DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1- 9 , 11-14, 16-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shorten et al . US Pub 2020/0376969 (hereinafter Shorten). Regarding claim 1, Shorten teaches a method for tandem electric vehicle (EV) charging (¶ 0037, 0044; the electrical devices can be electric vehicles) , comprising: determining a primary EV (fig. 3, first vehicle and claim 8; the charging protocol is determined according to charging requirements of a plurality of electrical devices connected to the apparatus ) electrically connected to a charging station via a vehicle-to-station (V2S) connection ( ¶ 0039; the apparatus 100 may comprise a cable and plug connector for plugging into one or more charge points ) , the charging station configured for charging the primary EV with electrical power provided from an electrical grid (¶ 0099; grid-to-vehicle services) ; determining a secondary EV (see fig. 3 and 12; second vehicle) connected to the primary EV via a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) connection ( see fig. 3 and ¶¶ 0014, 0039; the second first vehicle is connected to the second vehicle via element 100; in a daisy chain configuration ) , the secondary EV requesting to be charged with electrical power transferred from the primary EV via the V2V connection (¶ 0092; power may be rerouted, whether of the same phase or different, from one or more devices to a plurality of other devices [EV]) ; determining a secondary EV billing account associated with an operator of the second EV ( ¶¶ 0062-0063; EV owner can be identified and using a payment service ) ; and authorizing a pecuniary charge to the secondary EV billing account in recompense for a secondary transference of electrical power to the secondary EV via the V2V connection ( ¶ 0074; User of device N (user A) may exchange currency with user of device N-1 (user B) to receive priority ) . Regarding claim 2 , Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: determining the pecuniary charge based at least in part on a station amount of electrical power included as at least part of the secondary transference (¶ 0045; Near-field communication (NFC) tags 115 may be used to facilitate payment for power (including the power received from the charge point) , security, or releasing the apparatus ) , the station amount corresponding with electrical power provided from the charging station for the secondary transference ( ¶ 0064; The deposit can be proportional to the number of apparatuses connected to the right of apparatus N; i.e. M-N apparatuses. The apparatus is then released by apparatus N-1, and the deposit is returned to apparatus N when the owner reconnects apparatus N+1 to apparatus N-1 ) . Regarding claim 3 , Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: determining the pecuniary charge based at least in part on a vehicle amount of electrical power included as at least part of the secondary transference, the vehicle amount corresponding with electrical power provided from a battery of the primary EV for the secondary transference (¶¶ 0069, 0074, 0097; the monetization system 150 may be based on a user profile 152 and demand forecasting 153. Forecasting may be conducted in conjunction with energy data input 154 to a data collection module 155 which is furthermore either operably associated with a processing unit or integrally contains a processing unit. Pricing is then processed via a transactions manager 156 and any information relating to pricing is then relayed to a remote server 157 which may be cloud based ) . Regarding claim 4 , Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: determining the pecuniary charge based at least in part on a connection fee for the V2V connection (¶¶ 0069, 0074; a priority fee) . Regarding claim 5 , Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: instructing the primary EV to perform a bypass operation as part of the secondary transference, the bypass operation bypassing electrical power received at the primary EV via the V2S connection to the secondary EV via the V2V connection (¶ 0074 ; charging based on trading (bypassing) of slots between users for money (IOTA/Bitcoin). User of device N may exchange currency with user of device N-1 to receive priority ) . Regarding claim 6 , Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: instructing the primary EV as part of the bypass operation to control a charging switch from a battery position to a bypass position ( ¶ 0091; charging based on trading of slots between users for money (IOTA/Bitcoin). User of device N may exchange currency with user of device N-1 to receive priority ) , the battery position directing electrical power received via the V2S connection to a battery of the primary EV (¶ 0099; grid-to-vehicle) , the bypass position directing electrical power received via the V2S connection to the V2V connection (¶ 0074; after trading of slot between users for money) . Regarding claim 7 , Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: performing a scheduling process to schedule the secondary transference based on a parking time (claims 10, 45 and ¶ 0073; provide time multiplexed charging to at least devices N and N-1) , a charging speed ( ¶ 0091; the apparatus 100 is configured to route single-phase power of5 kW to an electrically powered device 102 and furthermore single-phase power of8 kW to a