DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicant’s amendment and arguments but firmly believes that the cited references reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations as rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisno et al (US 2002/0052960) in view of Horonaka et al (US 2017/0005934) and Li (CN 104954165 B. English Machine translation provided) and Homenet (Homenet: “MAC addresses”, https://www.homenethowto.com/switching/mac-addresses/ , September 25, 2020, pages 1-5).
1). With regard to claim 1, Trisno et al discloses a service data transmission ([0032], for “fully communicate with each other”) method performed by a first service receiving device (any one of the nodes in Figures 1A-E, [0023]), comprising:
broadcasting, by the first service receiving device, a first MAC address (step 210 in Figure 2, [0033]-[0034], “In steps 210 and 220, each node 100 broadcasts 210 its unique identifier to each of the other nodes in the network and receives 220 the unique identifiers for the other nodes. Each node has a different unique identifier”, and [0039], “The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses, and the network addresses are IP addresses.”) to m service sending devices (“the other nodes” are the m service sending devices), wherein:
the first service receiving device is any one of n service receiving devices ([0032]-[0035] etc., “each node 100 receives a network address which is used for communications and the nodes must somehow have access to the other nodes' addresses”, step 220 in Figure 2, “… and receives 220 the unique identifiers for the other nodes”);
the first MAC address is a MAC address of the first service receiving device ([0039] etc., “The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses);
the n service receiving devices and the m service sending devices are included in a communication network (Figures 1A-E, [0024] and [0026] etc.; “The nodes 100 in the network communicate with each other by transferring information over the network segments, for example in data packets. Each of the nodes 100 in the network has a network address that is unique to that node”);
n and m are integers greater than or equal to 1 (Figures 1A-E); and
the first MAC address is used by each of the m service sending devices to configure local routing information ([0034]-[0037], “each node 100 receives 220 the unique identifiers for all of the other nodes. In addition, each node 100 can construct a list of the unique identifiers for all of the nodes 100 in the network, including itself; and each list should be the same since each node should have received the same set of unique identifier”, “In step 230, each node 100 assigns a different network address to each of the nodes, based on the unique identifier received from the node. However, all nodes 100 make this assignment in a common, predetermined manner”. [0024], “This address allows each node 100 to send information to every other node 100 in the network by attaching the appropriate network address for the destination node to the information. The information is then routed through the network to the node whose network address matches the network address attached to the information”; [0025], “Thus, when a source node wants to transmit information to another node in the network, the source node looks up the destination node in the address table and finds the appropriate network address for that node. The network address is inserted into a data packet containing the information to be transmitted. The data packet is forwarded over the network segments to the node with corresponding destination address. In a preferred embodiment, the address table is implemented in a sorted list. However, the address table can be implemented in other ways, including linked lists, arrays, databases, and dedicated hardware”; and [0039], “method 200 is implemented as follows. The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses, and the network addresses are IP addresses. A MAC address is a unique 6 byte (48 bit) address that is burned into each networking product by the manufacturer in order to uniquely identify that particular product”);
receiving, by the first service receiving device, service data, the first MAC address ([0023], “exchange data packets between the nodes”; [0024]-[0025] and [0031]-[0032], “This address allows each node 100 to send information to every other node 100 in the network by attaching the appropriate network address for the destination node to the information. The information is then routed through the network to the node whose network address matches the network address attached to the information”, and “Once the network addressing is established, each node in the network can communicate with every other node in the network”. [0056], sending messages to the node that is not expired).
Trisno et al discloses that the service sending device sends service data and a network address to the first service receiving device. But, Trisno et al does not expressly disclose that the first service receiving device receives both MAC address and a routing destination address from at least one of the m service sending devices, wherein the routing destination address is different from the first MAC address, and wherein the routing destination address is an address of a destination device connected to the first service receiving device; and transmitting, by the first service receiving device, the service data to the destination device based on the routing destination address.
However, as shown in Figures 4B and 4C of Trisno et al, the network address, or IP address, is based on the MAC address ([0014], “each node assigns IP addresses on the basis of MAC addresses received for the other nodes”; [0057] “IP addresses are assigned to each node based on its MAC address, as shown in FIG. 4B”); that is, the network address (IP address) and the MAC address are corresponding to each other; for the purpose of signal routing, either IP address or MAC address or both can be used for signal routing. E.g., Horonaka et al discloses a signal routing scheme, in which a destination MAC address can be included in a data frame (63C in Figure 6), “When a destination MAC address in a reception packet is extracted, the control unit 44 refers to the MAC table 43A and recognizes the slot number and the port number of a transfer destination packet card 11 which corresponds to the extracted destination MAC address and to which a corresponding packet is to be transferred” ([0035]). And, Li discloses a signal routing scheme, as shown in Figure 4, signals are transmitted from a network management device (top-left of Figure 4) to an analysis device (top-right of Figure 4) via switch 1 and switch 3; and “The Packet Header may include a destination MAC address and a destination IP address, a source MAC address and a source IP address, wherein the destination MAC address and the destination IP address are addresses of the analysis device, and the source MAC address and the source IP address are addresses of the network management device”, that is, both MAC address and IP address can be used for signal routing.
