DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/26/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 10/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chinzei et al (US 20200353411 A1, cited on IDS 05/26/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Chinzei discloses an exhaust gas purification catalyst comprising a catalyst coating layer on a substrate (abstract, meeting limitation “a three-way catalyst, comprising a carrier and a coating material”). The catalyst coating layer contains a noble metal serving as a main catalyst, a composite oxide containing cerium oxide and zirconium oxide, a composite oxide containing aluminum oxide, and the like ([0039] meeting limitation “the coating material comprising a precious metal active component and a catalytic material”). The catalyst coating… is formed on a surface of the substrate, and may be configured from one layer or two or more layers ([0038]). Each catalyst coating layer… may have a different composition depending on each part of the substrate ([0038] meeting limitation “the precious metal active component includes a first precious metal active component and a second precious metal active component”). Specific examples of the noble metal include platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), rhodium (Rh)… and ruthenium (Ru) ([0042] meeting limitation “the first precious metal active component comprises Ru; and the second precious metal active component comprises Pd and Rh, and optionally, Pt”).
Regarding claim 4, Chinzei discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the noble metal raw material for preparation of the noble metal particles is not particularly limited, and examples thereof include a solution obtained by dissolving a salt… of a noble metal ([0072] meeting limitation “wherein the Ru in the first precious metal active component contains metallic ruthenium”).
Regarding claim 5, Chinzei discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the composite oxide containing the cerium oxide and the zirconium oxide is a material excellent in oxygen storage capacity ([0041] meeting limitation “wherein the catalytic material comprises an oxygen storage material”). The catalyst coating layer contains… a composite oxide containing aluminum oxide ([0039] meeting limitation “an alumina material”).
Regarding claim 6, Chinzei discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including the composite oxide containing the cerium oxide and the zirconium oxide is a material excellent in oxygen storage capacity ([0041] meeting limitation “wherein the oxygen storage material comprises CeO2-ZrO2”).
Regarding claim 7, Chinzei discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the composite oxide containing the aluminum oxide plays a role as contributing to improvement in exhaust gas purification performance and heat resistance ([0040]). Specific examples of a substrate contained in the composite oxide other than the aluminum oxide includes lanthanum oxide (La2O3), cerium oxide (CeO2) ([0040] meeting limitation “wherein the alumina material comprises pure alumina or a modified alumina containing La and/or Ce”).
Regarding claim 8, Chinzei discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the material of such a substrate is also not particularly limited, and a substrate made of ceramics… or a substrate made of a metal… may be adopted ([0036] meeting limitation “wherein the carrier comprises a ceramic carrier or a metal carrier”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinzei et al (US 20200353411 A1, cited on IDS 05/26/2023).
Regarding claims 2-3, Chinzei discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses in Example 1, the material 3 was introduced into distilled water while stirred such that an amount of Rh became 0.45 g per liter of the volume of the substrate (0.45 g/L) ([0093]). 0.45 g/L is equivalent to 12.7 g/ft3 which is within the claimed range of 1-100 g/ft3 (claim 2) and 5-40 g/ft3 (claim 3).
While Chinzei discloses 0.45 g/L of Rh, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to substitute Ru for Rh since Chinzei discloses specific examples of the noble metal include platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), rhodium (Rh)… and ruthenium (Ru) ([0042]). This disclosure suggests substituting Ru for Rh will result in a predictable outcome.
Conclusion
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738