Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHI et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0346131 A1) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0053522 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SHI et al. teach a method for configuring downlink control information (DCI) monitoring, adapted to a terminal device (see Abstract and Fig.1), comprising:
receiving, from a network device, a radio resource control (RRC) signal (see Fig.1 and para [0031] wherein the high layer signalling including configuration information for communication between the UE and the base station which includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, is mentioned), wherein the RRC signal indicates a specific DCI format is configured, the specific DCI format schedules a plurality of first shared channels of a plurality of cells (see para [0102] wherein in response to a new/specific DCI format being introduced, a DL assignment for the cell may have both of a DCI size for 1 DCI scheduling 2 Cells, is mentioned and also see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling/RRC, is mentioned and also see para [0091] wherein in carrier aggregation (CA) scenario, a single DCI of two scheduled cells being transmitted on scheduling cell, which may be any one of PCell, PSCell, or SCell, and the DCI may be carried by a PDCCH, is mentioned and the DCI including one CIF indication indicating two cells, which are configured to have more than one CIF values by the high layer signalling/RRC, is mentioned, all of which includes and equivalent to having “the RRC signal indicates a specific DCI format is configured, the specific DCI format schedules a plurality of first shared channels of a plurality of cells” ) and each of the plurality of cells is associated with a DCI size budget (see para [0051] wherein each of our cells 614 corresponding to a unique configured CIF index 612, is mentioned and also see para [0064] wherein high layer signalling/RRC may configure whether a single cell be scheduled for a given DCI, is mentioned and also see para [0072] wherein when the DCI size is determined, the type of DCI size and the blind detection complexity being guaranteed not to exceed the existing budget, is mentioned);
selecting a single specific cell from the plurality of cells based on the RRC signal (see para [0096] wherein one cell being configured with a single CIF value, which is a unique CIF value different from all other cells, is mentioned and this cell being used for single cell/single specific cell scheduling, is mentioned and also see para [0031] wherein the high layer signalling including configuration information for communication between the UE and the base station which includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, is mentioned);
receiving, from the network device, DCI formats and accordingly perform a blind detection (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, at the same time or different times, the new DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_3) being needed to differentiate from the legacy DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2) (which includes receiving from the network device, DCI formats), is mentioned and also see para [0088] wherein for the DCI scheduling two cells and performing the blind decode PDCCH in the USS determined by one of the two cells, is mentioned), the blind detection involves performing a DCI size alignment on the DCI formats associated with a reference cell of the plurality of cells based on the DCI size budget associated with the reference cell in response to determining that the DCI size budget associated with the reference cell is not met (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell/reference_cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, for example, at the same time or different times, is mentioned and also in response to the DCI scheduling two cells and a DCI size budget is not maintained/met, DCI format 0_1 and format 1_1 are aligned & in response to DCI format 1_2 and format 0_2 are configured, aligning at least one of the following: a DCI format 0_1, format 1_1, format 1_2 and format 0_2 or a DCI format 0_1, format 1_1 and the DCI scheduling two cells, is mentioned and also see para [0109]), wherein the DCI formats comprises the specific DCI format (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, at the same time or different times, the new DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_3) )/specific DCI format may be needed to differentiate from the legacy DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2, is mentioned and also see para [0090]), wherein in a first case where a first DCI format of the DCI formats is not the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is associated with a first cell of the plurality of cells in which a second shared channel is scheduled by the first DCI format (see para [0102] wherein in response to no new DCI format being introduced to schedule two cells (that includes a first case where a first DCI format of the DCI formats is not the specific DCI format), there is no need to modify the existing method, is mentioned and also see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling, so as to realize scheduling two cells according to fixed combination of two cells, is mentioned, which clearly includes and is equivalent to “wherein in a first case where a first DCI format of the DCI formats is not the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is associated with a first cell of the plurality of cells in which a second shared channel is scheduled by the first DCI format”).
SHI et al. is silent in teaching the above method for configuring downlink control information (DCI) monitoring comprising wherein in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is only associated with the single specific cell.