Regarding the routing destination address that is different from the first MAC address, first, as disclosed by Trisno et al, the node 100 can be a router or switch ([0023]; “FIGS. 1A-E are block diagrams illustrating various network topologies suitable for use with the present invention. The invention is not limited to these topologies. Any network topology, including topologies in which different networks are linked to each other, can be automatically configured using the present invention. Each of these network topologies includes a number of nodes 100A-X (collectively or generically, nodes 100) which are coupled to each other via network segments. Examples of nodes 100 include personal computers, workstations, servers, other types of computers, routers, switches, and other networking devices. The network segments include any communications medium that can exchange data packets between the nodes, including for example electrical wires, coaxial cable, optical fibers, and wireless”), it is obvious to one skilled in the art that other devices, e.g., personal computers etc., can be connected to the router/switch so to finish data packets transmission etc.
Note: as shown in Applicant’s optical transport network OTN, a cloud virtual machine (VPC 1) is connected to a cloud PE 1; and “The MAC address herein is the MAC address of the cloud PE 1” ([0106]), and the routing destination address is the IP address of the VPC ([0102]-[0108] and [0118] etc., “the CPE 1 is configured to use the IP address of the cloud VPC 1 as the routing destination address”); that is, in light of Specification, the MAC address and the routing destination address are for different entities (PE and VPC); a routing destination address is different from the first MAC address.
As discussed above, the node 100 can be a router or switch, and then other devices can be connected to the router or switch; therefore, a MAC address is needed for the router/switch (node 100), and a routing destination address is need for the other device. Another prior art, Homenet, discloses a similar signal routing scheme, and discloses “MAC addresses and IP addresses are two completely different types of addresses, but both are used by computers that communicate with each other. Each time a computer sends out network traffic the traffic has both a source and destination IP address, but it also has a source and destination MAC address”; and the MAC address is similar to a post office (or “mail sorting office”, or a zip code), and the destination address is similar to the final street address (Figures on pages 3-5); as shown in the figure on page 4, when a packet is sent from a computer to a web server, the destination address (2.17.169.198) in the packet does not change, but, the destination MAC address may be changed based on the “next hop” or routers, and the destination address is different from the MAC address.
As shown in the figure of page 4 of Homenet, which is replotted above, a packet is sent from the Computer to the Web Server. For the purpose of clarity and explanation, Examiner labels the Router at the bottom as the “Router 1”, and the Router at the top as the “Router 2”. The Router 1 corresponds to claimed “service sending device” (or corresponds to CPE 1 of Applicant’s Figure 2), and Router 2 corresponds to claimed “service receiving device (or corresponds to Cloud PE 1 of Applicant’s Figure 2). The first service receiving device (Router 2) receives both MAC address (“MAC: 35:a0:b1:72:01:19”) and a routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”) from the service sending device (Router 1), wherein the routing destination address (“MAC: 35:a0:b1:72:01:19”) is different from the first MAC address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”), and wherein the routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”) is an address of a destination device (“Web Server” as shown in figure above, or the figure of page 4 of Homenet) connected to the first service receiving device (Router 2); and transmitting, by the first service receiving device (Router 2), the service data (shown as an envelope in figure above) to the destination device (“Web Server”) based on the routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use both a MAC address and destination IP address in a data frame as taught by Li and Horonaka et al and Homenet to the system/method of Trisno et al so that the service data et al can be conveniently and properly sent to a desired destination device.
