DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 4/29/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 2 and 17-19 have been cancelled. Claim 22-24 are new. Claims 1, 3-16 and 20-24 are pending. Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s amendments have overcome the § 112(b) rejection as set forth in the office action of 2/5/2026. Therefore, the § 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 15-16, 21-22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, in view of Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV.
Regarding claim 1, WILCOXSON teaches: A system for constructing a compacted stringer package (WILCOXSON teaches a system for constructing a stringer package [Abstract; 0043; Fig. 4].), the system comprising: a compression housing (WILCOXSON teaches a compression housing [Fig. 4].) comprising: a tray (WILCOXSON teaches a tray (106/168) [Figs. 4, 14; 0045].); and a lid that is rigid and movable relative to the tray such that the compression housing is in an open state or in a closed state (WILCOXSON teaches a lid (113) that is movable relative to the tray such that the compression housing is in an open state or in a closed state [Figs. 4, 14; 0045].); a compression layer that is positioned over the tray (WILCOXSON teaches a compression layer (32) that is positioned over the tray (168) [Fig. 14].); and a breather layer that is positioned over the compression layer, opposite the tray, wherein, with the compression housing in the open state, the tray receives a portion of a composite stringer package such that the compression layer is between the tray and the composite stringer package (WILCOXSON teaches a breather layer (192) that is positioned over the compression layer (32) such that the compression layer is between the tray (168) and the composite stringer package (110) [Fig. 14].); and wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state: the lid and the compression layer form a sealed chamber; the composite stringer package is positioned between the lid and the compression layer within the sealed chamber (WILCOXSON teaches the lid (113) and the compression layer (32) form a sealed chamber and the composite stringer (110) is positioned between the lid and the compression layer within the sealed chamber [Fig. 14; 0071].); the breather layer is positioned between the lid and the compression layer, extends over the composite stringer package within the sealed chamber, and distributes vacuum within the sealed chamber (WILCOXSON teaches the breather layer (192) is positioned between the lid and compression layer [Fig. 14] and extends over the composite stringer package (110) within the sealed chamber [Fig. 14; 0071]. WILCOXSON teaches the breather layer (192) distributes vacuum within the sealed chamber [0071].); and the compression layer draws the composite stringer package away from the tray and toward the lid and compacts the composite stringer package against the lid in response to application of vacuum within the sealed chamber (WILCOXSON teaches the compression layer (32) draws the composite stringer package away from the tray (106/168) and toward the lid (113) and compacts the stringer package against the lid in response to application of vacuum [0009-0010; 0045]. WILCOXSON teaches the loading of the filler structure (10) and stiffener (32) from underneath the inner mold line layup mandrel (106), such configuration is not required in all systems and methods and it is within the scope of the present disclosure that a loading tool may be configured to operatively load a filler structure (110) and stiffener (32) from any suitable orientation relative to the inner mold line layup mandrel (106) [0055].).
WILCOXSON does not explicitly teach a breather layer. In the same field of endeavor, pressure systems, ISAKOV teaches a breather layer (832) coupled to a cover (802) [0109; 0115]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON, by having a breather layer coupled to the cover (lid), as suggested by ISAKOV, in order to allow volatile substance to be drawn into the vacuum [0115].
Regarding claim 4, WILCOXSON teaches: wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, the lid is in contact with the compression layer and a vacuum seal is formed between the lid and the compression layer (WILCOXSON teaches the compression layer (32) and the lid (113) is in contact and a seal is formed [0051-0052; 0057; ; Fig. 3A-3C; 0018].).
Regarding claim 5, ISAKOV further teaches: further comprising at least one barrier layer, wherein with the compression housing in the closed state, the at least one barrier layer is positioned between the compression layer and the breather layer (ISAKOV teaches a barrier layer (release layer 836) that is between the breather layer and the object [Fig. 8A; 0118].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON, by having a barrier layer, as suggested by ISAKOV, in order to be able to be in direct contact with the product/object and apply pressure [0229; 0117].
Regarding claim 6, ISAKOV further teaches: wherein the breather layer is coupled to the lid (ISAKOV teaches a breather layer (832) coupled to a cover (802) [0109; 0115]).
