DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 05/15/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,3-4,6-14,16-18 and 20-24have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Although the amendments were previously objected as allowable however, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ching-Yu (WO 2022109184 A1) further in view of Qiao (Pub No 20200145538), Chen (WO 2021115464 A1), newly cited Kang (Pub No 20240114323) and newly cited Ahmed (Pub No 20230123074).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11-14, 16-18, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching-Yu (WO 2022109184 A1) further in view of Qiao (Pub No 20200145538), Chen (WO 2021115464 A1), Kang (Pub No 20240114323) and Ahmed (Pub No 20230123074)
Regarding claim 1 and 12 and 16,
Ching-Yu teaches A method comprising:
a memory; one or more network interfaces configured to enable network communication; and One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computer processors, cause one or more processors coupled to the one or more network interfaces and to the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform operations including: (see pg. 27 line 16-25)
configuring one or more service function chaining policies in a visiting network for local breakout roaming traffic associated with a user device that has roamed to the visiting network from a home network, by sending one or more service function chaining policies of the home network to the visiting network; and directing the local breakout roaming traffic for the user device in the visiting network to a service function chain determined based on the mapping. (interpreted as In case of roaming with local breakout, the HPLMN shall be able to provide the traffic steering policies and service function chaining policies to the VPLMN providing local breakout with support of service function chaining in which the policies are exchanged via N24 between home policy control function (hPCF) of Home PLMN and visiting policy control function (vPCF) of visiting PLMN, see pg. 12 line 1-5)
using a visiting network policy control function that obtains from a home network policy control function the one or more service function chaining policies of the home network; (interpreted as policies are exchanged via N24 between home policy control function (hPCF) of Home PLMN and visiting policy control function (vPCF) of visiting PLMN, see pg. 12 line 1-5), see pg. 12 line 1-5)
However Ching-Yu does not teach mapping the policy of the home network to the visiting network;
Qiao teaches mapping the policy of the home network to the visiting network; (interpreted as the visited charging policy information may be the same as the home charging policy information. As an example, the visited charging policy information may be different from the home charging policy information. As an example, the V-SMF may determine the visited charging method/charging type (e.g. converged charging) based on the home charging method/charging type (e.g. online charging), see para [0276])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sending of the policy between networks as taught by Ching-Yu with the mapping of the policy between networks as taught by Qiao with the motivation being to use similar/equivalent policies to provide the same services to the user as it moves between networks.
However Ching-Yu in view of Qiao do not teach the mapping includes translating using metadata in a mapping table;
Chen teaches the mapping includes translating using metadata in a mapping table; (interpreted as the roaming mapping table includes a mapping relationship between the subscription NSSAI of the user and the allowed NSSAI of the user, the subscription NSSAI of the user is the NSSAI of the network slice instance subscribed by the user, and the allowed NSSAI of the user includes the NSSAI of the network slice instance that allows the user to access in the first region, see para [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sending of the mapping as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao with the mapping table as taught by Chen with the motivation being to equate the configuration/policies to the roaming/visiting network.
However Ching-Yu in view of Qiao and Chen do not teach and mapping of service function chain identifiers to traffic steering identifiers configured in the visiting network
Kang teaches and mapping of service function chain identifiers to traffic steering identifiers configured in the visiting network (interpreted as mapping SFC policy to existing traffic steering policy (TSP) ID, see para [0091])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sending of the mapping as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao and Chen with the SFC and traffic steering mapping as taught by Kang with the motivation being to map the policies to the service.
However Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen and Kang do not teach based on traffic provisioning and conditions in the visiting network.
Ahmed teaches based on traffic provisioning and conditions in the visiting network (interpreted as the ABO-based approaches described herein according to aspects of the disclosed technology can account for these dynamic network conditions and continue to determine the optimal SFC selection despite the changing network conditions, see para [0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sending of the mapping as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen, and Kang with SFC based on network conditions as taught by Ahmed with the motivation being to optimize configurations based on dynamic network conditions.