2). With regard to claim 2, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein:
the broadcasting, by the first service receiving device, the first MAC address to the m service sending devices comprises:
sending, by the first service receiving device, a first data frame to each service sending device, wherein the first data frame includes a first field that carries the first MAC address (Trisno: Figure 2 and 4, [0001], [0023]-[0027], [0031] and [0034], “The broadcast packet is received 220”. Horonaka: use Optical Transport Network (OTN) frame to send MAC address, Figures 6, 8 and 9 etc., and [0050], [0058], [0060] and [0064] etc. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
3). With regard to claim 3, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-2 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein:
the first data frame is an optical transport network (OTN) frame (the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet discloses the OTN frame); and
the first field is located in an overhead area of the OTN frame (Figure 6, Horonaka discloses that the first field is located in an overhead area of the OTN frame. Li: header field. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
4). With regard to claim 9, Trisno et al discloses a communication network (Figures 1A-E, [0023]), comprises:
n service receiving devices (Figures 1A-E, [0032]-[0035], “In steps 210 and 220, each node 100 broadcasts 210 its unique identifier to each of the other nodes in the network and receives 220 the unique identifiers for the other nodes. Each node has a different unique identifier”); and
m service sending devices ([0032]-[0035], “each node 100 receives a network address which is used for communications and the nodes must somehow have access to the other nodes' addresses”), wherein:
n and m are integers greater than or equal to 1 (Figures 1A-E); and
a first service receiving device is any one of the n service receiving devices ([0032]-[0035] etc., “each node 100 receives a network address which is used for communications and the nodes must somehow have access to the other nodes' addresses”, step 220 in Figure 2, “… and receives 220 the unique identifiers for the other nodes”), wherein:
the first service receiving device (any one of the nodes in Figures 1A-E, [0023]) is configured to broadcast a first MAC address to the m service sending devices (step 210 in Figure 2, [0033]-[0034], “In steps 210 and 220, each node 100 broadcasts 210 its unique identifier to each of the other nodes in the network and receives 220 the unique identifiers for the other nodes. Each node has a different unique identifier”, and [0039], “The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses, and the network addresses are IP addresses.”), wherein:
the first MAC address is a MAC address of the first service receiving device ([0039] etc., “The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses);
each of the m service sending devices is configured to configure local routing information based on the first MAC address ([0034]-[0037], “each node 100 receives 220 the unique identifiers for all of the other nodes. In addition, each node 100 can construct a list of the unique identifiers for all of the nodes 100 in the network, including itself; and each list should be the same since each node should have received the same set of unique identifier”, “In step 230, each node 100 assigns a different network address to each of the nodes, based on the unique identifier received from the node. However, all nodes 100 make this assignment in a common, predetermined manner”. [0024], “This address allows each node 100 to send information to every other node 100 in the network by attaching the appropriate network address for the destination node to the information. The information is then routed through the network to the node whose network address matches the network address attached to the information”; [0025], “Thus, when a source node wants to transmit information to another node in the network, the source node looks up the destination node in the address table and finds the appropriate network address for that node. The network address is inserted into a data packet containing the information to be transmitted. The data packet is forwarded over the network segments to the node with corresponding destination address. In a preferred embodiment, the address table is implemented in a sorted list. However, the address table can be implemented in other ways, including linked lists, arrays, databases, and dedicated hardware”; and [0039], “method 200 is implemented as follows. The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses, and the network addresses are IP addresses. A MAC address is a unique 6 byte (48 bit) address that is burned into each networking product by the manufacturer in order to uniquely identify that particular product”); and
at least one of the m service sending devices is configured to send service data, a routing destination address (a “network address”) to the first service receiving device based on the local routing information ([0023], “exchange data packets between the nodes”; [0024]-[0025] and [0031]-[0032], “This address allows each node 100 to send information to every other node 100 in the network by attaching the appropriate network address for the destination node to the information. The information is then routed through the network to the node whose network address matches the network address attached to the information”, and “Once the network addressing is established, each node in the network can communicate with every other node in the network”. [0056], sending messages to the node that is not expired).
Trisno et al discloses that the service sending device sends service data and a network address (routing destination address) to the first service receiving device. But, Trisno et al does not expressly disclose that both the routing destination address and the first MAC address are sent with the service data, and the routing destination address is different from the first MAC address; wherein the routing destination address is an address of a destination device connected to the first service receiving device; and the first service receiving device is configured to transmit the service data to the destination device based on the routing destination address.
However, as shown in Figures 4B and 4C of Trisno et al, the network address, or IP address, is based on the MAC address ([0014], “each node assigns IP addresses on the basis of MAC addresses received for the other nodes”; [0057] “IP addresses are assigned to each node based on its MAC address, as shown in FIG. 4B”); that is, the network address (IP address) and the MAC address are corresponding to each other; for the purpose of signal routing, either IP address or MAC address or both can be used for signal routing. E.g., Horonaka et al discloses a signal routing scheme, in which a destination MAC address can be included in a data frame (63C in Figure 6), “When a destination MAC address in a reception packet is extracted, the control unit 44 refers to the MAC table 43A and recognizes the slot number and the port number of a transfer destination packet card 11 which corresponds to the extracted destination MAC address and to which a corresponding packet is to be transferred” ([0035]). And, Li discloses a signal routing scheme, as shown in Figure 4, signals are transmitted from a network management device (top-left of Figure 4) to an analysis device (top-right of Figure 4) via switch 1 and switch 3; and “The Packet Header may include a destination MAC address and a destination IP address, a source MAC address and a source IP address, wherein the destination MAC address and the destination IP address are addresses of the analysis device, and the source MAC address and the source IP address are addresses of the network management device”, that is, both MAC address and IP address can be used for signal routing.