However, MolavianJazi et al. teach a method for configuring downlink control information (DCI) monitoring (see Abstract) comprising wherein in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is only associated with the single specific cell (see para [0301] wherein the indication for active scheduling cell applies only to the scheduled cell which receives the DCI format (that includes the first DCI format being the specific DCI format) and for which a data transmission is scheduled by the DCI format, is mentioned and also see para [0302] wherein UE-specific PDCCH carries a DCI format that includes an indication for switching of the active scheduling cell for a scheduled cell/single specific cell in addition to scheduling data transmission on that scheduled cell, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of SHI et al. to have in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format being only associated with the single specific cell, disclosed by MolavianJazi et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently providing adaptive cross-carrier scheduling and flexible physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) groups and also supporting of multiple configured scheduling cells in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 11, SHI et al. teach a terminal device (see Abstract and Fig.1/Fig.3 for terminal device/UE) , comprising: a transceiver (see Fig.3, block 316 i.e. Tx/Rx circuitry and para [0035]); one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon (see Fig.3, memory 322 and para [0036]); and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (see Fig.3, processor 321 and para [0036]) and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to perform (see para [0036]): controlling the transceiver to receive, from a network device, a radio resource control (RRC) signal (see Fig.1 and para [0031] wherein the high layer signalling including configuration information for communication between the UE and the base station which includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, is mentioned), wherein the RRC signal indicates a specific DCI format, the specific DCI format schedules a plurality of first shared channels of a plurality of cells (see para [0102] wherein in response to a new/specific DCI format being introduced, a DL assignment for the cell may have both of a DCI size for 1 DCI scheduling 2 Cells, is mentioned and also see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling/RRC, is mentioned and also see para [0091] wherein in carrier aggregation (CA) scenario, a single DCI of two scheduled cells being transmitted on scheduling cell, which may be any one of PCell, PSCell, or SCell, and the DCI may be carried by a PDCCH, is mentioned and the DCI including one CIF indication indicating two cells, which are configured to have more than one CIF values by the high layer signalling/RRC, is mentioned), and each of the plurality of cells is associated with a DCI size budget (see para [0051] wherein each of our cells 614 corresponding to a unique configured CIF index 612, is mentioned and also see para [0064] wherein high layer signalling/RRC may configure whether a single cell be scheduled for a given DCI, is mentioned and also see para [0072] wherein when the DCI size is determined, the type of DCI size and the blind detection complexity being guaranteed not to exceed the existing budget, is mentioned);
selecting a single specific cell from the plurality of cells based on the RRC signal (see para [0096] wherein one cell being configured with a single CIF value, which is a unique CIF value different from all other cells, is mentioned and this cell being used for single cell/single specific cell scheduling, is mentioned and also see para [0031] wherein the high layer signalling including configuration information for communication between the UE and the base station which includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, is mentioned);
controlling the transceiver to receive, from the network device, DCI formats and accordingly perform a blind detection (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, at the same time or different times, the new DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_3) being needed to differentiate from the legacy DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2) (which includes receiving from the network device, DCI formats), is mentioned and also see para [0088] wherein for the DCI scheduling two cells and performing the blind decode PDCCH in the USS determined by one of the two cells, is mentioned),
the blind detection involves performing a DCI size alignment on the DCI formats associated with a reference cell of the plurality of cells based on the DCI size budget associated with the reference cell in response to determining that the DCI size budget associated with the reference cell is not met (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell/reference_cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, for example, at the same time or different times, is mentioned and also in response to the DCI scheduling two cells and a DCI size budget is not maintained/met, DCI format 0_1 and format 1_1 are aligned & in response to DCI format 1_2 and format 0_2 are configured, aligning at least one of the following: a DCI format 0_1, format 1_1, format 1_2 and format 0_2 or a DCI format 0_1, format 1_1 and the DCI scheduling two cells, is mentioned and also see para [0109]), wherein the DCI formats comprises the specific DCI format (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, at the same time or different times, the new DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_3) )/specific DCI format may be needed to differentiate from the legacy DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2, is mentioned and also see para [0090]), wherein in a first case where a first DCI format of the DCI formats is not the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is associated with a first cell of the plurality of cells in which a second shared channel is scheduled by the first DCI format (see para [0102] wherein in response to no new DCI format being introduced to schedule two cells (that includes a first case where a first DCI format of the DCI formats is not the specific DCI format), there is no need to modify the existing method, is mentioned and also see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling, so as to realize scheduling two cells according to fixed combination of two cells, is mentioned, which clearly includes and is equivalent to “wherein in a first case where a first DCI format of the DCI formats is not the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is associated with a first cell of the plurality of cells in which a second shared channel is scheduled by the first DCI format”).
SHI et al. is silent in teaching the above terminal device comprising wherein
in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is only associated with the single specific cell.