Regarding claim 7, ISAKOV further teaches: further comprising a vacuum port located on the lid (ISAKOV teaches a vacuum port (832) coupled to the cover (802) [0109; Fig. 8A].), wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, vacuum is applied to the sealed chamber through the breather layer via the vacuum port (ISAKOV teaches vacuum is applied to the sealed chamber through the breather layer (832) [0109-0110; 0115; Fig. 8A; 0113].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON, by having a vacuum port in the lid and applied vacuum to the sealed chamber, as suggested by ISAKOV, in order to provide a compression force [0112].
Regarding claim 8, ISAKOV further teaches: further comprising a vacuum system that is coupled to the vacuum port (ISAKOV teaches a vacuum system coupled to the vacuum port [Fig. 8A; 0110].), wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, the vacuum system is selectively controlled to apply vacuum within the sealed chamber (ISAKOV teaches the vacuum system is controlled to apply a vacuum within the sealed chamber [0109-0110; 0115; Fig. 8A; 0112-0113]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON, by having a vacuum system connected to the port in the lid and applied vacuum to the sealed chamber, as suggested by ISAKOV, in order to provide a compression force [0112].
Regarding claim 9, WILCOXSON teaches: further comprising a lip seal positioned between the tray and the compression layer (WILCOXSON teaches a lip seal [0066; 0071; Figs. 10, 14].).
Regarding claim 15, ISAKOV further teaches: wherein the lid comprises at least one of a composite material, a metallic material, a polymeric material, and a polycarbonate material (ISAKOV teaches the cover can be made from aluminum [0098]. ISAKOV also teaches the cover can be made of metal inserts or rubber [0230].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON, by having a cover made of a metal or rubber material, as suggested by ISAKOV, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 16, WILCOXSON teaches: wherein the compression layer is flexible (WILCOXSON teaches the compression layer (32) is flexible [0004].).
Regarding claim 21, WILCOXSON teaches: wherein the compression layer comprises at least one of a rubber material, a polymeric material, and a silicone material (WILCOXSON teaches the compression layer (32) is made of plastics [0052].).
Regarding claim 22, WILCOXSON teaches: A system for constructing a compacted stringer package (WILCOXSON teaches a system for constructing a stringer package [Abstract; 0043; Fig. 4].), the system comprising: a compression housing comprising a tray and a lid, the lid being movable relative to the tray between an open state and a closed state (WILCOXSON teaches a compression housing [Fig. 4]. WILCOXSON teaches a tray (106/168) [Figs. 4, 14; 0045]. WILCOXSON teaches a lid (113) that is movable relative to the tray such that the compression housing is in an open state or in a closed state [Figs. 4, 14; 0045].), wherein the tray includes a receptacle defined by raised edges configured to support a composite stringer package (WILCOXSON teaches the tray (106/168) with a receptacle [Figs. 4, 12, 14]. WILCOXSON teaches the tray has raised edges that surround the receptacle [Figs. 4, 12, 14].); a flexible compression layer positioned over the tray and lining the receptacle, the flexible compression layer comprising a portion extending over the raised edges (WILCOXSON teaches a compression layer (32) that is positioned over the tray (168) and lining the receptacle and raised edges [Fig. 14].); a breather layer permeable to air and coupled to a forming surface of the lid (WILCOXSON teaches the breather layer (192) is positioned between the lid and compression layer [Fig. 14] and extends over the composite stringer package (110) within the sealed chamber [Fig. 14; 0071].); . . . ; and a sealed chamber formed between the lid and the flexible compression layer when the compression housing is in the closed state, wherein: the breather layer is positioned within the sealed chamber between the lid and the flexible compression layer (WILCOXSON teaches the breather layer (192) is positioned between the lid and compression layer [Fig. 14] and extends over the composite stringer package (110) within the sealed chamber [Fig. 14; 0071].); and the breather layer is configured to distribute vacuum from the vacuum port throughout the sealed chamber to draw the flexible compression layer toward the forming surface of the lid, thereby compacting the composite stringer package therebetween (WILCOXSON teaches the compression layer (32) draws the composite stringer package away from the tray (106/168) and toward the lid (113) and compacts the stringer package against the lid in response to application of vacuum [0009-0010; 0045]. WILCOXSON teaches the loading of the filler structure (10) and stiffener (32) from underneath the inner mold line layup mandrel (106), such configuration is not required in all systems and methods and it is within the scope of the present disclosure that a loading tool may be configured to operatively load a filler structure (110) and stiffener (32) from any suitable orientation relative to the inner mold line layup mandrel (106) [0055].).