Regarding the routing destination address that is different from the first MAC address, first, as disclosed by Trisno et al, the node 100 can be a router or switch ([0023]; “FIGS. 1A-E are block diagrams illustrating various network topologies suitable for use with the present invention. The invention is not limited to these topologies. Any network topology, including topologies in which different networks are linked to each other, can be automatically configured using the present invention. Each of these network topologies includes a number of nodes 100A-X (collectively or generically, nodes 100) which are coupled to each other via network segments. Examples of nodes 100 include personal computers, workstations, servers, other types of computers, routers, switches, and other networking devices. The network segments include any communications medium that can exchange data packets between the nodes, including for example electrical wires, coaxial cable, optical fibers, and wireless”), it is obvious to one skilled in the art that other devices, e.g., personal computers etc., can be connected to the router/switch so to finish data packets transmission etc.
Note: as shown in Applicant’s optical transport network OTN, a cloud virtual machine (VPC 1) is connected to a cloud PE 1; and “The MAC address herein is the MAC address of the cloud PE 1” ([0106]), and the routing destination address is the IP address of the VPC ([0102]-[0108] and [0118] etc., “the CPE 1 is configured to use the IP address of the cloud VPC 1 as the routing destination address”); that is, in light of Specification, the MAC address and the routing destination address are for different entities (PE and VPC); a routing destination address is different from the first MAC address.
As discussed above, the node 100 can be a router or switch, and then other devices can be connected to the router or switch; therefore, a MAC address is needed for the router/switch (node 100), and a routing destination address is need for the other device. Another prior art, Homenet, discloses a similar signal routing scheme, and discloses “MAC addresses and IP addresses are two completely different types of addresses, but both are used by computers that communicate with each other. Each time a computer sends out network traffic the traffic has both a source and destination IP address, but it also has a source and destination MAC address”; and the MAC address is similar to a post office (or “mail sorting office”, or a zip code), and the destination address is similar to the final street address (Figures on pages 3-5); as shown in the figure on page 4, when a packet is sent from a computer to a web server, the destination address (2.17.169.198) in the packet does not change, but, the destination MAC address may be changed based on the “next hop” or routers, and the destination address is different from the MAC address.
As shown in the figure of page 4 of Homenet, which is replotted in page 8 of current Office Action, a packet is sent from the Computer to the Web Server. For the purpose of clarity and explanation, Examiner labels the Router at the bottom as the “Router 1”, and the Router at the top as the “Router 2”. The Router 1 corresponds to claimed “service sending device” (or corresponds to CPE 1 of Applicant’s Figure 2), and Router 2 corresponds to claimed “service receiving device (or corresponds to Cloud PE 1 of Applicant’s Figure 2). The first service receiving device (Router 2) receives both MAC address (“MAC: 35:a0:b1:72:01:19”) and a routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”) from the service sending device (Router 1), wherein the routing destination address (“MAC: 35:a0:b1:72:01:19”) is different from the first MAC address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”), and wherein the routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”) is an address of a destination device (“Web Server” as shown in figure above, or the figure of page 4 of Homenet) connected to the first service receiving device (Router 2); and transmitting, by the first service receiving device (Router 2), the service data (shown as an envelope in figure above) to the destination device (“Web Server”) based on the routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use both a MAC address and destination IP address in a data frame as taught by Li and Horonaka et al and Homenet to the system/method of Trisno et al so that the service data et al can be conveniently and properly sent to a desired destination device.
5). With regard to claim 10, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 9 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein:
the first service receiving device is configured to send a first data frame to each service sending device, wherein the first data frame includes a first field that carries the first MAC address (Trisno: Figure 2 and 4, [0001], [0023]-[0027], [0031] and [0034], “The broadcast packet is received 220”. Horonaka: use Optical Transport Network (OTN) frame to send MAC address, Figures 6, 8 and 9 etc., and [0050], [0058], [0060] and [0064] etc. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet as applied to claims 1-3 and 9-10 above, and further in view of Wang et al (WO 2018/166252. Corresponding English translation is US 2020/0014557, hereinafter, the indicated paragraph etc. is for US 2020/0014557).
1). With regard to claim 4, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-3 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein: the first field carrying the first MAC address includes a packet of a protocol that indicates the first MAC address (Figure 2 and 4 of Trisno, [0023]-[0027], and [0034], “The broadcast packet is received 220”. Horonaka and Li: MAC address is included. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
But, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly disclose that the protocol is an extended protocol.
However, an extended protocol, e.g., Computation Element Communication Protocol (PCEP) or Border Gateway Protocol (BGP), has been widely used in the art for address learning etc. Wang et al discloses a scheme to use BGP for MAC address learning etc. ([0011], Figures 2-3 and Figure 4a etc., [0050], [0052] and [0068] etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an extended protocol, e.g., BGP or PCEP, as taught by Wang et al to the system/method of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet so that the routing can be more efficient, and the scalability and global connectivity can be enhanced.
2). With regard to claim 11, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 9-10 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein:
the first field carrying the first MAC address includes a packet of a protocol that indicates the first MAC address (Figure 2 and 4 of Trisno, [0023]-[0027], and [0034], “The broadcast packet is received 220”. Horonaka and Li: MAC address is included. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
But, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly disclose that the protocol is an extended protocol.