However, MolavianJazi et al. teach a terminal device (see Abstract and Fig.3) comprising wherein in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is only associated with the single specific cell (see para [0301] wherein the indication for active scheduling cell applies only to the scheduled cell which receives the DCI format (that includes the first DCI format being the specific DCI format) and for which a data transmission is scheduled by the DCI format, is mentioned and also see para [0302] wherein UE-specific PDCCH carries a DCI format that includes an indication for switching of the active scheduling cell for a scheduled cell/single specific cell in addition to scheduling data transmission on that scheduled cell, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above terminal device of SHI et al. to have in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format being only associated with the single specific cell, disclosed by MolavianJazi et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently providing adaptive cross-carrier scheduling and flexible physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) groups and also supporting of multiple configured scheduling cells in wireless communication system.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, SHI et al. and MolavianJazi et al. together teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11, respectively.
SHI et al. further teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11,
wherein the plurality of cells comprise the single specific cell and at least one other cell and the size of the specific DCI format is not considered while performing the DCI size alignment on the DCI formats associated with the at least one other cell (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell scheduling and two cells (that includes the plurality of cells comprise the single specific cell and at least one other cell) scheduling being transmitted dynamically, for example, at the same time or different times, is mentioned and also in response to the DCI scheduling two cells and a DCI size budget is not maintained, DCI format 0_1 and format 1_1 are aligned, is mentioned and also wherein in response to no new DCI format being introduced to schedule two cells, there is no need to modify the existing method, is mentioned, all of which includes and equivalent to “wherein the plurality of cells comprise the single specific cell and at least one other cell and the size of the specific DCI format is not considered while performing the DCI size alignment on the DCI formats associated with the at least one other cell”).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, SHI et al. and MolavianJazi et al. together teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11, respectively.
SHI et al. further teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11,
wherein the plurality of cells comprise a plurality of serving cells where the terminal device performs a carrier aggregation (see para [0091] wherein in carrier aggregation (CA) scenario, a single DCI of two scheduled cells being transmitted on scheduling cell, which may be any one of PCell, PSCell, or SCell, and the DCI may be carried by a PDCCH & the DCI including one CIF indication indicating two cells, is mentioned and also see para [0090]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, SHI et al. and MolavianJazi et al. together teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11, respectively.
SHI et al. further teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11,
wherein each of the first shared channels comprises a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel/PDSCH of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling/RRC, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, SHI et al. and MolavianJazi et al. together teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11, respectively.
SHI et al. further teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11,
wherein the specific DCI format is monitored for at least one of a scheduling downlink (DL) in a first search space and a scheduling uplink (UL) in a second search space (see para [0082] wherein the method including determining a UE-specific search space for detecting the DCI carried by PDCCH in the scheduling cell, is mentioned and also see para [0104]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, SHI et al. and MolavianJazi et al. together teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11, respectively.
SHI et al. further teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11,
wherein the RRC signal further indicates a Carrier Indicator Field (CIF) value associated with the specific DCI format (see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling/RRC, is mentioned and also see para [0091] wherein the DCI including one CIF indication indicating two cells, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 17, SHI et al. and MolavianJazi et al. together teach the method/terminal device according to claims 6/16, respectively.
MolavianJazi et al. further teach the method/terminal device according to claims 6/16, wherein a specific information element is introduced into the RRC signal and indicates the CIF value (see para [0253] wherein for each scheduling cell corresponding to a scheduled cell, a field such as “schedulingCellConfig” including the configuration for the scheduling cell, such as the serving cell index for the scheduling cell along with a corresponding CIF value, is mentioned and also see para [0255] wherein information element (IE) for RRC configuration of cross-carrier scheduling with two or more scheduling cells for a scheduled cell, is mentioned) and wherein the specific information element is defined in a search space configuration of the single specific cell (see para [0255] wherein information element (IE) for RRC configuration of cross-carrier scheduling with two or more scheduling cells for a scheduled cell, is mentioned and also see para [0306]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 1/11).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, SHI et al. and MolavianJazi et al. together teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11, respectively.
SHI et al. further teach the method/terminal device according to claims 1/11,
wherein each of the plurality of cells corresponds to at most one CIF value (see Fig.6 and para [0052] wherein the candidate combination of two cells in semi-static configuration including {cell A, cell B}, {cell A, cell C}, {cell A, cell D}, {cell B, cell C}, and {cell C, cell D}, and the combination of two cells may be dynamically indicated in the candidate combination of semi-static configuration, such as {CIF=0, CIF=1}, {CIF=2, CIF=3}, is mentioned, which includes and is equivalent to having “each of the plurality of cells corresponds to at most one CIF value”).