Regarding claim 3 and 13 and 17,
Ching-Yu teaches The method of claim 2, wherein mapping includes the visiting network policy control function determining an appropriate service function chain in the visiting network based on a service data flow/application associated with traffic for the user device. (interpreted as In case of roaming, the HPLMN shall be able to apply traffic steering policies and service function chaining polices for home routed traffic, in which the policies are exchanged via N24 between home policy control function (hPCF) of Home PLMN and visiting policy control function (vPCF) of visiting PLMN, see pg. 11 line 30-35)
Regarding claim 4 and 14 and 18,
Ching-Yu teaches The method of claim 3, wherein determining includes identifying the appropriate service function chain in the visiting network. (interpreted as In case of roaming with local breakout, the HPLMN shall be able to provide the traffic steering policies and service function chaining policies to the VPLMN providing local breakout with support of service function chaining in which the policies are exchanged via N24 between home policy control function (hPCF) of Home PLMN and visiting policy control function (vPCF) of visiting PLMN, see pg. 12 line 1-5)
However Ching-Yu does not teach by using the metadata in the mapping table.
Chen teaches by using the metadata in the mapping table, (interpreted as the roaming mapping table includes a mapping relationship between the subscription NSSAI of the user and the allowed NSSAI of the user, the subscription NSSAI of the user is the NSSAI of the network slice instance subscribed by the user, and the allowed NSSAI of the user includes the NSSAI of the network slice instance that allows the user to access in the first region, see para [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sending of the mapping as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao with the mapping table as taught by Chen with the motivation being to equate the configuration/policies to the roaming/visiting network.
However Ching-Yu in view of QIao and Chen do not teach based on traffic provisioning and conditions in the visiting network.
Ahmed teaches based on traffic provisioning and conditions in the visiting network. (interpreted as The response time can change over the course of successive observations given the dynamics in network conditions, and the ABO-based approaches described herein according to aspects of the disclosed technology can account for these dynamic network conditions and continue to determine the optimal SFC selection despite the changing network conditions, see para [0048]. Also see with each VNF instance having a different capacity depending on the amount of provisioned resources—different SFCs formed from those VNF instances may also have different capacities for handling requests associated with a given network service type, see para [0014])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen, Kang, and Ahmed with the mapping of the visiting network parameters as taught by Ahmed with the motivation being to optimize communications by adjusting the SFC according to the visiting network conditions.
Regarding claim 11 and 23,
Ching-Yu teaches method of claim 1, further comprising: configuring a data management entity in the home network with service function chaining rules for the visiting network that has a roaming agreement in place with the home network for the user device. (interpreted as Example 8 may include the method of example 7 or some other example herein, whereby subject to agreement between network operators of PLMN and SNPN for local breakout, the 5G network enables support of continuing same policy for service function chaining for an application as the UE moves between a PLMN and a SNPN and between SNPNs with local breakout. Example 9 may include the method of example 8 or some other example herein, whereby, for home routed traffic, the Home Service provider of PLMN or SNPN applies traffic steering policies and service function chaining polices for home routed traffic in which the policies are exchanged viaN24 between home policy control function (hPCF) and visiting policy control function (vPCF), see pg. 30 line 29-35)
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching-Yu (WO 2022109184 A1) further in view of Qiao (Pub No 20200145538), Chen (WO 2021115464 A1), Kang (Pub No 20240114323), Ahmed (Pub No 20230123074), and Li (Pub No 20180192471)
Regarding claim 6,
Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen, Kang, and Ahmed teach the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: the visiting network policy control function providing the traffic steering identifiers to a visiting network session management function; and the visiting network session management function creating a forwarding action rule with a forwarding policy parameters set for the traffic steering identifiers.
Li teaches further comprising: the visiting network policy control function providing the traffic steering identifiers to a visiting network session management function; and the visiting network session management function creating a forwarding action rule with a forwarding policy parameters set for the traffic steering identifiers. (interpreted as The SMF is responsible of the selection of the UPF(s) that serve a PDU session….. . A traffic forwarding rule may include an application identifier and a traffic steering policy ID, see para [0135])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen, Kang, and Ahmed with the policy/rules as taught by Li with the motivation being to configure the communication configurations based on the policy/rules.