However, an extended protocol, e.g., Computation Element Communication Protocol (PCEP) or Border Gateway Protocol (BGP), has been widely used in the art for address learning etc. Wang et al discloses a scheme to use BGP for MAC address learning etc. ([0011], Figures 2-3 and Figure 4a etc., [0050], [0052] and [0068] etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an extended protocol, e.g., BGP or PCEP, as taught by Wang et al to the system/method of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet so that the routing can be more efficient, and the scalability and global connectivity can be enhanced.
Claims 5-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Hu et al (US 2019/0238949).
1). With regard to claim 5, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses the broadcasting, by the first service receiving device, the first MAC address to the m service sending devices comprises: receiving n MAC addresses from the n service receiving devices (refer claim 1 rejection, Trisno: the service sending devices receiving the n MAC address), wherein the n MAC addresses are in one-to-one correspondence with the n service receiving devices (Trisno: Abstract, “Each node assigns a different network address to each of the nodes based on the unique identifier received from the node”, [0040], “Node 100H stores the MAC address in the packet and then forwards the data packet to the next node, node 100K. This continues until each node in the network has received the broadcast packet. In one approach, when the broadcast packet circles back to node 1001, the node 1001 recognizes that it originated the packet and does not forward it further”); sending the n MAC addresses to each service sending device; and the n MAC addresses are used by each service sending device to confiure the local routing information (refer claim 1 rejection).
But, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly disclose that a transit device is included in the communication network, or Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li do not expressly disclose wherein: the broadcasting, by the first service receiving device, the first MAC address to the m service sending devices comprises: receiving, by a transit device included in the communication network, n MAC addresses from the n service receiving devices; forwarding, by the transit device, the n MAC addresses to each service sending device.
However, to include a transit device in a communication network to update/forward MAC address is known in the art. E.g., Hu et al discloses that a Software Defined Networking (SDN) controller can be used as a transit device for forward MAC address etc. (Abstract, Figures 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a SDN in the system/method of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet so to allow a centralized control and programmability, and reduce number of messages and simplify the message updating.
2). With regard to claim 6, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 5 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al further discloses wherein:
the forwarding, by the transit device, the n MAC addresses to each service sending device comprises:
sending, by the transit device, a second data frame to each service sending device (Trisno, [0001], [0023]-[0027], [0031] and [0034], “The broadcast packet is received 220”; Hu: a transit is used; Horonaka and Li: data frame with MAC address Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet), wherein the second data frame includes a second field that indicates a MAC address of each of the n service receiving devices (Horonaka: Figures 6, 8 and 9 etc., and [0050], [0058], [0060] and [0064] etc.; the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al teaches/suggests: sending, by the transit device, a second data frame to each service sending device, wherein the second data frame includes a second field that indicates a MAC address of each of the n service receiving devices. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
3). With regard to claim 7, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 5 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al further discloses wherein:
the transit device includes at least one of the following:
a software-defined networking SDN controller (Hu: SDN controller);
a server; or
a network element.
4). With regard to claim 12, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 9 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further disclose the communication network according to claim 9, further comprises: receive n MAC addresses from the n service receiving devices (refer claim 1 rejection, Trisno: the service sending devices receiving the n MAC address. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet), wherein the n MAC addresses are in one-to-one correspondence with the n service receiving devices (Trisno: Abstract, “Each node assigns a different network address to each of the nodes based on the unique identifier received from the node”, [0040], “Node 100H stores the MAC address in the packet and then forwards the data packet to the next node, node 100K. This continues until each node in the network has received the broadcast packet. In one approach, when the broadcast packet circles back to node 1001, the node 1001 recognizes that it originated the packet and does not forward it further”. Homenet: figures in pages 3-5); sending the n MAC addresses to each service sending device; and each service sending device is configured to configure the local routing information based on the n MAC addresses (refer claim 9 rejection).
But, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly disclose that a transit device is used to receive and forward the MAC addresses, or Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly disclose a transit device configured to: receive n MAC addresses from the n service receiving devices, wherein the n MAC addresses are in one-to-one correspondence with the n service receiving devices; forward the n MAC addresses to each service sending device.
However, to include a transit device in a communication network to update/forward MAC address is known in the art. E.g., Hu et al discloses that a Software Defined Networking (SDN) controller can be used as a transit device for forward MAC address etc. (Abstract, Figures 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a SDN in the system/method of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet so to allow a centralized control and programmability, and reduce number of messages and simplify the message updating.