Regarding claim 20, SHI et al. teach a method for configuring downlink control information (DCI) monitoring, adapted to a network device (see Abstract and Fig.1),
comprising: determining whether a specific DCI format is configured, wherein the specific DCI format schedules a plurality of first shared channels of a plurality of cells (see Fig.1 and para [0031] wherein the high layer signalling including configuration information for communication between the UE and the base station which includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein in response to a new/specific DCI format being introduced, a DL assignment for the cell may have both of a DCI size for 1 DCI scheduling 2 Cells, is mentioned and also see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling/RRC, is mentioned and also see para [0091]), and each of the plurality of cells is associated with a DCI size budget (see para [0051] wherein each of our cells 614 corresponding to a unique configured CIF index 612, is mentioned and also see para [0064] wherein high layer signalling/RRC may configure whether a single cell be scheduled for a given DCI, is mentioned and also see para [0072] wherein when the DCI size is determined, the type of DCI size and the blind detection complexity being guaranteed not to exceed the existing budget, is mentioned);
in response to determining that the specific DCI format is configured, selecting a single specific cell from the plurality of cells (see para [0096] wherein one cell being configured with a single CIF value, which is a unique CIF value different from all other cells, is mentioned and this cell being used for single cell/single specific cell scheduling, is mentioned and also see para [0103]);
in response to determining that the DCI size budget associated with a reference cell of the plurality of cells is not met, aligning sizes of a plurality of DCI formats associated with the reference cell via performing a DCI size alignment on the DCI formats associated with the reference cell based on the associated DCI size budget (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell/reference_cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, for example, at the same time or different times, is mentioned and also in response to the DCI scheduling two cells and a DCI size budget is not maintained/met, DCI format 0_1 and format 1_1 are aligned & in response to DCI format 1_2 and format 0_2 are configured, aligning at least one of the following: a DCI format 0_1, format 1_1, format 1_2 and format 0_2 or a DCI format 0_1, format 1_1 and the DCI scheduling two cells, is mentioned and also see para [0109]), wherein the DCI formats comprises the specific DCI format (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, at the same time or different times, the new DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_3) )/specific DCI format may be needed to differentiate from the legacy DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2, is mentioned and also see para [0090]), wherein in a first case where a first DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats is not the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is associated with a first cell of the plurality of cells in which a second shared channel is scheduled by the first DCI format (see para [0102] wherein in response to no new DCI format being introduced to schedule two cells (that includes a first case where a first DCI format of the DCI formats is not the specific DCI format), there is no need to modify the existing method, is mentioned and also see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling, so as to realize scheduling two cells according to fixed combination of two cells, is mentioned, which clearly includes and is equivalent to “wherein in a first case where a first DCI format of the DCI formats is not the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is associated with a first cell of the plurality of cells in which a second shared channel is scheduled by the first DCI format”);
transmitting the DCI formats with the aligned sizes and a radio resource control (RRC) signal to a terminal device (see para [0102] wherein the DCIs for single cell scheduling and two cells scheduling being transmitted dynamically, at the same time or different times, the new DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_3) being needed to differentiate from the legacy DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2), is mentioned and also see para [0031] wherein the high layer signalling including configuration information for communication between the UE and the base station which includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, is mentioned), wherein the RRC signal indicates the specific DCI format is configured and a Carrier Indicator Field (CIF) value associated with the specific DCI format (see para [0090] wherein the downlink shared channel of two cells being scheduled by one single CIF in the DCI according to configured combination of two cells by high layer signalling/RRC, is mentioned and also see para [0102]).
SHI et al. is silent in teaching the above method for configuring downlink control information (DCI) monitoring comprising wherein in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is only associated with the single specific cell.
However, MolavianJazi et al. teach a method for configuring downlink control information (DCI) monitoring (see Abstract) comprising wherein in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format is only associated with the single specific cell (see para [0301] wherein the indication for active scheduling cell applies only to the scheduled cell which receives the DCI format and for which a data transmission is scheduled by the DCI format, is mentioned and also see para [0302] wherein UE-specific PDCCH carries a DCI format that includes an indication for switching of the active scheduling cell for a scheduled cell/single specific cell in addition to scheduling data transmission on that scheduled cell, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of SHI et al. to have in a second case where the first DCI format is the specific DCI format, the first DCI format being only associated with the single specific cell, disclosed by MolavianJazi et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently providing adaptive cross-carrier scheduling and flexible physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) groups and also supporting of multiple configured scheduling cells in wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM et al. (US Pub. No: 2023/0070761 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a method comprising the steps of monitoring first PDCCH candidates for a second cell in a first SS of a first cell and monitoring second PDCCH candidates for the second cell in a second SS of the second cell in wireless communication system.
Kim et al. (US Pat. No: 9,844,030 B2) disclose mechanisms relating to method and apparatus for transmitting control information in a wireless communication system supporting carrier aggregation (CA).
7. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 3/6/2026