DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks filed on February 16th, 2016. Claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 1-14, 19, and 20 are withdrawn from consideration. Claim 21 is newly added. Claims 15-18, and 21 are under examination.
Request for Information under 37 CFR 1.105
No IDS was filed for this application. The applicant and/or the assignee of this application are required under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide the following information that the examiner has determined is reasonably necessary to the examination of this application (see MPEP §§ 704.10 - 704.13). In response to this requirement, please provide a copy of any related and pertinent information, such as non-patent literature, published application(s) or patent(s) (U.S. or foreign), that was used to assist in the drafting of this application. The applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose information that is material to patentability (see 37 CFR § 1.56). A complete reply to the instant Office action must include a complete reply to this requirement. The time period for reply to this requirement coincides with the time period for reply to the instant Office action.
*Examiner notes that Applicant has supplied the three cited pieces of non-patent literature, however, a formal IDS form submission has not been made introducing these publications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of the sought first/second/third composite layers are indefinitely provided herein.
The term “composite” connotes being made up of multiple parts or elements, however, the individual first/second/third composite layers are recited as comprising a single element in that of 1) biocompatible hydrogel, 2)tissue layer, 3)conductive layer.
By this, does Applicant intend that collectively the first/second/third layers provide a “composite” layer given their different elements and the term “composite” applied to the individual layers is nothing more than a nominal qualifier to each layer?
If Applicant does not intend this then Applicant is invited to clarify the first/second/third layers and their composite nature by way of an additional element to each of the first/second/third layers.
It is further noted that Applicant’s specification discloses first/second/third composites comprising first/second/third compositions, wherein par.[0005] sets forth these compositions-
Layer 1) selected from one of a conductive ink, biocompatible hydrogel, live cell loaded biocompatible hydrogel, or live cells.
Layer 2) selected from one of a conductive ink biocompatible hydrogel, live cell loaded biocompatible hydrogel, or live cells.
Layer 3) selected from one of a conductive ink biocompatible hydrogel, live cell loaded biocompatible hydrogel, or live cells.
The disclosure also provides the non-limiting discussion that the first/second/third compositions may be the same or different (and as seen above, comprise selecting one of from a equivalent listing in all three).
Par.[0024] speaks to live cell layers of different composition that is not relevant herein to the defined first/second/layers.
Par.[0033] speaks to likewise discussion as in par.[0005] and that the applied layers can be the same or different, but as above, this does not speak to a composite nature of the individual layers themselves.
If the individual layers themselves are meant as composites, clarification is required as to their additional element(s) provided given that the present recitation affords a singular element to each.
If the layers themselves collectively provide a composite stack by way of the different elements to each of the first/second/third layers than the claim recitations to the individual layers should avoid the term “composite.”
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 17, 18, and 21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guvendiren et al. (USPN 11,806,444), hereafter Guvendiren, in view of Richardson-Burns et al. (US 2011/0087315), hereafter Richardson.
With regard to claim 15, Guvendiren discloses a multilayer biologic apparatus for toxicity screening in live cells comprising a support matrix comprising a sterilizable material (base supporting polymer layer; lines 25-31, col. 4, abstract, for example), a first composite layer comprising a biocompatible hydrogel layer wherein the first composite layer is deposited on the support matrix (“first functional hydrogel gel layer”; lines 25-31, col. 4, for example), a second composite layer comprising a tissue layer that overlays the first composite layer (see “second functional layer” and constituted as comprising a biocompatible hydrogel printed/impregnated with live cells as in claim 17; lines 40-42, col. 2; lines 40-55, col. 5, for example).
With regard to claim 15, Guvendiren does not specifically disclose a third composite layer comprising a conductive layer to monitor toxicology response wherein the third composite layer overlays the second composite layer.
With regard to claim 18, Guvendiren does not specifically disclose the biocompatible hydrogel is one of those as listed with a gel melt(set) temperature of greater tan about 40 degrees Celsius.
With regard to claim 21, Guvendiren does not specifically disclose the conductive layer is a printed electrode as claimed.
Richardson discloses co-electrodeposited hydrogel-conducting polymer electrodes for biomedical applications (abstract). Richardson discloses a hydrogel seeded with biological components including living cells, and discloses a conductive layer to monitor toxicology comprising a printed electrode around the tissue/living cells (lines 25-44, col. 8; lines 25-67, col. 16; lines 11-35, col. 20). Richardson further discloses that alternative hydrogels to be used include PEG or gelatin, for example (lines 59-64, col. 20, for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Guvendiren to provide a conductive layer, as a printed electrode, overlaying the tissue layer such as suggested by the analogous art of Richardson to hydrogel-conducting polymer electrodes for biomedical applications in which Guvendiren provides a biomedical application in a biocompatible 3D cell construct in which the added conductive, printed electrode layer to the cells provides the benefit of sensing functionality to monitor biological processes of the cells.
Further, to the extent that Richardson provides a conductive layer that is position around the living cells and does not overlay the living cells, such a modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine engineering design to provide an alternative disposition that remains to afford the desired contact and electrical conductive/sensing capabilities with the live cells that would have a reasonable expectation of success therein. This is maintained as an obvious engineering design modification for the reasons discussed above and absent a showing of a criticality or unexpected results arising otherwise.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Guvendiren to utilize a hydrogel selected from the group as recited in claim 18 such as suggested by the analogous subject matter of Richardson in order to provide an obvious alternative hydrogel material and one in which affords the conductive pathway for the desired electrical sensing functionalities. Further, while not explicitly disclosed in Richardson, given that Richardson provides for physiological applications of the device for biomedical applications, it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a PEG or gelatin hydrogel that has a gel melt temperature greater than about 40 degrees Celsius so as to provide a hydrogel that maintains its stable state during physiological biomedical applications wherein an expected operating temperature can range from 37 (about 98.6F) to greater than about 40 degrees Celsius for covering the range of internal body temperature depending on the user’s state (i.e. inflammatory/fever or non-inflammatory) and would be appreciated by Guvendiren/Richardson in providing a workable, physiological cell evaluation biomedical, physiological device to expected conditions. See also MPEP 2144, II, A.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guvendiren in view of Richardson as applied to claims 15, 17, 18, and 21 above, and further in view of Hatch (USPN 10,988,723).
Guvendiren/Richardson does not specifically disclose the sterilizable material of the support matrix is one of those listed as in claim 16.
Hatch discloses modular assemblies and systems for cell cultures (abstract). Hatch discloses that the support material for the biological membrane may comprise a polyester or a polycarbonate (lines 55-58, col. 16; lines 20-35, col. 33, for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Guvendiren/Richardson to utilize a support matrix comprising a sterilizable material as in polyester or polycarbonate such as taught by the analogous art of Hatch to a cell culture assembly in which a support matrix comprising polyester or polycarbonate provides an obvious alternative choosing of material for a porous support to a biological membrane that affords diffusion of nutrients, oxygen, metabolites, etc…and a robust structure for handling and reinforcement of the cell construct in Guvendiren/Richardson.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-18 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
See the body of the action above in which new grounds of rejection have been provided over the claims in view of the amendments made herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798