5). With regard to claim 13, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 9 and 12 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al further discloses wherein:
the transit device is configured to send a second data frame to each service sending device (Trisno, [0001], [0023]-[0027], [0031] and [0034], “The broadcast packet is received 220”; Hu: a transit is used; Horonaka and Li: data frame with MAC address. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet), wherein the second data frame includes a second field that indicates a MAC address of each of the n service receiving devices (Horonaka: Figures 6, 8 and 9 etc., and [0050], [0058], [0060] and [0064] etc.; the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Hu et al teaches/suggests: sending, by the transit device, a second data frame to each service sending device, wherein the second data frame includes a second field that indicates a MAC address of each of the n service receiving devices. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
6). With regard to claim 14, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 9 and 12 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet and Hu et al further discloses wherein:
the transit device is at least one of:
a software-defined networking (SDN) controller (Hu: SDN controller);
a server; or
a network element.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Lin et al (US 11,088,871)
1). With regard to claim 8, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein:
the broadcasting, by the first service receiving device, the first MAC address to the m service sending devices comprises:
broadcasting, by the first service receiving device, the first MAC address (refer claim 1 rejection) to the m service sending devices; and
the first MAC address is used by each service sending device to configure the local routing information (refer claim 1 rejection).
But, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly state that a device identifier of the first service receiving device is sent to the service sending devices and used to configure the local routing information.
However, Trisno et al discloses that an internet address is used for configuring the local routing information. Another prior art, Lin et al, discloses that both MAC address and IP address (a device identifier) can be broadcasted in a route advertisement message (column 8 lines 2-15, column 10 lines 25-33, column 14 lines 31-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin et al with Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet so that both MAC address and IP address are broadcasted, and the signal routing is made easier.
2). With regard to claim 15, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet discloses all of the subject matter as applied to claim 9 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses, wherein:
the first service receiving device is configured to broadcast the first MAC address of the first service receiving device to the m service sending devices; and each service sending device is configured to configure the local routing information based on the first MAC address (refer claim 9 rejection).
But, Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly state that a device identifier of the first service receiving device is sent to the service sending devices and used to configure the local routing information.
However, Trisno et al discloses that an internet address is used for configuring the local routing information. Another prior art, Lin et al, discloses that both MAC address and IP address (a device identifier) can be broadcasted in a route advertisement message (column 8 lines 2-15, column 10 lines 25-33, column 14 lines 31-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin et al with Trisno et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet so that both MAC address and IP address are broadcasted, and the signa routing is made easier.
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisno et al (US 2002/0052960) in view of Hu et al (US 2019/0238949) and Horonaka et al (US 2017/0005934) and Li (CN 104954165 B) and Homenet (Homenet: “MAC addresses”, https://www.homenethowto.com/switching/mac-addresses/ , September 25, 2020, pages 1-5).
1). With regard to claim 16, Trisno et al discloses a procedure that causes a first service receiving device (any one of the nodes in Figures 1A-E, [0023]) to:
Broadcast a first MAC address to m service sending devices (step 210 in Figure 2, [0033]-[0034], “In steps 210 and 220, each node 100 broadcasts 210 its unique identifier to each of the other nodes in the network and receives 220 the unique identifiers for the other nodes. Each node has a different unique identifier”, and [0039], “The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses, and the network addresses are IP addresses.”), wherein:
the first service receiving device is any one of n service receiving devices ([0032]-[0035] etc., “each node 100 receives a network address which is used for communications and the nodes must somehow have access to the other nodes' addresses”, step 220 in Figure 2, “… and receives 220 the unique identifiers for the other nodes”);
n and m are integers greater than or equal to 1 (Figures 1A-E);
the first MAC address is a MAC address of the first service receiving device ([0039] etc., “The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses); and
the first MAC address is used by each of the m service sending devices to configure local routing information ([0034]-[0037], “each node 100 receives 220 the unique identifiers for all of the other nodes. In addition, each node 100 can construct a list of the unique identifiers for all of the nodes 100 in the network, including itself; and each list should be the same since each node should have received the same set of unique identifier”, “In step 230, each node 100 assigns a different network address to each of the nodes, based on the unique identifier received from the node. However, all nodes 100 make this assignment in a common, predetermined manner”. [0024], “This address allows each node 100 to send information to every other node 100 in the network by attaching the appropriate network address for the destination node to the information. The information is then routed through the network to the node whose network address matches the network address attached to the information”; [0025], “Thus, when a source node wants to transmit information to another node in the network, the source node looks up the destination node in the address table and finds the appropriate network address for that node. The network address is inserted into a data packet containing the information to be transmitted. The data packet is forwarded over the network segments to the node with corresponding destination address. In a preferred embodiment, the address table is implemented in a sorted list. However, the address table can be implemented in other ways, including linked lists, arrays, databases, and dedicated hardware”; and [0039], “method 200 is implemented as follows. The unique identifiers are Media Access Control (MAC) addresses, and the network addresses are IP addresses. A MAC address is a unique 6 byte (48 bit) address that is burned into each networking product by the manufacturer in order to uniquely identify that particular product”); and
receive service data, the first MAC address from at least one of the m service sending devices ([0023], “exchange data packets between the nodes”; [0024]-[0025] and [0031]-[0032], “This address allows each node 100 to send information to every other node 100 in the network by attaching the appropriate network address for the destination node to the information. The information is then routed through the network to the node whose network address matches the network address attached to the information”, and “Once the network addressing is established, each node in the network can communicate with every other node in the network”. [0056], sending messages to the node that is not expired).
