DETAILED ACTION
Restrictions/Elections
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-24 and 46) without traverse filed March 06, 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4-24, and 46 are currently pending and are the subject of this Office Action and are under consideration. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
IDS
The references cited on the information disclosure statement(s) were considered and have been made of record.
Priority
The effective filing date of the claims is deemed the filing date of the provisional application (i.e., 63334964), namely April 26, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-24 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu1 in view of Terada2, Bardroff 20143, and in further view of Bardroff 20184 and Dall'Acqua5
Wu discloses bispecific antibodies directed to IL-13 and IL-17 comprising the anti-IL 13 antibody designated lebrikizumab, which comprises heavy and light chain variable region sequences that share 100% id. with instant SEQ ID Nos: 55 and 27 (see Wu; compare id. of disclosed SEQ ID NOs: 11 and 12 with instant SEQ ID NOs: 55 and 27 respectively; reads on the anti-IL-13 CDR and variable regions sequences set forth in instant claims 1.b., 6.a., 7.a., 7.b., 8). Said bispecific antibody constructs are used in treatment of inflammation (e.g. asthma). Wu further discloses the following: wherein the first light chain is of lambda type, and the second light chain is of kappa type (see Wu, e.g., claims 9, 31; see also at para [00132], [00144]; reads on instant claim 4); wherein the bispecific antibody further comprises IgG1 heavy chains with the hetero-dimerization modifications set forth in instant claim 10 (see Wu, e.g., at para [0040], [0085] to [0088]; reads on instant claim 10); a pharmaceutical formulation comprising the antibody and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see Wu, e.g., at claim 60 and para. [00390]; reads on instant claim 17); the pharmaceutical formulation further comprising one or more additional active agents (see Wu, e.g., at para. [00424]; reads on instant claim 18); an isolated nucleic acid molecule encoding the antibody as well as cloning vectors, host cells, methods of producing, kits, and conjugates comprising said antibody (see Wu, e.g., at claims 32-57; see also para. [00145], [00380] to [00385], [00432]; reads on instant claims 19-24 and 46);
The prior art of Wu differs from the instantly claimed invention as follows: Wu does not expressly disclose the IL-18 antibody sequences and all Fc region mutations.
Terada teaches the involvement of both IL-18 and IL-13 are in the development of atopic dermatitis, that IL-18 induces production of IL-13 by Th1 cells, and that blockade of IL-18 prevented AD development, whereas blockade of IL-3 partially prevented AD development (see Terada, e.g., at abstract and discussion).
Bardroff 2014 discloses the anti-IL 18 antibody designated, MOR9464, which comprises heavy and light chain variable regions that share 100% id. with instant SEQ ID Nos: 41 and 13 used in the present application (see Bardroff 2014; compare id. of disclosed SEQ ID Nos: 14 and 16 to instant SEQ ID Nos: 41 and 13, respectively). Said antibody is used in the treatment of inflammatory diseases, e.g. asthma (see Bardroff 2014, e.g., at claims 50-51; see also p. 100 Iine 9 to p. 103 Iine. 4). Furthermore, bispecific antibodies are described (see Bardroff 2014, e.g., at p. 66 Iine 8 to p. 69 Iine 2). (Reads on the anti-IL-18 CDR and variable regions sequences set forth in instant claims 1.a., 6.b., 7.c., 7.d.).
Bardroff 2018 discloses anti-IL 18/IL-1b bispecific antibody constructs comprising the anti-IL-18 antibody, designated MOR9464, used in the treatment of inflammasome-related disorders (see Bardroff 2018, e.g., at p. 8 Iines 16-33), wherein the antibody comprises Fc modifications that increase half-life (see, e.g., p. 31 Iines 9-15) and increasing heterodimerization (see, e.g., p. 34 Iine 13 to p. 40 Iine 28), and wherein the first variable light chain is of lambda 1 type, and the second variable light chain is of kappa 4 type (see, e.g., claim 1; see also at p. 10 to 12). (Reads on instant claims 4-5 and 8-16).
Dall'Acqua discloses introducing the YTE mutation to improve half-life (see, e.g., abstract, claim 1). (Reads on instant claim 12-16).
Obviousness Analysis:
Regarding claims 1, 4-7, 17-24 and 46, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the presently claimed invention in view of the prior art because it amounts to no more than: the simple substitution of one known element for another (e.g., the anti-IL-18 antibody of Bordoff 2014 for the anti-IL-17 antibody of Wu) to obtain predictable results (e.g., to develop a bispecific antibody directed to IL-13 and IL-18, as both cytokines are involved in the development and pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis) (see MPEP 2143(I)(B), (G)); and combining the prior art elements of the cited references, as the teachings of Terada suggest the implications of cytokines, IL-18 and IL-13, in the development and pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis (see MPEP 2143(I)(A),(G)). Furthermore, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (e.g., combining anti-IL-13 antibody sequences with those of an anti-IL-18 antibody to develop a bispecific antibody that targets both cytokines, as the blockade of cytokines IL-13 and IL-18 is known in the art to prevent the development and pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis). [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from there having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claims 8-16, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the presently claimed invention in view of the prior art because it amounts to no more than: use of known technique (e.g., Fc region mutations known in the art to improve half-life and heterodimerization) to improve similar products (the bispecific antibody directed to IL-13 and IL-18, rendered obvious by the prior art above) in the same way (see MPEP 2143(I)(A), (C), (G)).
Additionally, there would be a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art is presumed fully enabled (see, e.g., MPEP § 2121(I)) for all that it discloses (see, e.g., MPEP §§ 2123(I)-(II)). Thus, a skilled artisan could predictably and reasonably produce the composition of the present invention, as the prior art references cited above provides support and motivation for doing so, as discussed above.
Accordingly, claims 1, 4-24 and 46 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting
Copending Application No. 18/859,970 (unpublished application)
Claims 1, 4-24, and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of copending Application No. 18/859,970 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as described below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim interpretation: The applicable claim interpretation has been set forth in a preceding Office Action, section, and/or rejection above, and those interpretations are incorporated into the instant rejection. Additional claim interpretations are set forth below.
Legal Analysis: MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)-(3) identifies that a Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection may be appropriate based upon either an anticipation analysis or an obviousness analysis (see, e.g., MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)-(3)). The following rejection is based upon an anticipation analysis.
Anticipation analysis: Regarding instant claims 1, 4-24, and 46, the reference application explicitly claims a multispecific antibody directed to IL-18 and IL-13, comprising the same sequences of the present application, as well as the same Fc region mutations, method of making, and compositions of the present application (see reference claims 1-43; compare id. with instant claims 1, 4-24, and 46; also compare SEQ ID NOs claimed in both applications, i.e., compare id. of reference SEQ ID NOs: 32-40 with instant SEQ ID NOs: 32-40, etc.).
Accordingly, the instant claims are not patentably distinct relative to the reference claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-24 and 46 are rejected.
/LEA S O'BRIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/MARK HALVORSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646
1 WO2015/127405 A2; cited in the IDS
2 Terada et al. Contribution of IL-18 to atopic-dermatitis-like skin inflammation induced by Staphylococcus aureus product in mice. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2006 Jun 6;103(23):8816-21. doi: 10.1073/pnas.0602900103.
3 WO2014/037899 A2; cited in the IDS
4 WO2018/229612 A1; cited in the IDS
5 US7658921 B2