang, as anticipated by CAI and Lee, does not specifically disclose a layer comprising a prescription associated with at least one eye.
Freeman discloses a virtual imaging distance lens element characterized by a corrective prescription (col. 14, lines 9-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to have the virtual imaging distance, as taught by Freeman, in the device of Zhang, CAI and Lee, because it is well known in the art of HMD optics to typically design the virtual image so that it appears to be at optical infinity (col. 14, lines 9-11).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0355929) in view of CAI et al. (CN 113764470) and Lee et al. (KR 20230009723), and further in view of HSIEH (TW I732207).
As to claims 15 and 16, further, Zhang, as anticipated by CAI and Lee, does not specifically disclose an optical clear adhesive layer, among the plurality of optical lens layers in the multi-functional optical module, between the layer and the another layer, and an anti-refractive layer, among the plurality of optical lens layers in the multi-functional optical module arranged on an outer side of the layer, wherein the anti-refractive layer is closest to a field of view of a real world environment that the at least one eye is configured to view.
HSIEH discloses the optically clear adhesive (OCA) layer (Fig. 3, (12)(“ Specifically, the optical adhesive layer 12 is an optically clear adhesive (OCA)” comprises a near infrared (nIR) anti-reflective coating (The surface of the first light guide substrate (Fig. 3, (1)) may have an anti-reflective coating (AR) coating”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to have the anti-reflective coating, as taught by HSIEH, in the device of Zhang, CAI and Lee, because anti-reflective coatings are commonly used in the art of optics to help maintain a high efficiency of the light is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17 (limitation of claim 17 now moved to independent claims 1, 18 and 20 via amendment) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (TW I646356) discloses in Fig. 2A, the plurality of light emitting diodes (140) are arranged on an edge of the patterned substrate and point to a rotational center of an eyeball (see Fig. 3) of at least one eye ((“These light-emitting diodes surround the peripheral edges of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134, respectively, and each light-emitting diode projects light L through the corresponding light emitting surface 135”)(“ Next, FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram showing the relative positions of the human eye E, the infrared emitter 140 and the lens S. FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of the infrared emitter 140 disposed in the cavity. Referring to FIG. 3, the lens S has a central axis C and a first radius Y1. The central axis C has a viewing point O,”).
/RICARDO OSORIO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619