But, Trisno et al does not expressly disclose that the procedure is executed by a computer program, or Trisno et al does not expressly disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable medium stores a program, and in response to a computer executing the program, cause the communication network to perform the functions of broadcasting and receiving etc.; and Trisno et al discloses that the service sending device sends service data and a network address to the first service receiving device, but, Trisno et al does not expressly disclose that the first service receiving device receives both MAC address and a routing destination address from at least one of the m service sending devices, wherein the routing destination address is different from the first MAC address, and wherein the routing destination address is an address of a destination device connected to the first service receiving device; and transmit the service data to the destination device based on the routing destination address.
Regarding the software stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium, however, Hu et al teaches/discloses that a routing processing can be implemented in software store in a non-transitory computer readable medium stores a program ([0084]). An implemented software/program would perform same function of the hardware for less expense, adaptability, and flexibility. One skilled in the art would have clearly recognized that the Trisno’s scheme would have been implemented in a software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used a program stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium, as taught by Hu et al, in Trisno et al in order to reduce cost and improve the adaptability and flexibility of the communication system.
Regarding the first receiving device receiving both the routing destination address and the first MAC address, however, as shown in Figures 4B and 4C of Trisno et al, the network address, or IP address, is based on the MAC address ([0014], “each node assigns IP addresses on the basis of MAC addresses received for the other nodes”; [0057] “IP addresses are assigned to each node based on its MAC address, as shown in FIG. 4B”); that is, the network address (IP address) and the MAC address are corresponding to each other; for the purpose of signal routing, either IP address or MAC address or both can be used for signal routing. E.g., Horonaka et al discloses a signal routing scheme, in which a destination MAC address can be included in a data frame (63C in Figure 6), “When a destination MAC address in a reception packet is extracted, the control unit 44 refers to the MAC table 43A and recognizes the slot number and the port number of a transfer destination packet card 11 which corresponds to the extracted destination MAC address and to which a corresponding packet is to be transferred” ([0035]). And, Li discloses a signal routing scheme, as shown in Figure 4, signals are transmitted from a network management device (top-left of Figure 4) to an analysis device (top-right of Figure 4) via switch 1 and switch 3; and “The Packet Header may include a destination MAC address and a destination IP address, a source MAC address and a source IP address, wherein the destination MAC address and the destination IP address are addresses of the analysis device, and the source MAC address and the source IP address are addresses of the network management device”, that is, both MAC address and IP address can be used for signal routing.
Regarding the routing destination address that is different from the first MAC address, first, as disclosed by Trisno et al, the node 100 can be a router or switch ([0023]; “FIGS. 1A-E are block diagrams illustrating various network topologies suitable for use with the present invention. The invention is not limited to these topologies. Any network topology, including topologies in which different networks are linked to each other, can be automatically configured using the present invention. Each of these network topologies includes a number of nodes 100A-X (collectively or generically, nodes 100) which are coupled to each other via network segments. Examples of nodes 100 include personal computers, workstations, servers, other types of computers, routers, switches, and other networking devices. The network segments include any communications medium that can exchange data packets between the nodes, including for example electrical wires, coaxial cable, optical fibers, and wireless”), it is obvious to one skilled in the art that other devices, e.g., personal computers etc., can be connected to the router/switch so to finish data packets transmission etc.
Note: as shown in Applicant’s optical transport network OTN, a cloud virtual machine (VPC 1) is connected to a cloud PE 1; and “The MAC address herein is the MAC address of the cloud PE 1” ([0106]), and the routing destination address is the IP address of the VPC ([0102]-[0108] and [0118] etc., “the CPE 1 is configured to use the IP address of the cloud VPC 1 as the routing destination address”); that is, in light of Specification, the MAC address and the routing destination address are for different entities (PE and VPC); a routing destination address is different from the first MAC address.
As discussed above, the node 100 can be a router or switch, and then other devices can be connected to the router or switch; therefore, a MAC address is needed for the router/switch (node 100), and a routing destination address is need for the other device. Another prior art, Homenet, discloses a similar signal routing scheme, and discloses “MAC addresses and IP addresses are two completely different types of addresses, but both are used by computers that communicate with each other. Each time a computer sends out network traffic the traffic has both a source and destination IP address, but it also has a source and destination MAC address”; and the MAC address is similar to a post office (or “mail sorting office”, or a zip code), and the destination address is similar to the final street address (Figures on pages 3-5); as shown in the figure on page 4, when a packet is sent from a computer to a web server, the destination address (2.17.169.198) in the packet does not change, but, the destination MAC address may be changed based on the “next hop” or routers, and the destination address is different from the MAC address.
