Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 28, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoaib et al., US Patent Application Publication 2016/0267111 (hereinafter Shoaib) in view of Steinfadt, US Patent Application Publication 2012/0239706 (hereinafter Steinfadt).
Regarding claim 21, Shoaib teaches:
A graphics processing unit comprising: an interconnect to a host device (see e.g. image processing accelerator 210 is connected to host device 219); and a matrix accelerator (see e.g. fig. 5, systolic array architecture 500 is a matrix processing accelerator), the matrix accelerator configured to perform a set of parallel dot product operations on the elements of input matrices (see e.g. fig. 5, para. [0055-60], [0070-1], the systolic array including 2D-PEs performs parallel dot product operations), the matrix accelerator including multiple parallel processor lanes associated with multiple pipeline stages (see e.g. fig. 5, 7, para. [0055-60], processing is done through parallel lanes of 2D-PEs in pipelined stages with the output of one 2D-PE passed to the next 2D-PE in a row/column), each of the multiple pipeline stages including a set of interconnected multipliers and adders (see e.g. para. [0055], multiply-accumulate units), the multiple pipeline stages configured to perform multiple concurrent matrix operations (see e.g. fig. 5, para. [0057], matrix processing is performed concurrently across the array of processing elements).
Shoaib fails to explicitly teach a compute cluster including a plurality of streaming multiprocessors, a streaming multiprocessor of the plurality of streaming multiprocessors including: a register file configured to store elements of input matrices, and performing operations in response to a single instruction.
Steinfadt teaches a compute cluster including a plurality of streaming multiprocessors (see e.g. para. [0232], [0235], [0331]), a streaming multiprocessor of the plurality of streaming multiprocessors including: a register file configured to store elements of input matrices (para. [0331], [0344], the memories can be registers and store elements of matrix data), as well as using a single instruction (SIMD) to cause a set of parallel matrix operations to be performed (see e.g. para. [0074]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shoaib and Steinfadt to include a compute cluster including a plurality of streaming multiprocessors, a streaming multiprocessor of the plurality of streaming multiprocessors including: a register file configured to store elements of input matrices, and performing operations in response to a single instruction. Applying the matrix processing to include GPU and SIMD components such as discussed by Steinfadt would have provided an advantage such as described by Steinfadt that “GPUs are very affordable and massively parallel. The hardware has a low cost with many current computers and laptops containing CUDA-enabled graphics cards already, and the software tools are free.” (see para. [0242]).
Regarding claim 28, Shoaib in view of Steinfadt teaches or suggests:
The graphics processing unit as in claim 21, further comprising a scheduler microcontroller configured to schedule the single instruction to a processing resource selected from one of the matrix accelerator and a functional unit that is external to the matrix accelerator (see e.g. Steinfadt para. [0337], a controller can schedule and control operations for external or remote processing units).
Regarding claim 31, Shoaib teaches:
A method comprising: performing a set of matrix operations on elements of input matrices (see e.g. fig. 5, para. [0055-60], [0070-1], the systolic array including 2D-PEs performs parallel dot product operations); determining a set of pipeline commands to perform to execute operations on a matrix accelerator including multiple pipeline stages (see e.g. para. [0057-9], a set of operations are performed on the systolic array); scheduling the set of pipeline commands to the multiple pipeline stages of the matrix accelerator to execute operations (see e.g. para. [0057], operations are managed/scheduled); and executing operations across one or more parallel processor lanes associated with the multiple pipeline stages (see e.g. fig. 5, 7, para. [0055-60], processing is done through parallel lanes of 2D-PEs in pipelined stages with the output of one 2D-PE passed to the next 2D-PE in a row/column), wherein the multiple pipeline stages include one or more sets of interconnected multipliers and adders (see e.g. para. [0055], multiply-accumulate units) to compute multiple concurrent matrix operations (see e.g. fig. 5, para. [0057], matrix processing is performed concurrently across the array of processing elements).
Shoaib fails to explicitly teach fetching and decoding a single instruction to be executed within a general-purpose graphics processing unit (GPGPU), the single instruction decoded into a decoded instruction to cause the GPGPU to perform the operations.
Steinfadt teaches a GPGPU (see e.g. para. [0232-5]) and decoding a single instruction (SIMD) to cause the GPGPU to perform matrix operations (see e.g. para. [0074]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shoaib and Steinfadt to include fetching and decoding a single instruction to be executed within a general-purpose graphics processing unit (GPGPU), the single instruction decoded into a decoded instruction to cause the GPGPU to perform the operations. Applying the matrix processing to include GPU and SIMD components such as discussed by Steinfadt would have provided an advantage such as described by Steinfadt that “GPUs are very affordable and massively parallel. The hardware has a low cost with many current computers and laptops containing CUDA-enabled graphics cards already, and the software tools are free.” (see para. [0242]).