WILCOXSON does not explicitly teach a breather layer or a vacuum port associated with the lid and in fluid communication with the breather layer. In the same field of endeavor, pressure systems, ISAKOV teaches a breather layer (832) coupled to a cover (802) [0109; 0115].
ISAKOV teaches: further comprising a vacuum port located on the lid (ISAKOV teaches a vacuum port (832) coupled to the cover (802) [0109; Fig. 8A].), wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, vacuum is applied to the sealed chamber through the breather layer via the vacuum port (ISAKOV teaches vacuum is applied to the sealed chamber through the breather layer (832) [0109-0110; 0115; Fig. 8A; 0113].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON, by having a vacuum port in the lid and applied vacuum to the sealed chamber, as suggested by ISAKOV, in order to provide a compression force [0112].
Regarding claim 24, WILCOXSON teaches: further comprising a lip seal positioned between the tray and the flexible compression layer (WILCOXSON teaches seals (182) along the tray and the flexible compression layer [Figs. 12, 14; 0076].), wherein the lip seal is configured to raise the flexible compression layer away from the tray and toward the lid to promote a vacuum seal between the lid and the flexible compression layer when the compression housing is in the closed state (WILCOXSON teaches the seals (182) are along longitudinal edges to ensure proper seal for compacting [0076].).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, and Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Evens et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2011/0132523), hereinafter EVENS.
Regarding claim 3, WILCOXSON teaches: wherein: the tray comprises: a receptacle (WILCOXSON teaches the tray (106/168) with a receptacle [Figs. 4, 12, 14].); and raised edges that surround the receptacle (WILCOXSON teaches the tray has raised edges that surround the receptacle [Figs. 4, 12, 14].); . . . and second portion of the compression layer extends over the raised edges (WILCOXSON teaches the second portion of the compression layer (32) extends over the raised edges [Figs. 4, 12, 14].); and with the compression housing in the closed state, the second portion of the compression layer is compressed between the raised edges and the lid (WILCOXSON teaches the second portion of the compression layer (32) is compressed between the raised edges and the lid (113) [Figs. 4, 12, 14].). WILCOXSON is silent as to the first portion of the compression layer lining the receptacle. In the same field of endeavor, composite systems, EVENS teaches a first portion of a compression layer (110) lines the receptable and a second portion of the layer extends over the raised edges [Fig. 8]. EVENS teaches the second portion is compressed between the raised edges and the lid (116) [0055]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having the compression layer over the raised edges and compressed, as suggested by EVENS, in order to facilitate escape of volatiles [0036].
Regarding claim 5, WILCOXSON and ISAKOV teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, composite systems, EVENS further teaches: further comprising at least one barrier layer (EVENS teaches one barrier layer (104) [Fig. 7]), wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, the at least one barrier layer is positioned between the compression layer and the breather layer (EVENS shows the barrier layer is positioned between the compression layer (110) and the breather layer (114) [Fig. 7]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having a barrier layer, as suggested by EVENS, in order to distribute an accurate measurement of temperature [0044].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, and Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pham et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0139857), hereinafter PHAM.
Regarding claim 4, WILCOXSON and ISAKOV teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, composites, PHAM teaches in a closed state, the lid (34) is in contact with the compression layer (32) and a vacuum seal is formed between the lid and the compression layer [0028; Fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having the lid in contact with the compression layer and vacuum seal both, as suggested by PHAM, in order to form a seal and a vacuum chamber [0010; 0028].
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, and Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watson et al. (U.S. 8,444,127), hereinafter WATSON.
Regarding claim 9, WILCOXSON and ISAKOV teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, composites, WATSON teaches a lip seal (104) is positioned between the tray (52) and a compression layer (110) [Fig. 7; Col. 9, lines 50-54]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having a lip seal between the tray and compression layer, as suggested by WATSON, in order to form a seal between all layers and secure them [Col. 9, lines 54-58].
