Election/Restrictions
The applicant’s election of group I directed toward claims 1-35 with traverse is acknowledged. The applicant states that claims 1-38 read on the elected invention. Claims 36-38 are directed towards the non-elected method of making a prosthetic device and are therefore withdrawn from consideration.
The applicant states that the method cannot be used to make a different device because claim 36 depends from claim 30. While the claim states “making a prosthetic device according to claim 30” the structural limitations of the device of claim 30 are not actually be positively claimed. The method steps are much broader and do not actually require the structural limitations of claim 30 such as a selective adjustment system. Further, the device is capable of being made using a different method such as manual molding and does not require 3D scanning to be used in fabrication. The test for the restriction distinction analysis only requires one part of the test to be true, not both.
Applicant’s election of species 5 (a transradial device) directed towards claims 1-15 and 17-38 are elected with traverse but has not provided any reasons for the traversal.
According to the applicant’s election, claims 16 and 36-38 are withdrawn from examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 35, the claim recites an improper Markush group. “comprising one or more selected from the group comprising A, B, and C” should be “comprising one or more selected from the group comprising A, B or C” to ensure the scope of the group is clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosmer (2333009) in view of Kettwig (9180027B2).
In regard to claim 1, Hosmer teaches a prosthetic device for engaging a residual limb (transradial socket, see figs 1-2), the prosthetic device comprising:
a plurality (defined as two or more) of elongate counters 23,25 extending proximally from a chassis (interpreted as a base) 30 (see fig 1) and configured to receive at least a portion of the residual limb within a volume defined by the plurality of elongate counters 23,25 (capable of receiving a limb due to the hollow design), wherein each respective elongate counter 23, 25 of the plurality of elongate counters is configured to counteract forces applied to the residual limb via the prosthetic device (capable of by distributing the force across the limb as shown in figures 1-2);
and a selective adjustment system (see straps, 35, 17) configured to secure the prosthetic device to the residual limb and configured to provide selective adjustment of compression of the socket around the residual limb.(see strap buckles on 35, laces on 17)
While Homser does teach a lining material (33-34, sponge rubber), Hosmer does not teach a lower and upper textile socket.
Kettwig teaches a socket (fig 1) configured to engage with the residual limb, wherein the socket comprises:
a lower textile socket 21 coupled to the plurality of elongate counters (couples to the socket counter 4 as shown in figure 4 through 22, 32);
and an upper textile socket 22 coupled to the lower textile socket 21 (see figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the socket of Kettwig within the outer socket frame of Hosmer because the interface can act as a liner or inner socket (Col 2, lines 40-45) which by its nature will protect the residual limb from the socket and further because the socket will have a low resistance to insertion and high resistance to counter the direction of insertion (Col 3, lines 1-10) which will improve suspension.
In regard to claim 2, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and further teaches the prosthetic device is configured such that a dynamic volume is created within the socket, wherein the dynamic volume is configured to account for and accommodate changes in shape of the residual limb through a range of motion of the residual limb. (The straps are adjustable as shown by the buckle on 35 in figures 1; by adjusting the outer socket any inner volume or inner textile socket will be compressed and therefore also adjusted. The user is capable of adjusting the strap throughout the day). As discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Kettwig teaches the socket. When inserted into the adjustable counters of Hosmer, the inner socket of Kettwig will also be adjusted.
In regard to claim 4, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, but does not teach the socket as claimed.
Kettwig further teaches the socket (21, 22) is breathable and moisture-wicking. (col 3, lines 50-55: improve transport of moisture from the skin of the user is obtained; claim 1: improve heat and moisture exchange from the skin)
In regard to claim 5, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and further teaches the plurality of elongate counters (23, 25) are configured to be customized for individual patients, and wherein a contact length of each respective elongate counter is patient-specific. These are product-by-process limitations, patentable only based on the resulting structure or a prosthetic socket with elongate counters. Further, the counters of Hosmer are fully capable of being adjusted by cutting them given the right tool during the manufacturing process.
In regard to claim 6, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and further teaches the plurality of elongate counters (23, 25) comprises a plurality of forearm counters that are configured to be positioned surrounding a residual forearm of a patient (Fig 1-2), and wherein the plurality of forearm counters 23, 25 are configured to terminate distal to a cubital fold region of the patient when the prosthetic device is donned. As shown in figures 1-2, the counters terminate below the hinge joint which is where the cubital fold would be located when the socket is donned.
In regard to claim 8, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, but does not teach the textile socket or interface pads.