As shown in the figure of page 4 of Homenet, which is replotted in page 8 of current Office Action, a packet is sent from the Computer to the Web Server. For the purpose of clarity and explanation, Examiner labels the Router at the bottom as the “Router 1”, and the Router at the top as the “Router 2”. The Router 1 corresponds to claimed “service sending device” (or corresponds to CPE 1 of Applicant’s Figure 2), and Router 2 corresponds to claimed “service receiving device (or corresponds to Cloud PE 1 of Applicant’s Figure 2). The first service receiving device (Router 2) receives both MAC address (“MAC: 35:a0:b1:72:01:19”) and a routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”) from the service sending device (Router 1), wherein the routing destination address (“MAC: 35:a0:b1:72:01:19”) is different from the first MAC address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”), and wherein the routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”) is an address of a destination device (“Web Server” as shown in figure above, or the figure of page 4 of Homenet) connected to the first service receiving device (Router 2); and transmitting, by the first service receiving device (Router 2), the service data (shown as an envelope in figure above) to the destination device (“Web Server”) based on the routing destination address (“IP-address: 2.17.169.198”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use both a MAC address and destination IP address in a data frame as taught by Li and Horonaka et al and Homenet to the system/method of Trisno et al and Hu et al so that the service data et al can be conveniently and properly sent to a desired destination device.
2). With regard to claim 17, Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 16 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein:
Broadcasting the first MAC address to m service sending devices comprises:
Sending a first data frame to each service sending device, wherein the first data frame includes a first field that carries the first MAC address (Trisno: Figure 2 and 4, [0001], [0023]-[0027], [0031] and [0034], “The broadcast packet is received 220”. Horonaka: use Optical Transport Network (OTN) frame to send MAC address, Figures 6, 8 and 9 etc., and [0050], [0058], [0060] and [0064] etc. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
3). With regard to claim 19, Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 16 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein:
broadcasting the first MAC address to m service sending devices comprises:
sending, by the n service receiving devices, n MAC addresses to a transit device (Hu discloses that a Software Defined Networking (SDN) controller can be used as a transit device for forward MAC address etc. Abstract, Figures 1-4), wherein the n MAC addresses are in one-to-one correspondence with the n service receiving devices (Trisno: Abstract, “Each node assigns a different network address to each of the nodes based on the unique identifier received from the node”, [0040], “Node 100H stores the MAC address in the packet and then forwards the data packet to the next node, node 100K. This continues until each node in the network has received the broadcast packet. In one approach, when the broadcast packet circles back to node 1001, the node 1001 recognizes that it originated the packet and does not forward it further”), and the n MAC addresses are forwarded to each service sending device (refer claim 16 rejection above. That is, the combination of Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet teaches/suggests: the n service receiving devices send n MAC addresses to a transit device).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet as applied to claims 16-17 above, and further in view of Wang et al (WO 2018/166252. Corresponding English translation is US 2020/0014557, hereinafter, the indicated paragraph etc. is for US 2020/0014557).
Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 16-17 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein: the first field carrying the first MAC address includes a packet of a protocol that indicates the first MAC address (Trisno: Figure 2 and 4, [0023]-[0027], and [0034], “The broadcast packet is received 220”. Horonaka: use Optical Transport Network (OTN) frame to send MAC address, Figures 6, 8 and 9 etc., and [0050], [0058], [0060] and [0064] etc. Homenet: MAC address and IP address are included in the packet).
But, Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly disclose that the protocol is an extended protocol.
However, an extended protocol, e.g., Computation Element Communication Protocol (PCEP) or Border Gateway Protocol (BGP), has been widely used in the art for address learning etc. Wang et al discloses a scheme to use BGP for MAC address learning etc. ([0011], Figures 2-3 and Figure 4a etc., [0050], [0052] and [0068] etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an extended protocol, e.g., BGP or PCEP, as taught by Wang et al to the system/method of Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet so that the routing can be more efficient, and the scalability and global connectivity can be enhanced.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lin et al (US 11,088,871).
Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 16 above. And the combination of Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet further discloses wherein:
broadcastingthe first MAC address to m service sending devices comprises:
broadcasting the first MAC address of the first service receiving device to the m service sending devices, wherein the first MAC address is used by each service sending device to configure the local routing information (refer claim 16 rejection).
But, Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet do not expressly disclose that a device identifier also is broadcasted, and used to configure the local routing information.
However, both Trisno et al and Hu et al (Figure 2) disclose that an internet address is used for configuring the local routing information. Another prior art, Lin et al, discloses that both MAC address and IP address (a device identifier) can be broadcasted in a route advertisement message (column 8 lines 2-15, column 10 lines 25-33, column 14 lines 31-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin et al with Trisno et al and Hu et al and Horonaka et al and Li and Homenet so that both MAC address and IP address are broadcasted, and the signa routing is made easier.
Conclusion
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 March 25, 2026