Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 1-5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu ( CN 111239751 A ) in view of Margolis ( US 20100110568 A1 ). Claim 1: Liu teaches a miniaturized wide-range laser range finder, comprising a monocular telescopic system (pg. 1, abstract), a laser emitting system (Fig. 1, emitter 12) and a laser receiving system (Fig. 1, receiver 11), wherein the monocular telescopic system comprises an objective lens system (Fig. 1, objective lens), […] a beam splitting prism group (Fig. 1, prisms 2 and 3), a transparent liquid crystal display unit (Fig. 1, display unit 4 and pg. 5) and an eyepiece system through which visible light passes in sequence (Fig. 1, ocular lens group 5); the laser emitting system comprises a laser light source and an emitting lens (Fig. 1, emitter 12 and emitting lens 7); the laser receiving system comprises an objective lens system, […], a beam splitting prism group, a receiving lens, a light filter and a laser receiver through which a laser reflection light signal passes in sequence (Fig. 1, showing light path from lens 1, through prisms 2 and 3, and to receiver 11 and ocular lens group 5). Liu does not teach a focus adjusting system between the objective lens system and beam splitting group. Margolis teaches an optical system which uses a negative lens (Fig. 1, lens 4) which is positioned after an objective lens (Fig. 1, lens 7) and able to move back and forth to adjust focus ([0027]). It would be obvious to use the adjustable focusing lens, as taught by Margolis, in the system as taught by Liu (Specifically between Liu’s objective lens and beam splitting group) because this setup would allow for adjusting the focus during measurement, making the system more adaptable, in a way which does not require extra parts (i.e.: multiple extra lenses such as in a system where lenses are switched out ) and keeps the system compact. Claim 2: Liu, as modified, teaches the laser range finder according to claim 1, wherein the focus adjusting system comprises a focus adjusting negative lens which is located between the objective lens system and the beam splitting prism group, and moved forward and backward along the optical axis direction of the monocular telescopic system (Margolis [0027]). Claim 3: Liu, as modified, teaches the laser range finder according to claim 1, wherein the monocular telescopic system and the laser receiving system share the same objective lens system, focus adjusting system and beam splitting prism group (Fig. 1, light going to receiver 11, beam splitting prisms 2 and 3, and ocular lens group 5 all passing through objective lens 1) Claim 4: Liu, as modified, teaches the laser range finder according to claim 1, wherein the transparent liquid crystal display unit is located in the focal plane of the eyepiece system ( pg 5, display unit at focal position of ocular lens group). Claim 5: Liu, as modified, teaches the laser range finder according to claim 1, wherein the beam splitting prism group comprises a cemented prism and a roof half penta prism (Fig. 1, half pentaprism 2 and cemented prism 3); the cemented prism comprises an isosceles prism and a compensating prism ( pg 5), and the isosceles prism comprises a laser input surface, a reflection and output surface, and a first beam splitting surface which are connected in sequence; the compensating prism comprises a second beam splitting surface, a laser reflection surface and a laser output surface which are connected in sequence (pg. 5, describing joining of cemented prism and Fig. 1, showing beam split through cemented prism 3); and the first beam splitting surface of the isosceles prism is overlapped with the second beam splitting surface of the compensating prism (Fig 1, prisms 2 and 3 overlapping). the roof half penta prism comprises a roof light input and reflection surface, a roof top surface and a roof light output surface (Fig. 1, light path through prisms 2 and 3 and pg. 5); the laser input surface of the isosceles prism is arranged in parallel with the roof light output surface of the roof half penta prism (Fig. 1, input of prism 2 parallel to output of prism 3). Claim 7: Liu, as modified, teaches the laser range finder according to claim 1, wherein the objective lens system comprises an objective cemented lens (Fig. 1, showing cemented (combined lens) objective lens 1). Claim 8: Liu, as modified, teaches the laser range finder according to claim 1, wherein the eyepiece system comprises an eyepiece cemented lens and an eyepiece positive lens (Fig. 1, ocular lens group 5 having first combined lens and second positive lens). Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu ( CN 111239751 A ) in view of Margolis ( US 20100110568 A1 ), further in view of Chang ( US 20180128903 A1 ). Claim 6: Liu, as modified, teaches the laser range finder according to Claim 1. Liu, as modified, does not teach, but Chang does teach wherein the laser light source comprises a laser light-emitting diode ([0020] – light source includes LED). It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the LED, as taught by Chang, in the range finder as taught by Liu, as modified (specifically in place of Liu’s emitter) because LEDs are well known in the art, and thus would have predictable results. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CLARA CHILTON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1080 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 6-2 MT . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Helal Algahaim can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5227 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CLARA G CHILTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /HELAL A ALGAHAIM/ SPE , Art Unit 3645