Kettwig teaches the lower textile socket 21 comprises one or more interface pads 24 (Col 4, lines 48-50: air cushion and elastic padding are provided by the supporting threads 24) configured to provide cushioning for one or more bony prominences of the residual limb (intended use; since the padding extends around the entire limb, the padding will provide cushioning for bony prominences), wherein the one or more interface pads 24 are configured to be positioned between the plurality of elongate counters and the residual limb. Since the textile socket is positioned between the counter 4 and the limb, when applied to the socket of Hosmer, the pads will be located between the counters and residual limb. (Col 2, lines 40-45: acts as liner or inner socket)
In regard to claim 9, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 8, but does not teach the textile socket or interface pads.
Kettwig further teaches the one or more interface pads 24 comprise one or more forearm interface pads (when applied to the device of Hosmer, which is a transradial socket, the pads will be forearm interface pads; further the neutral socket shape shown in figure 1 could be for any amputation level), wherein the one or more forearm interface pads 24 comprise an elongate portion configured to be positioned to extend substantially parallel to a radius of the residual limb and an ulna of the residual limb (see figure 3, the socket itself including 24 is elongate; due to covering the entire socket, the padding is capable of being parallel to a radius and ulna),
and wherein the one or more forearm interface pads 24 comprise a curved portion configured to be positioned such that the curved portion extends substantially perpendicularly to the radius of the residual limb and the ulna of the residual limb. (figure 4; padding 24 extends around the entire socket and is therefore curved and can be interpreted as perpendicular to a radius in the width direction)
In regard to claim 15, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and further teaches the selective adjustment system (straps, 35, 17) is configured to provide selective adjustment of compression of the lower textile socket of the socket and the upper textile socket of the socket independently from one another around the residual limb. As shown in figure 1, adjustment system 17 is separate from the lower strap system 35, 28, 27. Accordingly, each will provide independent compression adjustments of any textile socket within. While Hosmer does not teach the socket, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Kettwig teaches the inner socket. Since the socket of Kettwig will be within the counters of Hosmer, when the counters are adjusted by the strap system of Hosmer, the inner socket of Kettwig will also have compression adjusted.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosmer (2333009) in view of in view of Kettwig (9180027B2) and further in view of Butler (2013/0103166A1).
In regard to claim 3, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, but does not teach the socket is configured to tighten around the residual limb if forces applied to a distal end of the chassis cause the socket to be pulled away from the residual limb.
Butler teaches the socket is configured to tighten around the residual limb if forces applied to a distal end region of the chassis cause the socket to be pulled away from the residual limb. (see sleeve in figure 6 around the entire socket and frame; tightening in figures 5A-B; [0017-0018]) Since the sleeve tightens around the entire socket and counters, the socket itself will also be tightened by the external forces if external forces cause the socket to be pulled away from the limb.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the suspension sleeve of Butler over the socket and counters of Hosmer because the sleeve provides increased attachment force [0080].
Claim(s) 18-21, 27-28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosmer (2333009) in view of in view of Kettwig (9180027B2) and further in view of Mahon (2011/0071647A1).
In regard to claim 18, Hosmer teaches a prosthetic device for engaging a residual limb (figs 1-2), the prosthetic device comprising:
a plurality (defined as two or more) of elongate counters (23, 25) extending proximally from a chassis 30 and configured to receive at least a portion of the residual limb within a volume defined by the plurality of elongate counters (capable of due to the hollow volume and shape as shown in figures 1-2),
wherein each respective elongate counter 23, 25 of the plurality of elongate counters is configured to counteract forces applied to the residual limb via the prosthetic device (capable of counteracting forces by redistributing the forces along the limb);
and a selective adjustment system (straps 17, 35, 28) configured to secure the prosthetic device to the residual limb and configured to provide selective adjustment of compression of the socket around the residual limb (see buckle on strap 35, in figure 2),
wherein the selective adjustment system comprises at least one fixed line (fixed line is defined in the instant disclosure as any of wires, fibers, laces, lines, cables or similar structures and also states the fixed lines may be adjustable but less frequently) having a predetermined length (28 does not have a buckle and can be interpreted as a similar structure since the structure is a cross-band; see fig 1).
However, Hosmer does not teach a socket (interpreted as best understood to refer to an inner socket) or that the selected adjustment system comprises at least one lace having a selectively adjustable length.
Kettwig teaches a socket 1 configured to engage with the residual limb (see figure 3, capable of engaging due to the hollow shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the socket of Kettwig within the outer socket counters of Hosmer because the interface can act as a liner or inner socket (Col 2, lines 40-45) which by its nature will protect the residual limb from the socket and further because the socket will have a low resistance to insertion and high resistance to counter the direction of insertion (Col 3, lines 1-10) which will improve suspension.