Regarding claim 11, WILCOXSON and ISAKOV teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising a seal layer positioned over the lid, wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, the seal layer is in contact with the compression layer and a vacuum seal is formed between the seal layer and the compression layer. In the same field of endeavor, composites systems, WATSON further teaches: further comprising a seal layer positioned over the lid (WATSON teaches a seal layer (102) [Col. 9, lines 50-51; Fig. 7]), wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, the seal layer is in contact with the compression layer and a vacuum seal is formed between the seal layer and the compression layer (WATSON teaches the seal layer (102) is in contact with the compression layer (110) and a vacuum seal is formed [Fig. 7; Col. 9, lines 50-56]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having a seal layer, as suggested by WATSON, in order to form a seal between all layers and secure them [Col. 9, lines 54-58].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, and Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YOUSEFPOUR et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0072816), hereinafter YOUSEFPOUR.
Regarding claim 10, WILCOXSON and ISAKOV teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising a gasket that is coupled to the lid, wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, the gasket is in contact with the compression layer and a vacuum seal is formed between the gasket and the compression layer. In the same field of endeavor, composites, YOUSEFPOUR teaches a gasket (30) that are coupled to the lid and the gasket is in contact with the compression layer (15) [Fig. 4) and a vacuum seal is formed between the gasket and compression layer [0081]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having gaskets between the lid and compression layer to form a vacuum, as suggested by YOUSEFPOUR, in order to form an edge seal [0081].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV, and Watson et al. (U.S. 8,444,127), hereinafter WATSON, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of YOUSEFPOUR et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0072816), hereinafter YOUSEFPOUR.
Regarding claim 12, WILCOXSON, ISAKOV and WATSON teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the compression layer and the seal layer comprise the same material. YOUSEFPOUR teaches the two bag materials (15/25) [Fig. 4] are the same material as both may be rubber materials [0062-0063]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON, ISAKOV and WATSON, by having the two vacuum bags be made of rubber material, as suggested by YOUSEFPOUR, in order to be durable and appropriate to resist abuse associated with regular use [0062-0063].
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, and Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jagos et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2013/0014887), hereinafter JAGOS.
Regarding claim 13, WILCOXSON and ISAKOV teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising at least one end plug that is positioned on the tray, wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, the at least one end plug is positioned between the compression layer and the breather layer. In the same field of endeavor, composites, JAGOS teaches at least one end plug (30) positioned on the tray (10) and the plug is positioned between all the layers [Fig. 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having end plugs to hold the layers, as suggested by JAGOS, in order to improve mold preparation and demold for quicker cycle times [0002].
Regarding claim 14, JAGOS further teaches: further comprising at least one end-plug support that is positioned between the tray and the compression layer (JAGOS shows a plug support (50) positioned between the tray and layers [Fig. 4]), wherein, with the compression housing in the closed state, the at least one end-plug support receives a portion of the at least one end plug (JAGOS shows the plug (30) is received by the plug support (50) [Figs. 2-4]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having end plugs to hold the layers, as suggested by JAGOS, in order to improve mold preparation and demold for quicker cycle times [0002].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, and Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2012/0125534), hereinafter WATSON 2.
Regarding claim 15, WILCOXSON and ISAKOV teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, composites, WATSON 2 teaches a lid (2) that comprises a strongback support tooling (8) that is made of stiff material, such as a panel made of honeycomb composite material [0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having a composite lid, as suggested by WATSON 2, in order to create a vacuum chamber [0033].
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcoxson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0075092), hereinafter WILCOXSON, and Isakov et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0330943), hereinafter ISAKOV, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Jagos et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2013/0014887), hereinafter JAGOS.
Regarding claim 23, WILCOXSON and ISAKOV teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising at least one end plug and at least one end-plug support, the end-plug support being positioned between the tray and the flexible compression layer, wherein the at least one end-plug support is configured to receive a portion of the at least one end plug such that the end plug is positioned between the flexible compression layer and the breather layer within the sealed chamber to provide a surface contour that encourages the flexible compression layer to conform to a shape of the composite stringer package during compaction. In the same field of endeavor, composites, JAGOS teaches at least one end plug (30) positioned on the tray (10) and the plug is positioned between all the layers [Fig. 4]. JAGOS shows a plug support (50) positioned between the tray and layers [Fig. 4]. JAGOS shows the plug (30) is received by the plug support (50) [Figs. 2-4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify WILCOXSON and ISAKOV, by having end plugs and plug supports to hold the layers, as suggested by JAGOS, in order to improve mold preparation and demold for quicker cycle times [0002].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748