second electrically powered device 103 ) , and a charging level determined for each of the primary and secondary EVs ( claims 12-15, 39; the system being configured to supply charge to device N at a greater rate than device N-1, if device N has a lower battery level and/or more specific journey range compared to device N-1 ) . Regarding claim 8 , Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: the scheduling process scheduling the secondary transference to occur after the charging level of the primary EV has been met via a primary transference of electrical power from the charging station to the primary EV via the V2S connection (¶¶ 007 2 , 0075 ) . Regarding claim 9 , Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: determining a tertiary EV (fig. 12, vehicle C) connected to the secondary EV (fig. 12, vehicle B) via another V2V connection (via Box b and Box c) ; and the scheduling process scheduling a sequential charging of the EVs according to the charging parameters ( ¶ 0072 and claim 10; For example, device N has critical battery while device N-1 is 90% charged, or a combination of this with, for example, information on required journey range of device N compared with device N-1. A decision may be made based on who needs greater battery in conjunction with journey range ) , the sequential charging corresponding with electrical power originating from the charging station (101; charge point) being used to selectively charge no more than one of the EVs at the same time (¶ 0077; priority-based charging protocol) . Regarding claim 11, Shorten teaches a method for tandem electric vehicle (EV) charging, comprising: determining a plurality of EVs (see fig. 12; more than one EVs) requesting to be charged ( claim 8; the charging protocol is determined according to charging requirements of a plurality of electrical devices connected to the apparatus ) with electrical power available from a charging station ( ¶ 0045; the apparatus 100 may comprise a detection mechanism 111 to allow detection of second or subsequent apparatuses in the chain ) , the plurality of EVs including: a primary EV (see fig. 3 and 12; first EV) electrically connected to the charging station (101; charge point) via a vehicle-to-station (V2S) connection (see fig. 3 and 12; the first EV is able to connect to the charge point 101 via Box 1) , the primary EV requesting to be charged with electrical power transferred from the charging station via the V2S connection (claim 8; by connecting the apparatus) ; a secondary EV (fig. 3 and 12; another EV) connected to the primary EV via a primary vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) connection (via Box 1 and Box 2 and claim 28; a daisy chain configuration) , the secondary EV requesting to be charged with electrical power from the primary EV via the primary V2V connection (claims 8, 2 8 ) ; determining a tertiary EV (fig. 3 and 12; the third EV) connected to the secondary EV (fig. 3 and 12; the second EV) via a secondary vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) connection (via Box 2 and Box 3) , the tertiary EV requesting to be charged with electrical power transferred from the secondary EV via the secondary V2V connection ( ¶ 0092; power may be rerouted, whether of the same phase or different, from one or more devices to a plurality of other devices [EV ]) ; determining charging parameters for the EVs (¶¶ 0072-0075; battery level) ; and scheduling a sequential charging of the EVs according to the charging parameters ( claim 10 and ¶ 0073; time multiplexed charging of the plurality of electrical devices ) , the sequential charging corresponding with electrical power originating from the charging station (¶ 0042; one or more processors configured to route power from the one or more inlet ports to the outlet ports according to a charging protocol ) being used to selectively charge no more than one of the EVs at the same time ( ¶ 0067; a “water filling” algorithm, wherein only one electrical device is charged at a time ) . Regarding claim 12, Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: controlling a charging switch onboard each of the EVs to a bypass position (¶ 0092; power may be rerouted, whether of the same phase or different, from one or more devices to a plurality of other devices ) when another EV downstream thereof is scheduled for charging, the bypass position bypassing electrical power originating from the charging station to a downstream connected one of the EVs (¶¶ 0074, 0091; charging based on trading (bypassing) of slots between users for money (IOTA/Bitcoin). User of device N may exchange currency with user of device N-1 to receive priority ) . Regarding claim 13, Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: the charging parameters including a parking time, a charging rate, and a charging level, the parking time representing a time the corresponding EV is scheduled to be connected to another one of the EVs ( ¶¶ 0045, 0072-0075; Power on each phase can be measured independently (for the purpose of directing charging algorithms and payment schemes). The apparatus 100 may comprise a detection mechanism 111 to allow detection of second or subsequent apparatuses in the chain ) , the charging rate representing amperes or kilowatt rate available for charging the corresponding EV (¶ 0091) , the charging level representing a desired amount