Mahon teaches at least one lace 914 having a selectively adjustable length. (fig 20, adjusted by lace and knob 950 [0112]) which can be used in a transradial device [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the tightening system of Mahon in the device of Kettwig in place of adjustable strap 35 of Kettwig because the system allows adjustment without the addition of sockets [0056] and the dial allows one-handed adjustment.
In regard to claim 19, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 18, and further teaches the chassis 30 comprises an end effector attachment unit (38, attached via 36, 37; see fig 5),
and wherein the prosthetic device further comprises an independent counter 18, 19, wherein the independent counter is positioned proximal to the plurality of elongate counters 23, 25 (see fig 1),
and wherein the end effector attachment unit 38 is configured to receive and operatively couple to the chassis 30 one or more selected from the group comprising a terminal device (pg 1, lines 15-25 attaches to a tool or utensil 40 which is a type of terminal device), an end effector, a leg end effector, a leg pylon, and a prosthetic foot.
In regard to claim 20, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 19, and further teaches the end effector attachment unit 38 is positioned within a distal end region of the chassis 30 (see fig 5) such that the chassis 30 is configured to operatively and removably couple one or more of the terminal device 40, the end effector, the leg end effector, the leg pylon, and the prosthetic foot to the residual limb. (pg 1, lines 15-25 attaches to a tool or utensil which is a type of terminal device; couples to the limb via the socket portion shown in fig 1-2)
In regard to claim 21, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 19, and further teaches the end effector attachment unit 38 is selectively adjustable between a lock configuration (ball 37 attached to 38 locks; col 2, lines 40-45), a caster configuration (interpreted as best understood to refer to a swivel configuration; Claim 4: tool supporting member rotatably mounted (via 37)), and a release configuration (see figure 5; by backing out screw 42, the seat 41 will sit inwards thereby allowing the release of ball 37),
wherein in the lock configuration, the end effector attachment unit 38 is configured to secure one or more of the terminal device 41, the end effector, the leg end effector, the leg pylon, and the prosthetic foot with respect to the chassis 30 such that the terminal device, the end effector, the leg end effector, the leg pylon, and/or the prosthetic foot has a fixed position and orientation with respect to the chassis, (ball 37 attached to 38 locks at different angles; col 2, lines 40-45; 38 attaches to the terminal device 41; pg 1, lines 15-25 attaches to a tool or utensil which is a type of terminal device),
wherein in the caster configuration, the end effector attachment unit 38 is configured to secure one or more of the terminal device 41, the end effector, the leg end effector, the leg pylon, and the prosthetic foot with respect to the chassis 30 such that the terminal device 41, the end effector, the leg end effector, the leg pylon, and/or the prosthetic foot is free to rotate with respect to the chassis 30, (interpreted as best understood to refer to a swivel configuration; Claim 4: tool supporting member rotatably mounted (via 37); see fig 5),
and wherein in the release configuration, the end effector attachment unit 38 is configured to release one or more of the terminal device 41, the end effector, the leg end effector, the leg pylon, and the prosthetic foot such that the terminal device, the end effector, the leg end effector, the leg pylon, and/or the prosthetic foot may be selectively removed from the chassis 30. (as shown in figure 5, the end effector 38 is fully capable of being detached from the terminal device 41; further it is capable to release 38 all together from the socket 41 by removing the screws 42 and screws within 30)
In regard to claim 27, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 19, but does not teach the independent counter 18, 19 comprises a magnetic attachment point.
Martin teaches the independent counter (upper socket) comprises a magnetic attachment point configured for selective coupling of the prosthetic device to a harness 800 worn by a patient. (see fig 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the harness of Martin to assist in suspending the socket of Hosmer because the harness in addition to assisting in suspension, allows the system to not be attached as tightly and allows any forces to be spread over a broader surface area and therefore experiences less force per square inch (Col 17, lines 12-19).
In regard to claim 28, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 18, but does not teach the socket as claimed.
Kettwig further teaches the socket 1 comprises a plurality (defined as two or more) of layers (21, 22, 24, 32) that integrate with each other (see figure 3)
and with the plurality of elongate counters (integrates with the counter 4/outer socket in figure 3 by attaching) such that the socket 1 is configured to reinforce a connection between the residual limb and a terminal device or an end effector coupled to the chassis. (Col 3, lines 1-10: the socket will have a low resistance to insertion and high resistance to counter the direction of insertion; by preventing the limb from being removed the connection between the limb and terminal device is reinforced) When applied to Hosmer, the socket of Kettwig will be within and therefore integrated by being attached to the counters of Hosmer.