Claims 29-30, 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoaib in view of Steinfadt, further in view of Karthikeyan et al., US Patent Application Publication 2014/0195783 (hereinafter Karthikeyan).
Regarding claim 29, Shoaib in view of Steinfadt teaches or suggests:
The graphics processing unit as in claim 28.
Shoaib in view of Steinfadt fails to explicitly teach wherein the single instruction is associated with a predication mask, the predication mask to enable or disable one or more channels of one or more parallel processor lanes of the multiple parallel processor lanes.
Karthikeyan teaches using a mask for a dot product operation to enable or disable an operation (see e.g. para. [0084-8]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shoaib, Steinfadt, and Karthikeyan such that the single instruction is associated with a predication mask, the predication mask to enable or disable one or more channels of one or more parallel processor lanes of the multiple parallel processor lanes. This would have been desirable to provide additional programmer control and flexibility to only operate on certain elements or reduce unnecessary processing.
Regarding claim 30, Shoaib in view of Steinfadt and Karthikeyan teaches or suggests:
The graphics processing unit as in claim 29, wherein the one or more parallel processor lanes are single instruction multiple data (SIMD) lanes (see e.g. Steinfadt para. [0061], [0074], [0135-6]) and each channel of the one or more parallel processor lanes is associated with one or more multi-element vectors (see e.g. Shoaib para. [0018], [0050-1], Steinfadt para. [0135-6]).
Regarding claim 34, Shoaib in view of Steinfadt teaches or suggests:
The method as in claim 31, to generate a set of products based on an elementwise multiply of source input elements (see e.g. Shoaib para. [0051]).
Shoaib in view of Steinfadt fails to explicitly teach wherein the set of pipeline commands to perform to execute the decoded instruction on the matrix accelerator causes the matrix accelerator to evaluate a write enable mask to determine a set of enabled parallel processing channels and, for each enabled parallel processing channel, to generate a set of products based on an elementwise multiply of source input elements.
Karthikeyan teaches using a mask for a dot product operation to enable or disable an operation (see e.g. para. [0084-8]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shoaib, Steinfadt, and Karthikeyan such that the set of pipeline commands to perform to execute the decoded instruction on the matrix accelerator causes the matrix accelerator to evaluate a write enable mask to determine a set of enabled parallel processing channels and, for each enabled parallel processing channel, to generate a set of products based on an elementwise multiply of source input elements. This would have been desirable to provide additional programmer control and flexibility to only operate on certain elements or reduce unnecessary processing.
Regarding claim 35, Shoaib in view of Steinfadt and Karthikeyan teaches or suggests:
The method as in claim 34, the set of pipeline commands to additionally cause the matrix accelerator to calculate a sum of the set of products and add the sum to a value in an accumulator within a pipeline stage of the multiple pipeline stages (see e.g. Shoaib para. [0052], Karthikeyan para. [0063]).
Regarding claim 36, Shoaib in view of Steinfadt and Karthikeyan teaches or suggests:
The method as in claim 35, additionally comprising outputting the sum to the accumulator of a subsequent pipeline stage or to a destination register based on a calculation depth configured for the decoded instruction (see e.g. Shoaib para. [0067], accumulated based on being at the depth of the last row/column).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,042,370 in view of Steinfadt, which teaches a compute cluster including a plurality of streaming multiprocessors (see e.g. para. [0232], [0235], [0331]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are substantially similar to the claims in the ‘370 patent. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Steinfadt to include a compute cluster including a plurality of streaming multiprocessors such as GPU and SIMD components as in Steinfadt that would have provided an advantage such as described by Steinfadt that “GPUs are very affordable and massively parallel. The hardware has a low cost with many current computers and laptops containing CUDA-enabled graphics cards already, and the software tools are free.” (see para. [0242]).
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,640,297 in view of Steinfadt, which teaches a compute cluster including a plurality of streaming multiprocessors (see e.g. para. [0232], [0235], [0331]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are substantially similar to the claims in the ‘370 patent. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Steinfadt to include a compute cluster including a plurality of streaming multiprocessors such as GPU and SIMD components as in Steinfadt that would have provided an advantage such as described by Steinfadt that “GPUs are very affordable and massively parallel. The hardware has a low cost with many current computers and laptops containing CUDA-enabled graphics cards already, and the software tools are free.” (see para. [0242]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Woolley, JR. et al., US Patent Application Publication 2016/0162402, teaches a streaming multiprocessor system for performing matrix operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-27, 32-33, 37-40, while rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, are allowable over the prior art. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter over the prior art:
In particular, the prior art, independently or in combination, does not anticipate and reasonably teach the specific aspects of wherein the instruction is to specify a number of pipeline stages of the multiple pipeline stages to use to execute the instruction (in combination with all other features of each respective claim).
Conclusion
/JOHN M LINDLOF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183