of battery charge for the corresponding EV (¶ 0072) . Regarding claim 14, Shorten teaches t he method further comprising: authorizing a pecuniary charge to operators associated with each of the EVs in recompense for the electrical power consumed in the charging thereof (¶¶ 0045, 0064) . Regarding claim 16, Shorten teaches a controller for tandem electric vehicle (EV) charging, configured for: determining a plurality of EVs (see fig. 12; more than one EVs) requesting (connecting) to be charged ( claim 8; the charging protocol is determined according to charging requirements of a plurality of electrical devices connected to the apparatus ) with electrical power available from a charging station ( ¶ 0045; the apparatus 100 may comprise a detection mechanism 111 to allow detection of second or subsequent apparatuses in the chain ) ; determining charging parameters for the EVs (¶¶ 0072-0075; battery level) ; and scheduling a sequential charging of the EVs according to the charging parameters ( claim 10 and ¶ 0073; time multiplexed charging of the plurality of electrical devices ) , the sequential charging corresponding with electrical power originating from the charging station (¶ 0042; one or more processors configured to route power from the one or more inlet ports to the outlet ports according to a charging protocol ) being bypassed (¶0092; power may be rerouted, whether of the same phase or different, from one or more devices to a plurality of other devices [EV]) from EV to EV with no more than one of the EVs charging at the same time ( ¶ 0067; a “water filling” algorithm, wherein only one electrical device is charged at a time ) . Regarding claim 17, Shorten teaches t he controller further configured for: authorizing a pecuniary charge to operators associated with each of the EVs in recompense for the electrical power consumed in the charging thereof ( ¶ 0074; User of device N (user A) may exchange currency with user of device N-1 (user B) to receive priority ) . Regarding claim 19, Shorten teaches t he controller further configured for: controlling a charging switch onboard each of the EVs to a bypass position when another EV downstream thereof is scheduled for charging (¶ 0074; charging based on trading (bypassing) of slots between users for money (IOTA/Bitcoin). User of device N may exchange currency with user of device N-1 to receive priority ) , the bypass position bypassing electrical power originating from the charging station to a downstream connected one of the EVs ( ¶ 0042; one or more processors configured to route power from the one or more inlet ports to the outlet ports according to a charging protocol ) . Regarding claim 20, Shorten teaches t he controller further configured for: controlling the charging switch onboard each of the EVs to a battery position when scheduled for charging, the battery position directing electrical power originating from the charging station to a battery of the corresponding EV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 10 , 15 , 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shorten in view of Jin ( KR101729450B1 ) . Regarding claim 10 , Shorten fails to teach t he method further comprising: processing an image captured for the secondary EV to determine a license plate attached to the secondary EV; processing the license plate to determine an identifier associated with the operator of the secondary EV; and determining the secondary EV billing account based on the identifier. Jin further discloses a method (title) comprising: processing an image captured for the secondary EV to determine a license plate attached to the secondary EV (¶ 0022 ) ; processing the license plate to determine an identifier associated with the operator of the secondary EV (¶¶ 0044, 0067-0071) ; and determining the secondary EV billing account based on the identifier (¶¶ 0013, 0073) . It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shorten to incorporate with the teaching of Jin by recognizing the license plate of the vehicle, because it would be advantageous to prevent unauthorized use of the parking lot and reduce crime rate. Regarding claim s 15 and 18 , Shorten fails to teach t he method further comprising: identifying the operators associated with each of the EVs according to an image recognition process performed on a license plate image captured therefrom. Jin further discloses a method (title) comprising: identifying the operators associated with each of the EVs according to an image recognition process performed on a license plate image captured therefrom (¶¶ 0022, 0044, 0067-0071; a n image acquisition unit 140 for acquiring license plate images of the intruding vehicle ) . It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shorten to incorporate with the teaching of Jin by recognizing the license plate of the vehicle, because it would be advantageous to prevent unauthorized use of the parking lot and reduce crime rate. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ZIXUAN ZHOU whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6739 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9:00 am to 5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Taelor Kim can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-7166 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ZIXUAN ZHOU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 03/26/2026