Regarding claim 7,
Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen, Kang, and Ahmed teach the method of claim 6, however does not teach further comprising: the visiting network session management function configuring a visiting network user plane function based on the forwarding action rule; and the visiting network user plane function using the traffic steering identifiers to steer the traffic for the user device to the user device to one or more service functions in the appropriate service function chain.
Li teaches further comprising: the visiting network session management function configuring a visiting network user plane function based on the forwarding action rule; and the visiting network user plane function using the traffic steering identifiers to steer the traffic for the user device to the user device to one or more service functions in the appropriate service function chain. (interpreted as The SMF is responsible of the selection of the UPF(s) that serve a PDU session….. . A traffic forwarding rule may include an application identifier and a traffic steering policy ID, see para [0135])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen, Kang, and Ahmed with the policy/rules as taught by Li with the motivation being to configure the communication configurations based on the policy/rules.
Regarding claim 8,
Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen, Kang, and Ahmed teach the method of claim 7, however does not teach wherein the visiting network user plane function further performs actions to enforce the forwarding policy parameters set including performing packet encapsulation, packet marking and routing of the traffic towards the one or more service functions.
Li teaches wherein the visiting network user plane function further performs actions to enforce the forwarding policy parameters set including performing packet encapsulation, packet marking and routing of the traffic towards the one or more service functions. (interpreted as If traffic steering parameters are provide by the SMF to the UPF, the traffic steering profile ID may not be provided to the UPF by the SMF. Packets sent through the N6 tunnel can be encapsulated, and traffic steering information can be embedded within the outer header. The outer header can also include an identification of the processing to be applied for UL packets, see para [0660]. Also see The traffic steering policy will typically specify one or multiple traffic steering profile IDs, a routing profile ID, and N6 Tunnel information. Traffic steering policy may also contain other information such as validity conditions, see para [0661])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao, Chen, Kang, and Ahmed with the policy/rules as taught by Li with the motivation being to route packets to the destination.
Claim(s) 9-10, 20-21, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching-Yu (WO 2022109184 A1) further in view of Qiao (Pub No 20200145538), Chen (WO 2021115464 A1), Kang (Pub No 20240114323), Ahmed (Pub No 20230123074), and Purnadi (Pub No 20060141995)
Regarding claim 9 and 20 and 21,
Ching-Yu in view of Qiao and Chen teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein configuring comprises: determining if a new service function chain is deployed and available in the visiting network and not available in the home network; and making the new service function chain in the visiting network available based on a roaming agreement and subscription profile for the user device.
Purnadi teaches wherein configuring comprises: determining if a new service function chain is deployed and available in the visiting network and not available in the home network; (interpreted as The policy in the visited network may be taken into account, for example, if the local policy does not support data encryption, then the new user policy should take that into account, even though the home network of the subscriber may require encryption, see para [0048]) and making the new service function chain in the visiting network available based on a roaming agreement and subscription profile for the user device. (interpreted as Thereafter the access network control server 118 configures a user profile or user policy for the mobile terminal 108. This user profile may be based on the subscriber profile for the mobile terminal obtained from the home network, the roaming agreement between the visited network and the home network, and/or the local policy of the visited network, para [0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao and Chen with the new profile as taught by Purnadi with the motivation being to dynamically generate new profiles to adjust to differences in the visiting network and home network.
Regarding claim 10 and 22 and 24,
Ching-Yu in view of Qiao and Chen teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein if no mapping is found to service function chain in the visiting network, configuring comprises configuring a default service function in the visiting network for the user device.
Purnadi teaches wherein if no mapping is found to service function chain in the visiting network, configuring comprises configuring a default service function in the visiting network for the user device. (interpreted as The policy in the visited network may be taken into account, for example, if the local policy does not support data encryption, then the new user policy should take that into account, even though the home network of the subscriber may require encryption, see para [0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system as taught by Ching-Yu in view of Qiao and Chen with the new profile as taught by Purnadi with the motivation being to dynamically generate new profiles to adjust to differences in the visiting network and home network.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461