In regard to claim 30, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 19, but does not teach the socket as claimed.
Kettwig further teaches the socket 1 comprises:
a lower textile socket 21 coupled to the plurality of elongate counters (couples to 4 indirectly, see fig 3); and an upper textile socket 22 coupled to the lower textile socket 21,
wherein the independent counter 4 is directly coupled to the upper textile socket 22 of the socket. At least the lower portion of 22 appears to be directly coupled to the counter 4 as shown in figure 3. Even held against the counter can be considered coupling under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
When applied to Hosmer, the socket of Kettwig will be within and therefore integrated by being attached to the counters of Hosmer.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosmer (2333009) in view of in view of Kettwig (9180027B2) and further in view of Mahon (2011/0071647A1) and further in view of Bache (2012/0101597A1).
In regard to claim 31, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 19, but does not teach one or more internal lace guides.
Bache further teaches the independent counter (216; 218, strut) comprises one or more internal lace guides 236 extending through a thickness of the independent counter (fig 19) herein one or more laces 212 of the selective adjustment system are configured to pass through the independent counter via the one or more internal lace guides 236 (see fig 19). When applied to the socket of Hosmer, the lace guides would be provided through the independent counters 19 as this is the strut portion of Hosmer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the tensioning and lace guide system of Mahon in place of the upper tensioning system and lace guides of Hosmer (at 17 of Hosmer) because the adjustment system allows the user to quickly adjust the tension on the entire socket and allows incremental adjustments [0105] and further the dial allows one handed adjustment.
Claim(s) 32-33, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosmer (2333009) in view of in view of Kettwig (9180027B2) and further in view of Mahon (2011/0071647A1) and further in view of Martin (10278837B1).
In regard to claim 32, Hosmer teaches a system comprising:
The prosthetic device according to claim 19 (see the rejection of claims 18-19).
However, Hosmer does not teach a harness.
Martin teaches a harness 800 configured to be worn by a patient while the prosthetic device is worn (fig 8), wherein the harness 800 is coupled to the prosthetic device (via 804, fig 8) and configured to reinforce securement of the prosthetic device to the residual limb (this is the purpose of a harness, see fig 8), and wherein the harness 800 comprises at least one portion comprising a stretch material and at least a second portion comprising a non-stretch material. (Col 14, lines 5-15: fabric may be elastic or non-elastic; stabilizing unit may be fabricated of aluminum, plastics, laminates or fiberglass (non-stretch materials); Col 8, lines 38-40: hook and loop, which is non-stretch; cable 802 may be wire Col 16, lines 34-39)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the harness of Martin to assist in suspending the socket of Hosmer because the harness in addition to assisting in suspension, allows the system to not be attached as tightly and allows any forces to be spread over a broader surface area and therefore experiences less force per square inch (Col 17, lines 12-19).
In regard to claim 33, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 32, but does not teach the harness as claimed.
Martin teaches the prosthetic device is coupled to the harness 800 via a coupler (couplers 804) and wherein the coupler is fixed to the upper socket of the prosthetic device (fig 8). Since the harness 800 is coupled via couplers 804 to the socket frame (fig 8), the coupling of Martin will be applied to the independent counter of Hosmer (upper portion of the socket) when the harness of Martin is applied.
Martin further teaches the connectors may be magnetic couplers (Col 17, lines 1-5) configured to be selectively coupled and de-coupled using one hand (Col 17, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the harness of Martin to assist in suspending the socket of Hosmer because the harness in addition to assisting in suspension, allows the system to not be attached as tightly and allows any forces to be spread over a broader surface area and therefore experiences less force per square inch (Col 17, lines 12-19) and obvious to use the magnetic connectors of Martin to connect the socket of Hosmer to the harness of Martin because they are simple to operate for one-handed users (Col 17, lines 1-5).
In regard to claim 35, Hosmer meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 32, and further teaches one or more selected from the group comprising the terminal device (pg 1, lines 39-50: may be a fork; 40), the end effector, the leg pylon, the leg end effector, and the prosthetic foot,
wherein the end effector attachment unit 38 of the prosthetic device is configured to selectively and removably receive any one of the terminal device 40, the end effector, the leg pylon, the leg end effector, or the prosthetic foot, at a time. (figure 5, capable of receiving various terminal devices since the end 40 is detachable; pg 1, lines 39-50 may be any other desired article)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7, 10-14, 17, 22-26, 29, 34 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 7, Hosmer in view of Kettwig meets all of the claim limitations except “wherein the plurality of elongate counters comprises a keyed-rail system and fixing hardware,
wherein the lower textile socket of the socket is coupled to each respective elongate counter of the plurality of elongate counters via the keyed-rail system, and wherein the keyed-rail system comprises:
a recessed track formed in an inner counter surface of each respective elongate counter of the plurality of elongate counters;
and a plurality of rails protruding from the lower textile socket, wherein each respective rail of the plurality of rails is configured to slide into a respective recessed track of a respective elongate counter” in combination with the other claimed limitations.
In regard to claim 10, Hosmer in view of Kettwig meets all of the claimed limitations except “the lower textile socket 21 comprises: an outer layer comprising a plurality of lace guides for receiving one or more laces of the selective adjustment system therethrough; a middle layer comprising a plurality of spaced-apart reinforcement strips configured to reinforce the lower textile socket, and wherein the middle layer further comprises one or more elastic straps positioned and configured to provide localized areas of extra stretch in the lower textile socket; and an inner liner comprising a first liner layer and a second liner layer, wherein the first liner layer and the second liner layer are laminated together, and wherein the inner liner comprises at least one interface pad positioned between the first liner layer and the second liner layer” in combination with the other claim limitations.
In regard to claim 11, Hosmer in view of Kettwig meets all of the claimed limitations except “the upper textile socket is positioned at least partially within the lower textile socket, and wherein the upper textile socket is coupled to an inner socket surface of the lower textile socket” in combination with the other claimed limitations. It is noted that the examiner as interpreted the socket must be weight bearing and cannot be interpreted as a sock for example.
In regard to claim 12, Hosmer in view of Kettwig meets all the claimed limitations except “the upper textile socket comprises four-way stretch material, and wherein the upper textile socket comprises a cutout to receive a joint of the residual limb” in combination with the other claimed limitations.
In regard to claims 13-14, Hosmer in view of Kettwig meets all of the claimed limitations except “an upper socket middle layer, wherein the upper socket middle layer comprises an elastic strap extending circumferentially around a proximal opening of the upper socket middle layer, and wherein the elastic strap is configured to help secure the upper textile socket around the residual limb; wherein the upper socket middle layer is sandwiched between the upper socket outer layer and the upper socket liner” in combination with the other claim limitations.
In regard to claim 17, Hosmer in view of Kettwig teaches all of the claimed limitations except “the selective adjustment system is configured to function as one or more flexible hinges”. Flexible hinges are an art recognized term, referring to hinges that connect the forearm cuff and socket about the elbow in a transradial socket. While Hosmer teaches a rigid hinge system, and flexible hinges are well known, Hosmer does not teach the selective adjustment system is configured to function as one or more flexible hinges.
In regard to claim 22, Hosmer in view of Kettwig meets all of the claimed limitations except “the end effector attachment unit is configured to be rotated in order to transition between a lock, caster or release configuration”. Caster is interpreted as free rotation.
In regard to claim 23, Hosmer in view of Kettwig meets all of the claimed limitations except “the at least one fixed line of the selective adjustment system comprises: an extension fixed line configured to tighten, or be placed under increased tension, under loading of the chassis, thereby increasing compression of the socket around the residual limb, wherein the extension fixed line is configured to create a first set distance from the end effector attachment unit to the independent counter when the residual limb is at full extension; and a flexion fixed line configured to create a second set distance from the end effector attachment unit to the independent counter when the residual limb is at full flexion”.
In regard to claim 24 (and therefore claims 25-26), Hosmer in view of Kettwig and in view of Mahon teaches all of the claimed limitations except “a top lace engaged with the independent counter and the plurality of elongate counters such that when the top lace is tightened, the top lace pulls together a subset of the plurality of elongate counters positioned on an anterior side of the prosthetic device;
and a balancing lace configured to pull the independent counter towards the plurality of elongate counters and draw the residual limb into the socket as the balancing lace is tightened” in combination with the other claim limitations.
In regard to claim 29, Hosmer in view of Kettwig meets the claimed limitations except “the socket comprises at least a first region comprising a stretch textile and at least a second region comprising a non-stretch textile” in combination with the other claimed limitations.
In regard to claim 34, Hosmer in view of Kettwig and further in view of Martin meets all of the claimed limitations except “the harness is configured to stretch around a perimeter edge region of the harness, and wherein the harness is configured to be static in areas of a harness interior to the perimeter edge region” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/CHRISTIE BAHENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774